Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
Realm of Terror Haunted House (Round Lake Beach, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: DebChosen1   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Signage was OK.

Wait Entertainment: Some creepy clowns and a few other creatures who managed to find the one girl in line who was terrified of everything and they just harrassed her constantly. POINTS for playing some classical music and not ALL heavy metal like every haunt does (although I would have chosen Tocata & Fugue in D Minor-classic Phantom of the Opera music)

Length of Event: 15 mins+

Actor Performance: The actors were all wery commited...or should I say should be commited! Nice job by every actor.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Somehow husband & I got seperated from the people in front of us. Never caught up to anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Props for their Props....they looked good and toatlly fit the theme throughout the house

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone had great makeup...you could tell they took time doing prosthetics etc.

Summary: THe "rules" video at the beginning would be much more effective on a big screen monitor, not the dinky TV they had. Too long of a wait after the rules video before being sent to the first room of the haunt. Husband & I did NOT like the whole gunshot thing on the video or in the first room. It's an insane asylum, not a Resident Evil game. The rest of the haunt carried the theme throughout and the crazy girl in the corner and the "body" on the floor who is alive were very creepy. There was one female actor who held us up before the clown room and was blowing on me. Annoying as it was supposed to be but I just hope that girl doesn't spread too many germs around! I also wasn't too crazy about "crawling" out of the clown room (but of course I am no spring chicken any more either) In the final maze, there should be a way to get out of there quicker if necessary. Is there no emergency exit? I managed to get around the maze and then found myself near the fog machine (I believe) and I swallowed a huge amount of fog that seemed to be just coming out of the fog machine. I asked an actor to get me out of there, and she did but I had to go through most of the maze again to get to an exit. I have worked at haunts before and usually fog doesn't bother me but it was just too concentrated in that maze and I had trouble breathing for awhile after that. Otherwise I found the haunt to be well worth the $10 admission.

Reviewed by: hobbes   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: You can see the lighted sign from the road.

Wait Entertainment: Wait was about 20 minutes. The line went somewhat fast. Hearing a chainsaw and people screaming made me really anxious. There is also a tent which has food and drinks (including liquor.)

Length of Event: The event Length was 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors were great and I had a few get in my face that were pretty scary. I screamed a lot!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The Patron flow went smoothly. The couple in front of us seemed to disappear since ghouls were trying to scare my boyfriend and I. As soon as we got out of the one room the couple in front of us were no where in sight...creepy!

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: The Props were awesome and the special FX were great...a lot of gore,guts and blood.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up were cool! All fit the hospital theme perfect! I thought some of the characters were wearing those really cool but creepy colored contacts in their eyes...now I want to get some.

Summary: This is in my opinion a great haunted house to experience. The only thing is that the maze at the end has strobe lights which made me dizzy. I asked one of the characters to point me in the direction of the exit which they were nice enough to do. I've been to a lot of haunted houses, and since this was my first time here it will not be my last.

Reviewed by: tgothick   (Event Visited: 10/16/08 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: the location was ery easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: There was a tall man that had swords it was awesome.

Length of Event: about 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Actor performance was outstanding

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was a awesonme patron flow

Appropriate Ages: Parents can bring their naughty little children to give them a scare

Props / Special FX: Props wer Most groovey!

Costumes / Make-up: It was all good.

Summary: Well I enjoyed it especially the last room were they had you in a little maze trap for about ten minutes! The checkered room was good also. The guy was singing and it matched the room scene. the murder room was good to. The grudge character on the floor was scary.

Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very good! Off a main road and well lit.

Wait Entertainment: Not too much wait ent. A Jason Character was scaring some people. However the liquor bar made up for that!

Length of Event: 20-25 min

Actor Performance: Fantastic. Did NOT break character once!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good! Only ran into other groups in the maze

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Pretty good effects throughout

Costumes / Make-up: Decent costumes and makeup

Summary: I'm always a bit skeptical of this house for some reason. Maybe because it's on a minigolf course.  
The opening scene is rules and regulations which dragged on. Not sure why this has to be verbally done. Most haunts have signs with do's and dont's. The first "scare" scene involves a pistol which I think is pretty poor for a haunted house. However, things picked up after that. The corridors are indeed very narrow, and the lighting IMHO is perfect for a haunted house. The actors are over the top, and the animitronics were well timed. All the rooms were detailed well. The hospital scenes, and schock treatment scenes were well done. The maze at the end blows away all other haunt mazes I've been in. Not only is it nearly impossible to see in front of you, just when you think you're out of the maze, there's a second half to it. Very impressed by Realm this year. Worth the $10 and highly recommended! Kudos!

Reviewed by: virtuel   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Fairly visible. It's off of a main road, which is convenient, but there's so many other things around it that it would be possible to miss it. However there was plenty of signage.

Wait Entertainment: Very nice. There were two to three actors working the line at any one time. They also had a bar available to you as you waited, which included Beer, Wine, Hot Chocolate, Chips, Hot Dogs, and other things. It was really nice to have a drink while I waited. There was also plenty of music playing. There was mostly techno and metal, but at one point they broke out a song by the cookie monster and the tiny toon adventures theme song.

Length of Event: About 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Not very scary, but definitely entertaining. I thought they could have used their props better. There was a Jason character, and I thought he could have been much better at utilizing his knife. They were very good at keeping in character, though, and that more than made up for it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This was Okay. They take you in as a large group to watch a scene, and then split up the group and send you in one by one. I never caught up with the group in front of me, but I believe it would be possible. Some people from the group behind us caught up with us.

Props / Special FX: They had a spinning vortex tunnel, and used lots of fog and strobe lights.

Summary: I'm a casual haunted house buff, and I really enjoyed this attraction. We got there late on a Friday night, so we had to wait about an hour in line (which isn't long, but moves kind of slowly). The line went through a tent that was really well decorated, and had food and beverages inside. This made the wait much more tolerable. The haunted house itself was pretty nice. They had a really nice hospital theme going on. One warning however; the corridors are small! If you're a larger person, you might have a hard time navigating this haunted house. The scenes in the haunted house were really well decorated, although I felt the actors could have been more intimidating. They stayed completely out of my personal space, which took the scary factor out of it for me. I should mention that I am a big horror buff, so it takes a lot to phase me. Someone else might find the actors to be terrifying. 
 
The best part for me was the end. They send you through a maze that has white walls, a ton of fog, and lots and lots of strobe lights! It was really difficult to navigate, but a lot of fun. They had actors in the corridor, which added a nice creep factor. 
 
I was very satisfied with this haunted house.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at