Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Fearfest 2008 (South Beloit, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: dizzykitty   (Event Visited: After Oct. 31 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: GOOD

Wait Entertainment: OVER A HOUR

Length of Event: LESS THEN 30 MINUETS

Actor Performance: MOST OF THE ACTORS DID A GREAT JOB WITH DETAILED MAKEUP AND REALLY ENJOYING THEM SELFS AND GETTING IN THE PART.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: VERY PUSHY SO IT WAS HARD TO SEE EVERYTHING BEFORE YOU WERE CHASED OUT OR PUSHED OUT BY PEOPLE BEHIND YOU.

Appropriate Ages: 13 AND OVER

Props / Special FX: LOTS OF STROBES AND DARK HALLS. NOT ENOUGH TO LOOK AT AS YOU GO THROUGH, BUT WHEN YOU COME UP TO A SCEAN ITS WELL DONE WITH THE PEOPLE TRYING HARD TO PLAY THE PART

Costumes / Make-up: SOME WHER REALLY SIMPLE BUT WORKED AND OTHERS WHERE YOUR AVERAGE WALMART STUFF

Summary: SCREAMA TORIUM 
 
I have to say that I am disappointed in this one attraction! There is 3 attractions in one spot, which is cool so you don't have to drive around town looking for more things to do. There seemed to be plenty of parking even on Halloween night. 
We only visited the SCREAMA TORIUM because by the time we got through the line and the attraction it was to late to enter the other 2.  
The cost was a bit over the top at $10.00 for what you get. We waited in line for over a hour only to get stuck in a huge group of like 14 people. That seemed to be the average number let through. There was NO entertainment in the line. The person that was giving instruction was like a drone with a tape recorder. He had NO personality and would not even answer a simple question about if the haunt was a for profit or non-profit! after giving the speech we all heard at least 20 time while standing in line. Scenes in side were well played out with for the most part great makeup and people that were in to what they were doing! The small rooms could only hold about 4-6 people if you really wanted to see it before getting pushed on; not 14 people shoving to see and scream. 
I would recomend being the last person in your group if you can so you can hang back a bit if you choose to see everything. After getting in the attraction we found that there was only a few scenes. With a lot of dark hallways or ways with strobes flashing. The whole thing once inside was less then a half hour. 
Then because one person in our group was not frightened but laughed at a girl in a scene towards the end of the haunt the girl totally stepped out of character and started screaming " DO YOU JUST WANT TO LEAVE? HERE'S A EXIT RIGHT HERE FRIEND! " The person she was screaming at did not do anything wrong except maybe not being scared when the girl who was supposed to be chained to a wall broke lose and chased us. She was a Childish actor! 
Not a attraction that's worth the cost, no entertainment in line, and really disappointingly short after your inside! Not Recommended for the price. 
I feel that a price of $6-$7 would have more Appropriate for how long the haunt was. 

Reviewed by: punkgirl   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I am from Wisconsin so we had no problem finding this place. When we arrived there were alot of people already in line for the screamtorium.

Wait Entertainment: the line was so long that we waited about 2 hours just to enter. they had loud metal music on (cool) and the guy taking our tickets when we finally got to the door was soooooooooo scary - he did a great job freaking out our group before we even got into the haunt. There were alot of people running around and being chased by a chainsaw through the parking lot.

Length of Event: the screamatorium was about 20 minutes

Actor Performance: OM Flipping GOD!!!! the actors were so scary and very intense. they chased you out of every scene and woulnd't back down at all. the guy in the white strobe room with the chainsaw made a girl in our group run into the wall and then she fell to the floor and started screaming hystericaly. All the actors were very loud even over the loud music that they had playing inside. It was defintely an adrelaine rush. I don't really know what the last reviewer was talking about. maybe they just went on a slower night.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We only caught up with another group once and that's because my retarded friends were to scared to move. Everyone was pushing and shoving and it was crazy.

Appropriate Ages: do to some of the content and scare level i wouldn't recomend it for 13 and under.

Props / Special FX: This place had so many cool scenes and they all really made you have a creepy feeling all the way through. even the carnival. the ending really made you feel like you were in a dark dungeon after walking down a tilted ramp with fog and cool lights. The 2 scenes that really impressed us were the dr. office and the baby room even though everything was a 10+

Costumes / Make-up: The actors didnt really need any makeup - they were that intense. They did have some cool makeup effects and costumes - they all really added to the scenes they were in.

Summary: This place was so flipping GREAT- we want to come back again on halloween. For there first year they did an amazing job and i can't wait to see what they do next year. If you love to be scared you have to go to the screamatorium. it's worth the price and the wait.

Reviewed by: ewc2   (Event Visited: 10/28/08 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was fairly easy to find. There was some confusion though because we thought that we were going to the Screamatorium, but when you turned the bend all you see avertised is the Haunted Barn. Other then that it was really easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: There was no waiting entertainment. It might have been that we were there really early but who knows. There was a creepy guy that took our tickets. He was a really good actor.

Length of Event: The event took us about ten minutes to get through. But it would of taken us longer but our group kept running.

Actor Performance: The actor performance wasn't there. Now don't get me wrong there was a couple of actors that really did knock our socks off, like the ticket taker and the big guy towrds the end of the haunt. The other actors though were not very good. They really didn't put any effort into what they were doing. None put on a chase and the guy at the end of the haunt was just stupid. He just walked around us. I don't know if they were short that night on actors of what but their previse years were better then this year.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The patron flow was great! We never ran into any other groups. That might have been because they were kinda slow. But they handles it very well.

Appropriate Ages: I would say that this is not something for children under the age of thirteen.

Props / Special FX: I would say that the doctors room was the most detailed room. There was a lot of 3-d panels but there was not that much detail any were else that I could see.

Costumes / Make-up: The make-up was like they just throw it on. There was no SFX on any of the actors. The make-up was like going to JC's Haunted House. The man at the end, all he was wearing on his face was like this black stuff. I must say though, the guy that took out tickets, he was the best dresses out of the whole group of people that were in that haunt.

Summary: All in all, the haunt is an ok haunt. I wouldn't pay the price that I did to get in though. It is too pricey for something that has no really good scares in it. They should have stayed at that place on Main.

Reviewed by: jensol1990   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This was very easy to find. they had alot of signs posted and we knew where the area was previously.

Wait Entertainment: When we got there about 8:30 there were so many people we couldn't tell if they had wait entertainment or not. We came there to attend the Screamatorium and the line was so long we waited about 2 1/2 hours. The guy at the door which you enter through a coffin really was creepy and entertained the massive line. We waited in this dark area and we heard chainsaws outside the haunt so I think people were being chased through the parking lot.

Length of Event: It took us about 15 minutes once we got inside to go through.

Actor Performance: OMG!!!! I can't say enough about the actors. Everyone stayed in character and they were all up in your-face. One of my friends thought she was going to have a panic attack and wanted to go out the nearest exit. We kept on running through the whole haunt and that made it worst cause everyone was really chasing us then. The chainsaw guy made one girl in our group fall on the floor and we had to force her to get up. It was a great job by everyone there! It seemed like all the actors had energy drinks because they were all hyped up.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There was 8 people in our group and we never ran into anyone else. We could hear ALOT of people screaming over the loud music and chainsaw.

Appropriate Ages: DEFINITELY NOT UNDER 13 - it was way to intense!

Props / Special FX: From what we could see the scenes were very good - we did alot of running so i'm sure we missed alot of cool props. The carnival was amazing with the light effects and the bottom scenes after you go down a cool ramp were really creepy. It made you really feel like you were in a dark basement.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup were very good and looked really real. They really added to the scare level.

Summary: I'm am so glad that this attraction opened this year! We had a blast and really want to come back again. After we ran out of the last scene and were chased to our car by this crazy guy with a hammer we were so out of breath I thought I was going to pass out. It was definitely worth the $10 ($9 if you have a coupon) and I would have paid $20 for sure. I can see why they are rated #1 in the area. Keep up the good work and we will be back!

Reviewed by: scififemme   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The event was easy to find with a portable sign located at a major intersection pointing the direction to the venue.

Wait Entertainment: There was no wait entertainment. The waiting area inside the Screamatorium was devoid of decorations and was enclosed by black pressboard walls. Music was piped into the waiting area, but it would stop after a few minutes only to re-start again 5-6 minutes later. The only actor was the guy sending groups into the haunt. There was no wait at the Hayride or Barn.

Length of Event: 15 minutes for the Screamatorium. 
20 minutes for the Haunted Hayride. 
15 minutes for the Haunted Barn.

Actor Performance: The actors at all three haunts stayed in character. At the Screamatorium there were no actors between the scenes so you knew exactly where the scares were supposed to happen so there was little suspense. Unfortunately, all the scenes were very similar with a female victim and a scary male doctor, hillbilly, monster, etc. The actors at the Haunted Hayride worked really hard to make sure everyone had their own scary moment. The group at the Haunted Barn did a terrific job of keeping patrons on their toes. You never knew when or where they would appear to give you a good fright.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow at the Haunted Barn and the Haunted Hayride was very good. We did not run into any other groups. The Screamatorium sent huge groups of 20 people at a time so there were always other people around and the set was dependent on the first person through the door.

Appropriate Ages: Screamatorium is appropriate for those over 13. This is NOT an attraction for children under 13. There were children in the line who were already crying before we even entered the attraction.  
 
The Haunted Barn and Haunted Hayride are appropriate for children over 10 who are not afraid of scary masks.

Props / Special FX: The props at the Haunted Hayride were low-tech but added to the creepy atmosphere. There were no special effects other than some variations in the flooring at the Screamtorium. The Haunted Barn was filled with cool effects that affected your vision, hearing, feeling, and balance.

Summary: Screamatorium was over-hyped and not worth the cost. The Haunted Hayride was a fun, startle-filled event. The Haunted Barn was a treat for the senses.

Reviewed by: blackjackace   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Since our group was from the surrounding area we had no trouble finding it at all. The area was very lit up and ALOT of people roaming around.

Wait Entertainment: We attended two of the three attractions and they had several actors with chainsaws chasing people through the parking lot.

Length of Event: The haunted barn about 8-10 minutes. The Screamatorium about 20 minutes. We waited for about 1 to 1 1/2 hours to enter the Screamatorium.

Actor Performance: We have been to the barn in the past so we thought we would check it out this year. The overall actor performance was much stronger and then seemed for the most part to be in character. The actors in the Screamatorium were VERY intense and right up in your face!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into any other group in either attraction.

Appropriate Ages: I would say the barn for 8 and up and the Screamatorium for 13 and older.

Props / Special FX: The detail in the barn has changed alot since our last time we were there - it seems like they added alot of new scenes and more detail.  
The scenes in the screamatorium were excellent -they had alot of dark areas and black hallways which made you really dizzy when you came from a scene with alot of strobe lights.

Costumes / Make-up: Most of the actors in the barn had masks on and simple costumes. The actors in the Screamatorium had very detailed makeup and good costumes. We missed alot of the detail because they had us running so fast.

Summary: Overall this is a very good event and it's nice because you drive to one location. There is really something for everyone (even though we didn't go on the hayride). It seemed ALOT busier than last year and I hope you guys continue to do this next year!

Reviewed by: racedrvr   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Our group came from Wisconsin so we didn't have any problem finding this location at all. The event was well lit up and alot of people roaming around.

Wait Entertainment: Me and my group went to the Screamatorium and when we got there the line was very long. We had to wait about 1 1/2 hours to get in. They had people running around the parking area with a chainsaw. They scared the girls in our group alot.

Length of Event: It took us about 20 minutes to get through the screamatorium. We didn't go to the barn or on the hayride but they also seemed pretty busy. We would liek to come back and go to both of them.

Actor Performance: The actors were out of this world! They were all right up in your face, banging on the walls and chasing you until you drop to the floor. One of the girls in our group fell to the floor screaming here head off. The actors were the best I've seen in a long time.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was good - we almost caught up to another group but they decided to run and then we lost them.

Appropriate Ages: This is VERY intense and no one under 14 should be allowed

Props / Special FX: the scenes were very good and they gave you a feeling of being in a hospital with a cold feeling very dark and dingy. The only bright lights were in this white room and the clown area. It was very creepy throughout the whole haunt. The props were excellent in the scenes that they had.

Costumes / Make-up: The makeup was very good and I liked the costumes looked very realistic.

Summary: The was a great attraction and definitely worth the wait we had. and if you want to get the pants scared off of you then you have to check it out. You might want to bring another pair though. GREAT job!

Reviewed by: ravenblue2   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find. This event is located right off of I90 on Manchester road. There were several signs along the way and the entrance was very visible from the road.

Wait Entertainment: As our group was waiting to purchase tickets someone dressed as Michal Meyers chased people through the parking lot with a chainsaw. People were running all over the place.

Length of Event: We attended two of the events at this location. The haunted barn was about 8 minutes and the Screamatorium was about 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: The haunted barn was fairly decent except most (if not all) of the actors wore masks. It made it very diffcult to hear what they were saying and some of them didn't really scare us. The actors in the Screamatorium were very intense and aggressive and didn't back down for nothing. They even scared a hugh guy that was in our group! All the actors in this haunt demonstrated a strong performance level. The little girl in the Nursery and the clown really scared our group. It was a nice switch to see a creepy scare followed by a strong aggressive in-your-face scare. very nice transition.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow for both attractions was very good. At the time we arrived there wasn't too much of a wait.

Appropriate Ages: I would say the haunted barn is for 8 and up and the Screamatorium is definitely for 14 and up.

Props / Special FX: Both attractions had tremendous detail and portrayed it in a different way. The barn had alot of eye-candy and alot of dark areas so we couldn't tell if there was detail or not. Some of the scenes were done very nicely. 
The Screamatorium was more of a dungeon feeling with alot of dark rooms and just an overall creepy feeling. It made you feel cold and tingly. The detail and props they had were out of this world! The music and lighting even added to the creepiness more.

Costumes / Make-up: The barn had some good costumes (especially the clowns) and some were fairly simple. The Screamatorium actors were dressed in simple attire that went with the scene they were in. GREAT MAKEUP JOB ON THE ACTORS. The guy in the last scene was very effective with all the blood and gore.

Summary: This was a great event that offered something for the little ones as well as something for the weak at heart. I promise you will leave the Screamatorium with your heart pounding. Fearfest is one event you have to check out this Halloween!

Reviewed by: gothicskull   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We came from an hour away and we didn't have any problems finding this event. It is very easy to access off of I-90 and follow the signs.

Wait Entertainment: Our group was quite impressed with the set-up of this event. They had 3 different attractions at this location which seemed to offer something for all ages. They had some entertainment in the parking lot area and a concession stand. We heard ALOT of people screaming!

Length of Event: Our group attended the Screamatorium which was put on by the Trail of Screams. I would say it took about 20 minutes to get through this attraction. (I guess it depends on how fast you can run)

Actor Performance: We had a group of six people and we were ALL scared to death! All the actors were in-your-face and VERY INTENSE throughout the whole attraction. The clown in the strobe light room was scary as H**L. He was jumping on the chainlink and then followed us with no stopping. All the actors did an EXCELLENT job and fit nicely into their scenes. They utilized alot of different type scares which was very impressive. The detail in the scenes also complemented the actor performance. This event is definitely worth seeing!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Compared to their outdoor attraction with a little longer wait sometimes, the groups here seemed to be moving along with no problem. They had a nice waiting area which added to the whole creepy atmosphere.

Appropriate Ages: I wouldn't recommend it for 14 and under due to the intensity and some content.

Props / Special FX: OMG!!! they really went all out - the scenes are unbelievable (even the pitch black areas where they had a few surprises). The lighting transition from scene to scene is remarkable and the props are VERY realistic (like the Nursery and Dr. Office). They really had a nice mix of detail, total darkness, hallways and alot of turns and twists.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup were very realistic for every scene. Some actors you couldn't even see until they were right in your face! They utilized great special fx makeup with no masks- thank God!

Summary: Overall I can't think of a better haunted house we have attended in the past. For a new attraction they did a remarkable job. This haunt, the actors and the scenes are VERY professional and VERY realistic. We came from Wisconsin to check it out because we have been a huge fan of the Trail of Screams )(and we will definitely be coming back to check that out!) Thanks so much to the creators, the actors and everyone who made this event well worth the drive and the $10 we paid to get in. We will definitely be telling all our friends. GOOD WORK GUYS!!!

Reviewed by: lonelyguy   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Can be seen from interstate, and easy access from IL251 from Rockford, IL and Beloit, WI.

Wait Entertainment: Since there are 3 DIFFERENT haunts in same location there was entertainament for 1 haunt that overflowed into the others, which made it exciting.

Length of Event: If all 3 events are visited, then total time spent can be as much as 2 hours, we spent about 1.5 hours mostly waiting in line.

Actor Performance: 1st the Haunted Barn, pretty good, but any lines said by actors were lost behind masks. 
2nd Haunted Hayride, very comfortable and mostly pleasant, OK for little kids, but WAAAY too many chainsaws there and some actors got way too close with them, close enough to hit patrons. 
3rd and last but not least the Screamatorium, VERY intense, actors popped out of darkness, throwing each other around and nearly tearing the walls down!! Actors were in your face screaming and banging on walls.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: again 3 different haunts 3 different run times, shortest was Barn, then Hayride, and actually took longer to walk through Screamatorium.

Appropriate Ages: Hayride under 10. 
Barn 8 to 13. 
Screamatorium 12 + only. 

Props / Special FX: The barn was ok, lots of eye candy, but the Screamatorium was best not alot of eye candy but the props and settings were immaculate. The hayride gets a mention simply because its creepy going for a ride into darkness with all sorts of screaming and scary things jumping out.

Costumes / Make-up: For the most part decent, the barn and Screamatorium seemed to care more by giving actors better(more detailed) costumes an make-up. Some Screamtorium actors had very good make-up.

Summary: For and EVENING of entertainment without having to drive to Chicago this was the place to go. Whats best is you can go to each haunt 3 days in a row!!! My friends and I went to the Screamatorium on Sat and Sun, we liked it that much.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at