Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Dungeon of Doom & Labyrinth of Doom (Grayslake, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: twilight125   (Event Visited: After Oct. 31 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/06/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Though I didn't drive there, it seemed like an easy enough place to find because it's located in a giant fairground.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was FANTASTIC; it was almost better than the actual haunted house (but not quite). There were always at least 3 actors milling around the line, and they were -really- good at what their job. They had amazing makeup and costumes and they were pretty darn scary! They committed and would follow you and creep up on you and they were definitely the most memorable part. There was also music and a gory horror film. So although the wait length was about 30-40 minutes (we went on November 1st), it didn't feel long at all.

Length of Event: The wait was 30-40 minutes, and I'm not quite sure on the time of the actual house. I would guess 20 minutes. It was a good length, of course it could have been longer because it was so amazing I would have loved to stay longer, but I didn't come out thinking it'd been too short.

Actor Performance: Amazing. They were scary and so dedicated. They all were so memorable, especially the actors wandering outside, scaring the people first arriving and those waiting in line. I'd say the best were the man on stilts, the guy with the red pants with chains and the dreadlocks, and the guy who I encountered at the end when I was leaving the house. He had a giant blade and followed me and scraped the blade on the ground and was pretty creepy! Then he gave me to the count of 5 to run or he said something awful would happen. So of course I did, haha...and he still followed me! And the guy on stilts joined in and tried to block my exit! It was so much fun.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The groups were spaced out very well. My group didn't run into another group for almost the entire haunted house. At one point we were inside the giant labyrinth with the iron fences and we could see and hear the group in front of us but that was the only point at which this occurred.

Appropriate Ages: I saw little kids there, like 8 and 9 year olds who came out talking about how awesome it was. Personally, I wouldn't have enjoyed something like this when I was younger, but I didn't see any kids crying. Just use good judgment based on how sensitive your kid is to gore and things that pop out at you.

Props / Special FX: Very well done. The rooms were really awesome and had great props and special effects. Probably the coolest was the giant spinning tube that spun around a bridge you had to cross, and the bridge would tilt and create the optical illusion that you were falling sideways. It was pretty awesome. The haunted hospital also had great special effects and props.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up were fantastic! You could really tell a lot of time was spent. I'm specifically thinking of a guy who was in the wait line who had flaky skin and kind of dreadlock-y hair and creepy teeth...he looked unbelievably creepy! The makeup was perfect.

Summary: Basically, this was an amazing haunted house. I signed up on this site just so I could write a rave review! I really wish I had gone before November 1st so that I could have gone multiple times - it wasn't the kind of thing that would have been boring the 2nd time, it would have been maybe even better because I would be able to pay more attention to what I'm sure were great rooms (the first time, I was more focused on the monsters that kept popping out at my group!). I highly recommend this haunted house and will most definitely be returning next year.

Reviewed by: treesaw726   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I have been going here for the past 6 years, so I know exactly how to get there. If this is your first time, you may have difficulties finding the place. If you actually look though, it's kind of hard to miss.

Wait Entertainment: It was good, I do wish they would get new costumes though. It has been the same costumes year after year, and they do need to change. It's kind of getting old. Also, we waited a little over 4 hours to get into this haunt, so if you don't want to wait, get there early. I felt it was worth the wait though.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Good as usual. They really want to make sure you do get scared which I really love. Every year I go, I am always screaming. I really liked the change in the rooms this year as well. It was time for it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good, we didn't run into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 14+ they use vulgar language, but if you're a parent that doesn't mind that, then bring your kids but not under 12.

Props / Special FX: I really liked the phone booth in the first room. It was nice that my friend was chosen to pick up the phone. I also thought the maze was a great idea! I had a lot of fun going through it and the actors scared me a lot. They always make sure the props are realistic and appropriate for the scenary.

Costumes / Make-up: Great as usual! You can tell they really put a lot of time and effort into their makeup. It's get realistic and when they come behind you and you turn around, be prepared to scream and run.

Summary: This will always be one of my favorite haunted houses. It's a lot of fun and you can tell the actors love scaring people. In all honesty though, I really think DOD should get rid of burried alive. Jamming A LOT of people into a very small room isn't a lot of fun. I always skip burried alive and just wait for my friends at the end. I think they should get rid of it and extend the haunted house. Also, the lab room with the guy in the electric chair is old. That lab use to be in the beginning of the haunted house, then it use to be the exorcist, and now the lab is at the end. I don't really care for it. Obviously I love coming to this haunted house every year, but they really need to invest in some change. Get new costumes (not makeup because it's always great), and take out the necessary areas in the haunted house to add more rooms. They would have a lot of space if they took the lab and burried alive out. Overall though, I would definitely recommend this haunt to anyone!

Reviewed by: tb0212   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find if you know the area. Could be a little difficult if you dont (signs not lit up so well look for them).

Wait Entertainment: Tons of things to keep me and my group occupied, tons of venders in one of the buildings and loud metal playing. Also had messed up movie clips playing.

Length of Event: About 25-30 minutes felt long.

Actor Performance: This is one thing DoD really sets the bar for, their actors. No other haunt I have visited has had such intensity and devotion to this extreme.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very good didn't run into any other groups until that lab/ Frankenstein area. But a group did catch up to us in the cage maze.

Appropriate Ages: 13+ lots of disturbing things.

Props / Special FX: Tons of props and animatronics to keep you occupied before the actors attacked. Very detailed scenes....especially the cabin scene.

Costumes / Make-up: Very well done each makeup matched the area that the actor was in.

Summary: DoD is a great event to visit for newcomers and those who have been going the past decade. definitely worth the drive and checking out for anyone who wants their moneys worth. Reasons being great wait entertainment, great actors, and best of all well detailed and put together event. Kudos to you DoD and I will come back next year wherever the fairgrounds takes you guys!

Reviewed by: psychobabe1   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 11:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not hard to find as it is at the fairgrounds every year.

Wait Entertainment: Excellent!!!!! Love to watch characters scare. They seem to have some kind of ESP when it comes to who they target and there is never a dull moment. Intensity of actors is like none seen before.

Length of Event: about 30 minutes

Actor Performance: As expected - excellent. The energy from the actors charged the air with such intensity you just couldn't dimiss their performances. Very into character and very terrifying.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good

Appropriate Ages: 14+

Props / Special FX: A lot of cool props throughout the house and the effects were amazing.

Costumes / Make-up: Very realistic. The make-up seems very professionally done.

Summary: Great experience for anyone who loves to be scared out of their mind. Amazing detail in some of the rooms and the phone booth is awesome. Well worth the cost and wait. Can't wait to goi again

Reviewed by: DebChosen1   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 6:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I knew where it was but really they could use a bigger or moer well lit sign at the parking lot entrance since you can not see the haunt from the street

Wait Entertainment: A few characters roaming the lines.

Length of Event: 20ish minutes

Actor Performance: Good effort for the majority of the actors

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Seemed like it was pretty good. We were the first two in a group of 8 and somehow got seperated from our group. You all catch up in the "Lab" as they hold a group of 30 there for a mini "show"

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: I haven't been to D of D in a few years. Alot was the same as I remember. The anamatronics timing seemed to be off in a few rooms. SInce most of the time there were only 2 of us in the room, maybe it was timed for having a bigger group in the room.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes & makeup done well. Every creature appropriate for his area

Summary: Glad we got there before they opened at 6:30 because the line got long fast. The wait was inside for the most part. I liked the addition of the phone booth. THe other Additions, like the Vortex de Spirits was a bit lame...but of course, at least they tried to do something new with a vortex, so points there. The show in the lab was not conducive to a big group. I know they are holding people in there while buried alive works, but we really couldn't see or hear what was going on since we were at the back. I hope the "Dungeon" owners take note that I did NOT like the new way buried alive is run. I know it is done that way to get more people through but going from laying down to jaming 30 people in a room and then "burying them" led to me being jostled around and knocked into other people as others panicked & shoved, being knocked in the head by the "dirt" (I am trying not to give away the effect ) and being kicked by other patrons at the end when we are told to kick the "dirt" out of the room. Maybe that should be added on the haunt as a seperate attraction for a few bucks and go back to lying down or at least run it like the ORIGINAL buried alive from the Asylum haunt in Berwyn(closed since 1999) and only put a group that fits around the perimeter (as I recall) , not jam 30 people in the room.

Reviewed by: hestertrain   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Visibility is hard but i know the location so you gotta look for signs finding entrance, parking is good.

Wait Entertainment: the wait i got there at 8:40 it took 3 and a half hours to get tickets to even start

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: performance was relaxed seemed like they did it more of a job than for entertainment purposes.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: at beginning not bad but once you get to certain areas like the labyrinth alot of people get confused and end up pushing you. and at the end it just piles up with people and you end up waiting in another line for 10 minutes.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: props were good special effects were good, but not as good as the previous years.

Costumes / Make-up: costumes are always good over the years that didnt change.

Summary: The line outside if you dont get there early will take you 4 hours to get in. the wait alone in line is not worth it. If i had a say in choosing a top rated haunted house i would not choose this one.

Reviewed by: meg0527   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I have been here many times so i know exactly where it is, but you should just drive slow when your approaching the fair grounds and you wont miss it.

Wait Entertainment: Excellent as always. many decorations and actors runing around scaring people.

Length of Event: 25 minutes or so

Actor Performance: great, never went out of character, even when they were trying to "help" you in the maze

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: i don't know what happend to the group in front of us,one mintute they were there and the we never saw them again.

Appropriate Ages: I think the sign says 12 and up, i agree.

Props / Special FX: good for the most part, some stuff id a little old, they need to replace them.

Costumes / Make-up: very good,make-up on the actors was amazing. The costumes were also very original.

Summary: All in all, a very good haunt. I have been going to dungeon of doom nearly every year for the past 7 years. they never fail to scare me. 
The new maze was cool, we got very lost adn confused. we were being misled and kept running into other groups. If you dont want to wait in line get there early!

Reviewed by: brookey   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There's two entrances and its at the fairgrounds so its a pretty good location and easy to find/get to.

Wait Entertainment: One of my favorite parts. Even though the wait is long they have enough people dressed up to entertain/scare everyone and they do a great job.

Length of Event: I like the length because its not short..even after waiting in line over 2 hours the length of it was worth it.

Actor Performance: Great. I like how they sneak up on you and just stand behind you until you turn around or when they follow you around and get in your face.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, didn't have to stop and wait at all, kept moving at a steady pace.

Appropriate Ages: More for teenagers and adults. 
I think it'd be way too scary for young kids.

Props / Special FX: Very good. I like the spiral tunnels that move all the way around and all the cool lights they use.

Costumes / Make-up: Amazing. They all looked good and scary. I love all their crazy contacts they all wear. They make the costume look even scarier and the makeup is done perfect.

Summary: This is my favorite haunted house I've ever gone to. This year I've already been there 3 times and I plan on going again. I never get sick of it, it is still always good/scary. I really ejnoy the laborynth of doom they added this year too..they really make it seem as if you are in a laborynth. There isn't one thing about the dungeon of doom I didn't like. It is scary and it is so much fun. It has great costumes/performers and awesome effects and all the rooms are so cool. What they do in the phonebooth room was pretty sweet. Dungeon of doom is why I look forward to October so much. I love to be scared and its really hard to scare me and I was even scared going through it, still scared even the third time I went.

Reviewed by: falldown32   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: On a major intersection, but set back in the fairgrounds so you can't see it from the street, but if you're not a complete retard and can read/follow signs, you'll get there easy.

Wait Entertainment: Being a more popular haunted house, the line was very long of course, and could have definitely used a couple more actors outside for the line, but the people who were out there did a great job and had amazing costumes.

Length of Event: 25 minutes.

Actor Performance: Very good. I never saw the actors never let their guard down/stepped out of character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Could have been a little better of flow, but I guess that could also be attributed to slow moving groups.

Props / Special FX: Awesome. Every room was set up bad a@@ (censored) the hospital had sick props and almost felt like you were in a real crazy hospital. The props are just insane.

Costumes / Make-up: Definitely professional, every character had amazing make-up jobs done and costumes were sweet.

Summary: Def one of the best haunted houses I've ever visited. Worth the money, wait time, and drive. Everything about the place was set up so good and professionally, and all the actors had a ton of energy.

Reviewed by: DBY106698   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's hard to see, but everyone should know where the old Lake County Fairgrounds are at, so it's easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: The actors they have there seem to come out of no where. One moment your talking to your friend, the next there is a clown behind you! It was quite a wait at that time, though the video clips helped to pass the time.

Length of Event: 20-25 minutes?

Actor Performance: The actors were excellent, they all staye din character and knew the exact moments to come out and scare us. I swear I'm still trying to figure out where half of them came from! I turned my head for just a moment and when I looked back, there was a skull in my face! They all did a great job!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was pretty good. We ran into the group ahead of us, but I think there was a problem or something. They got moving and one of the actors had us wait and proceeded to work on the rest of the group before letting us move on. Very good of them. We didn't see them until that fence maze, but that was by seeing them through the fencing. We grouped up in that frankenstien room and were together from there, but I think it's supposed ot be that way.

Appropriate Ages: 13+ only. With all the makeup and blood and stuff, the little ones will have nightmares.

Props / Special FX: The props were used rather well. Some didn't seem to scary, but they were distracting long enough for the actor to appear and get you. Eitherway, they did good. Loved those spinning tubes!

Costumes / Make-up: The cotumes all seemed to match the themes of the rooms well. And the bloody make up was great, especially in that hospital. The clowns looked none too friendly either.

Summary: Overall it was quite a wait, so show up early, otherwise dress warm and be ready to wait. Without a doubt it was worth it and although they raised the price, it seems longer than the previous years and well worth it. I'd go back again with more friends if any were brave enough to go. Can't wait to see what they do next year!

Reviewed by: katestack   (Event Visited: 10/23/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Bit of a walk, but worth it in the end.

Wait Entertainment: Reasonable.

Length of Event: Approximately 25-30 minutes, depending on how quickly the people infront of you move.

Actor Performance: Amazing!!! Every actor had a lot of energy and a great performance to give.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Steady.

Appropriate Ages: I'd give it a PG-13ish rating.

Costumes / Make-up: D.O.D. has some VERY talented make up artists on hand. They do wonderful work.

Summary: The line wasn't terribly long when I went. I've been there in the past and had to wait a few hours to get in, but I don't think I waited more than 45 minutes. Once in, it was confusing, I was scared and jumpy, but that's exactly how a haunted house should be. I went through the rest of the house rivetted and excited and waiting for more. I think I'm going again!!!

Reviewed by: abraxas88   (Event Visited: 10/23/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is off the beating path but it is still a great location. 

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment was Extream as always!

Length of Event: Event took about 28 mins, give or take a few stragglers falling over infront of us.

Actor Performance: The actors were amazing, perfect timing, coming from every direction, not what i expected for a weekday.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We went a our own pace, no one to push us along.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: The mix of actors and special effects from the different rooms was amazing, the best was mercy general..

Costumes / Make-up: i cant say it enough, the make-up every year is absolutly incredable

Summary: Dungeon of doom is a great experiance for all fear enthusiasts. I can always count on the peope at the Dungeon Of Doom perform at there peak perfomance. The comeback of the Frankenstein scene was alittle bit of a suprise but a great one at that. 

Reviewed by: Lizifur   (Event Visited: 10/05/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There weren't any illuminated signs that we could see around 45 and Center Street at night. It was mostly the fact that DoD hasn't changed its location that we knew where to find it.

Wait Entertainment: There was hardly a wait the night that we went so the line entertainment was really not needed. The large, hulking creature assembling groups into lines was quite a character, though, and there were horror movie clips playing.

Length of Event: 25 minutes or so

Actor Performance: Actor performance was pretty good...no one broke character and they all had energy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good..the only time we saw anyone else inside the haunt was in the chain link maze and during the Frankenstein scene.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up.

Props / Special FX: Loved the detail on some of the scenes like Cabin of Carnage. However, it seemed like a lot less detail went into the halls and transitions between areas. It seemed like a good 25% of the house was dark hallways with drop portraits and the 'Pharaoh's Curse' is a good concept but if not executed correctly, essentially seemed to be a pointless scene.

Costumes / Make-up: Good...lots of black robes and masks the night we went though. The people we did see in makeup (ticket-taker, Dr. Frankenstein, etc.) was done well though.

Summary: Dungeon of Doom is a haunt that is always worth the money to go and check out. It's a large haunt, with a lot of good actors...however this year it seemed like the scenes were just jumbled together...one minute you'd be walking through a cabin in the woods and the next through an Egyptian burial chamber. There was no direct 'flow' of one scene into the next. I loved the new vortex with the mirrors and projections this year...that was a pretty neat feature. I didn't really enjoy the chain link maze, though. It wasn't really a maze, but more like a chain link hallway that you followed to a certain point, and then an actor would very obviously move the wall and tell you to go the other way so that you would go back towards the entrance. Once there, you'd have to rewalk the maze...so that you weren't necessarily getting lost like a true maze, but being forced to walk a long series of hallways over and over. Other than that, Dungeon of Doom did well...they got rid of a scene which I always thought was lackluster (Ultimate Exorcist) and replaced it with a Frankenstein scene which was a lot more entertaining. Although it seemed many scenes were missing details and actors, good job overall.

Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Needs a better sign for those of us not sure of the territory

Wait Entertainment: not bad, creepie guy out front with a couple inside the wait area

Length of Event: 15 to 20 minutes

Actor Performance: not many real chances for preformances. Mostly the screamer shocks but all were good at what they did.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They have a good control of what they want. You start with your group but they build it up for a reason.

Appropriate Ages: because of the closer I would say 12 plus NO SMALL ONES!!!

Props / Special FX: They have some high dollar stuff but they don't always take advantage of what they have. The Exorsist is a great scene but they need to get the better Reagan bust. The hillbilly thing is good eye candy. I am not sure the frankenstien worked completely

Costumes / Make-up: They don't use masks much. they do the makeup thing instead. Good to very good.

Summary: This was my first time here. They use the typical plywood maze pattern with various sets. They could tear out some the dog kennel maze and build a cool set piece instead.They have twin vortex tunnels like Spider hill but theirs are not back to back. Spider Hill and Nightmare on fairgrounds road use the 3-d glasses. I would recommend that for them.  
The sets are not as good as The old Creature Crypt or Asylum of mad dreams but they have a couple.  
I had heard of buried alive but didn't know what to expect. OH MY GOD....the greatest effect I have ever seen. BRILLIANT...I was terrified and on the verge of panic. BE AFRAID and BE WARNED. Worth the trip from anywere. Fantastic.

Reviewed by: xxgh7xx   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: My only complaint was actually finding the place. Very hard to locate since they signs they have posted on the streets are low in visibility at night. I recommend you search their address under 50 US-45 Grayslake, IL 60030 
to give your GPS or Google Maps and accurate route and destination.

Wait Entertainment: Very good. The actors are fun and they randomly pop in your face. Also the decor is gothic and sinister.

Length of Event: 25-30 mins

Actor Performance: Very good! Actors really enjoy scaring people.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Smooth

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: SPOILER ALERT! Unique. They have a phone that rings and only ONE from your group has to answer......you can guess that person gets swallowed by the darkness of the room (send the bravest one since they will be on their own from the beginning). The Labyrinth is such a fun addition. Took as a while to actually find our way out of there. And towards the end, they actually bury you alive!!!!!!!! I have never seen that before.

Costumes / Make-up: Detailed

Summary: SPOILER ALERT! My favorite haunted house so far. It is very unique because they do actually attempt in scaring you and separating your group either through the Answer the Phone segment and/or the labyrinth. Plus you get buried alive!!!!

Reviewed by: jennieo75   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's on the NWC of Rte 120 and Rte 45 so we kept going straight on 45 and had to turn around to head West on 120 to get in, but it wasn't very hard to find in my opinion.

Wait Entertainment: Our wait time was about 1 hour and 15 minutes, but horror movies were playing and actors dressed in scary garb, so that was entertaining!

Length of Event: About 20 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: I thought the actors were pretty good....they were really into it!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We kind of got jumbled up with the group ahead of us a little bit.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: They had A TON of props and creepy effects. I thought they did an excellent job on that.

Costumes / Make-up: Make-up was great! Awesome job!

Summary: I didn't care for the ending. It sounded cool, but in my opinion it could be a lawsuit waiting to happen. I'll just say that I didn't have time to cover my head and left there with a sore noggin'!

Reviewed by: sillysyl   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: lake county fair grounds, it's an easy find!

Wait Entertainment: plenty of everything to make the wait go fast

Length of Event: I was too scared to pay attention to something like that. I didn't check my watch before I went in!

Actor Performance: Very Good! The make up is great, the actors are really into to it. They really freak you out!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good as any other LARGE haunted house I have been at

Appropriate Ages: depends on the persons scare factor. I know some 18 year olds who would wet their pants.

Props / Special FX: very good. lots of great stuff. you can tell the people running the place put a lot of thought into what they wanted in this haunted house.

Costumes / Make-up: as I said before very good!

Summary: I did not go into details because I don't like to give things away. That would take away from the scare factor of any haunted house. The bottom line is if you want a good FRIGHT D.O.D. is the place to go!

Reviewed by: kghost74   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Wasn't that hard to find. As long as you pay attention to the signs scattered about when you get around the intersection 45 & 120. Its not hard to figure out

Wait Entertainment: WOW!!! These guys were amazing!! I've been going to the Dungeon for years now and the outside actors are always amazing. Dozer, Crawl, Kasper (I found their myspace profiles), the stilt guy, a cool looking Vampire chick and there was some new guy in a red jacket that looked cool. Unfortunately I didnt see Jerk The Jester or that growling creature guy this time :( Regardless, the makeup always looks professional and they do a great job! Always love watching them slide around too, it always looks awesome! 
 
The line was very long, but at least we were kept entertained by the actors roaming around scaring people. The nice thing was they had 2 other buildings opened up to wait in to keep people out of the cold overall. They decorated one of the buildings with bones and stuff hanging, they had some metal music playing, and some red lights to keep the mood a little bit. The main buildings waiting line seemed smaller but they always do a good job setting the mood with a TV playing some old gory movies and some good music playing. Definitely helps keeps you anxious to get in.

Length of Event: about 25 minutes I think

Actor Performance: Everyone seemed on their A game all the way through.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Overall it seemed fine until we got to the fence maze, where we caught up with another group that was lost.

Appropriate Ages: i think their flier is right, definitely not for kids under 12

Props / Special FX: Everything looked good, they had more detail in some of the rooms this year.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup inside and out looked great! It looks like they dont mess around with bad makeup or costumes, very professional looking. I dont think I saw anybody wearing a corny mask.

Summary: The Dungeon of Doom definitely stepped it up a great deal from last year. The phone booth was really cool and all my group was really surprised what happened with that. Saw some old rooms from the previous years and some cool revamps for this year. The clown hallway was cool and the hospital was much better this year! The Frankenstein room was cool and they really put on a good show in there but I remembered there was actual electricity hitting the monster before, but they didnt do that this year... kinda took away from the realism... Besides that, the buried alive room is always something I look forward to every year. The dungeon of doom, in my opinion has always put on a good show, but this year by far was the best I've ever seen it. From the actors to the props and everything else, I cant say I was at all disappointed. I've been to quite a few haunted houses this year and The Dungeon of Doom is by far the best haunted house I've been to! GREAT JOB GUYS!!! I CANT WAIT FOR NEXT YEAR!

Reviewed by: beckyb1982   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There were signs all over the old Lake County Fairgrounds off of both Rte. 45 and Rte. 120. There was plenty of parking and it wasn't a long walk to the house.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was ok. There were a few actors weaving in and out of the line scaring people. While in line there was a section with a strobe light. Be prepared that gave us a headache. I think the thought was in the right place but being under a strobe light for 20-30 mins was hard on the eyes.

Length of Event: It was 30 minutes long, it didn't seem 30 minutes you were constantly being scared. I thought the length was wonderful, and it exceeded my expectations.

Actor Performance: The actors were phenomenal. While in the haunt they were always in character, their timing was great each room we entered. I respect them very much, job well done.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The patron flow wasn't the best we ran in to a group ahead of us and the group behind us caught up with us.

Appropriate Ages: Defintely not recommended for young children. I would have to say 13,14 should be the youngest.

Props / Special FX: There were 2 spinning vortex rooms which were great.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were very realistic and the makeup was flawless.

Summary: I think they should remove the fence maze. That did nothing for my goup of friends. Also, we didn't understand the purpose of the Frankenstein room. It was sort of a bust. Other than those 2 scenes this was really good and exceeded my expectations. I loved being buried alive that was too cool, great way to end the experience.

Reviewed by: mistress   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Can be hard to find if you've never been here before - no large signs posted on the street. We have been coming here for about 4 years now and knew where to go.

Wait Entertainment: As always excellent. One of the reasons we keep coming back is the actors. High energy, always keeping people on their toes...made a 4 hour wait not so bad - unfortunately I had a better time during the wait then the actual house. 
The main barn where the haunt is located has some eye candy - large screen playing clips of old horror films and a few props. The new ticket window was an awesome touch, but I was disappointed not to see any detail to the graveyard like they have had in the past.

Length of Event: approx. 20-25 minutes...

Actor Performance: Excellent. We waited 4 hours - by time we actually got in the haunt it was about 2:30 and the actors that didn't leave were still energetic and fun. Still in your face and ready to scare. Thank You!!  
Would like to mention one thing, We were rushed through the phone booth scene (opening scene) - even after they pushed one our friends into the booth and then told him to nevermind. I thought pushing was not allowed (?) luckily we thought it was funny...but they may wish to watch that other people may not have thought so... 
Some of the actors had left, or they didn't have as many as usual, some scenes did not have anyone working and did not have the scare factor that they would have otherwise.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Surprisingly not so bad - I thought we were going to be rushed...but we only ran into the group behind us at the stopping points.

Appropriate Ages: this year 10 and up...not so scary.

Props / Special FX: Excellent - in the rooms that had any.  
This year was very, very disappointing, the rooms were far and few between very dark tunnels and a few ramps.  
Usually this haunt has a jam packed haunt - lots of visuals and eye candy and lots of detail..but this year I don't know what happened.  
The rooms that were done were great - especially the hospital, which was again way too short. 
This could have been fun, for example a few years ago they had an exit under a fireplace that you had to crawl through...fun...but when it's complete darkness for the majority of the house - I could have went to a local haunt to experience the same and paid less...instead I drove an 1 1/2 and waited 4 - very disappointing guys...what happened?!

Costumes / Make-up: Were very good. Loved the clowns and the tall guy - who was probably the best ghoul of the night...funny and entertained us even did dances for us - awesome job!

Summary: Unfortunately I was VERY disappointed in DOD this year. This has been my favorite haunt for several years and the first haunt I visited this year. So anxious to go, we got a good group of 12. 
The people in our group who have never been to this haunt really loved it - loved the intensity of the actors that were there and the detailed scenes of the haunt (that were there). 
But the members of our group who have been there before (including myself) were highly disappointed. 
Why? 
The detailed scenes were very far and few between pitch black hallways. The dark hallways and twists can be fun, but when they are the majority of the house...they get pretty stale very quick. Most of the time spent at the haunt was in a dark hallway or in the maze. 
In the center of the haunt was the labyrinth - which in my opinion should have been at the end of the haunt. It took away from the experience and got stale very quick. It seemed like it was tossed in to make the event longer. 
 
The rooms that were detailed were outstanding and the guys did an excellent job with this. As always I loved Mercy General Hospital - very detailed...awesome! I hate vortexes, but the tunnel with the ghosts was way cool. 
The pharaohs curse room could have been an awesome room - very detailed and well done...but the actors must have left for the night so we didn't get the full effect. 
 
If it wasn't for the actors that worked at this haunt, I would have been more upset...but they were very high energy and in your face which made it fun, even at 2 in the morning! I loved the fact that they scared more then just the person in the front or back - but actually worked everyone in our group which was awesome. 
 
I was disappointed that the point of the haunt this year seemed to be "vote for us". I know it's an election year and all..but come on! ;P  
Yesterday on myspace there was a bulletin about voting for dod even if you had not visited the haunt this year..and at the end of the haunt again with mentioning to vote for them here.  
I love checking out haunts, and I can understand getting the message across to vote for your favorite...but that bulletin was really disappointing to see...especially after going. I'm not sure if I can really vote for them this year as so far I'm mixed about the experience. 
 
I love haunts that can re-vamp things and transform into something completely different..but this did not work for dod this year. What I would recommend is keeping some of the same elements that made your haunt #1 for the last several years and build on that.  
 
I'm not wanting my review to come across as completely negative..it's not - if you've never been - please go check it out! You won't be disappointed and will have a blast! 
But for others who have visited over the last few years, like myself...i think dod has lost some of it's "wow" factor this year and was a little disappointing.

Reviewed by: BeerIsGood   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was extremely easy to find as there were lighted signs leading the way and ample parking

Wait Entertainment: A decent amount of entertainment. There was a wonderful actor on stilts who scared pretty much everyone he approached!

Length of Event: Approximately 15 minutes. Pretty short.

Actor Performance: Actors were very into their characters and well dressed. A few actors were a bit too pushy and got a little too close which got annoying!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Poor and very disorganized. Kept meeting up with other groups and encountering "traffic"

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Summary: This was a fairly dissapointing experience. The attraction was not long enough and it would've been nice if there were other attractions besides the one haunted house. There seemed to be a huge shortage of actors, and I was very rarely suprised by an actor around any corner. The main appeal of this attraction is the "scenery" inside. Also, everything seemed quite "predictable" with nothing really catching you off guard

Reviewed by: scareme13   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: You need to be careful because the sign isn't lit up. Just look for a dirt road by the fairgrounds.

Wait Entertainment: There was 3 people in costumes but because the line zig-zaged at least 9 times you hardly saw them.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: Some of the actors lost their character only because the flow inside the house was slow.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the first part of it was good untill we caught up to the group in front of us. Then we just stood around for a few minutes.

Appropriate Ages: 11 and up

Props / Special FX: Some of the props were cool. The special effects were awesome!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up were something you could find at any haunted house.

Summary: For my first year of going to this haunted house it was pretty good. my favorite part was the ending room. I have one question to ask you. Are you ready to be burried alive?!!!!!

Reviewed by: ONEofTHEM   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: could use some work on the signs. use lights or something. but the dungeon of doom is so well known and the hwys are very popular you got to know where they are located. plus its at the fairgrounds...

Wait Entertainment: awesome. the wait room is dressed up in some really neat props and the actors out side are really into their job. there were about 4-5 actors all doing something individually creative to scare all the customers. they even got into the line and messed with you.

Length of Event: 25-30 minutes inside. depending on how fast you run through or like my friend wanted to look at all the hospital props. so watch your clocks its long and worth it.

Actor Performance: top notch. seems like the actors at DOD have been doing this for a while and they love what they do. they put a lot of work into scaring every person in my group. everyone got a little somethin somethin and no one left unsatisfied.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: it was pretty good. there was two parts where you are in with like 20 people... but that was to group up for the scene where you get buried alive. never ran into a group when we wernt supposed to.

Appropriate Ages: i wouldnt bring in a kid under 14 probably. there was a guy who brought like a 9yr old and he was cryin while in line to pay. i felt bad for the kid because i knew what he was in for. some kids have guts but this place is hard core and personally id take it into consideration.

Props / Special FX: its crazy how they have some huge props and real special effects and use them to their full potential. i love going every year and seeing whats new. its always a good time!

Costumes / Make-up: its harder to tell inside the haunt what exactly is going on with the makeup because its so dark and youre moving fast... but even the outside actors are dolled up in some gruesome prosthetics. they have awesome makeup that looks so real i want to touch!!

Summary: GO HERE!! worth the time, worth your money! from the atmosphere to the actors to the props and the interaction you get while in the house... its just a great haunt and i wont stop going. i recommend this place for anyone who wants thrills and chill...

Reviewed by: qwerty8520   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is very easy to miss this attraction. You have to look for the sign by the fair grounds. It is lit up slightly.

Wait Entertainment: There were four actors outside when i went. Stilt-man, vampire lady, table saw dude, and orange jumpsuit man. They all did a good job of scaring people in line...except for stilt-man, he rocked out to the metal music playing haha.

Length of Event: The actual haunted house was probably about 20-25min. We waited in line for about 45min.

Actor Performance: Excellent. They always stay in character and do their best. They are very good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Overall it was good. We ran into one group during the first room of Mercy Hospital. But i made my group slow down and we were soon separated from the group in front of us.

Appropriate Ages: there was a little 7 year old there...i think he was waaayyy too young. probably 14 and up.

Props / Special FX: EXCELLENT! They really go all out on effects. They added a brand new vortex tunnel this year!! Now they have two! its awesome.

Costumes / Make-up: Amazing! All the actors look creepy and scary.

Summary: The first room, phone booth enigma, was very clever. I wont ruin it for anyone but make sure someone answers the phone.  
I hate clowns so i was a little scared in that room...one of the clowns ran after me with a chainsaw.  
Pharaohs curse was a dark forest with mummies along the walls. Again, i dont want to ruin anything so just be careful which mummies you look at.  
The labyrinth was cool at first but after walking in there for about 5min, you start to get bored and it really does drive you insane. The actors in there will keep following you creepily.  
Overall, they did a pretty good job this year. I hope they get a lot of new scenes for next year and get rid of old ones that should be retired (like frankenstein)

Reviewed by: meg6077   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is a little difficult to find the entrances if you are not familiar with the area. There is a haunted house sign but maybe it should be lighted up so people notice it better.

Wait Entertainment: There were a couple of actors going through the lines but not as much action as there has been in the past. The guy on stilts was new and cool to look at. They do play scary movie clips which I have always enjoyed, and they do play music as well.

Length of Event: I would say probably like 15-20 minutes. I was satisfied with the length.

Actor Performance: The actors are usually pretty good, I have never had someone come out of character they stay true to what they're doing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I feel like the groups were a little to large. We had 8 people in the group and I was the last one so I felt that because I was in the back I missed all of the action from the person in the front. I didn't even get to see the phone booth scene in the beginning and I had no clue someone from our group actually went in there until they told me afterwards. That was a little disappointing.

Appropriate Ages: I would probably say 13+.

Props / Special FX: I didn't feel like there was any special effects that I was "wowed" by. They do have the vortex tunnel but that gets old after awhile.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup were pretty good, they usually are.

Summary: I think that they need to start doing some different things. The Frankenstein at the end should be gone completely it has been replayed so many times and you know exactly what is going to happen. I would like to see a complete new revamped haunted house next year with new scenes and new characters. The maze at the end was kind of annoying after awhile, and there was only one actor in there scaring you over and over again. I think the admission price is a little high for what you get as well. Definitely have room to improve for next year and I hope the do.

Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Fair. They should have lighted signs to make it easier so people from the area can find it easier.

Wait Entertainment: NONE! I'm surprised. A Friday night and NO wait entertainment. Althought by the time I left "Stilt man" was walking around. I did hear a girl say as I was walking back to my car say, "Where are the people out here to scare us while we wait?" So apparently, I'm not the only one who missed this.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes. Seemed longer than last year.

Actor Performance: Very good! Didn't break character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Lousy! I purposely went their with just one other person, because I wanted to be the one to answer the phone during the opening scene. Instead, I got stcuk with 2 other groups of 2, and didn't get to answer the phone, and I still don't know what happens to the person in the booth. Also, in a large group the first two peopl in front get the scare from the actors while the other 4 peopl WATCH them get scared. This definitley kills the scare factor.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: D.O.D. ALWAYS has the best effects of any haunt I've been to. They always put tons of effort and $$ into the house.

Costumes / Make-up: Again, TOP NOTCH!

Summary: I go to this house every year, and ALWAYS enjoy myself. I just wish the patron flow was better. Most of the scenes worked very well. I didn't see Pharoah's curse either. MAybe a reviewer can point that out in their review. The Franknstein scene doesn't work well anymore either. They should go back to the electrocution scene instead. Mercy General was very good, as well as some of the other scenes. Highly recommended, but still room for improvement.

Reviewed by: Jamers615   (Event Visited: 10/05/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Being from the area I know where the fairgrounds are, but I was slightly less than impressed with sign visibility and size. If you aren't from the area you reeeeeeally have to pay attention to find the turn ins for the fairgrounds.

Wait Entertainment: None, when we were there. One actor at the front letting groups in, that was it. A bit of a dissapointment, since I've seen some AWESOME outside actors in years past, tormenting customers. Even though they don't scare me, it's always fun watching them chase other people around!

Length of Event: 20 minutes or so

Actor Performance: They all seemed pretty into their characters, but there weren't many of them....

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great! Never saw another group at all!

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: Props were good, but they don't change much from year to year.

Costumes / Make-up: No complaints here! Makeup was awesome and costumes fit the room the actors were in

Summary: As someone who has been attending Dungeon of Doom for somewhere around 10 years straight, I was dissapointed this year. The rooms seemed fewer and more dark corridors. Not as many thigns IN those dark corridors to hit and disorient you. The beginning scene was a let down since only one person is able to "do" it, the chain link "maze" was a joke - there was no maze at all, just a winding corridor that, at the end, an actor very obviously moved a panel IN FRONT OF US and made us walk back to the beginning. Just plain annoying. Also, the actors could stand to learn how to control their movements - I know they're going for in-your-face acting, but at least 4 of them ran right into me with elbows that didn't feel so good in the chest. Buried Alive was fun, as always, but is just starting to get old. 
 
On the plus side, Mercy General Hospital definately outshined the rest of the house. VERY detailed, and a lot of mystery as to where the actors would be coming from since all the walls are made of hospital curtains - THIS part was definately impressive. 
 
If you've never been to Dungeon of Doom before it's worth a try, though it seems like every year you get less and less for your $15. Lower the ticket price, or go back to the detail filled, scares around every corner vibe you used to have, and then $15 would be a small price to pay.

Reviewed by: md99dle   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/08/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is very easy to get to, its been in the same location the last few years at the lake county fairgrounds

Wait Entertainment: This was the second time I went this year, I went opening weekend and that weekend the outside entertainment was great, but this last weekend there was not anyone in costume outside the venue, but this has to be because it was within one hour of closing time on sunday

Length of Event: between 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: Great they always stayed in charecter and believe me we tried to break them to come out, amazing job!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the attractions were amazing the details in the rooms, the new phone booth feature (I wont ruin it) and we never ran into a group nor did another group run into us

Appropriate Ages: I would not bring anyone too young at this house opening weekend my 14 year old Nephew ran to the car and did not come in, and last weekend a 10 year old walked in and had to leave right away

Props / Special FX: The props are very realistic, the Special Fx are amazing, a couple of the rooms are simply amazing that have you wondering how they did that

Costumes / Make-up: The best costumes and Make up that I have EVER seen in a haunted house, I have been to my share of haunted houses but the costumes and make up are great!!

Summary: If you are looking for a great not good scare this is the house for you to visit, if you have been there in years past, this is the best its been, and if youve been there before you know its already a great experince and the 15.00 you pay to get in is so worth the price, why are you still reading this? Go now!! have the scare of your life!!

Reviewed by: forestars4   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was good, easily visible and easy to find...

Wait Entertainment: Not bad, I do think they should have people going thru the line scaring the ones waiting to get tickets...

Length of Event: it wasn't long enough at all...

Actor Performance: Horrible, they had didn't have enough actors...

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: went smoothly...

Summary: It was so much better last year, this year it seemed like they didn't think certain spots thoroughly. It didn't have many actors inside, and where was the "pharaho's curse"? I didn't even notice we went thru it?! I do think they should have groups of 3 going in, the sacre factor is much higher with less people than a group of 6...  

Reviewed by: existenz   (Event Visited: 10/03/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I have been going to the Dungeon of Doom for several years, so I am familar w/ the area. But if this is your first time, it will be hard to fine. You just have to look carefully for the signs to lead the way.

Wait Entertainment: Very good. Very intense actors outside, as well as inside. The waiting room area was very neatly decorated and detailed.

Length of Event: Depending on the speed of your group, maybe 10-15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Very good, very intense! Never broke character!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good for the most part. There was some back up in the chain-link maze area, but it wasnt that bad!

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Great detail! Nicely done!

Costumes / Make-up: Great costumes, each one went great with the cooresponding room!

Summary: Overall the Dungeon of Doom never disappoints me. Very solid every year and there were lots of improvements and additions again this year! Great haunt to visit!

Reviewed by: ericatom1   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/02/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Dungeon of doom is easy to find if you are from the area

Wait Entertainment: The overall atmosphere of the waiting area is just awesome. It is decorated very well and the props are outstanding. Given it was not even October, there were at least 7 to 8 actors in the wait area and maybe more counting the ones outside the entrance. Their performances and costumes/make-up was top notch!

Length of Event: about 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Outstanding! All were in character the entire time

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great, we never ran into another group

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: outstanding!

Costumes / Make-up: Very scary and realistic

Summary: Dungeon of doom did a great job this year, I must say it was better than last year. My favorite part was the phone booth...I won't ruin the surprise but it was awesome and something I had never seen in a haunted house before even after attending many each year. I give props to dungeon of doom for stepping it up this year! Great job!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at