Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Henry Street Horrors (Pontiac, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: jerrydjones2   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is excellent, easy to find, and well marked.

Wait Entertainment: There are characters devoted to lines who are very entertaining. It it enjoyable to watch their antics and the reactions to them.

Length of Event: This is one of the longest lasting haunted houses I've ever seen. It was very busy, yet we spent far more time inside the house than waiting in line. It gets better each year.

Actor Performance: All of the actors I observed played the parts very well. Even young children were involved who stayed 'in-role' creating a very realistic atmosphere.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This depends on where one is at. The majority of the flow is steady, but there are dead-ends and other surprises to keep it lively.

Appropriate Ages: We had young kids and teenagers with us. all enjoyed this attraction. Yes, it is quite appropriate for all.

Props / Special FX: There were some outstanding props this year. The 'floating' bridge / tunnel was great. This attraction gets better each year.

Costumes / Make-up: It was obvious that a lot of attention was paid to costumes and make-up, with an eye to believability. The details were awesome.

Summary: From the ticket booth to the snack bar at the end, this was a highly entertaining event for us. Cost is minimal and we always have a great time. One could easily spend an entire evening touring this event. There are a large number of individuals who devote considerable amounts of time to make it an event worth remembering, one that we will talk and laugh about at times throughout the year. Around every turn is a new surprise, and the creativity is amazing. This haunted house is so fluid and realistic that one can easily forget that it is a local event and not a major commercial theme park.

Reviewed by: daytaycaytay   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Haunted House has handmade signs all over that guide you to the Haunted house. It is easily found.

Wait Entertainment: While waiting in line there are "creepy" monsters lurking and laudering around trying to scare the "easy" ones. There is a "mental patient" Steve who is trying to scare and creep people out. Steve does a very good job.

Length of Event: 40-60 minutes

Actor Performance: Some of the actors put their all into it. I think the prison scene was done very well. The guy that pops out at you does an excellent job! The clowns are very taunting and do a good job themselves.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into another group. It is self-guided which makes it all the better so you don't have someone blabing about stuff while you are walking through the attraction waiting to get scared.

Appropriate Ages: There is a supervised area for kids who may get too scared to go through the house so I would say the attraction is for all ages. Maybe the haunted house itself is for kids maybe 5+

Props / Special FX: The prison, bathroom, and kitchen scenes probably had the best props. The vortex tunnel is the best thing they have had in the years they have been putting this on! The maze was awesome this year. I took longer and was more tfun than the previous years. However, there needed to be more scares and more people jumping out at you throughout the whole maze versus girls just screaming at you. Annoying more than scary.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make-up is done very well. There are a couple scenes where the costumes should have been more appropriate. Such as the "bomb" area. Maybe a terrorist costume would have been more appropriate.

Summary: I have went to this haunted house for 6 or 7 years now and the first few years I went were very good. This years Haunted House deffinately impressed me! Everyone did a wonderful job and I would highly recommend everyone coming and visiting Henry Street Horrors! You never know what might happen!

Reviewed by: missrose81   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I knew my way so it wasn't hard to find. They have signs to lead the way.

Wait Entertainment: Not very long a few minutes. We went early.

Length of Event: It took us about 40 minutes to find our way out. Guess it depends on how long it takes you to figure it out.

Actor Performance: They did well. My child had a good scare.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I think we caught up to a group once but we didn't really run into any other patrons.

Appropriate Ages: For children that aren't to scared. I'd say 6+

Props / Special FX: The vortex was fun to walk through. It was a great tribute to Donnie.

Costumes / Make-up: They did a nice job.

Summary: I really enjoy going to this attraction. It is defiantly worth the time to get there. The maze is not easy so it is a great challenge. Adults can enjoy this attraction too.

Reviewed by: phillip99   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Nice location, fairly easy to find. There were signs posted locating where to go.

Wait Entertainment: Music playing, and an actor portraying a mental patient who did a good job.

Length of Event: 30 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: Some actors did a good job, some not so good. One area where there was way too many little children. Needed more monsters in maze area, girls screaming in your ear is more annoying than scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Groups were unguided which I like. Didnt run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: Nice that they had a kids area. Good idea.

Props / Special FX: Some props good, some not. I liked the woods area and the kitchen area, as well as the spinning tunnel. The maze was good too, but needed more scares, not screaming girls.

Costumes / Make-up: Good job on masks/makeup. Not sure about some costumes in certain areas.

Summary: Some areas needed work, but some were great. All in all this was a good haunted house. I had a good time, and would recommend this place to anyone who wanted to go out and have a good time.

Reviewed by: gigi2821   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pontiac is not a very big town and even being unfamiliar with the area I was able to find the attraction easily. There are also handmade signs guiding the way.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was pretty good. I found the "mental patient" very good.

Length of Event: About 30 mins.

Actor Performance: Very good. The actors all seemed very "into" their characters.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The tour is self-guided and flows nicely.

Appropriate Ages: All ages. I understand there is a free children's area for kids who are afraid to enter the attraction.

Props / Special FX: Very good.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good.

Summary: I was impressed with this haunted attraction. It was well worth the admission price. Henry St. Horrors does not disappoint. I would recommend this attraction to anyone interested in haunted houses.

Reviewed by: pontiacfan   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you're not from Pontiac, it may be a little difficult to find your way out to the 4-H park.

Wait Entertainment: When in line, you stand right next to a fence, behind which stands a "mental patient" that often tries to climb the fence to get to you. Also, there are various monsters wandering around the wait area.

Length of Event: About 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Very good. I was impressed by the actors.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Excellent. Once inside, we moved at our own pace, and never saw another group.

Appropriate Ages: All ages. Free supervised kids area for children who get too afraid to enter.

Props / Special FX: Some pretty cool props. The neatest thing was the vortex tunnel. Very cool effect.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good costumes. Make-up done well.

Summary: I'm not a huge fan of haunted houses to start with, and with this going on in the small town of Pontiac, I didn't really expect much. However, I was pleasantly surprised. Even in the parts of the house that were not real scary, I took appreciation in the fact of how great the sets and the acting was. My one complaint was that the maze towards the end seemed excessively long, and didn't really have many scares in it. It had a lot of screaming girls, but not really any monsters lurking to spook you. Overall, however, I had a lot of fun! I hightly recommend it for anyone in or around Pontiac.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at