Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Statesville Haunted Prison (Crest Hill, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: edskillaz   (Event Visited: After Oct. 31 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: u can see it well off of weber road.

Wait Entertainment: its about 30 min from the exit of the tent.

Length of Event: 35 min

Actor Performance: some stayed in charecter and alot would laugh if i was startled.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The Flow is bad and tey send u in with big groups and u bump into alot of people

Appropriate Ages: 7 and up

Props / Special FX: some good bloody props and very good animatronics.

Costumes / Make-up: Very well done

Summary: Overall not as scary as it was lasy year. Definently not worth the money. Work on the city of the dead please....And i've been to the darkness and creepyworld in st.louis and they where ten times better than statesville. And only 30 for 6 haunted houses.

Reviewed by: tmtalker   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to see

Wait Entertainment: Average

Length of Event: You are inside the event for about 16 minutes.

Actor Performance: Average and didn't seem to get into the role.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Poor, because it seems you run into other groups.

Appropriate Ages: Teenagers and up.

Props / Special FX: Time for some new ideas.

Costumes / Make-up: Average

Summary: We usually enjoy going to this Haunted House. It is getting very hard to justify our bottom line vs. the entertainment provided. I really think it is time for them to think about new ideas, to keep this freash.

Reviewed by: shannon1112   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: not at the prison

Wait Entertainment: boring

Length of Event: ok

Actor Performance: rude and ignorant

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: heavy and not organized

Appropriate Ages: i think all ages should be able to attend because it is not scary

Summary: I don't think it was worth my time and the admission price is ridiculous for what you get. And to top it off it isn't even at the prison I think it was a big rip off. In total i spent $120 to get there. I should have went to the bar and got wasted that would have be more fun and risk taking.

Reviewed by: joehaunt   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: used GPS

Wait Entertainment: Fairly light

Length of Event: 20 min total for both shows

Actor Performance: Fair, a lot of the same thing...Maggot over and over

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: not bad. large groups.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: average, a couple of cool ideas

Costumes / Make-up: some good...some not so good.

Summary: Over all this haunt had a lot of energy but not a lot of originality. most of what i saw was the same as it has been for past years. the price tag is getting harder and harder to swallow.

Reviewed by: Cole55   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to see.

Wait Entertainment: They just had the guys with chainsaws chasing after you.

Length of Event: Combined about 45 Mintues

Actor Performance: I don't know if it was because I was late, most of them did not seem to be into it. They just played with their props and kinda pushed them into your face. However, the city of the dead was great!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was just a line of people getting scared. Very disappointed!

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Decent.

Costumes / Make-up: Decent. Lots of mask

Summary: I was so hyped because I heard only great things about this haunted house. However, it was not up to par. They just do a lot of yelling, and you always run into other crowds.

Reviewed by: jess84   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very good! Signs along roads and a giant evil pumpkin on top of the building so you wouldn't miss it.

Wait Entertainment: Good, a clown on stilts, a coupel other clowns, a couple zombies...they had tvs but it kept playing the trailor for the haunted house. I think they shoudl have played scary movies like Creatures Crypt used to or have some tvs playing horror movies and some with the trailor, would help you get into the mood! The actors would get right up in your face which was creepy.

Length of Event: 2 hours with waiting and the actual haunted house

Actor Performance: very very good! They were all very good in character, good sterotypical inmate speak, just very very good, they didn't half a@@ (censored) anything!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good, big groups, mayb a bit smaller woudl be nice. THey cram you into a cgae for no reason at first and then cram you into a waiting line..wasn't sure if they way they heared us liek cattle was a part of the acting or them being jerks about hurrying up.

Appropriate Ages: they don't allow people under 13..not sure what age though, foul language and adult themes..I ejoyed it, I have family members who work at a prison so it was realistic but anyone who isn't offended should go.

Props / Special FX: Two huge vortexes, a crazy clown room FULL of tons of clowns, strobes and mirrors, the "blood bitch" room, a bus you go through (inmates are shipped in by bus to prisons). I was freaked out going into the clown room because you enter a creepy clowns mouth. Nothing was dated and stupid in this haunted house like many haunted houses. Lots of small passageways so that the actors were face to face with you.

Costumes / Make-up: I loved the warden. I really thought that cage was going to fall on me and it's crazy how he flew. Loved watching the electrocution. All the costumes were good! I would suggest the standard prison jumpsuite with inmated numbers instead of the white to make it appear to be inmated in the jail not zombies.

Summary: It reminded me Thirteen Ghosts and Resident Evil mixed. At the second haunted house, the huge boss you see looks just like the Resident Evil boss in the Extinction. In the movie Thirteen Ghosts they had some simular characters such as the Hammer , the Blood Bitch, and mad doctor. The zombie like inmates that would put their heads in the holes to bite at you reminded me of Resident Evil. Anyway this place was by far the best haunted house I have been to so far in my life. I do think it's a bit overpriced, however thinking about all the actors, props, electricity needed for the props and security, I'm sure it's costly. Many of those props are extremely expensive. Also I was disappointed that not all the characters weren't in the haunted house. I think it would have been cool to see pretend prison staff to be attacked by the monsters, more prison like. Also I think the costumes should be jumpsuit prison like with inmates numbers on them..so they look less zombie like and more inmate like. The place is just amazing though and worth my 3 hour drive there!

Reviewed by: HollyCatDanc   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find

Wait Entertainment: The wait may be the best part

Length of Event: 15 - 20 minutes

Actor Performance: alright

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: not good

Appropriate Ages: 8 & above

Props / Special FX: good

Costumes / Make-up: good

Summary: Well lets just say this will definately be my last time to Statesville. I don't see the hype on this one, it is the same thing every year & the price keeps going up. Same old, same old---------even non-profit haunted houses are scarier than this. Time for Statesville to retire or get some NEW ideas.

Reviewed by: Tmatt29   (Event Visited: 10/06/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Directions were easy enough. I didn't have too much of a hard time finding this. They have a few signs pointing towards the parking lot.

Wait Entertainment: I LOVED the music! I'm a metalhead, and all I heard was great music! There was SlipKnot, Mudvayne, SOAD, DevilDriver, and more. The actors in line were pretty good. The guy with the chainsaw always gets people.

Length of Event: about 15 - 20 minutes in the firstpart, 10 - 15 minutes for the second. *NOTE* There wille be a small line inbetween the two, bu tnot bad at all.

Actor Performance: Great! The actors really got into their performances.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There are a few times you will have to wait a bit while the line moves, but it's never unbearable or even an annoyance.

Appropriate Ages: Any age if you don' mind a bit of swearing, especially from the people in line.

Props / Special FX: They tend to rely on strobe lights a bit too much, but it's good.

Costumes / Make-up: Really Good. The actors looked believable.

Summary: It's a good show altogether, but I personally didn't see what all the hyp was about. In the very first part, they will pull a good trick on you, trust me, you'll know, but after that, the "boo" scares just didn't affet me. 
 
Here's the bottom line: 
If you're not scared by movies, this won't scare you, but it is a fun time and a great way to spend a dull saturday.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at