Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Clinton's Terror on Washington Street Haunted House (Clinton, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: jeffakajp   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find with decent parking space

Wait Entertainment: better than some i've been to, lots of actors walking around and freaking people out. the leatherface maniac with the chainsaw was pretty good too..but actually kinda ruined the end of the house. wait time was around 2 hours, a little more.

Length of Event: 12 minutes

Actor Performance: alright, some people were in you face while others were doing their own thing. i actually heard some of the actors talk about wanting to go home tho once we had passed them.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: horrible. kept running into the group in front of us, and the group behind us did the same thing to us. no tour guide, may have been better with one

Appropriate Ages: 5+

Props / Special FX: some rooms were alright, the asylum room was the best

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes fit the theme of each room and the makeup wasnt half bad

Summary: fun for a little town haunted house. the long wait in line was not worth it in my opinion. the patron flow also ruined a lot of the scares and thrills that may have happened otherwise.

Reviewed by: arr224   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was easy to find

Wait Entertainment: We had a fast pass so we didnt get to experience the entertainment

Length of Event: I would say it took us a good 20 minutes to get throught it.

Actor Performance: The actors were very good. My favorite room was the one with the Hanibal Lector masks.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Space out the groups a little more. We kept running into the group in front of us and they lost a couple of scares cause the actors were coming out of hiding as we were coming around a corner.

Props / Special FX: Fog machine was very cool. And I liked the smell it gave.

Summary: I am an avid haunted house goer, and live an hour away in Springfield and make it a point to travel to Clinton every year. I like how each year is different. I expecially liked how they had the maze at the beginning this year. Keep up the great work and I will be back next year!!!!

Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the same place every year, old building downtown. Location works here. Should have marker sign on major road outside Clinton.

Wait Entertainment: Leatherface moving around crowd with chainsaw, simple but it works.

Length of Event: 15 minutes average.

Actor Performance: Actors do a good job here, howver numbers are getting weaker every year. They needed twice the work force here.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Traffic flow is not guided here and people bottle up throughout the attraction. We had six times when we had to wait-out the slow moving traffic jams. Too bad because it takes away from the attraction - all triggered effects we off.

Appropriate Ages: 7+

Props / Special FX: Lots of props to keep you looking, every room was well done. No problems with the room looks, the detail was great. No actual special effects to speak of, scarecrow was manual triggered and off timed badly, the globe witch with rear mirror effect was weak, and the big closer chainsaw man was out to lunch.

Costumes / Make-up: No problem with make-up and the costumes, everything worked seamless here.

Summary: This attraction I look forward to every year and expect high results, however this year just didn't make it. The door man bragged about being ranked 2nd in the state, however this isn't close to a state rated top 10. Characters throughout the house did a good job, but the timing was off this year and the numbers were weak. Lots of attractions were not manned this year, so the flow of the haunted house was weak and lacking. The patron flow got bottled up several times which caused even more timing problems throughout the house. With this being one of my favorite attractions it was sad to see this type of performance this year. No high rating this year!

Reviewed by: happyhaunter   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Really no signs to guide you there but I have been there in the past so know exactly where to go.

Wait Entertainment: Screen showing people going through the house.

Length of Event: 10-15 min.

Actor Performance: Lots of kids, not that scary

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Only ran into two people once in the beginning because they were lost.

Appropriate Ages: Do Not Bring anyone under the age of 8.

Props / Special FX: The library stood out the most, but there was no scares in there.

Summary: I have been to this house several times and always come back. The chainsaw at the end was the best for two people in our group. I did scream with a dropping wall. I would recommend not having children work the house, they just are not scary at 4'11. I also know that volunteers are hard to come by. This was a decent scare but I dont recommend combining it with Decatur.

Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find on Washington Street in Clinton. This one has been on our list of haunts for the last five years so not hard for us to find at all.

Wait Entertainment: Did not see any; but we were there early in the night. Had a gift shop and treats to buy.

Length of Event: 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Godd; but had a lot of children- alot of "rraahhh" coming from behind masks.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was pretty good. Did not see any other group.

Appropriate Ages: 6 +

Props / Special FX: This house does a nice job with props. Special FX were good also with lights and fog and causing patrons to "get lost" a little in the house.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly mask in this house.

Summary: Overall Clinton usually does a good job. Last half of the house was great. Always enjoy seeing what they have done new each year. Only item that I would add is of course more adult scares but being a retired haunt person myself I understand how hard it is to find willing aduts to help.

Reviewed by: Mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: small town, easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Monitors showing a room in the house was all I saw.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Seemed like mostly children, did a pretty good job. Timing of scares was a bit fast. Leatherface was by far the best. The rule giver was his typical good self.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: ran into the two in front of us as we entered because they were lost.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: Nothing really stands out, the usually stuff, but it was well done.

Summary: I enjoyed the House this year a bit more than last year, Leatherface was brutal this year, the roaring chainsaw made you not want to enter the room, and he got you out of the house..great finish!!

Reviewed by: cankersore   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Once you find Washington St. there are a couple signs and a big inflated haunted horse and buggy.

Wait Entertainment: none

Length of Event: Depends on how long you take to travel through a dark maze . . . a reasonable answer would be about 20 minutes for maze and haunt.

Actor Performance: Young actors . . . however a good creepy dialogue in each room that had an actors. I definitely was never ignored!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There wasn't a line when I went in so it was smooth sailing all the way. When I've visited this attraction before and sometimes you have do the count to five deal or the actors try to hold you back for for less bumpage.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Summary: Terror on Washington St. changed the layout this year! What a refreshing change! The dark maze is a tad narrow in parts and I feel a little bad for the actors I felt right into but it's understandable with the building space. I came on a slow day and alone (yeah I'm greedy. I want all the scares) but I enjoyed the fact that the actors were so verbal with me. I think this haunt could really shoot to number one by making use of costumes and space. Camouflage the actors in the small or weirdly lit rooms so they come out from the surroundings for a more claustrophobic scare effect. It's hard for actors to get their scare on when they hide around corners and behind black doors in such a tight haunt. Very enjoyable and I will be back for more and hopeful new scares!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at