Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Mayhem on Mansfield (Burbank, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: hauntgirl   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/14/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very easy to find this amazing home haunt, visible a block away.

Wait Entertainment: There was no wait. If you're lucky you may have had the pleasure of seeing the zombies dance to the beat of ghoulish music.

Length of Event: It took at least 30 minutes to see everything.

Actor Performance: Excellent. The actors stayed in character as they mesmerized, entertained, danced, and scared the crowd.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great. You were able to move at your own pace to see all the splendor that Mayhem on Mansfield offered in the front, side, and back of the house.

Appropriate Ages: This was definitely a display that was appropriate for all ages.

Props / Special FX: They've got it all including a full cemetery, pirate skeletons, monsters, a madman's laboratory, beautifully carved pumpkins, a spectacular light show, and so much more.

Costumes / Make-up: The awesome costumes and makeup added to the realistic look of the monsters.

Summary: For years, the Lindich family put their heart and soul into creating the ultimate Halloween yard haunt. The inspiration, perspiration, and hard work of our gracious hosts was evident in their amazing masterpieces. You made Burbank a special place to visit. Unfortunately, this was Mayhem on Mansfield's last year. When I think of the best Halloween lawn haunts in Chicagoland I will always remember Mayhem on Mansfield. You will be sorely missed and never forgotten.

Reviewed by: mistress   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. We used mapquest which took us right to the house.

Wait Entertainment: There is no wait...it is a yard haunt.

Length of Event: allow yourself about 20 minutes or more to take every thing in.

Actor Performance: Awesome. High energy actors who love what they are doing and it shows.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This doesn't apply here...you can go as quick or fast as you would like inside of the haunt.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and over

Props / Special FX: This is the Ultimate Yard Haunt..and I'm really going to miss these guys. The display is killer - from the celeb pumpkins to their massive graveyard to the fishing skeletons - there is a lot of detail here.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make up are always nicely done.

Summary: This is one location I always make time to check out during the season, and I'm really going to miss it. 
This haunt was the ultimate in yard displays. So much detail went into this display. And I loved their lazer show complete with the Thriller dance...this haunt was better then some of the paid events I've been through over the years.  
I'm really sad to see that this is the last year it will be around...but thank you for entertaining us the last few years!!

Reviewed by: millc35   (Event Visited: 10/30/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to spot. Almost right on the corner.

Wait Entertainment: Very entertaining light display and dancing zombies.

Length of Event: About 30 mins.

Actor Performance: VERY WELL.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good.

Appropriate Ages: All.

Summary: I think that this was the best out of all the houses that I went to see. It's really a bummer that its their last year, but definatly very worth it to go and see.

Reviewed by: sgt907   (Event Visited: 10/29/08 @ 6:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Visibility of the deplays were very visibil. Parking was scarce.

Wait Entertainment: There was no waiting time, things moved along very well. Well managed by the owners

Length of Event: We spent approx 30 minutes, walking around and enjoying every thing that they had.

Actor Performance: Performance was outstanding. In fact so good that one woman wet her pants, she was scared so bad.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good

Appropriate Ages: anywhere from 2 to 60

Props / Special FX: All props and special effects were great and realistic

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up were outstanding.

Summary: This was one of six events I visited with my family. It was by far outstanding, compared to the others. This event was so good that a woman went her pants, she was scared so good. Just wish this was not their last year.

Reviewed by: pzidarich   (Event Visited: 10/22/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Really easy to find. Turn East on to 83rd off of State Road and it is hard to miss.

Wait Entertainment: None

Length of Event: Take you time and enjoy all that is offered to see. These people have poured their hearts and souls into this display and it is worth a real good look around.

Actor Performance: N/A

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: N/A

Appropriate Ages: Everyone

Props / Special FX: For a home attraction this is as good as it gets!!

Summary: I have to say of all the Halloween events we partake in each year our multiople visits to this home stand out as some of the most enjoyable. I cannot say enough about what these people have managed to put together over the 14 years they have been doing this for the enjoyment of anyone who chooses to make the trip there. From the spectacular carved pumpkins which are my personal favorite portion of the display, to the sound system, light show, animations and live show they put on this place has something for everyone. As many of you know this is their last year for the display and my family will really miss going there 2, 3 and sometimes 4 times a season. The amount of time it must take to put this together each year is more than anyone can comprehend. I just want to thank these people for the memories that I have been able to make with my family. I see us 10-15 years down the road reminicing about that great Halloween Display, Mayhem on Mansfield. The house that was decorated so wonderfully, stem to stern and how much fun we had visiting each year. My son who is now 8 will have these wonderful memories. Thank you so much!!!  
HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!!! 
Good Luck to you and your family in the future.

Reviewed by: boneyard   (Event Visited: 10/27/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very well lighted, sets the atmosphere for a spooky setting.

Wait Entertainment: This haunt gives tons to enjoy and take in while waiting for the monster show to start.

Length of Event: We stayed for about an hour, there was just so much to enjoy.

Actor Performance: The best monster performance I have ever seen at an haunted home display.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: N/A

Appropriate Ages: For all ages. Great attraction for families.

Props / Special FX: Some of the best props I've ever seen. I would love to know where they get it all and how they do it.

Costumes / Make-up: Such a wonderful variety of monsters. Dresses to scare and preform. The music was a treat, and the monster show was unbelieveable!!

Summary: This is the best haunted home/yard display in illinois. My family and I have been enjoying it for many years and every year it's different, and more exciting.We enjoy everthing from the pumkins to the monster show/dance. For our family Halloween won't be the same without "Mayhem on Mansfield". We will miss them, but we are truly greatful for the memories they have given us over the years. They feel like part of our family! Thank you for making our halloween's a fun and memorable holiday for all these years!!!

Reviewed by: trishak1010   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find..

Wait Entertainment: no wait at all. we were able to walk around and see the entire front and back yard with no problem

Length of Event: excellent!!! they display all of october.

Actor Performance: The dancers/ ghouls were fantastic... the jester guy scared me about 5 times.. kept sneeking up behind me. It was great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: excellent

Appropriate Ages: great for all ages.

Props / Special FX: excellent

Costumes / Make-up: costumes where great. the ghouls did a wonderful job interacting with all the visitors.

Summary: I'm so sad that this is the last year.. I love Halloween and very much enjoyed visiting this house. The family was so gracious and friendly. The dancing ghouls and light show with music was very cool.

Reviewed by: lr1314   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, just follow the smiles.

Wait Entertainment: Lots to see, so there really is no wait

Length of Event: Evenings

Actor Performance: Outstanding. They are better than the pros. I gladly donated to them instead of giving money to high-priced operations that aren't nearly as good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very smooth with people coming and going all night

Appropriate Ages: All ages. The characters are especially responsive to younger visitors to ensure that everyone has a great time.

Props / Special FX: Props are terrific every year and they have added something new each year. The spooky storytelling skeleton is cool, and the pirate luau scene was fantastic.

Costumes / Make-up: All the characters are great. The girl in the coffin is awesome.

Summary: Still the very best home haunt there is. I'm devastated to hear that it's their last year. There will never be a better haunt or a better cast or a more gracious host family. We'll all be holding our breath until next year. 
Thanks for all your hard work this, and every, year. You've provided a tremendous community service that will not be forgotten.

Reviewed by: E911DIspCyn   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 5:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: You can see this house from 3 blocks away!!! Great location!! Easy to get to.

Wait Entertainment: no wait.

Length of Event: well my husband and I spend 5-6 or 7 hrs depending on the day of the week

Actor Performance: My Husband is LeatherFace and enjoys scaring the heck out of people. We have been volunteering with the Lindich's for about 8 or 9 years now and look forward to this event every year. We missed it last year due to my Husband being diagnosed with Esophageal Cancer but he's back this year and having a Blast!!! All the Zombies rock and are great dancers!!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Usually always busy on the weekends but all sights are accessible with no problems.

Appropriate Ages: The characters are very cautious when dealing with young children. They offer handshakes and hugs so the children are not scared. They will even take their masks off to show the kids they are "real" people.

Props / Special FX: Oh my God, where do I begin? Not enough space to mention everything but Steve and Cathy have totally out done themselves this year. Their display is a jaw dropping event. You don't know where to look first!

Costumes / Make-up: Well I AM partial to Leatherface (lol) but Michelle, Pat, Chris, Kiel, all the "zombies" rock!!! They are so full of energy, their costumes are awesome, Michelle does a great job on makeup. They are ALL very talented young people. CHRIS' DANCING ROCKS!!!

Summary: It breaks Michael and my heart to know this is Mayhem on Mansfields last year. We have thoroughly enjoyed meeting everyone that comes to see their home. We feel extremely honored that Steve and Cathy allowed Michael and myself to join the "Mayhem on Mansfield" family. We feel so fortunate to have them and their family in our lives and will miss this time of year. I know I can probably speak for every single person that visits Mayhem on Mansfield when I say...WE WILL MISS YOU,THANK YOU FOR YOUR FAMILY'S HARD WORK YEAR AFTER YEAR...MAYHEM ON MANSFIELD WILL NEVER BE FORGOTTEN!!!!! Love you guys and we will miss you when we're in Florida!!

Reviewed by: lucylab1   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is easy to find, it is 
a residence with alot of  
lights .

Wait Entertainment: There are several characters 
roaming around as you look at everything.

Length of Event: we were there for approx 
1/2 hour

Actor Performance: good performances by the monsters, there is a dance number & light show. There is a girl that lays in the coffin that does a great job, and Leatherface surprises you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good . People go from  
front to backyard and  
awesome car on driveway.

Appropriate Ages: all ages

Props / Special FX: Enjoyed all the props. Like 
the graveyard in the back  
especially and all the pumpkins that are carved.

Costumes / Make-up: Good costumes. There are  
several masks that are really good and makeup done well. Michael Myers is good too.

Summary: Great Place to stop. Very  
appreciative that a family  
does this to their home  
and puts on a great show also. We have been going there for years, missed them last year and glad they 
are back this year with a new show and great props and enthusiasm.

Reviewed by: axwatt   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to spot. We've been visiting Mayhem for four years and am really sorry to hear that it is the last year. We will definitely miss all of you.

Wait Entertainment: very good.. no wait

Length of Event: you can easily spend 30 minutes there or longer

Actor Performance: The actors were all excellent. They really did a great job. My three favorites were the girl in the coffin, Michael Meyers, an the evil jester.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very good

Appropriate Ages: very friendly ghouls... appropriate for i would say 3 and up

Props / Special FX: props are really a sight to be seen.. they are super

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes and make-up were great. Michael Meyers was the best ... very scary

Summary: Mayhem on Mansfield was definitely a Halloween staple for us. It would not be Halloween without visiting Mayhem. Like I mentioned earlier, you all will definitely be missed. Thank you for the many years of hauntingly good fun and entertainment. We really enjoyed and loved it.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at