Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Torment at Twelve Hundred (Orion, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: deadfred   (Event Visited: 10/26/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is really off the beaten path, get directions off the internet, as people are hiding the signs to get there.

Wait Entertainment: No wait. no lines.

Length of Event: 30 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors really play the part well and get you into the scare factor. All of the props were excellent, reallly put you in the haunt/scary mood. Sound effects and props make the whole performance, I did feel a little shorted with actually being scared.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No waiting.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: All of the staff did an excellent job, the play the parts well. There is crazy clowns, psycho doctor, insane patients that get loose, watch out!! I think the kids loved the toilet, definitely a memory made there.

Costumes / Make-up: As stated before, they played the parts to the fullest, can't ask for better.

Summary: We enjoyed ourselves, it was just after all the hoopla, you kind of left going....I want more. Presentation is excellent, just maybe lacking on the execution. No pun intended.

Reviewed by: jess_marie89   (Event Visited: 10/26/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you know where you're going, it's not difficult to find. We had a 40 min drive, so I suppose that adds to the suspense. Once you get in the general vicinity, it's easy to tell where you're going.

Wait Entertainment: Our group didn't really have much of a wait. From reading the reviews, I believe our entertainment was 'Special Ed' and he was good. Kept trying to get us to eat the oreos. If he heard our name, he'd go around saying 'Mama Jessica', etc. Quite hilarious.

Length of Event: It took us a little over 30 mins. We walked quickly because the weather wasn't so great. It's probably creepier to go slower and take your time to build up suspense.

Actor Performance: I loved the performances. Some of them would creep up on you and be standing there, so when you turned around, it's like 'surprise'. In most standards, it is scary. I didn't get all the scared b/c we had a group of 13 and you just end up knowing what's coming. The 'doctor'..he's creepy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We had a pretty good flow. Never ran into anybody and nobody came up on us. There aren't people far behind you though-we were in the concession area 5-10 mins and then the next group came out & another 5 minutes after that. Although I'm sure that depends on the amount of people that show up in a period of time.

Appropriate Ages: I think 13 and up is a reasonable age.

Props / Special FX: I really loved the props. In some cases, you can't tell what is a prop and what is human-although I think everything that was real moved at one point or another-but can't be sure!

Costumes / Make-up: Some of the costumes were done up to great extents and others were 'ok'.

Summary: It was a really awesome experience. This was my first time at a haunted activity and I wasn't scared the whole time-some of it I found entertaining. I do think it's worth the $10 and I would go again. They also do a good job in the end when you leave to walk the path back to the vehicles-I must say 'BEWARE'.

Reviewed by: bigj   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Out in the country and difficult to find if you dont look for signs or directions from websight

Wait Entertainment: Line moved very fast and had some actors scaring you there. didn't seem very long

Length of Event: 40 minutes or longer

Actor Performance: The actors and actresses were very into it and stayed in there rolles very well.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This went very well never stopped moving and never ran into anyother groups.

Appropriate Ages: this is 13 and up very graphic

Props / Special FX: they are very graphic and well done to the theme of the haunt

Costumes / Make-up: spent alot of time on this professionally done and to the theme.

Summary: They worked very hard at scaring everyone. Very large haunted area and extremely well thought out for the theme. This is a great haunt and well worth the ten dollars for addmission price will be back again just loved it.

Reviewed by: morganjean   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Kinda hard to find, but being in the middle of no where really adds to the evironment

Wait Entertainment: no need to wait when i went

Length of Event: about a half hour

Actor Performance: excellent, the makeup was done very well, and it looked real, people seemed to be having a great time scaring others, they did a great job

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: they kept people going at a good rate

Appropriate Ages: not for under 13

Summary: I really enjoyed this haunt. I got very scared and the group i was with was scared as well, they even picked me out of the crowd and picked on me. it was great! it provided a scare unlike other haunts. I was scared throughout the entire thing not knowing what was going to come next. its so dark and creepy because its in the middle of nowhere and there are no lights, so you never know when something was going to come at you. it was GREAT!!!  
well worth it!!!

Reviewed by: PsychoDude   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Can be hard to find, but half the fun is driving in the rural areas where it is located. They have signs, you just have to watch for them.

Wait Entertainment: Line moved quickly, our wait time seemed to go quickly because of the queue line entertainment. The trail was very spooky.

Length of Event: 30 - 40 minutes

Actor Performance: the actors wear makeup, and it looks very well done, professional. No cheap or cheesy masks. It is obvious the actors love working there, they put so much effort into it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good flow, there is a decent space between groups after the cabin. We never ran into anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and older. Some of the displays are pretty graphic. The amount of detail is realistic.

Props / Special FX: great props. They seem to use mostly actors, all of which do a great job of scaring, and the props they do use are very professional.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup go with the theme of the haunt, which can be found on their website. Very consistent.

Summary: This is a great haunt, and one of my favorite haunted houses. They use a combination of scare tactics and humor, which makes for a good time for all. Well worth the money we paid and we will be back again next weekend. We love going to Torment!

Reviewed by: boredsilly   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: hard to find

Wait Entertainment: i was actually insulted by the guy with the oreos. My son is mentally handicapped and it offened me.

Length of Event: fine

Actor Performance: boring, most of them just sat there, or said "I have an axe" I hate haunted houses because they USUALLY scare me, and this 1 actually made me laugh.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: ok, kinda slow

Appropriate Ages: any

Props / Special FX: kinda lame, they just weren't realistic

Costumes / Make-up: ok

Summary: I just will not come back, I do not feel it was worth the money I had to spend to get in. Like I said, it was more of a comedy than a horror house. The only part that kinda scared me was walking in the ppitch black, and running into walls, because I couldn't see where I was going.

Reviewed by: joettag32   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is in the middle of no where so it makes it much scarier b/c it's completely dark. So it's the perfect location for a haunting.

Wait Entertainment: There was a little wait entertainment, an actor or two, but the wait wasnt that long anyways. There was lots of stuff to look at in the scenes and scary music and sounds.

Length of Event: It took us about 30-40 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actor/ess were very good and inovative. I really liked this one that hid behind a coffin and slammed it down and jumped out as you walk by. Over actor/ess were very professional and scary. They didnt just stand around and follow and/or look at it, they scared u first. The chainsaw guys are of course scary b/c they have chainsaws lol.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good, we chose to wait and go by ourselves b/c we felt the group was too big. So four of us waited behind for about 10 minutes from the others. It worked much better that way for scaring.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up. There are a few scenese that had some adult content only in them.

Props / Special FX: Very good props and effects especially having to climb past clothes and body bags to get through the house.

Costumes / Make-up: Average costumes and Make-up for a haunting. Nothing exceptional, but I dont expect them to be. EVen though i did like the cookie monster guy who just ate cookies lol.

Summary: I would reccommend this haunting to anyone who is looking for a legit scare and that takes a lil while to get through. This haunting is only 10$ and is very worth the money. You never want good scares to end so of course it could be longer, but thats b/c we really enjoyed it.

Reviewed by: ARam16   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Kinda off the beaten' path, but the signs helped. (not to mention it's like my 5th time out here) Directions on the web site are also helpful.

Wait Entertainment: The cop guy is funny, along with a couple of zombies. Plus this one "special" guy. Oreo? What? Uh Oh!

Length of Event: 40 Mins or so.

Actor Performance: Actors stayed in character really well. They must practice or something.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everything flowed rather nicely.

Appropriate Ages: Pretty graphic and gory. I think they got it right 13+.

Props / Special FX: Props were great!

Costumes / Make-up: Make-up looks professionally done! No childish masks. All make-up.

Summary: For what you get at this haunt, they should charge double what they get now. Well worth the drive and $10 admission. See you guys next year! Well, possibly again this year!

Reviewed by: mrbuildit1   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This is out in the farm area and is alittle hard to locate with out the signs guiding the way.

Wait Entertainment: Had characters working the lines. They were not long and moved quite fast.

Length of Event: about 45 minutes

Actor Performance: there were on story line and stayed in character quite well. even to the car at the end.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was steady. did run into another group at any time. Well spaced

Appropriate Ages: 12 and older

Props / Special FX: The prop are very well thought out and worked in to the story line. The whole haunt is based on there story line and holds to that all the way through.

Costumes / Make-up: The make-up is well done and well thought out in this haunt.

Summary: The $10.00 for this haunt is a very small amount to have to pay for the lenghth and quality of this entertainment. Will be there again and can't wait to see what is in store for us then.

Reviewed by: cybob   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Out in the country.Signs and website were very helpful in finding it.Creepy location.Dark and in the middle of nowhere

Wait Entertainment: Cool music in the entrance and thruout.Very gross creepy character at entrance.Also cool entrance with alot to look at.

Length of Event: Took about 45 minuites but let a couple of groups go ahead of us.

Actor Performance: Superb!Everyone seemed to really be into it. The sanitorium was very creepy and the doctor was crazy.It was like being in a movie. Very believable

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Had a few minuite wait near entrance but once inside moved at a nice pace.Never ran into any other groups once we left the short movie at the entrance

Appropriate Ages: Very bloody and gory. Also intense I would say 13 unless you got little warped kids

Props / Special FX: Some animated but mostly actors.Very realistic. Felt like i was in a movie at times

Costumes / Make-up: Great makeup! Zombies looked like zombies and the crazy people looked crazy

Summary: This was a large fun haunt.Very entertaining. Scary and even funny at times.They dont let up on you much once you are inside and you are inside for quite a while.Will go again this month. Don't want to wait another year to go thru.

Reviewed by: haunted87   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This one is located in the middle of nowhere. Do not use mapquest to get to the location as the drive is scarier than the haunted house.

Wait Entertainment: There was not too much wait entertainment when people were in the lines it could have been a little better if people were running around even in the parking lots before you get in.

Length of Event: about 40 minutes

Actor Performance: Not as scary as the reviews said. There was a lot of kids working the event and they were not into as much as some of the adults. I myself like to be really scared and that was not the case. I think they could have been a lot louder or had more sounds to scare people.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow went very well didnt not get caught up with anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and older

Summary: I was expecting a lot more out of the facility based on the other reviews form visitors that I had seen. I think I spent more time laughing throughout the event than I did screaming. It may be scary from 10 year olds but not so much if you are an adult. They need more entertainment before the event, need more enthusiastic employees and need to plan scares a little better. I go to over 20 haunted houses throughout october and I can say for the $10 per person this one is a bit overrated.

Reviewed by: timb   (Event Visited: 10/03/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is out in the counrty and provides a good ride with anticipation of whats in store.

Wait Entertainment: The lines moved real fast and the characters at the entrance made it enjoyable.

Length of Event: 40 Minutes.

Actor Performance: The trail was dark and the actors made very good efforts to stay in character even as they saw how scared people were.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow of the trail and houses was very good, no waiting at any place in the event.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 12 and above.

Props / Special FX: Lots of props and effects were used, the chain saw was awesome. The houses had a lot of special things that kept you on your toes and nervous about what was next.

Costumes / Make-up: The make up was excellent, the costumes were great. A lot of attention was placed on the zombie theme and the actors looked real.

Summary: This was my first time out and I really enjoyed the attraction. The trail was dark and the actors were really scary. I would recommend this to any one that really wants to be scared to death. There is something about the feeling of being alone in the dark and in the woods. Arriving at the houses were almost a relief until you entered inside and the frite started over again. They did an excellent job.

Reviewed by: joker   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This place is located in the middle of nowhere. The some what long and winding road sets the mood for the scary things that follow.

Wait Entertainment: The seperation into the two lines makes for a somewhat short and entertaining wait. The roles of Officer Justice and Special Ed make it entertaining while you wait.

Length of Event: Approx. 45 minutes of frite.

Actor Performance: The make up is really good and the actors seem to be really into the characters they are potraying. The continued theme is great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The process flows pretty good, from the trail into the hospitol, through the pines and into the buildings it's a continuous scare.

Appropriate Ages: About 13 and above.

Props / Special FX: The hospitol effects and the automated props in the buildings are excellent. A lot of attention to detail there.

Costumes / Make-up: The make up was extroadinarily good. The detail was down to the smallest drop of blood and flesh damage. The costumes went right along with the theme and were put together well.

Summary: This is an excellent haunt. The time spent inside of the event is well worth the cost and any wait you might have. A lot of time and attention to detail was put into this place. It's the best I've seen in years.

Reviewed by: JASHUH   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: LOCATION IS GREAT HOWEVER CAN BE HARD TO FIND, THE NEED BETTER DIRECTIONS TO GET THERE. OLD FARM LAND SETTING WITH LOTS OF WALKING DEEP INTO THE WOODS WITH OLD FARM BUILDINGS SURROUNDING. THE MOOD IS SET GREAT HERE.

Wait Entertainment: NO WAIT ENTERTAINMENT AVAILABLE, LINES MOVED GOOD.

Length of Event: 20 MINUTES PLUS HERE, NICE SHUFFLE FROM BUILDING TO WALK TO BUILDING.

Actor Performance: ACTORS PERFORMANCE OVERALL WAS VERY GOOD, WELL DONE INTRODUCTION AND STORY LINE.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: NO BOTTLE-UP TRAFFIC IN THE ATTRACTIONS, EVERYTHING MOVED GOOD.

Appropriate Ages: 8+ NOT FOR REAL SMALL CHILDREN OR KIDS AFRAID OF THE DARK.

Props / Special FX: PROPS ARE AVERAGE OVERALL. COULD USE MORE SPECIAL EFFECTS AND PROPS ON THE TRAIL.

Costumes / Make-up: MAKE UP AND COSTUMES INSIDE THE BUILDINGS ARE GOOD, TRAIL TO DARK TOO SEE ANYTHING.

Summary: VERY IMPRESSED WITH THIS ATTRACTION, EVERYTHING WORKS GREAT HERE. THERE NEEDS TO BE MORE SPECIAL EFFECTS THROUGHOUT THE ATTRACTION, BUT WHAT THEY HAVE WORKS GOOD. THE TELEVISION SETUP OF THE EVENTS STORY WORKS GREAT AND SETS THE MOOD AS TO WHAT IS TO COME. NICE LONG TRAIL, HOWEVER LIGHTING IS VERY WEAK SO SOME PEOPLE MIGHT HAVE TROUBLE HERE. ALSO TRAIL NEEDS MORE PROPS AND SOME LIGHT EFFECTS TO KEEP PEOPLE ENTERTAINED. OVERALL LEVEL HERE IS GOOD AND I ENJOYED THE ATTRACTION VERY MUCH AND WILL RETURN NEXT YEAR. WELL WORTH THE $10.00 COST.

Reviewed by: claire1524   (Event Visited: 10/03/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The haunt is located in the middle of nowhere, which I found to be really great. My husband and I take a back way to get there and it is nice to help set the mood for going through the haunted house.

Wait Entertainment: Special Ed and Officer Justice do a great job of getting people that are waiting to go in ready for the haunt...and even add a little extra scare at the end if they aren't busy :)

Length of Event: I have found this to be one of the longer haunted houses in the Quad City area, which is really nice.

Actor Performance: The actors all seem to actually put a lot of effort into their roles which really helps with the overall ambience of the place.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We went on opening night this year, so there weren't a lot of people that we saw go through, but we also went last year during the middle of the season and they had very long lines (and the wait is completely worth it :))

Props / Special FX: The props and special effects were awesome. I love that as you walk through the woods you really have to rely on the moonlight as your only source of light and last night, there was no moon, which made it very spooky...something I thouroughly enjoy.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make up was also very well done. Every scene of the house seemed to pay very close attention to detail and you can tell that the people in charge really want to put out a quality product.

Summary: My husband and I attended this haunt last year and found it to be the best haunted house we had been to in our area. We love haunted houses so we decided to go back again this year. We were very glad we did because it was set up very well and we really enjoyed how real most of the set up was. I also love that you are already getting scared as you enter the haunted house because you have to walk alone through a dark wooded area just waiting for someone to creep out at you. Overall I found the attention to detail extremely impressive and I would recommend this haunted house to anyone who is looking for a real good scare. :)

Reviewed by: GossamerG   (Event Visited: 10/03/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is out in the country but the directions are easy to follow.. and we have been there before.

Wait Entertainment: There is this guy there who is a little off, reminded me of the guy from "Of Mice and Men", he was quite creepy.

Length of Event: 40 minutes

Actor Performance: really good even with opening night they must practice alot

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Excellent, the entrance is like when ya go to disney world and they split ya up so ya never bump into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: ya better be at least 14

Props / Special FX: Lots of awesome props and so much too look at, the rooms are filled with everything, espcially the lab

Costumes / Make-up: the makeup is so believable,very creepy and disgusting

Summary: OMG we screamed before we even got our tickets all the way to the end, it was great. We wanted to get scared and that we did. Plus it was awesome all the changes that they have made. They added so much this year. 
It is our favorite haunt and they keep gettin better.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at