Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
the haunted barn plantation of the dead (Marion, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: CTownsend   (Event Visited: 10/31/08 @ 11:45 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It wasin a very nice remote locations just out of marion, a very good place for a haunted barn, and it wasn't hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: The wait wasn't long at all, the minute we parked, the entertainment began when we were greeted at the car by a creepy werewolf and a goblin. Then we were immediately able to enter with practically no wait at all.

Length of Event: I honestly don't remember how long it was. The last thing on my mind was what time it was when I left.

Actor Performance: The actors were extrememly realistic and very frightening. The clowns were probably my favorite part. And all of the actors stayed in character even after we were done walking through the haunted barn.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was perfect, if the guides were going to fast, we asked them to slow down and they obliged, and if there was any issue with the patron flow it was probably my fault for being so scared.

Appropriate Ages: high schoolers and up

Props / Special FX: Fantastic. The lights, fog, and sounds were very disorienting and made the whole experience more eerie. I also really liked the loud creepy voice that talked to me and the other members of my group as we made our was through the barn.

Costumes / Make-up: They were very creepy, and very dead looking. They fit very well with the rest of the attraction.

Summary: Overall, the haunted barn was a very good haunted house. Though I haven't been to many others,it is one of the best that I actually have visited. All of the actors were fantastic. The setting was very scary. Me and my friend that went can't wait to go back, actually we plan on making one more visit before it closes until next year!

Reviewed by: tabernathy   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was remote in the country - perfect , isolated just enough

Wait Entertainment: good wait time - during the wait we got to check out the werewolf and crazy evil clown roaming about the exterior of the barn.

Length of Event: Approxiamately 30 minutes to work our way through .Excellent , enjoyed every twist and turn

Actor Performance: Actors stayed in character - very convincing , the girl with the baby was a favorite of my group. My favorite was the crazy scientist feasting on rancid meat- I was completely mesermized in what he was doing and then WHAM ! he slung blood and guts all over the window !

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Had a slight jam up midway through , the people in front of us were scared so we couldn't blame them for being hesitant.

Appropriate Ages: Appropriate for 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: Terrific - the strobe lights were disorienting- great setups where you thought that a fake prop would do something and an actor would startle you. very well done!

Costumes / Make-up: true to life - or should I say death - ha ha !!! convincing - effective - perfect! MICHAEL MYERS RULED !!!

Summary: My family thought that your haunt was a blast - they cannot wait to go back next year , I commend all of the actors , makeup artists , producers of the event for a job EXTREMELY WELL DONE. Keep it up. Your haunt was an affordable, safe and memorable night of fun and scares that we will be talking about for a very long time. Until next year Haunted Barn !

Reviewed by: spicycat3   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Off the beaten path but easy to find, lots of signs leading you in.

Wait Entertainment: Great! Very creative, these guys put a lot of thought into their show.

Length of Event: About 20 min.

Actor Performance: Awesome, everyone seemed to be well into their roles.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good! We didn't run into any other people.

Appropriate Ages: Difficult to say, alot of this place is very scary!

Props / Special FX: WOW! Lots to see here, scares around every corner & tons and tons of special effects.

Costumes / Make-up: Make up and costumes were both excellent. A few were so we thought were props, turned out to be an actor...Awseome scare!

Summary: This place is a must go to for the Halloween season. A scare around every corner, very busy this place. You may have to go through twice to see it all. But just like the Dungeon of Darkness that I went to earlier in the evening, this place is very scary and would probably not recommend it to kids under 11 without a parent. I'm glad to see that So. IL. is getting some scary haunts.

Reviewed by: hcresident   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Way out of town, but signs directing you in. One sign had the light burned out and we missed the turn but turned around and came back.

Wait Entertainment: Movie playing inside a shed. A few midget clowns come in and out and Michael Myers came in once.

Length of Event: 15 min give or take depends on how fast the guides walk.

Actor Performance: Some were really good, most were average. A few were down right rude and obnoxious.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Follow the leader. You have to be guided through which is really elementary style. But I can see why cuz they have some areas where you can trip and get seriously hurt so guides had to tell you to watch ur step.

Appropriate Ages: under 10 might be scared

Props / Special FX: Props were pretty cool. No major special effects. Simple stuff like strobes and black lighting, an occasionally blast of air.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were alright and make up was okay. Pretty much standard stuff seen in other places.

Summary: Once again we went because of excellent reviews. This one was a little better than Chittyville and Dungeon of Darkness. At least in this one we could see the actors and props, but did not like the follow the leader thing. this would be a great haunt if they turned u loose. But you pretty much knew what was going to happen cuz the guide would really slow down which ruined the effect. Their chick screaming with her baby probably has a soar throat this morning, she did great. The dude eating the crap was also excellent. Loose the guides and this would be a much better haunt trust me.

Reviewed by: KJERALDS   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: VERY EASY TO FIND

Wait Entertainment: THE WAIT TO GET INTO THE BARN IS VERY ENTERTAINING. THEY HAVE ALOT GOING ON

Length of Event: THE TIME IT TAKES TO GO THRU THE BARN IS JUST LONG ENOUGH. IF IT WAS ANY LONGER THEY WOULD HAVE TO HAVE A BREAK SO YOU COULD CATCH YOUR BREATH AND GO THE RESTROOM

Actor Performance: THE ACTORS ARE ARE VERY LIFE LIKE. I TOOK MY NEPHEW AND A A FRIEND AND THEY WERE SO SCARED BY THE TIME IT WAS ARE TURN TO GO THRU THAT THEY CHICKENED OUT AND THE WENT AND SET IN THE CAR. THEY WERE SCREAMING LIKE LITTLE GIRLS

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I DO NOT BELIEVE THAT THERE WAS A MOMENT INSIDE THE BARN THAT YOU WERENT WAITING FOR THE NEXT THING TO JUMP OUT AT YOU. AROUND EVERY CORNER THERE WAS SOMETHING

Appropriate Ages: I DONT BELIVE I WOULD WANT TO TAKE ANY KIDS YOUNGER THAN 10. IT WOULD ALL DEPEND ON THE KID.

Props / Special FX: THE PROPS WERE VERY GOOD.

Costumes / Make-up: THE MAKEUP AND THE COSTUMES WERE VERY GOOD. SOME OF THE ACTORS YOU DIDNT NO IF THEY WERE PROPS OR ACTORS

Summary: I HAVE BEEN THRU THE BARN 2 TIMES. EACH YEAR I BELIEVE IT GETS BETTER AND BETTER. YOU NEVER WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN AND IS AROUND THE CORNER. YOU ALSO HAVE TO WATCH YOUR BACK. THEY DONT ONLY COME AT YOU FROM THE FRONT BUT THE BACK ALSO

Reviewed by: devlinburges   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it was out of the way but that made for a good scary atomsphere

Wait Entertainment: good they had a movie on and actors in the line...there was not much of a line but there were people that went though talking about it and i feel that is always a good sign

Length of Event: not to long the "guides" walk a little fast in some parts but i walked slower to see everything and there is a lot to look at...something around every corner

Actor Performance: very good...there were so kids...which takes away from the scare...because they are kids...but they were weird and creepy...it seemed like a hundred people were in there...again something around every corner or scene

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: real good i could hear people sceaming but never seen them and that was cool i never seen a scare before i got to it so that was good

Appropriate Ages: pre teen and older is was real scary and i would think real young childeren would be scard for life realy

Props / Special FX: good and lot of things everywhere to look at no scene was lacking in props

Costumes / Make-up: good the actor in the H*ll scene was very cool and brutal very good makeup and contumes

Summary: this is it the best one in souther illinois...realy i had a great time and will go back...the scenes where great...i liked the doctor scene...that was cool...every thing was great and i am glad that we have the haunted barn i hope to come back next year...props to all that put this togather and keep scarying souther illinois

Reviewed by: hauntedfan   (Event Visited: 10/03/08 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Out in the country. Very dark. Signs pointed us in the right direction, but we have been there the last 4 years, so we knew how to get there.

Wait Entertainment: movie in a covered wait building and a crazy clown running around, he/she/it scared the people before back into the car and they did not go through.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes, lost track.

Actor Performance: top notch! Maybe too good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not see any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: probably over 10 or 11.

Props / Special FX: the usuall, plus lots of air blowing at you and things that startle you like sirens ect. cool flame effects in the long h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) scene.

Costumes / Make-up: good mix of make up and differnet masks and the tall 10 foot tall monster thing got us.

Summary: A little better every year. this year there was a lot of different stuff, like ramps going up stairs and a ramp that seemed to go underground for the h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) scene. You never knew if you were up or down, inside or out. You keep going in and out of the barn. a good gory scene near the end with a guy playing with guts and stuff, well done and worth the drive.

Reviewed by: Jesbet   (Event Visited: 10/03/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There are many signs directing you to the attraction, and the map on the web site is extremely accurate

Wait Entertainment: They had a movie playing in the waiting room, to help keep you entertained. And while I was in the waiting room one of the actors actually came in and did a short skit.

Length of Event: About 25 minutes once I actually got inside

Actor Performance: Sooo believable! There was even 1 actor that actually looked like a prop right until I got up to it. And while I was going through all of the actors were really into their scenes which made it completely real.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It seemed like my wait time went fairly quick. I didn't actually time how long it took between groups, but it seemed like it was just a couple of minutes.

Appropriate Ages: This was an extreme scare night and I would probably recommend that children under 8 wait for the family night, unless they are just really into being scared like my kids are.

Props / Special FX: The props were amazing. The way that they used the props was great. There was not a prop out of place, or that did not fit in. And there were several special effects that really scared the pants off of me. You just don't expect it and BAM there it is.

Costumes / Make-up: The make-up looks almost professional. It is as if they have a make-up artist from one of those crime scene shows fixing up the actors before it starts. And the masks that are used are great.

Summary: This is the third year that I have visited The Haunted Barn, and I cannot stress how amazed I am each year. Every year you walk into a completely different haunted house. They add to, and take out, and it is just great. I have not been disappointed once. My children love it, we all love the scare factor, and once the end of September starts rolling around they start talking about opening night, because they want to be one of the first ones to experience it. My daughter even asked one of the workers this year what she would have to do to be able to work there next year. It just seems that everyone that works there loves what they are doing, and it makes the whole experience great from beginning to end. We will for sure be back at least 1 more time this year, just to see it all again.

Reviewed by: wickedclownd   (Event Visited: 10/03/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: its in the woods and country so the ride out there was cool...you feel like your in a horror movie out there

Wait Entertainment: movies the one they had was good i liked it

Length of Event: about 25 30 minuts i walked a little slower to see everthing

Actor Performance: realy good the costumes where good

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good i never bumped in to a group

Appropriate Ages: 11 at least they realy try to scare you

Props / Special FX: good i didnt see things that i could get at the mall or anything like that

Costumes / Make-up: great i liked the acters and scenes

Summary: it was realy good...the drive out there made you feel like you where in a horro movie lost in the country...the whole time i was very exeited about it...there was something to took at in every cornner and a lot of actors i didnt know what was coming up next there where kids in a cage and a grill that was good...the h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) room realy was like h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) the actor was in your face and yelling i just wanted to get out (but i had a good time in hell) this is as good as i ve seen in souther illinios and i will go back next week...they do things different each week and its allways a surpise

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at