Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Trail of Screams (Stillman Valley, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: toycon1   (Event Visited: 10/27/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: was right off the Highway

Wait Entertainment: we came on an off night

Length of Event: 10 and 20 minutes

Actor Performance: very GOOD,never came out of character

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we came at the end of the night

Appropriate Ages: 12 and over

Props / Special FX: very detailed sets

Costumes / Make-up: was excellent

Summary: it is a girl scout camp and they send you through the woods with 7 different areas also people in the woods coming out at you, the best was the envoirment Really Goog!!!! I recomend this Haunt

Reviewed by: starchild   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: My friends and I have attended this event before so we had no problem finding it. There was signs posted with arrows and a flashing sign at the entrance into camp.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't any wait entertainment but they did have music playing in the waiting line. On the night we came they were packed and there was a long wait and we waited about 2 1/2 hours.

Length of Event: It took our group about 20 minutes to get through the trail. Someone in our group dropped the flashlight and it went out so that took us a little longer until we found it. That was really scary.

Actor Performance: The actors did a terrific job! The first scene was soooooo creepy -even just walking to it. I liked how they started the scenes out kind of creepy and then the intensity built as you went through the trail. The actors were really aggressive at the end. Good job!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We really didn't run into any other group but we could hear alot of screams coming from the trail and alot of people running out.

Appropriate Ages: I would say for 13 and up. If you don't like the dark and being alone in the woods then this is not the place for you.

Props / Special FX: All the scenes had great detail. The first scene really made you feel like you were in a whole other place. I liked the fact that you walked into the scenes and then back out into the woods. The creepy lighting along the path really added to the scary detail.

Costumes / Make-up: All the actors makeup and costumes were really good. Some of them were really up in your face so they had great makeup details.

Summary: The Trail of screams always puts on a good show and never disapoints. This is one event that is DEFINITELY worth checking out. You will get the s**t (censored) scared out of you.

Reviewed by: metalhead   (Event Visited: 10/26/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very easy to find. All you need to do is follow the signs or map quest it.

Wait Entertainment: They had some music playing in the wait area and a food stand.

Length of Event: 20-25 minutes

Actor Performance: We came on a sunday night and I think the actors were out to get us. They were really agressive and inyour face. The guy with the chainsaw made the girls in our group almost fall to the ground.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The space between groups was good. we never ran into any other group but we could always hear people screaming in the scenes and on the trail. The music and the lighting were way too cool.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: All the scenes were really detailed except one that was suppose to be all black. I loved the gross intestines in the butcher shop and the dead animals in the house. The old creepy house which you entered in as the first scene was really great. It is the perfect place for a haunted trail.

Costumes / Make-up: I give them both a 10. They all looked really good and the weapons that the actors were using were very realistic

Summary: I think this is one of the best haunted events I have attended. We have been to the trail in Rockford for several years but never came out here. This is way better and alot more creepy. I can't wait to see what they have planned for next year. 10 THUMBS UP!

Reviewed by: sinblack7   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Once you get on kishwaukee road there are signs to follow to the campground. There was a hugh flashing sign directing you into the camp entrance. If you are from the area (or not) it is pretty easy to find if you follow the signs.

Wait Entertainment: On the night that we came there was a HUGE crowd that kept us entertained. we heard ALOT of screaming from the woods so we were getting pretty creeped out. At one point a girl in our group didn't even want to go in. They had a snack stand and a gift shop.

Length of Event: 20-25 minutes.

Actor Performance: All the actors proved that they could scare the crap out of you. They literally had our entire group screaming at the top of their lungs. Even by the time we entered after waiting in line for almost 3 hours the actors didn't seem to lose any energy at all or break character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We only ran into one group which we thought was pretty good considering the massive amount of people waiting in line.

Appropriate Ages: I think it is definitely not for children under 13 or may even 14.

Props / Special FX: The props and detail were unbelievable in the scenes and the fact that they were in the woods was even more creepy. I have been through this event for the last couple of years and I will honestly say that they never let you down. Each scene had its own unique scare and fit into the woods very nicely.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent! All the actors (from what I could see after running out of the scenes) were dressed in realistic costumes and very effective makeup. I especially liked their opening scene (which Im not going to give away) and the manical clowns in the funhouse.

Summary: It was nice to see huge crowds and that the trail of screams has a good following after moving from there rockford location. Like I said I have attended this haunt for the last couple of years and I think this year it KICKED a@@ (censored) They did an awesome job with great actors, detailed scenes and old-school SCARES!!! If you don't go to this haunt you have issues and I give them THREE THUMBS UP!

Reviewed by: reddevil666   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We came from out of town so we mapquested it and we only got lost once. The camp is not hard to find if you follow the signs.

Wait Entertainment: When our group arrived they had a LONG line and we were told it was about an hour hour wait. There wasn't any wait entertainment but they did have a nice concession area. We warmed up on hot chocolate and listened to creepy music before we entered the trail.

Length of Event: It was about 20 minutes. I guess it depends if you get lost on the trail or how fast or slow you run.

Actor Performance: Was EXCELLENT! We had 8 people in our group and one person was given a flashlight to guide the way. We have attended the trail before in Rockford and I must say I like this idea much better than having guides take you through. The actors all stayed in character and some of them were in-your-face while others were just creeping us out. The monster on stilts SCARED us to death -he was the BEST!!!!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into any other group on the trail but we could hear ALOT of screaming.

Appropriate Ages: Definitely 13 and older like the warning says.

Props / Special FX: The scenes were very detailed and the opening scene was AMAZING! They had a nice mix of detail and plain black areas. The lighting really added to the overall creepy atmosphere and the music they had playing in each scene did too.

Costumes / Make-up: The makeup that the actors had was very professional looking and fit nicely into the scene they were in.

Summary: We have never been disappointed in the trail of screams. They always do a professional job at this attraction and this year proved no different. I would truly recommend attending this event. You will not be disappointed and you will be scared to death!

Reviewed by: pussycat   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: we had a little difficult time finding mccormick road but when we finally did it was worth the wait!

Wait Entertainment: We didn't really see any wait entertainment but they were very busy and alot of people screaming and running from the dark woods.

Length of Event: it was about 20 minutes but it flew because we were sprinting through alot of it.

Actor Performance: the actors did great I got really scared in all the scenes. the actors always stayed in character and not one of them let us down.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Our group was running all the time and the girls in our group were scared to death (even some of the guys were).

Appropriate Ages: 14 and up - a young kid probably won't make it past the first scene - IT'S THAT SCARY!

Props / Special FX: they had great props and great sound effects, it was amazing how they had it all set up. the lighting on the trail really created the mood.

Costumes / Make-up: their costumes are scary and the makeup looked so real. We didn't even want to get close to alot of the actors they really creeped us out.

Summary: i thought the trail of screams was the best haunted attraction i have ever been to and we go to them all the time. it is really a blast and if you're paying to get scared then this is the place you want to go.

Reviewed by: gothicchick   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This location was very easy to find especially since we attended last year. The light up ticket sign really helped designate the location a little better.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't any wait entertainment. As with last year the atmosphere alone is creepy. We could see people running to the exit of the trail and we heard ALOT of screaming coming from the woods.

Length of Event: I would say about 20 minutes. Our group got lost once but we managed to find our way back on the path. That really scared us even more being out in the woods with just a flashlight they give you when you arrive.

Actor Performance: The actors were SCAREY! They all stayed in character and were very intimidating. Our group liked the fact that they used alot of creepy scares and alot of old school scares which really was a nice balance. Alot of actors were in-your-face and never stopped scaring our group. Very good acting. And...the tall guy on stilts was AMAZING! And we definitely ran when the chainsaw guy came after us.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We had five people in our group and we never ran into anyone on the trail. The groups seemed to be spaced well.

Appropriate Ages: I wouldn't recommend anyone under 13.

Props / Special FX: The scenes, lighting and detail were awesome! The opening scene set the mood well even though it wasn't the most scary but it was sure creepy. I liked that the scenes seemed to get a little more scarier as you went through the trail. It definitely got my heart pounding.

Costumes / Make-up: They are great. All the actors makeup and costumes really fit the scenes and alot of detailed makeup.

Summary: I would definitely recommend that you attend this event this year. The Trail of Screams never lets you down and always gives you a good show. We are planning on coming back again with some more friends and we would also like to check out their new haunt in S. Beloit as well.

Reviewed by: icthedead   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This event was a little difficult to find but we did mapquest it so we didn't have alot of problems. The drive into camp is kind of creepy and you can see the ticket booth which really lights up the parking area.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't any wait entertainment which really didn't bother our group at all. The wait wasn't bad since we didn't arrive until 10 p.m. but I had heard that they were extremely busy earlier in the evening.

Length of Event: It took us about 20-25 minutes to get through the trail. They have no one to lead you and they give you a flashlight to find your way through. Alot of areas of the trail were roped off so you had a general idea where you were going when you came out of a scene.

Actor Performance: The actors were the BEST!!! They all stayed in character and alot of them were very aggressive and in-your-face. You just didn't know when or where someone was going to jump out at you. We liked the acting because it was a nice mix of in-your-face, creepy and totally psychotic.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Our group was very well spaced and we never ran into any other groups. The flow in and out of scenes and along the trail itself was very good.

Appropriate Ages: DEFINITELY NOT FOR 13 AND YOUNGER

Props / Special FX: All the scenes (except a few) which were meant to be very simple were extremely packed with props and ALOT of detail. I loved the first scene and the one following that. I can't say what they are, but believe me they were GREAT!!! The lighting along the trail was very, very effective and really added to the atmosphere. AND IT IS SO DARK OUT THERE YOU CAN'T SEE IN FRONT OF YOU!!! This is a great location to do a haunted trail.

Costumes / Make-up: Most of the makeup and costumes were simple and fit nicely into the scenes. They had some great makeup effects though!!!

Summary: We loved this attraction because it is an indoor/outdoor event. You have the opportunity to go into different buildings and then you get to be outside on the trail IN THE DARK! It was definitely worth the drive and the $$ we spent. We have attended this event before when it was at Camp Winnebago in Rockford and I must say that the atmosphere and the attraction as a whole was much better out here. If you like to be scared then this is definitely the one to check out!

Reviewed by: Blckwidow666   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This event wasn't too hard to find because we attended last year. If you follow the signs to Camp Mccormick you shouldn't have any problems.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't any wait entertainment but the screams coming from the dark woods were enough to send shivers down your spine. I think keeping the music low or no music at all really helps because you can hear the sounds coming from the woods.

Length of Event: About 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actor performance was excellent! Our group could really tell the difference in the actors compared to last year. It seems like they really stepped it up a notch! 
OMG - the guy with the red cloak and hugh fingers was AWESOME!!!! Our group started running when he came out on the trail and started following us.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They were quite busy for the opening night but the groups were well spaced and we never ran into any other groups through the trail. The atmosphere is unbelievable out there - it is soooooooo dark you can't see anything except the next scene and only with the help of the accent lighting and the flashlight they give you when you enter.

Appropriate Ages: I agree with their recommendation - I wouldn't recommend this event for children under 13.

Props / Special FX: As with past years the detail is superb! I loved the first scene you came to which was an old victorian manor (I don't want to give anything else away). The detail in this scene was remarkable!!!! They had a nice balance with some scenes very detailed and some less with just enough darkness to creep the h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) out of you!

Costumes / Make-up: All the actors were fully dressed and very realistic looking. They all fit into their scenes very nicely. The makeup was original and very creepy.

Summary: Overal this event gets two thumbs up! Ever since we have been attending this event we have never been let down. If you want the crap scared out of you then check it out! It is definitely worth the $10 and truly set in a pitch back setting! You might even hear a few coyotes in the woods!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at