Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2008 Visitor Reviews Submitted by goth_gina

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Shotgun Manor 2008 Blood Feud (Sullivan, Illinois)
Reviewed by: goth_gina   (Event Visited: 10/03/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Had no trouble with the directions we downloaded and the SIGNS! (see The Scream)

Wait Entertainment: BINKY IS AWESOME! (he made me say it, I pinky swore!) Binky was cool, but they didn't have anything else for line entertainment. Would have liked to have seen some other characters.

Length of Event: We were in line for about 30 minutes and inside for another 25 at least.

Actor Performance: Very good! It was the first time that night I felt like I was really getting my money's worth. It seemed like they were coming out of everywhere!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never saw anyone ahead of us and no one caught up!

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: They had some good stuff but nothing really came out at me except for the box you get into and they move you around!

Costumes / Make-up: Makeup and costumes were excellent. It was really dark and the makeup and masks they had made it so I couldn't see them until they were right on me at times. It was pretty detailed. The masks ok, nothing out of the ordinary except for the person with the "little person"! That was cool.

Summary: There were two scenes that really stood out, one there was a ghoul in a chair with dolls all around. He started coming at us. He was HUGE. He had to have been at least 7 foot tall. That didn't do to much to scare us but the thing that got us was the GIRL that we all thought was a big doll! She scared the CRAP out of us! Then the ghoul jumped out at us and my friend ran me over to get out! Then there was another room with stuff hanging everywhere. Same deal as before, there was a big guy with a mask sitting on a throne, he got my friend good, but it was the "little person" that got us all! They had a guy that could not have been bigger than 4 feet in there! IT WAS COOL! Again, we all thought he/she was a doll or something.

Event Reviewed: Ashmore Estates - Macabre Manor (Ashmore, Illinois)
Reviewed by: goth_gina   (Event Visited: 10/03/08 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not that easy to find, but once again, we found the house we were looking for. REMEMBER, it is not right on the highway. You have to watch CLOSELY for the signs.

Wait Entertainment: Excellent! It really got us in the mood.

Length of Event: We waited a few minutes in line, then it was around 40 minutes or so because we got LOST (in the dark maze).

Actor Performance: It was pretty good. I liked the clown rooms. They had two big noise makers that got all of us. The dot room was "unexpected" as well, I will leave that to your imagination. They also had a very detailed science lab that was VERY cool. I think the guys that were doing "brain food" could have used some work though.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't see anyone else except when we were in the maze.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: There were several cool things, I liked the ducks! I also liked the MAZE! It was frustrating but after some time we found our way through. It was so dark. I did get groped but that was from a guy in our group teeheehee!

Costumes / Make-up: EXCELLENT!!! I really enjoyed actually being able to see the detail that had been put into the costumes. It was apparent that time had went into each one of them.

Summary: This was a good nightcap for the evening. I liked the atmosphere, I liked the scares, I liked it all. It has greatly improved over the last time I went. I was impressed how far they had come. I didn't go last year because I had a bad experience two years ago, but I am glad that I decided to give them another try. Overall, I would say that this haunt has some of the best actors because of their timing and ability to improvise.

Event Reviewed: The Scream (Decatur, Illinois)
Reviewed by: goth_gina   (Event Visited: 10/03/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This made everyone in the car upset! We spent over a hour trying to find it. NEED MORE SIGNS OR SOMETHING!

Wait Entertainment: Nothing... nothing at all.

Length of Event: 15 minutes if you count what we waited in line.

Actor Performance: Poor. We laughed at most of the actors that tried to scare us. It was really sad.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't see anyone ahead of us.

Appropriate Ages: All ages.

Props / Special FX: Didn't really see anything.

Costumes / Make-up: Typical.

Summary: I will say I am bias due to looking for this place and wasting our gas for a hour. I had been to the celebration and it rocked. I was really looking forward to The Scream this year. It looked like someone just threw it all together last minute to try to squeeze money out of people. It wasn't like a big open space with a guy in a hockey mask, but it also wasn't much more than that either.

Event Reviewed: Corn Maize (Sullivan, Illinois)
Reviewed by: goth_gina   (Event Visited: 10/03/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/07/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find! Right on the highway!

Wait Entertainment: We really didn't have a wait. Just walked right in. Didn't see anything.

Length of Event: It took us a long time to get through. I don't know how long.

Actor Performance: It seemed to be kids just running around and a few adults. No real performace just trying to startle us. There was one guy that was kinda cool. He made a sound behind us then when we turned around he was right in our faces! However, what we saw most of the actors doing was standing around talking to each other. Mostly high school kids...

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It is a maze. We didn't see many others.

Appropriate Ages: 7+

Props / Special FX: THE CORN! It was freaky! We only had one flashlight for the group and we didn't want to pay for one there so we only had one. BRING YOUR FLASHLIGHT!

Costumes / Make-up: Nothing really spectaular. Some masks, some without masks or makeup on.

Summary: Going through the corn at night was scary enough for me to come back next year. I walked away disappointed not because of anything I saw or didn't see, but because they could have done SO much more. If you like mazes, this is a pretty good one (except there are places where people have cut through that look like paths).

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at