Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Auburn Haunted Theater - Dark Nightmares (Auburn, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, located down the dtreet from the Auburn Haunted House.

Wait Entertainment: Every once in a while we would see a clown or a werewolf walk through. Also had a small fire in the waiting line to warm up a bit.

Length of Event: Movie 30 minutes(you are still waiting while watching the movie, like a second line to wait in.) 15 minutes for the actual haunt.

Actor Performance: Actors stayed in character. A couple of the haunters were really great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: One group ran into my group.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up. I would not recommend anyone younger.

Props / Special FX: Nice use of props and special effects. White room with the strobe lights really good and it was nice to see props from Creatures Crypt. Loved the use of the jungle and draw bridge.

Costumes / Make-up: Nice use of masks and make-up.

Summary: For their first year this group did a decent job. My only complaint would be the use of the Fast Pass. There was nothing fast about it. Not sure I could judge the couple of extra dollars we paid since there were still a couple of groups that went in before us and we waited a total of 45 minutes for the haunt. If they are going to show a movie for people waiting, a better choice would do. Another recommendation would be to have the ticket takers dress us. The whole experience needs to be more creepier as you walk in the building. Will be back next year guys! Keep up the good work. A great haunt for the drive to Auburn!

Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Quite easy to find. Very lit up and signs on the road pointing the way.

Wait Entertainment: I saw a werewolf and a clown. Neither were trying to scare anyone though. They just sort of walked around. The werewolf stood by the curtain to inside and just took off his mask, then went back inside.

Length of Event: Probably spent 20-25 mins watching a made for tv movie and 15 for the hh.

Actor Performance: Pretty good. There weren't a lot of actors, lots of animatronics.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Quite good, but they spaced us out very far apart and that made for a very long wait, even with a Fast Pass.

Appropriate Ages: As an unemployed haunter, please don't force crying children into a haunted house, no matter the age. If you want to punish them, just ground them.

Props / Special FX: Like I said quite a few animatronics. Some I really liked and some left me questioning. But I liked the overall layout and rooms. It wasn't a plywood and cardboard house. Lots of real walls and bricks. 
The white room was by far the best and possibly one of my favorite rooms I have seen in any hh.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good here too except for the wait people (meaning the one who took off his mask in full view of everyone). Oh and the people taking your tickets and calling you out of the movie room. Just regular clothes.

Summary: Ok, let's start with the movie waiting area. This wasn't bad, but frankly if I want to sit quietly and see a movie, I would go see a movie. I went with a group of 14 people(usually there are 4 of us who go to hh's every weekend in October)and we wanted to have fun and I think, well I know, we annoyed others in the theater by talking during the movie. The movie was Stephen King's, It. Not the best movie ever made and if you've never seen this movie, then what are you doing in a haunted attaction anyway?? I would like to see them try a few scares in this room. They could be quite effective. It was like going into church.....at least until the 14 of us got in there.  
 
We did the Fast Pass, but this was the slowest speed pass we've ever done. Worth the money though or you could be waiting a much longer time. Use the $2 off coupon. It's a good deal. 
 
Overall I liked this one. They had some good jump scares .My sisters and I had a good time going through. 
 
We got our tickets for the Auburn Haunted House and then went right down the block to the this place, did the Fast Pass and still got back to the other with ample time before we had to go in.

Reviewed by: Mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Can't miss it.

Wait Entertainment: Nothing that I saw.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Everyone stayed in character, over all a nice job. Calling out the names of people in the group is a great touch.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Very nicely done. Of the 20 or so Haunted Houses we explored this year, a lot of us thought this house had a very effective room. The stobelights and white door room completely messed you up. The rest of the detail through the house was very well done.

Costumes / Make-up: combination of masks and make up, appeared well done.

Summary: I am giving this house a length of 10 minutes, that is how long it took to go through the house. I am not counting the amount of time we spent sitting in the theater watching a part of a bad movie. This house also had the SLOWEST Fast Pass ever. All in all go visit.

Reviewed by: harley_2000   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Near the square in Auburn

Wait Entertainment: There was a movie screen outside showing horror films, and another small theater inside showing the same.

Length of Event: 10-12 mins once inside

Actor Performance: The actors were pretty energetic. they seemed to be in sync with the scares.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Pretty quick. There wasn't alot of people there when we arrived.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Not bad. Alot of the props looked like things that the crew found in the basement, which added to the originality. The FX were minimal. Mostly scares.

Costumes / Make-up: Not bad either. There was definatly some time involved in the costume prep. 
The make up that we saw was fairly minimal. They could have done more there. (In all fairness, I was busy trying to control on of the girls that was in our group. She was freaking out alittle bit, and her freinds were tired of babysitting her, so I did. So I didn't get to pay attention to all the detail that i might have usually done.)

Summary: Overall we had a decent enough time. The little theater is still real cool. 
I like the dampness and dankness of this attraction, but I really get into special effects, ect. 
This haunt is mostly scares. 
It was cool for the kids in the crowd, but I like a little bit of a mental challenge along with the big "BOO"! 
After awhile, Jumping out and screaming gets a little old.

Reviewed by: cheermom1   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located off the square in Auburn. Big movie screen in front of the theater. Easy to find when at the square. Need more signs on the highway to direct people into Auburn.

Wait Entertainment: Large movie screen outside which was playing the same movie as inside the theater. The wait was not too long. The movie added to the feel of the haunt.

Length of Event: approx 15 minutes or as fast as you can run

Actor Performance: Great!! Everyone had their scare on. Some of the actors made you feel their pain. Everyone followed the no touch rule.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Spacing was just right. No groups ran into each other unless they were running.

Appropriate Ages: 9 and older

Props / Special FX: Awsome use of props. Some really look real.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent

Summary: This is really worth the $6. They seem to really have it together. You never really know what or who is around the next bend. If you like to scream this is the place to go.

Reviewed by: burtc89   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This house was in a good location, easily accessible, and safe for everyone attending the haunt.

Wait Entertainment: I actually visited twice and the wait was much better the 2nd night. After the kinks were worked out, the group was much faster getting people through.

Length of Event: Depended on how fast we wanted to walk.

Actor Performance: The actors here were great. They all abided by the no touch rule, but still scared the bejeezus out of people coming through. The ghoul who was screaming at the bottom of the elevator scared us before we even got into the haunted house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was good...groups of 4 or 5.

Appropriate Ages: Probably ages 9 or 10 and up

Props / Special FX: There were some great special effects here. I don't want to give up too much information, but definitely not the work of amateurs here.

Costumes / Make-up: Make up and costumes were fantastic and really fit into the overall ambiance of the haunt.

Summary: Great haunted house with great effects, props, and actors. I would recommend this to a friend and am definitely going back next year..I can't wait to see what they will have !!!!!

Reviewed by: marxj01   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located on the south side of the square in Auburn, street was blocked off for safety, getting there was easy, need a couple more signs off the road.

Wait Entertainment: Movie screen outside for viewing. A food vendor would be nice on site. There is a resturant selling pizza and sodas 1/2 block north.

Length of Event: 10 to 15 minutes, depending on how fast you run.

Actor Performance: Very good. All of the volunteers follow the "No touch rule". They don't touch you and you don't touch them.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Spacing was good. Need to make sure people are not in the theater too long. Fast passes work effectively.

Appropriate Ages: 9+

Props / Special FX: The illusion and special effects room were very good.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good

Summary: I think they did a nice job for their 1st "official" year. I can't wait for next years, with the illusions and special effects from this year, next year should be even better. It was nice to see that our feedback after going through was listened too. Good job!

Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Old theater in downtown Auburn Illinois.

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment is outside theater until called on to view old movie in theater section.

Length of Event: 20 minutes for attraction, 40+ minutes in theater area waiting to be called on.

Actor Performance: Actors good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Traffic flow through the attraction is good, however theater wait too long. No reason for 40+ minute waiting in the movie section.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Props are good and everything works great throughout the attraction. Some special effects used on a splat scene, however needs some more here.

Costumes / Make-up: costumes good.

Summary: Overall this is a very enjoyable attraction with a great location being an old theater. The outside actual lowering elevator is great and builds up the mood right from the start. The scenes in the basement area keeps you wondering what coming up every minute, works great here. The only problem noted was the extra long waiting in the movie theater watching an old movie. Well worth the $6.00 to see.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at