Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Spider Hill (Chillicothe, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: jeffakajp   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy to find, and parking was not a problem at all. well lit parking lot and plenty of parking space.

Wait Entertainment: i wish there was a little more but there was so much stuff going on outside of the line i guess that might count. there was a flame juggler and some magic show going on too. there were also some people who would carry a coffin with people inside down the line. wait was not long, maybe an hour, the line moved pretty quick.

Length of Event: i would say it took maybe 15 minutes to go through it all, which is average time for a haunted house.

Actor Performance: the actors were overall very good. a few child actors ran around and were more goofy than scary, but the rest was pretty in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: normally they don't allow groups of more than 4, but they let my group of 9 go in at once which i appreciated. we never ran into another group except once when we had to crawl, but by the time my whole group was out the group ahead of us had already left.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: pretty good setups. the last room with the spinning tunnel was just long enough to make you feel sick but not actually get sick. we also really liked the part with the body bags.

Costumes / Make-up: good makeup overall, but the ticket grabbers and people in that area looked a little amateur.

Summary: fun for your money and with 2 other attractions other than the haunted mansion, spider hill seems like a very nice one night stop for haunted house goers everywhere.

Reviewed by: emswmn   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find, just off RT 29

Wait Entertainment: Awesome Pirate that was heckling with everyone. Bouncing wolf, the kids loved it.

Length of Event: all three were normal

Actor Performance: Excellent make-up and costumes, great timing on the actors and placement

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, some people in front of us were to scared to go through some things and held up the line a bit. Chickens!!!

Appropriate Ages: all

Props / Special FX: Great timing on the timed props on the walking trail, very unexpected, Especially the drum

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make-up were great, a great mix of adults and children.

Summary: Awesome, there is something there for everyone. Scary, not so scary and the extras like the magician and the fire twirlers were cool to sit and watch. It was a full night of fun!

Reviewed by: bellz1408   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: For someone who doesn't know the location of Chillicothe or had never been this way before it might be hard to find, there is really no signs that point directions to the haunted house

Wait Entertainment: We only had to wait about 5 minutes for the trail, but it was also kinda late at night, the line for the house was a bit longer though.

Length of Event: It only took us approx 10 mintues to walk through the trail.

Actor Performance: 85% of the actors were small children and alot of them either stood right in the middle of the trail or just in the obvious places, not very scary at all. Alotta rahh!! And seemed to be very short on actors, last 3 minutes of the trail we didn't see one actor!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There were a few times that we ran into a couple groups and they were sending large groups at a time, its hard to scare a group of 10.

Appropriate Ages: I could have took my 4 year cousin in there and I don't think he would have been scared.

Props / Special FX: Same props used in the past years, nothing really new this year. I would think that since they charged so much to get into each event that they'd use some of that money to add new features but I didn't see anything new this year.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and makeup were pretty good for the most part

Summary: Probably won't go back next year, was pretty disappointed about how this year turned out hopefully they'll start adding new ideas and get more actors, then maybe a few years down the road I'll return

Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Visited last year, so I knew the general location. Still, a few signs would help.

Wait Entertainment: There was a fire twirler around the big fire. Other than that, not much except for small children.

Length of Event: Didn't seem as long this year as last year.

Actor Performance: Too many children. And too many scares just standing in the path. Not very scary at all. As mentioned earlier, the crawling kid was good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I don't know. They sent us through in a group of 9. Way too many in one group! How are you going to scare a group of 9?

Appropriate Ages: Any.

Props / Special FX: Nothing special that I remember.

Costumes / Make-up: Again, nothing memorable.

Summary: We went to through the trail and haunted house. The trail I would not pay for again. The house was ok. I would tell anyone I know not to do the trail, but go ahead in the haunted house. Should have done the hot air balloon ride instead of the trail. Had to be better.

Reviewed by: happyhaunter   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Since I have never been there I didn't know where to turn or anything. Was kind of hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: Not much of anything but one bouncy werewolf.

Length of Event: Wait was longer than the actual walk through.

Actor Performance: In the begining there was some scares, but the best was the crawling boy. He really was freaky looking.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Caught up to some groups in the mansion couple times.

Summary: I have never been there and was prepared for a really good scare. I heard it was pretty decent but I was real disappointed. I do love a good Haunted House and was not impressed with this one.

Reviewed by: mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: a sign would have been nice on the road so we knew where to turn.

Wait Entertainment: There were a few roaming monsters. Saw two coming out of the public restroom.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: extremely weak. Mostly children. Timing was way off, as soon as a room was entered by the first person they would scream. One notable was a little kid crawling on the trail, he was creepy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: pretty good on the trail. We did catch up to a few groups in the haunted house

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: very typical props, strobes,the pirate set was all right, BUT PIRATE'S ARE NOT SCARY, ARRRRGHH!!!

Costumes / Make-up: Decent coastumes and face make up.

Summary: This was a huge disappointment after last years. Possibly because it was opening weekend and no one had the scares down. Timing was so poor, as well as the last quater of the trail did not have a single scare. I will probably skip this one next year.

Reviewed by: JASHUH   (Event Visited: 10/03/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: LOCATION IS GREAT, DISTANT PARK SETTING WITH LOTS OF TREES AND INSIDE FACILITIES. INDOOR RESTROOMS ARE NICE AND CLEAN. HAUNTED HOUSE IS A LARGE SEPERATE BUILDING AND IS DECORATED GOOD TO SET THE MOOD BEFORE YOU GET IN.

Wait Entertainment: NO ACTUAL WAIT ENTERTAINMENT TO TAKE ABOUT, THE MAGIC EFFECTS SHOW WAS A NO SHOW. SOME THINGS TO KEEP SMALL CHILDREN ENTERTAINED - FACE PAINTING AND SMALL HAUNTED WALK THROUGH.

Length of Event: ALL 3 EVENTS HAVE PRETTY GOOD TIME AND MOVE ALONG GOOD.

Actor Performance: ACTORS DO A GOOD JOB, NEED SOME WORK HERE THOUGH.. SEEMS THAT LACKING PEOPLE IS A PROBLEM, HAY RIDE GETS WEAKER EVERY YEAR..

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: PEOPLE LINES ARE AVERAGE GROUP SIZE AND SEEM TO MOVE ALONG GOOD. HAUNTED HOUSE SOMETIMES HAVE BOTTLE-UP TRAFFIC, BUT OVERALL NOT BAD ENOUGH TO BE A PROBLEM.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: COULD USE NEWER PROPS ON THE HAUNTED HAY-RIDE, SAME STUFF EVERY YEAR GETS OLD. THE TRAIL IS GOOD, BUT ALSO WEAK ON NEW PROPS. HAUNTED HOUSE GOOD BUT NEEDS MORE WORK ON PROPS AND EFFECTS. STUFF IS NOW GETTING DATED.

Costumes / Make-up: COSTUMES AND MAKE UP GOOD.

Summary: THIS ATTRACTION IS GREAT FOR THE LOCAL PEORIA PEOPLE AND SURROUNDING AREAS 30 MILES OR LESS. THEY NEED TO UPGRADE THIS ATTRACTION WITH MORE EQUIPMENT AND EFFECTS. THE MONEY GENERATED HERE NEEDS TO PUT BACK INTO THE ATTRACTION - IT IS NOT! SOMEWHAT DATED ATTRACTION AND REQUIRES SOME MORE WORK - EVERY YEAR ABOUT THE SAME THING. HOWEVER IT IS ENJOYABLE AND GETS THE HALLOWEEN SEASON STARTED.

Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A little hard to find unless you know where it is. No signs out on Route 29. Would have made it a lot easier for people.

Wait Entertainment: A 12 year old is not scary for the trail line wait entertainment. Saw a guy with a real chainsaw which was a nice change of pace in the Haunted Mansion. Otherwise wait was non-eventful.

Length of Event: 15 minutes for the trail and about 15 minutes for the Haunted Mansion.

Actor Performance: Child actors are as good as you can expect. One area on the trail ,there was a small child that was crawling on the ground which was a good effect. Haunted Mansion lasked in this area also. Heard actors talking to each other at one point.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good. When we got to the front of the line for the trail the girl said we are sending 10 people at a time. Too large of a group. Our group had 9 so we went together, but sending 10 people through is way too large. In the haunted Mansion there was one area that we had to wait for other people to go through. The group behind us did not wait and continued with our group making it about 12 people or so.

Appropriate Ages: 6 on up.

Props / Special FX: Tunnel was good and the air bags. Use of chainsaw sound recording and electric chainsaws not good. Lots of strobe lights which helped.

Costumes / Make-up: About half and half. Nothing really stood out.

Summary: Spider Hill was really good last year, this year things seem to have changed. There was not alot of scares and the trail this year was extremely disapointing. The last half there were no scares at all. The ending of the trail was very disapointing. It lacked everything. There is nothing scary about a 12 year old dressed as a pirate, slamming his fist on the table and ordering a bottle of rum. The mansion I gave a 6 and the trail a 5. $8.00 per attraction is way too steep for the amount of scares and walking through the attraction with little kids standing there saying "rahhr".

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at