Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2008 Visitor Reviews of
The Hair Razor Maze (Chicago, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Reviewed by: alwysl887   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Was visiable on Devon Ave they had a sign but I wasnt quick enough to make the turn. Went a few blocks up and came around. Maybe a few signs a couple of blocks ahead in either direction would help to let you know when to turn. Also AMPLE FREE parking.

Wait Entertainment: Line wasnt that long and the wait factor was kinda long. This is thier first year and a "great hidden gem" Wait factor was worth it since you pratically were able to go through alone. They had some actors outside for the few patrons in line.

Length of Event: The flow control was good. Took about 20 minutes to go through and didnt have to worry about walking into a group ahead

Actor Performance: Spectacular!!!! Each scene we were scared. Things werent as obvious as one might think when entering the scenes.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was fantastic! Like I said earlier thier first year, so no one knows. Seems like you have the haunt practically to yourself. Even if they start to get busy I got the feeling from talking to the workers thier pride in just pulling this off and will continue to make it scary to everyone going through.

Appropriate Ages: 13+ Please no younger kids and watch out for over screaming young girls...lol

Props / Special FX: Absolutely great for a school basement haunt. There may have not been alot of money spent on really expensive props but what they did was great imagination and execusion of scare factor.

Costumes / Make-up: Not bad at all for thier scenes. Just goes to show that a little ingenunity can go a long way.

Summary: I would highly recommend this hidden gem! Well worth the $5 to get in and the wait! (personally I think you could ask for $8/9) It is exactly what they say they are: HAIR RAZOR and I was aMAZEd with what they did. If youve been to St Pascals one to many times (and im not saying to to visit St Pascals they are good)take a chance and come here. Well worth your drive. If this is thier first year I cant wait to see them grow. And a special thanks to the ladies who I talked to before going in and when I came out for the FYI on this place. You know who you are.....:)..Thanks for taking the time to talk to me and my 2 kids and thier friend! KUDDOS for the first in 3 event for tonight.

Reviewed by: scarefreak3   (Event Visited: 10/09/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: good location

Wait Entertainment: fast got right in

Length of Event: 5 min

Actor Performance: horrible kids were fighting i was able to walk threw studying my health it was a joke to many kids knew each and just ruined a very good place

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good maze

Appropriate Ages: 11 up

Costumes / Make-up: good

Summary: you walk into the house and its a maze and its not a complicated maze maybe one in a big haunted house that last 20 min it was no scary things popping out but good coustems i think. one good part of the maze was when u thought u were going around in circles but really is was a reapeat of the same

Reviewed by: jbczerlanis   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Off a busy street, Devon, and good directions on flyer. 
The hearse in the parking lot was creepy. Lots of parking.

Wait Entertainment: Fun to be in line with others and see their excitment and nervousmess, especially the teens and children.

Length of Event: It was around 10 or so minutes. Hard to know exactly because we went from room to room in the maze.

Actor Performance: Very well done. Good timing, great sound effects in each room. Right from the start the at the entrance the foggy cemetary and the grim reaper seemed so real.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Inside was timed well. They had a system to control when they were letting people in.

Appropriate Ages: Night time for adults, teens, junior hi, and younger children with parents. There are no scare Sat. afternoons for young kids.

Props / Special FX: Outstanding! A magical dot room, creepy funeral parlour with a scary director and something at every turn.

Costumes / Make-up: Very well done and realistic. 
Some had make-up others masks and the costumes fit with the theme of the room.

Summary: Good place to go for a fun night of fright, screaming and surprises. I also liked the food they offered. Only $5.00 to get in and refreshments mostly $1.00. 
Great value.

Reviewed by: MrPickler   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it was easy to find, there was signage along Devon Ave. and when you turned to park. They had a real spooky hearse parked at entrance that was a nice touch to add to the setting.

Wait Entertainment: There should have been music outside, but the line was moving fast so we really didn't mind.There was a clown joking with patrons making invisible animal balloons, only to see it later inside being "psycho"

Length of Event: we went through the house maze in approx. 12 mins. walking normal hoping to not miss anything.

Actor Performance: each scene that our group went into had scarers that played their parts very well, esp. "chuckie" and the "psycho clown" who we saw outside earlier being "funny".

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Our group was spaced well as we could hear other people inside maze but never saw anyone other than the scarers

Appropriate Ages: 10 yrs. and up to go through on their own..otherwise mom or dad need to tag-along.

Props / Special FX: they had a bit of everything from fog to strobes, to scary lighting and scary music for the different scenes and even real caskets in the funeral parlor.

Costumes / Make-up: The scarers looked the parts well...those that had masks were high quality and scary.Their costumes fit the parts they were playing in each scare.

Summary: I am going back next weekend with some more friends. this was well worth the $ 5.00 ticket. short wait times, extremely nice staff, and very easy to find.The food tent after you exit was very reasonable with pop & hotdogs & candy for that sugar rush.

Reviewed by: jspont2uz3   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The Hair Razor Maze is located in the Church Basement. Since I'm a parishioner at this parish-I knew exactly of where it was located. So, that was easy on my part!

Wait Entertainment: My friend and I waited about 5-10 minutes. The woman on the stairs told us the guidelines of what to do when walking thru the maze. (No running...if you don't touch them-they won't touch you, etc.) It was cool seeing a hearse parked by the entrance...very eerie feeling!

Length of Event: I would have to say the entire length for my friend and I to walk thru the maze was between 8-10 minutes. I kept walking slowly and bumping into the walls because it was so dark and creepy inside. But, it was a lot of fun!

Actor Performance: The actor performance was really great! I would have to say all the actors in the maze scared the crap out of me! It was amusing that after the doll room-some of the actors were following my friend and I 'til we got to the Scarecrow Room. LOL! Good job to all the actors there!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The patron flow inside the maze was very smooth...no matter where we were in the maze-we didn't bump into the group ahead of us. We heard their screams but didn't see them. So, that was overall satisfactory!

Appropriate Ages: This haunted maze is mostly appropriate for ages 10 and up. I went again on Saturday-and these little kids wanted to do the maze by themselves-but, after two minutes they ran out crying. So, I would recommend 10 and up...but, if you are younger than 10-have an adult accompany you inside! :)

Props / Special FX: The props and special effects were really cool! I like the effect of the dresser in the bedroom moving on its own. The coffins in the funeral parlor were really great! :) The strobe lights in the bug room gave me the feeling that the bugs on the wall were actually crawling which creeped my friend and I out.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup on the actors were really great. I would have to agree that all the actors had terrific costumes which displayed who they were ->especially the person playing Chuckie! That was awesome! :)

Summary: For a church doing a haunted house for the first time-I would have to say "Congratulations!" This haunted house was very well-organized and overall terrific! The staff was friendly, the actors were great, the maze was amazing, and the souvenirs were really nice! I would recommend hitting up this haunted house-for $5.00-heck, that's not bad! Trust me, you'll have a good time! I went thru it twice and I may go in another time! Hope to see you there! :)

Reviewed by: jmk09   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very good location, easy to find, signs were posted indicating the times the haunted house was open and where it was.

Wait Entertainment: I did not wait that long at all, and all the employees were friendly. There was a very scary clown entertaining us!

Length of Event: I ran through a few of the rooms because I was scared, but I believe I was in there for a good 8-10 minutes, and for $5, that's a pretty long time!

Actor Performance: Very good, and considering a lot of these people were volunteers...very well done!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very well organized, we didn't miss any scares and I never saw a group ahead of us or behind us.

Appropriate Ages: Before I got in, I saw a few little kids crying when they got out, so if they are under the age of 10, I would suggest them be accompanied by an adult. But pre-teens and up, would be okay by themselves.

Props / Special FX: Simple, but effective! Paid attention to detail, even the hurse outside in the parking lot. Just a lot of small touches that add up!

Costumes / Make-up: Very good costumes, and they really came out of nowhere.

Summary: A simple, but effective haunted house that really accomplishes what it sets out to do. It's affordable, an all around good scare. Well organized, and the concession stand outside the maze shows that they are catoring to the patrons. Well done, and I would recommend hitting this haunted house up! :)

Reviewed by: rachel221   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy to find, excellent location. The event could use more directional signs because it is located behind the church and if you didn't know to turn on Oak Park Ave. and turn into the parking lot it is hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: I waited about 15 minutes, during that time an extremely scary clown appeared out of nowhere and scared the daylights out of me. One suggestion, many other houses have outside music, this one did not. It would be a nice effect.  
Another bonus was a real hearse which was very eerie.

Length of Event: It took me about 18 minutes to walk throug which I thought was an excellent value for the $5.00 admission. The attraction was much larger than I was expecting.

Actor Performance: Excellent and SCARY. The clown that was outside suddenly appeared inside and scared the bejesus out of me again this time with props and more clowns. Also, the action in the bedroom scene was also extremely frightning.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Group spacing was just perfect. My group didn't run into anyone and no one ran into us. We all had plenty of time to enjoy the attractions and I don't think we missed a scare.

Appropriate Ages: Depending on the maturity of your children probably age 11 is a good cut-off. This event is scary If your children are small, get a babysitter. This one is not to be missed.

Props / Special FX: Top notch. A lot of creativity went into this event. It plays on a lot of phobias, so be warned.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were incredible. However a couple of workers had white shirts on and that was slightly distracting. They blend into the background better if all characters were in dark colors

Summary: Close parking, and concessions were available. However, there were a lot of stairs to walk up and down. But...take the stairs, this haunted house is WORTH IT!!!!

Reviewed by: aj12171992   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It is clear where the entrance was. They had people telling you where to go. The parking was great.

Wait Entertainment: There was no wait. When I got there, they were ready for us and put us through. The staff was very nice. They had some scarers in the entrance which got us spooked up and ready for the haunted house.

Length of Event: The maze was suprisingly long. They filled it with many creative attractions and scary things. I felt like I got my money's worth and more! I'd say it lasted about 10 minutes. And for those who get freaked out and walk slowly, I would say a good 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actor performed incredibly well. They didn't touch anyone and acted like they had done this before. I was very impressed.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The staff spaced the groups very well. I heard the groups' screams ahead of me, but I didn't know where they were.

Appropriate Ages: 14 and up

Props / Special FX: They had a fog machine right at the very beginning and I wasn't sure if someone was going to pop out, so that kept me on my toes from the very beginning. The use of strobe lights and music was used perfectly. It really set the tone from room to room.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were great and scary. For some of them, I couldn't tell if they were real people or if they were fake. I was nervous throughout the whole walk because I never knew when someone was going to pop out at me.

Summary: I loved this haunted house! I think this is the best one I have visited in about 10 years. The staff was friendly and the scarers were great. My favorite rooms were the turn around room and the dot room. If you want to find out what I'm talking about, you gotta visit this haunted house. I guarantee you won't regret it. It is located in St. Thecla's Church Basement, which already had me a little scared, and there is plenty of parking. The lines were very minimal. I would give this haunted house a 15 out of 10. This was truely an AMAZING haunted house!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at