Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2008 Visitor Reviews Submitted by bigstick4u

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Eleventh Hour (Elk Grove Village, Illinois)
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good. Lit sign and a giant pumpkin out front

Wait Entertainment: A Jason character with a chainsaw. Not much else.

Length of Event: 20-25 min

Actor Performance: The few actors that were there were good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. Never ran into another group

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Very little props or fx. What was there was pretty good.

Costumes / Make-up: Good. Again, not many actors in this haunt.

Summary: I had never been to this haunt before, so after reading mostly positive 
reviews for this 
haunt and evil intentions I was expecting great things.  
Terrible! 
The house started off ok walking under the staircase and seeing the 2 psycho girls, as well as the exploding toilet. Not bad! Then it was one dark hallway after another, then another, and yet another. Very few actors around as well.What's worse, doors that led to the behind the scenes areas were unlocked and 3 different times we walked through the wrong area only to be kiced out by the workers. This wasn't scary being stuck in the dark, and NOT knowing where to go, this was frustrating! Most mazes in haunts have actors scaring you in the general direction. This had NOBODY doing this. Other groups had the same problem. The spinning elevator was good, but then again more mindless dark halls. They have all that space, and very few scenes, and waste it with a pointless NON SCARY frustrating maze. I'm NEVER GOING BACK TO THIS HAUNT! I review all haunts objectively. Read my other reviews and see for yourself. I can honestly say this was the worst haunt I've EVER been to.

Event Reviewed: Evil Intentions (Elk Grove Village, Illinois)
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good

Wait Entertainment: A Jason character with a chainsaw

Length of Event: 15 min

Actor Performance: Decent. Just like 11th hour, very few actors.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Poor. ran into 2 groups! Why you ask?? Because like 11th hr doors leading to behind the scenes were left unlocked, and a group of 6 people got stuck in a "back room" and got completley lost, because there are no actors in these hallways!

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Very few.

Costumes / Make-up: Good, but again, not nearly enough actors.

Summary: This house as well as 11th hr are EXTREMELY disappointing! I can't understand the high marks this haunt gets. More mindless mazes with no actors that lead to areas you're NOT supposed to be in IE "backstage" Even the exit which is a plywood door is questionable. That's the exit my group and the 2 other groups we ran into who were frustrated by the lack of guidance went out of. We still don't know if this was the real exit or another door left unlocked that were weren't supposed to go into. TERRIBLE and DISAPPOINTING! Never going back!

Event Reviewed: Scream Scene (Skokie, Illinois)
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good! Off of a main road with a SCREAM SCENE in lights on the roof.

Wait Entertainment: Fantastic. 3 or 4 characters scaring mostly girls in line. Very effective!

Length of Event: 5-6 minutes. Very short! It's a small house so it would be difficult to lengthen it

Actor Performance: Fair. Mostly young kids trying to get a rise out of you. It's hard to take an 11 year old serious wearing bad makeup.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good! Didn't tun into another group!

Appropriate Ages: 5+

Props / Special FX: Fair for what it is. The props are good if your scaring 8-10 year olds, but nothing compared to the bigger haunts.

Costumes / Make-up: Fair. Nothing to brag about.

Summary: I always go here every year for a good laugh, and because the house is cheap money wise to get in. It's a park district haunt, so I don't expect much. That being said, while the effects, make up, and acting are mediocre to decent at best, at least there is thought put into each scene. Kudos to Skokie Scream Scene for having an imagination and charging a fraction of a price than some of these larger overrated haunts!

Event Reviewed: Realm of Terror Haunted House (Round Lake Beach, Illinois)
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very good! Off a main road and well lit.

Wait Entertainment: Not too much wait ent. A Jason Character was scaring some people. However the liquor bar made up for that!

Length of Event: 20-25 min

Actor Performance: Fantastic. Did NOT break character once!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good! Only ran into other groups in the maze

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Pretty good effects throughout

Costumes / Make-up: Decent costumes and makeup

Summary: I'm always a bit skeptical of this house for some reason. Maybe because it's on a minigolf course.  
The opening scene is rules and regulations which dragged on. Not sure why this has to be verbally done. Most haunts have signs with do's and dont's. The first "scare" scene involves a pistol which I think is pretty poor for a haunted house. However, things picked up after that. The corridors are indeed very narrow, and the lighting IMHO is perfect for a haunted house. The actors are over the top, and the animitronics were well timed. All the rooms were detailed well. The hospital scenes, and schock treatment scenes were well done. The maze at the end blows away all other haunt mazes I've been in. Not only is it nearly impossible to see in front of you, just when you think you're out of the maze, there's a second half to it. Very impressed by Realm this year. Worth the $10 and highly recommended! Kudos!

Event Reviewed: X-treme Hauntings Haunted House (Fox Lake, Illinois)
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Ok. There's a spotlight and signs.

Wait Entertainment: Good. A couple of zombie like creatures getting a rise out of people.

Length of Event: about 10-12 minutes

Actor Performance: Very good! Never broke character

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: AWESOME! Never ran into another group!

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Pretty cool. They use scents as well which adds to the effect.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good!

Summary: This is an underappreciated haunted house IMHO. The wait entertainment was good, so was the opening with the "hellevator". The thought the acting was VERY in your face which is great. The female actors in their respective scenes were fantastic and over the top. I wish this house has a few more scenes prior to the last 2 maze scenes. All in all good value for the $$

Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Doom & Labyrinth of Doom (Grayslake, Illinois)
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Fair. They should have lighted signs to make it easier so people from the area can find it easier.

Wait Entertainment: NONE! I'm surprised. A Friday night and NO wait entertainment. Althought by the time I left "Stilt man" was walking around. I did hear a girl say as I was walking back to my car say, "Where are the people out here to scare us while we wait?" So apparently, I'm not the only one who missed this.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes. Seemed longer than last year.

Actor Performance: Very good! Didn't break character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Lousy! I purposely went their with just one other person, because I wanted to be the one to answer the phone during the opening scene. Instead, I got stcuk with 2 other groups of 2, and didn't get to answer the phone, and I still don't know what happens to the person in the booth. Also, in a large group the first two peopl in front get the scare from the actors while the other 4 peopl WATCH them get scared. This definitley kills the scare factor.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: D.O.D. ALWAYS has the best effects of any haunt I've been to. They always put tons of effort and $$ into the house.

Costumes / Make-up: Again, TOP NOTCH!

Summary: I go to this house every year, and ALWAYS enjoy myself. I just wish the patron flow was better. Most of the scenes worked very well. I didn't see Pharoah's curse either. MAybe a reviewer can point that out in their review. The Franknstein scene doesn't work well anymore either. They should go back to the electrocution scene instead. Mercy General was very good, as well as some of the other scenes. Highly recommended, but still room for improvement.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at