Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Saint Pascal's Haunted House (Chicago, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: scareme13   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it was easy to find because it's a big school and you can hear the people screaming!!!!!!!!

Wait Entertainment: There were tons of people to scare you while you were in line.

Length of Event: About 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors were good and they would goof aroung with you in a scary way

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't catch up with anyone at all

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: The props were good and there were tons of strobelights!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were average and the make-up were good

Summary: For my first time going here I was preety impressed with the way they did it. Sometimes we think that churches and schools won't have a good haunted house. We'll saint Pascals proves otherwise! Go visit it soon!!!!!!!

Reviewed by: jmc4900   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very Visible from steet. Corn stalks and hay with a "graveyard" in the front lawn of the school looked really cool.

Wait Entertainment: Halloween music was playing while you waited in line. Lots of different characters would walk around and scare people while we waited in line.

Length of Event: About 20 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: Awesome! There was a guy walking around with a hospital gown on with bloody makeup, cutting his own hair! All the characters inside and outside performed great! You could tell some of the actors were high school kids, but they did a good job scaring people!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Spaced out good.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: There was a mirror maze, a claustrophobic tunnel, and even a elevator! When you went in the haunted house you had to walk through a boiler room which was spooky!

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and makeup were Awesome! There was a big tree or something dressed up walking around outside, and a character with a chain saw. A good variety of different characters. The ones that wore makeup looked awesome!

Summary: Well worth the $7.00 admission. One of the best haunted houses in the Chicagoland area! Don't under estimate this haunted house, its well worth the visit!

Reviewed by: rosehill   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good. St. Pascal is a large church on a busy road. Well lit with signage and a graveyard on the front lawn of the church!

Wait Entertainment: Treats to purchase and lobby haunters. Indoor waiting (a major plus!!!)

Length of Event: 20 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: Good, especially the lobby haunters.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, but there was some minimal bunching.

Appropriate Ages: All

Props / Special FX: Considering this is a charity haunt I was very impressed. It helps that the house is in the church's creepy basement! Pascal's even had one of those claustrophobic inflatible tunnels. I was very surprised to see that here. It was very well inflated too, making it difficult to get through. Very nice!

Costumes / Make-up: Very good. You could really see the detailed make up on the lobby haunters. A lot of time and effort was put into this.

Summary: Great for a charity haunt. Indoor waiting, good pre-house line flow and entertainment, creepy atmosphere, nice makeup and effects. Probably the best non-profit haunt I've seen this year.

Reviewed by: ebe2023   (Event Visited: 10/23/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: You should not miss the church it is pretty big. Signs are also posted. Right on Irving Park Road.

Wait Entertainment: A couple of actors. There is not to much decor as your waiting but saying that it is a building that is used for school and church more than likely, it is understandable.

Length of Event: Felt pretty long but i am going to go with 20minutes. Should have checked the time when i went in and came out.

Actor Performance: Most of the actors stayed in character. The only time i seen one out of character was because security came walking through the house. More than likely to make sure all the little teens were not making it into a fun house. Other than that it was pretty good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There was not much of a line the night i attended so all groups were spaced out great. If there are alot of kids in a group(they should make kids come with an adult) they are sent in groups of 5. If you are an adult group they usually let you go in pairs. Not sure if it was just that night because of the short line or if that is the procedure every night but it worked good. Only one group of kids caught up to mine but they came running(reasonable because you will get scared).

Appropriate Ages: I would go with 13+ even though there were younger kids going through alone but trust me most of those kids were running.

Props / Special FX: They worked great with what they had. May have not been the best in the industry but that did not take away from any part of this haunt. Good Job

Costumes / Make-up: Like most other reviews say mostly masks but the few that had make-up on looked pretty good. They only thing i can say is a little make-up around the eyes of those wearing masks would be great.

Summary: When i handed over my $7 dollars i did not think the house would be that great honestly. Kind of had the "you get what you pay for" attitude. As you wait in line i am sure it will come across your mind to but that will quickly change as you are directed down into the actual basement of the church and you can only hope to make it out. I am not going to give any details away but i will say something. If you are willing to drive here do not second guess it just go. This haunt is great the price is just a plus. I will try my best to make it back again and take a couple people to this place. I would give it a 10 but maybe there is room for improvement... Actually no these people deserve the credit Saint Pascal's is the best haunt near downtown chicago in my opinion. 10!

Reviewed by: bighead53   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very visible, Cant miss the Giant church.

Wait Entertainment: Very good, some scarry creachers. And one odd one. you'll understand what i mean if you go there.

Length of Event: it seemed like 20minutes

Actor Performance: Very good, you can tell there mostly kids, but they scarred me a couple of times

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great! I never seen any other group. well spaced out.

Appropriate Ages: I think so, but some parents might not want to bring little kids

Props / Special FX: Very good, lots of cool affects. Nothing too extravigate, but it worked well.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks, but some with make up.

Summary: I thought this was a excellent haunted house for the money. The line was inside the school so you not in the cold. very good. will tell everyone about this.

Reviewed by: vinny1   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: you cant miss it with all the lights.

Wait Entertainment: the wait is going about 25 min. the time goes by quick and the actors even scare people in line.

Length of Event: around 20 min. theres a scare around every turn

Actor Performance: I loved the tree guy outside and the crazy guy on the bike

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: they keep us far away from the group before us.

Appropriate Ages: 6 and up, i did see some under that go in.

Props / Special FX: lots of actors around every turn.

Costumes / Make-up: very cool, i bet it took a long time.....

Summary: I give the place an 10 out of 10. the price is cheap and it looks like they have put alot of work into it. someone even told me that they are mostly high school kids working it. I'll be back next weekend with more friends.

Reviewed by: dkimbo   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to spot.They have flashing lights and props in the front yard of the school right off of Irving Park you cannot miss it.Also parking was not a problem at all.

Wait Entertainment: The wait in line seemed that it was going to be long, but went by very quickly because of the actor entertainment. I ecspecially liked the crazy guy riding around on a scooter.

Length of Event: 20-25 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good. They really get into their roles. The Joker was my favorite, don't want spoil anything.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. Not rushed through but also not backed up, just a steady pace throughout.

Appropriate Ages: 6 and up

Props / Special FX: They have an elevator that you go into for a ride. This thing looks like the doors are going to rattle off while yor inside of it, very scary! plus more... don't want to spoil it. 
They make you go through a clausterphobic tunnel, so freaky!! I didn't know how far it went on or if somone was going to pop out at me.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent make up. Some of the the actors must have spent hours on their make up. Costumes are great too, you have your classics; Texas Chain Saw Massacre guy, Freddy, Jason, Scare, Michael Meyers but also other various creepy creatures. The ones that freak me out the most are the ones in all black with no faces, you can't see them and then they just appear right in front of you.

Summary: I have been coming to this classic haunted house for many years now and it never disappoints me. These guys come up with new ideas every year, so something is always different. You can't beat the price either $7 if you go to their website www.scarypopcorn.com you get a $1 coupon. $6 was very well worth it. I'm going back with some of my other friends.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at