Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Dream Reapers Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: skeep84   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/14/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was perfect. We were seconds away from getting lost when someone saw the sign. If it weren't for that who knows how long we would have kept going.

Wait Entertainment: A very nice feature. When you have to wait that long, you need something to keep you in the spirit and feel like you are still having the experience. They all need a raise! Having to be out there in the cold all night long. The costumes, makeup, and accessories were all perfect. The crazy clown lady who looks like Sarah Silverman was a blast.

Length of Event: I felt like I was being rushed through the house. If I'm waiting for hours, I want to be able to enjoy and have fun in the rooms (especially the clown room). But then again that would make the wait even longer for others so it's a catch 22.

Actor Performance: Fabby-fan-tabulous! It even looked like fun. I wanted to do it! I caught 2 out of character who were chit chatting in the graveyard scene, but once we fully entered they fell right back into character. The asylum room was interesting. But I have to ask..what's the deal with the guy dressed as a punkish girl...but yet not scary? Haha. The squirrely demon guy who is hunched over and scampers around was HILARIOUS! He even got in someone's car and they drove him around. Someone gave him a bag of chips and he looked confused and then emptied them into his mouth and flung them everywhere. That guy is some good talent!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I was disappointed to see that the lines inside winded around like an amusement park. LIKE amusement parks, once we entered to pay, it would have been nice to see a sign saying ____much more of a wait time. It wasn't a fun surprise.

Appropriate Ages: There were twins behind us who were about 6 or 7 and they seemed to be having fun. I don't know if I'd be brave enough to bring my own children though. Mainly because I like my sleep and don't want them freaked out from any nightmares.

Props / Special FX: The best! OMG the room with the alien and the stars circling around you...you knew you were stationary but you sure didn't feel that way! I thought I was going to be sick!!!! Chainsaws are a good idea too...chain removed! I wish some of that would have been inside though. OH and the bush guy who jumps out at the end is PERFECT. You don't see that coming and the way his costume perfectly blends into the bush is just phenomenal.

Costumes / Make-up: The colored contacts really completed all of the looks. The guy with the barbed wire wrapped around his face looked so realistic! Actually, all costumes looked like they would be authentic. But I have to tell you...with these people being so gross for the event, you wonder if they are secretly hot behind the masks and makeup! You should post pics of who plays what character ;)

Summary: It was the best haunted house I have ever been to. My suggestion about the long wait: when you are outside, get some of those stationary heaters that stand up about 6' tall. You may not be able to control the wait, but you'd be able to control peoples' comfort levels a bit. When it's literally freezing outside, you begin to question spending your money there.

Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/31/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location no problem. GPS made it easy to find, howver not needed.

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment was great, with creatures walking throughout the crowd - both inside and outside the building. Food trailer with pop and pizza. Exterior music.. Mood is set excellent before you get to the door.

Length of Event: 15 minutes + Everything flows great throughout the haunted house.

Actor Performance: Actors did an excellent job, no problems. One of the best full cast supports I have seen this year - Everybody gave 100%.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No bottle up traffic inside the haunted house, very nice and orderly.

Appropriate Ages: 10+ Lots of in your face shocks which could upset smaller children.

Props / Special FX: Props were all very well done and with high detail. No real special effects to speak of - a mirror extended corridor was it.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes, masks and make-up was very well done, best I have seen all year. Quality to detail was excellent.

Summary: First year attending this event and it will not be my last. Very happy with the haunted house and its excellent support cast - very well done. Only weak point was the $3.00 parking which will be going up - shouldn't charge people to park their cars. Event is well worth the $15.00 to go through it. Nice gift shop after you complete your journey through the haunted house.

Reviewed by: nukeworker   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right off North Ave.

Wait Entertainment: Went VIP so not applicable. On way out it was good to see the usual chain saw guy but if I had to stand in that line of 1-2 hrs and then end up seeing unmotivated actors I would be upset.

Length of Event: 15-20 min

Actor Performance: Only the lady in medical and the actors in the swamp gave it their best. The rest ranged from at least trying to just sitting around and not engaging the customer at all.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: VIP so flow was excellent. If I had to wait 1-2 hrs like the regulars in line, and then experience sub-par actor performance, I would be disappointed.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: As usual their scenery is very good and the props are working fine. They don't use too many, but if the tunnel counts, it's awesome as usual.

Costumes / Make-up: I know DR has a lot of actors to get prepped but most of the makeup was no better than walgreens grease paint applied poorly. A few actors were made up better than the rest. The costumes were better and suited the theme of the rooms.

Summary: We go to Dream Reapers every year and how good it is varies. I didn't think it was necessary to charge $3 for parking. In years past we were put in the West lot but something must have happened. So next year before I plunk down $$ for VIP (because I will not stand in a 1-2hr line) I will read the reviews since I would also now have to pay parking which I am sure will be raised to $5 next year. This year as usual the sets were very detailed and the sinister scents made it all the more effective. But the actors.....what happened? We could count on one hand how many actors really tried to scare us and play the role they were supposed to. Example was in the medical area - the girl with the spoon was very good. Swamp actors were good. The three "clowns" in the clown room were just sitting around, with one blowing the air gun at us. No enthusiasm. Acting was better last year.

Reviewed by: Horron   (Event Visited: 10/28/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Using mapquest, the event was easy to find. What a rip though that they nickle and dime you to pay 3 dollars to park.

Wait Entertainment: A few actors in elaborate makeup were working the crowd (who didn't seem too impressed).

Length of Event: Not including wait time... 10 minutes TOPS to get through the house. It was very short compared to years past.

Actor Performance: Good as usual, but somehow not scary. It's like the actors are more funny and there to make you laugh instead of scare you. They crack jokes, they talk on their cell phones, and I didn't hear a single customer scream this visit. Which is weird... considering all the screaming the female actors did in my ear.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They attempt to space groups out. Unfortunately, they sardine WAYYYY too many people into each group. Over 12 people per group is ridiculous. Of course, I got stuck in the back and had to "observe" all the surprises.

Appropriate Ages: Anyone looking for a fun house (not haunted house).

Props / Special FX: They have some really cool props and put work into designing their scenes. However, that alone is not enough to make the place scary. There was also a short vortex and a claustrophobia thing you squish ur way through, but it wasn't very tight this year. It was like some big people went through and stretched it out.

Costumes / Make-up: Some looked very professionally done. I liked their crazy colored eye contacts that some had.

Summary: Dreamreapers... *sigh* I remember when this place used to be incredibly scary a few years ago (at their old strip mall location). There, they weren't afraid to have pitch black cooridors, and actors that snuck up on you in the dark. Probably due to drunk idiots and liabilities the house is super tame (and well lit) these days. The only dark part lasted about 5 feet. The rest of the house is incredibly well lit and you can see everything coming a mile away.  
I am also not impressed with the hype about scents. My group smelled two scents: Old musty props and barbeque on the "elevator". I'm not even sure how the latter fit the theme the elevator. Did the actors just finish a lunch break in there? 
Earlier reviewers hit the nail on the head... the scenes are jumbled together, there's no theme, and they got rid of one of the best parts: the psycho hellbillys.  
It pains me to give this place that is hyped up to be the greatest haunted house that IL has to offer such a poor review. I paid over a dollar a minute to be scared and at the least entertained. The bang for the buck is low, I was more scared at a small town haunted house this year than dreamreapers. 
My suggestion to dreamreapers would be to go back to more subdued tactics of pitch black, "less is more" actors (instead of shrill screamers), dark mazes, multiple paths, smaller (spaced out) groups, and actual SCENTS THAT MAKE SENSE.

Reviewed by: liverd   (Event Visited: 10/26/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's kind of tricky to get to- follow the directions

Wait Entertainment: We did the VIP pass which shot us past the line. For us, a great thing.

Length of Event: 10 min.

Actor Performance: The actors seemed to be very into thier roles; even enjoying themselves. They were lovely. I very much enjoyed the gentleman just before the rotating tunnel- he got me good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was great! We only encountered the few in our group and were actually by ourselves a few times.

Appropriate Ages: not for the under 10 crowd

Props / Special FX: Very nice. Good atmosphere. I missed some of them by being the firat in my group- the went off after I had passed. The spinning lasers and lights were great for those passageways.

Costumes / Make-up: They were pretty good. They could have used some more detail or emphasis. Some female actors' makeup was odd- I just remember white, red & yellow- maybe in the toxic waste area.

Summary: We went here 2 years ago and didn't care for it. This year was great. Lots of good scares (we don't scare easily) and excellent crowd control. It was nice to not do a conga line through the house. The jungle area could use some smells or more smells as could the toxic zone. Scares coming from above are excellent but there should be more. The rotating tunnel rocked! We also enjoy the inverted tunnel- extremely disorienting and tests claustrophobia to the max. I like that the sound levels change so that certain areas are louder; it works well for those who are sound sensitive.

Reviewed by: snowbum   (Event Visited: 10/15/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find, right off north avenue, cant miss it

Wait Entertainment: there were about 5 or so actors ebtertaining us in the line. there were much more once we got outside after at about 8:30

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: very good, good timing, good scares

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: amazing, never saw another group

Appropriate Ages: depends on the child

Props / Special FX: amazing, so much detail in evry square foot

Costumes / Make-up: amazing, stunning makeup, this is dream reapers strongest field

Summary: u have to see it for yourself, you wont be dissapointed. They did keep the hellavator from the past years, but sadly took down the hillbilly section. But in in place put many new rooms with stunning actors and sets with so much detail beyond beleif.

Reviewed by: DeuceBaseman   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's tricky to get there with MapQuest because of North ave U-Turn, but there's a huge line so u can't miss it.

Wait Entertainment: It was pretty good. Some really good characters but then some totally out of roles and like talking to the people in line. Also the wait in line was over 3 1/2 hrs.

Length of Event: About 15-20 mins.

Actor Performance: Pretty good. Not incredibly scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: For more than half way through this was great. Then all of a sudden there was some stupid group in front of us that kept stopping and running backwards and stuff. They ruined it for everyone.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Pretty good. One of the first rooms like suffocates you with the walls and the spinning room and room of mirrors were cool.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good costumes. Some actors were dressed up like drag queens or something so i dont get it.

Summary: Overall this is a pretty good house. Scary enough to have a good time and bring a date. The line wait is WAYYY too long. And it sucked that we ran into the group in front of us which totally ruined it.

Reviewed by: joehaunt   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: As always I used GPS

Wait Entertainment: Lots of very "different types" of actors. some very strange!

Length of Event: 15 min

Actor Performance: mostly good ... some great 
never broke

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: never hit another group

Appropriate Ages: 13 & up

Props / Special FX: great detail. I wish i could spend an hour in there with the lights on to see it all

Costumes / Make-up: mostly good; some great!

Summary: Detail, detail, detail. This place is always big on the details. the new sets looked great. even the waiting room was decked out with lit posters of some of the actors and cool columns. I saw some of the great actors I am use to and some good new ones. I'll go again this year and every year they are open.

Reviewed by: MakeupMatt   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There is an illuminated sign on North Ave guiding you to the two wacky inflatable flailing arm flailing tube men.

Wait Entertainment: Always makes the line wait go by faster when you have lots of line entertainment. Trolls and Orcs, wheelchairs and scooters, hillbillys and Mad Hatters... and one over exposed bathroom attendant.

Length of Event: 17 minutes not including the rules film.

Actor Performance: Failed to see a single actor break character. Lots of energy! You can tell that the people at Dream Reapers love what they do.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good flow, well spaced groups.

Appropriate Ages: PG13 comes to mind with a few exceptions.

Props / Special FX: Dream Reapers always shines when it comes to props and scene detail. Always a highlight!

Costumes / Make-up: Try to find a haunt with better costumes and makeup. It won't be easy...

Summary: Ok... I loved the haunt but, 5'1", 16 year old girls aren't scary no matter what they're dressed up as. Clowns in a haunt should be sinister and evil... not looking to take you out for ice cream, and I would like to see more tight spaces. Other than that, stellar job... again!

Reviewed by: xxgh7xx   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find and they have exclusive parking for $3, other wise you have to look for parking on the streets (was not a problem for us).

Wait Entertainment: They had music, the actors were very good and they even gave us free Red Bulls. My favorite actor was the crazy guy in the wheel chair. He even taunts motorist by spontaneously rushing in their way. Pretty fun and unique.

Length of Event: haunted house lasted about 10-15 minutes for us.

Actor Performance: Great

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Smooth

Appropriate Ages: All ages

Props / Special FX: Some animated and mechanical props

Costumes / Make-up: Great

Summary: It was a great haunted house overall. Very average haunted house in my opinion, so I do not think I will go back again. My friends and I had mixed opinions on it.

Reviewed by: lucylab1   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good visibility with a lighted arrow and balloons 

Wait Entertainment: there was not too long of line, we got there when it  
opened so we did see a couple of actors around, with chainsaw. pretty entertaining.

Length of Event: 20-25 minutes.

Actor Performance: good performances. I cant remember alot of details, did like the swamp & the clowns.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we went in a group of 6 
and they merged us with  
a couple other people,  
wouldve like to just go with  
our group to see the scenes better or get the scares better.

Appropriate Ages: 12 & up  
Unless you have under 12 that really like this type of thing already. small kids would be scared/

Props / Special FX: excellent props and special FX.

Summary: I would highly recommend this haunt. For the price it 
is definitely worth waiting in the line. the actors were good, and the settings were especially scarey.

Reviewed by: DebChosen1   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Could use some big signage on North Ave but I knew where it was so it was not difficult to find. There is a parking lot that you pay $3 to use.

Wait Entertainment: Interesting characters roaming the lines. There was one character with a white helmet that, as funny as he was harrassing the teenagers in front of me, did kind of step over the PC line. The group took it in fun but I hope he doesn't try that on any drunk guys later in the evening & find himself with a real bloody nose. Brewster the crazy hillbilly is very entertaining. Sorry we didn't get to see the character Sheldon. We enjoyed him last year!

Length of Event: about 20 mins

Actor Performance: Everyone did a great job staying in character & trying to scare as many people in a group as possible. We were mixed in with another group so there were about 10 of us going through together.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good. Never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Nicely detailed rooms. Good lighting(or lack thereof in some cases) The smell of popcorn in the clown room actually made me hungry. They should sell Popcorn outside at the concessions!

Costumes / Make-up: The two girls in the maze had AMAZING makeup on...although in a way it was so interesting that I did not hear a word of what they were saying because I was so interested in looking at their makeup! Sometimes you go through a haunt so fast or it is so dark you don't really see or appreciate the makeup or costumes. i will say from what I do remember, everyone was "made up" appropriately for their area/room.

Summary: Dream Reapers has been around a while and always puts on an entertaining show. I ranked this a medium scare because I really do not get scared at haunts and only go for the entertainment value, which Dream Reapers has. Sat night they has KISS FM outside giving away stuff. They have outdoor concessions and a gift shop when you get out of the haunt's last room. It was fun to look at people's photo's that they took before going in to the haunt on display for sale in the gift shop. If you stay in the gift shop a short time, you can watch how people reacted to the haunt as they exit. One young girl was in tears but her family seemed like they enjoyed the haunt very much....or maybe they just enjoyed it because it scared her so much!

Reviewed by: Cole55   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I wasn't driving -- but they did have a little lit up sign.

Wait Entertainment: I had fun with the wait entertainment. There was this scary guy who was in all white, who kept repeating everything I said. HOwever there was a guy walking about with a head, asking for kisses. He was a sweet guy! Loved the wait entertainment!

Length of Event: About 15-20 mintues

Actor Performance: I loved the actors, they stayed in character the whole time. They were always positioned in great spots to jump out and spook you! However, the tree guy at the end was a little mean.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Didn't run into anyone! HOwever, they did combine our group -- which I wasn't so fond of.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: AMAZING! I loved the graveyard, they clow room was really cool too!

Costumes / Make-up: Great!! No expections!!

Summary: I honestly have heard bad about this haunted house. However, don't believe the speculation, I had a great time -- and they did a great job scaring me. I did scream more than once!!

Reviewed by: kianajack   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I am from the area and have been to the location before.

Wait Entertainment: This haunt does it right. I love seeing the well versed actors out entertaining the crowd. Gotta love Brewster! He is by far my favorite. I love the addition of now taking pictures before you go inside.

Length of Event: It seemed like just enough time for me to spend inside.

Actor Performance: Throughout the house I was entertained. I think we came a little too early to see some the more well known characters. Though I must mention I am sad the Hillbilly room is now gone :(  
That is usually my highlight of the evening. I did enjoy this female actor in a straight jacket mumbling crazy sayings in the mazes..don't know why that entertained me as well as the clown room definitely had me hyped up for the rest of the house. Great work.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Well managed we did not run into any other groups inside.

Appropriate Ages: I think the show I saw this evening was age appropriate and could be handled by anyone I would say 10 and older.

Props / Special FX: I bow down to D.R for their amazing attention to detail. I have always been a fan of the new ideas the crew is able to come up with. The smells from each room especially cemetary and swamp stood out for me tonight.

Costumes / Make-up: By far some of the best work I have seen especially in the first part of the dark mazes with the mirrors? amazing makeup on a male and female character. I love the purple designs that I was able to see.

Summary: There is a reason this haunt was rated number 1 on numerous occasions. The owners understand the haunt business and the simple importance of "Giving the customer a great show" I believe in this philosophy and I believe in Dream Reapers. Thank you for a Great Show!

Reviewed by: scare_girl   (Event Visited: 10/16/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I wasn't really looking because I wasn't the one driving, but I'm pretty sure there is a lighted sign and people to direct you and stuff.

Wait Entertainment: there were a couple of monsters in the wait line which were very good.

Length of Event: I dont really remember but i want to say like 10-15 min?

Actor Performance: Amazing job guys. I never noticed or saw an actor get out of character. To top that, they all knew what their character was suppose to be. And there was very little screaming in the costumers ear which is also a plus for me -- if you can scare me without screaming in my ear, then you got your character right on the dot and plus then i dont need advil because of a headache.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: was very good. but they probably should have split us up more so it wasnt such a big group.

Appropriate Ages: 9 and up.

Props / Special FX: The detail in the house was outstanding. A++ in my book. There was never a blank space on the wall, your eyes could wonder anywhere in the sections/rooms and you would never be able to see a space that they just forgot about and just slapped something on.

Costumes / Make-up: Was also very very very good. The masks that they had were very cool. i loved the mask that was a black skull and it was form fitting to the actors head.

Summary: All in all i thought the house was very well built and they definitly paid well attention to all the detail. the scare factor wasnt too high for me though but that's okay because the art in the building was once again, outstanding. I would definitly recomend coming here for a good time.

Reviewed by: scareme13   (Event Visited: 10/05/08 @ 6:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was easy to find Dream Reapers because of the big blow-ups they have

Wait Entertainment: they actors outside the house and in the waiting line.

Length of Event: 20-30 minutes

Actor Performance: They got into character and just kept following you around.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we had a group catch up to us so I think they should wait a little longer between letting groups in.

Appropriate Ages: 10-100

Props / Special FX: Their props and special effects are the best I've seen!

Costumes / Make-up: The make-up is good and the costumes are something you could find anywhere. it's the make-up that makes it scary.

Summary: Dream Reapers is a great house with so many animitronics and special effects. Because it was my second year going I knew what to expect. it was very good though. Dream Reapers is sure to give you a good scare so beware!

Reviewed by: estumpf17   (Event Visited: 10/12/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: No problems here; they had a couple of big inflatables that made them easy to spot

Wait Entertainment: There were a couple of actors weaving in and out of the line, going from person to person. They also had 'coffin rides' for an additional $3 and heavy metal music blasting.

Length of Event: 7-10 minutes from start to finish

Actor Performance: Solid. A lot of the actresses were more passive than I would've liked, but they were good for the most part. There wasn't a whole lot of 'interaction', just actors jumping out of oil drums and occasionally making loud noises

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Terrific, never once encountered people in front of me. Granted, I was first in line, but they had groups sectioned off very well

Appropriate Ages: Subjective, probably 12+. Minimal gore.

Props / Special FX: Not much in the way of special FX, save for a few pneumatic werewolves and skeletons on scissors-jacks. The detail put into the scenes, however, was OUTSTANDING. The rooms containing the mausoleum and cemetary were very atmospheric, and even though they had no actors in them, they created an eerie environment that was definately the highlight of the house. The shaky elevator intro was a nice touch, as were the scents they used (although I'm still perplexed as to why the elevator smelled like BBQ...)

Costumes / Make-up: Convincing for the most part. Many of the rooms were too dark to appreciate the detail put into the makeup or costumes, but those that were visible were quite good

Summary: I've heard so much good about this haunt and walked in with a relatively high level of expectations. That said, I walked out somewhat disappointed. It felt like Dream Reapers spent most of its budget on actors, which is fine, but how many times does someone have to jump out at you before you don't even react anymore? I was the first in my group of eight, and I generally got most of the scares aimed in my direction. I'm not easy to scare; I found myself more startled than anything else. The scene construction was extraordinary, probably the greatest asset of the haunt. Some of the scenes were too short to appreciate, but others extended into multiple rooms, and THOSE were the ones that left a lasting impression. Also, there was no running theme. They had an industrial room, a clown section, an operating table scene, and many other bits and pieces that just couldn't add up to a whole. Perhaps they've been better in previous years, hopefully in the future, but it seemed as though they were lacking that added punch to really knock your socks off. In short: they honestly did do a nice job, just not a great job. Other people might think this place is incredibly scary, but it really didn't do anything for me. Not $15 worth, at least.

Reviewed by: kidkaren1993   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The parking was perfect.The parking was really close to the Dream Reapers Haunted House.The event was really easy to find it was really clear with the help of the big tall balloon men. The event was visible from the road again with the help of the ballon men.Yes there was proper signage along the road and Yes there were advertisements/banners that advertised the event

Wait Entertainment: Yes they did have a radio broadcast from a local radio station. Yes the actors did walk up and down the waiting line they did scare people and were friendly when it came to asking to take pictures with. Yes they did play scary music in the background with a fog machine.

Length of Event: I didnt have to wait too long. It felt like a quick wait because the actors that walked up and down the line made waiting in line seem really short by just entertaining everyone.

Actor Performance: All the actors did play convincing roles and they all stayed in character the entire time. All the characters were the appropriate age/size that tehy portrayed. Jason was a great "War Dog"

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into no groups at all so they did space out the groups perfectly. Yes i was able to walk through without having to wait for a group ahead.

Appropriate Ages: This event is perfect for all ages and is a great family event to go to because i saw a 5 year old come girl come out after i finished the haunted house and she seemed to have loved it and wasnt scared so much that she cried. She came out smiling.

Props / Special FX: I would rate the overall makeup and costumes a 10. I loved the whole haunted house.

Costumes / Make-up: The actors were wearing masks and makeup and the costumes were really up to date and really detailed.

Summary: My summary of Dream Reapers Haunted House. Hm.... I loved it so much i wouldn't mind inviting friends and family to come enjoy it too. I would go back one thousands times and more if i could.

Reviewed by: Reddog214   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find

Wait Entertainment: Good, some actors roaming around outside, inside waiting area was somewhat cramped, so not as many.

Length of Event: 15 min approx.

Actor Performance: Did a good job

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not too bad...never seen another group

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Costumes / Make-up: Very well done

Summary: Been to this one a couple times over the years, and overall a good time. This time was disappointed in how large a group they made go thru. We had 5 in our group, but they paired us up with another group of 4. 9 is too many to enjoy a haunt...I was towards the back, and I knew what was coming before I got there. They should keep groups to 4-6, think it would work better for the scenes.

Reviewed by: jamie   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Cool atmosphere with several things to do and a couple good scare actors.

Length of Event: 11 minutes.

Actor Performance: Very good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Ok but there were a couple backups

Appropriate Ages: 10+ is what I'd say.

Props / Special FX: Very good. this is the best looking haunt I've ever been to.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good.

Summary: This is the best haunt I've seen. The details are amazing and the actrs are intense. it's not that scary but IS the scariest of the 3 my group visited. Only thing is it's too short, but otherwise very cool.

Reviewed by: brandex   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good.

Wait Entertainment: N/A, no line when we went.

Length of Event: 15-20 min.

Actor Performance: Good, there were a ton of actors the night we went, and everyone was having a good time.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: N/A, minimal attendance.

Appropriate Ages: graphic scenes.

Props / Special FX: Dream reapers always does an exceptional job creating a good atmosphere and using the space well.

Costumes / Make-up: Always outstanding.

Summary: Dream Reapers is always consistent in delivering an interesting, high quality, enjoyable haunt. I would venture to say that it is the flagship haunt of the Chicagoland area, and has worked hard to earn that title. I always love that they incorporate specific scent with each scene to give you a believable experience, and I wish more haunts would utilize them. That said, I felt that this time around was not as impactful when compared to previous years. This may be due to the change in scenes, with the long held hellbilly house being gone (I miss the pine forest scent in the woods), and a circus-ie theme in its place. It may just need some tweaking with the new format, and I look forward to seeing the evolution next season. But, the actors were fantastic, the make up/costumes were as good as always, and it was, as expected, a good fun scary time. They also added a coffin ride and a photo station to the line inside, so you can buy a photo when you get out to commemorate the evening.

Reviewed by: mikael   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A little bit off the beaten path. just look for the sign.

Wait Entertainment: Very good!! lots to look at and interact with.

Length of Event: about 20 minutes start to end. the wait was about 15.

Actor Performance: I visit a lot of haunted houses and dream reapers is always top notch. their actors always have a lot to say.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good. although it wasnt a very busy night.

Appropriate Ages: 11+ or so

Props / Special FX: AMAZING!!! i would probably pay just to see the detail. they really do whisp you away from the outside world while you are there.

Costumes / Make-up: very good. i don't like the too many bruises and blood... but i really liked the masks some of the creatures were wearing!

Summary: dream reapers is always a really fun place to go. i live in central illinois but it is always worth the drive. i really get entertained for my money!!! it'll be on my list to visit again next year again.

Reviewed by: chainlink   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: location very well noticeable and veyr easy to find same location in previous years

Wait Entertainment: wait entertainment was okay. inside wating area few near things and a few actore walking aroudn

Length of Event: 15-20 min

Actor Performance: some actors where very ethusiastic and some broke character

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very good never ran into another group

Appropriate Ages: 10 plus years

Props / Special FX: props and special effects where good lots of detail n the house

Costumes / Make-up: costume and makeup fit very well in the rooms but soem was kind of okay

Summary: overall this hosue is okay not as scary as it used to be. its more of a family haunted soem scences where scary an dsome was expected scares if u want a good scare go somewhere else where good scared for younger ages

Reviewed by: ThatGuy   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty easy to find, but since I visit every year I'm probably not the best one to ask!

Wait Entertainment: The wait area this year was improved. I loved the new posters. Top notch. There were also a couple actors entertaining the line. Noticably absent tonight, although present in photographic form, was Show Me the Clown, a yearly favorite of my group.

Length of Event: A little over ten minutes.

Actor Performance: Mixed bag. A lot of great actors for sure, but a few of the younger performers weren't quite there yet. One criticism, and I know this is hard to control: Many of the actors in the first half of the house were petite females and younger kids. I love good female actors, but it seemed for a good portion of the event there were too many small females and not enough big, intimidating guys. Of course most of them did a very good job, so it wasn't an issue of quality. The most disappointing thing was that I didn't see my favorite actor, Andy the Corpse / Ozo. At least if he was there I didn't see him. Maybe his makeup was so good I saw him and didn't even know it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was okay, but since the line wasn't very long, the group sizes may have been a bit too large. My group had 5 people, and I felt they should've let us in alone. (Instead we were placed in a group of 10.)

Appropriate Ages: 10+ would be my guess, but that's subjective.

Props / Special FX: This was very nicely done. Dream Reapers always brings cool visuals to the table, and this year they had some really thrilling additions. New animated props, some very cool new displays, and a whole new ending are things you can expect. I really liked the catacomb area and the new animated monsters. With that said, if you loved the hillbillies, you may be disappointed. I personally don't miss the hillbillies, but I'm sure some will.

Costumes / Make-up: Possibly the star of the show. Some of the actors looked incredible, and even the worst costumed actors looked very good. They went all out with the costuming and makeup, and it's among the best I've seen.

Summary: I may be a bit tougher than other guest reviewers, because I've seen some of the bigger haunted houses in the country. DreamReapers is my favorite haunt in IL, is always my first stop in IL, and is always an enjoyable night. I really, really like this place. So why the 7 score, you may ask. 
 
I rate it a 7 because it's a seriously fun event, a thrilling event, and a cool event. Somehow though, they've lost the fear element. Frustrated actors who can't understand why they aren't scaring you scream louder, and when it doesn't work they scream even louder. I really think these guys have all done a tremendous job, but for some reason it's just not very intimidating: it's just pure fun. 
 
As a "fun stop," I give DreamReapers a 9 out of 10. As a place to get scared, I give them a 3 out of 10. 
 
With that said, I highly recommend DR to those looking for night of tripped-out, balls-to-the-wall fun and excitement, and if you haven't seen it, you really should.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at