Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Auburn Haunted House (Auburn, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Signs point the way from the main road. You can't miss the house.

Wait Entertainment: They have a number calling system (which I love) so not much entertainment is needed. We went to the bar. And there was a purple skeleton kid that is going to be a serial killer or something when he grows up. Little kid with BIG ATTITUDE.

Length of Event: 15 mins

Actor Performance: Some of the best I have seen. The jilted lover woman and the man in the body parts rooms and the clowns all stand out in my memory. Every single one stayed in character and timing was perfect.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Perfect. Didn't see anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: After working in a haunted house I can say from experience, don't try to take your kids into one. If they have ANY qualms, don't make them go. No matter the age.

Props / Special FX: All were appropriate for all the rooms. I liked the fact that the doors out of the rooms were not obvious. Smashed my sister into a wall a few times thinking the door would be there. She lived.

Costumes / Make-up: Some of the best I have seen.

Summary: This was my favorite haunted house last year and I am so happy to say it is among the top two of my faves for this year. It's actually a tie with Spook Hollow Trail. I would definitely go back if it weren't so far away.

Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located right down the street from the haunted Theater. Signs from the main highway lead the way.

Wait Entertainment: Food, drinks,fire pit helped alleviate the wait. One little ghoul ran around with a machette. Please try to keep him from putting it in people's faces.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Great, they all stay in character and really have their scares on. Scares do not always come to the first person in the group, so whatever place you are in your group does not matter, they are going to get you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The guys really doa good job in this area. Never saw another a group in the house.

Appropriate Ages: 10 on up.

Props / Special FX: Love the effects that we saw in this house. Auburn always does a great job in creating special effects that you normally do not see in other haunted houses.

Costumes / Make-up: Good use of make-up and masks.

Summary: We are a group of ex-haunters and Aburn has been the favorite for the last 2 years. They have the creep factor down. From the first room to the last it was a jump and scare fest. The scariest clowns that I have ever seen! A+ on this one guys! Then you travel through more scenes that stand out, the jilted lover's room, the cremetorium, and the bridge is all really great effects. Love the way that everything was changed this year. Auburn is about an hour and a half from where we live and it is definetly worth the drive. Great job guys, see you next year!

Reviewed by: evil   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 6:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Right off a main road pretty easy to find and its a large building with a big monster throwing another off the building.

Wait Entertainment: stilt creature outside.

Length of Event: fifteen minutes maybe a little longer.

Actor Performance: very good,all the actors stayed in character and did a great job, really good timing

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: You go thru without a guide so its pretty cool you feel lost and unless you actually get lost no one is close enough to even hear.

Appropriate Ages: maybe ten and over.

Props / Special FX: nice work here alot of attention to detail expecially in the first two rooms.

Costumes / Make-up: nice great makeup and the costumes fit the rooms.

Summary: well done!I like the outside music and alot going on. I did not feel rushed at all.This haunt is scary and has alot of actors. In every room they seem to know right when to get you.

Reviewed by: Mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Can't miss this looming house.

Wait Entertainment: Loud music and a berating little skeleton man. Give that kid an award. I gave him a tip..LOL.

Length of Event: 10 minutes>> I wanted more. I would have given this house a 10 had it been longer.

Actor Performance: Come on..these guys and gals are the best. Every single actor was fantastic and very very scary. Smart.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into a group, the actors control the flow with the shutting of doors. Smart.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Extremely detailed rooms. This house is well done. Notable room is the doll room. Smart.

Costumes / Make-up: The make up and masks are outstanding. No detail is missed.Smart.

Summary: This was our groups favorite house last year, we were very excited to visit. It is going to come in second this year , just too short. With that being said DO NOT MISS THIS HOUSE!! Kudos to the Auburn group once again. From an ex-Haunted houser, I am going to say it one more time.....smart.

Reviewed by: harley_2000   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. Auburn isn't that big.

Wait Entertainment: I enjoyed talking to the other patrons in line. We were in an area with several entertaining folks.

Length of Event: 10-15 mins.

Actor Performance: Overall not too bad. Most of the actors seemed to be getting into their roles. The only problem that I had was that the timing seemed to be meesed up with the scares.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. Didn't run into anyone else other thatn dead people!

Appropriate Ages: I wouild think that anyone 8+ would be fine.

Props / Special FX: Without trying to seem mean, The props were kind of, well... cheesy. Nothing that you wouldn't see in any other haunt. Nothing seemed to really stand out.

Costumes / Make-up: The make-up and costumes were good. You could see alot of time and imagination had been put into them.

Summary: Overall we had a good time. I was with 3 others, and we all came to the same conclusion that with the timing being off on the major scares, it wasn't as cool as it could have been. Sometimes you would walk into a room, and still see the actors getting into position. Maybe they were just having a bad night. 
We actually talked about going back another night. Most of the other reviews seemed so positive.

Reviewed by: diggafreaky   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: For as drak and creepy it was I could see fine

Wait Entertainment: I was there 5th in line and the wait was fine and normal

Length of Event: Its a good length but I wanted it to go forever

Actor Performance: The actors were Brilliant

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It flows nicely

Appropriate Ages: Proabably 12 and up

Props / Special FX: The best I ever saw

Costumes / Make-up: Best EVER

Summary: Best Haunted house I ever saw!!! I have been to several BEST EVER! Every room was just better and better. The actors really freak you out. Do not underestimate the power of this one. I have seen so many and even just this year and this one was the best I have ever seen in my entire life! GO GO GO to this haunted house good price GREAT HAUNTED HOUSE!!

Reviewed by: shannonjones   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find, markers all along the highway.

Wait Entertainment: It was a long wait, but there was a fire and food.

Length of Event: about 10 to 15 mintues, it really depends on finding your way through.

Actor Performance: Excellent. Very scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good, didnt run into anybody.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Very good use of props.

Costumes / Make-up: Makeup was very good.

Summary: Very scary. Tried to go through once, but left. Finally got through the whole thing, but I didnt look at much. It wasnt as good as what I was expecting, but it was very good.

Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: location is an old building downtown Auburn Illinois, good old basement.

Wait Entertainment: wait entertainment isn't bad with creatures walking throughout the crowd and a nice fire burning nearby. Number system used on a call list - no line waiting.

Length of Event: 20 minutes average.

Actor Performance: Actors good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Traffic moves through the house very well.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Props are all good here, but no special effects.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes are good.

Summary: Overall a very good haunted house and well put together with a fair story line. well worth the $6.00 to get in and money goes to a good charity. The only problem is the crowd moving through the house, very slow to get in and expect long waiting.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at