Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2008 Visitor Reviews Submitted by hcresident

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: The Haunting in Rosiclare (Rosiclare, Illinois)
Reviewed by: hcresident   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find right on main street flashing strobe.

Wait Entertainment: They put you in a really neat lobby area that is decorated with eerie photos and lights. Halloween type music is playing.

Length of Event: 10-15 I think. We walked average speed.

Actor Performance: Actors were great. They were everywhere. Popping from behind curtains, under floors, behind walls. Everywhere you turn there was someone in your face.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into any other groups. Got turned around a bit didn't know where to go a few times but actors tend to force you where they want you to go.

Appropriate Ages: Unless you want your kids up all night I wouldn't reccomend under 10.

Props / Special FX: Props were not bad. Appeared to be homemade which was a pleasant change from other houses we been to where you begin seeing the same things.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were average. Many looked homemade or modified store bought. Once again a pleasant change from the same routine everywhere else.

Summary: For a small town, this place is great. We decided to visist a few off the beaten path places this year and this place was worth the drive and the money. Actors seem to get into scaring you. They really appear to enjoy what they are doing. This haunted house is worth the drive to Rosiclare. They charge a very reasonable price where others charge waty too much for what they offer. Haven't been scared this much in a haunted house in a long time. The element of surprise is used alot in this place which is great for scaring adults. From what we could tell the majority of this place is one large room that has been divided my curtains. This allowed the actors to move about easily and quickly as well as their voices to travel around the entire haunting. I counted about 15 actors but really think there were only about half that many. Due to the curtain effect they can change masks and move about quickly before you have time to get there. Really cool effect in the crawl areas. Don't want to give anything away but this is one place you better look in front, behind, beside, and even below where you go. The scene outside was mediocore but what they do afterward is classic. You want to run but find yourself blocked by a very dark and eerie alley. The fear of what could be there is ever present. If you have the time (and the gas) this place is a definate visit for people looking for a scare and not entertainment. Good place to eat next door also so trip is not a total waste.

Event Reviewed: HHS Soccer -The Body Shop of Horror (Harrisburg, Illinois)
Reviewed by: hcresident   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Asked for direction but once we got there it was easy to find. They need some signs throughout town directing patrons better.

Wait Entertainment: Actors in parking lot and a homemade movie they have you watch as a group before you enter. Pretty neat.

Length of Event: 15 mins

Actor Performance: Good job considering these are high school kids raising money for their soccer team.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Steady. Never seen any other groups ahead of us.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: Pretty neat stuff considering once again it is mainly high school kids doing this.

Costumes / Make-up: Basic stuff nothing really impressive but they did a good job. The element of surprise always out does the costume.

Summary: We decided to hit this one on our way home from Rosiclare Haunting. This way we didn't drive all that way for one haunted house. This one was pretty good too considering it is low budget and delivered by mainly high school kids. Alot of blood and gore in this one so weak stomachs should not attend. Other than a little hard to find, this place ranks right up there in our top 5 this year. For people not wanting to dump a lot of money at place like Talon Falls or Zombie Farm, this place and the one in Rosiclare are great hauntings at a very reasonable price. We reccommend visiting both on same night since they are both located in extreme South of our region. Rosiclare has biggest scare factor but this one also has it's perks that get you good. Once again if you are into being scared and not entertained this one is also a must see.

Event Reviewed: the haunted barn plantation of the dead (Marion, Illinois)
Reviewed by: hcresident   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Way out of town, but signs directing you in. One sign had the light burned out and we missed the turn but turned around and came back.

Wait Entertainment: Movie playing inside a shed. A few midget clowns come in and out and Michael Myers came in once.

Length of Event: 15 min give or take depends on how fast the guides walk.

Actor Performance: Some were really good, most were average. A few were down right rude and obnoxious.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Follow the leader. You have to be guided through which is really elementary style. But I can see why cuz they have some areas where you can trip and get seriously hurt so guides had to tell you to watch ur step.

Appropriate Ages: under 10 might be scared

Props / Special FX: Props were pretty cool. No major special effects. Simple stuff like strobes and black lighting, an occasionally blast of air.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were alright and make up was okay. Pretty much standard stuff seen in other places.

Summary: Once again we went because of excellent reviews. This one was a little better than Chittyville and Dungeon of Darkness. At least in this one we could see the actors and props, but did not like the follow the leader thing. this would be a great haunt if they turned u loose. But you pretty much knew what was going to happen cuz the guide would really slow down which ruined the effect. Their chick screaming with her baby probably has a soar throat this morning, she did great. The dude eating the crap was also excellent. Loose the guides and this would be a much better haunt trust me.

Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Darkness (Herrin, Illinois)
Reviewed by: hcresident   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, right on main drag.

Wait Entertainment: Absolutely none!

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Could have been better if we could have seen the actors.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Ran into the group in front of us.

Appropriate Ages: Any age.

Props / Special FX: The coolest prop is the alien at the entrance and the coolest special effect is the puking dummy when you first walk in. The rest is pitiful.

Costumes / Make-up: Can't make out costumes or make up.

Summary: We went here cause this place was rated excellent due to their affiliation with Las Vegas. We were very disappointed. They claim to open at 6pm we got there at 7 and had to wait til 7:30 cuz actors were not there yet. They were soliciting actors in the parking lot actually. Once inside things got worse. Way too many stobes. It's like the whole place is one big stobe light. And what isn't strobed is pitch black. There were like 6 actors in the whole place and all you cud see were shadows of them or glimpses when the strobes blinked. Enjoyed Chittyville more the week before and it wasnt much better read comment left there.

Event Reviewed: The Haunting of Chittyville School (Herrin, Illinois)
Reviewed by: hcresident   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Too far to drive for what you get.

Wait Entertainment: Joking around with others in the line.

Length of Event: Didn't time it but took longer to get in than it did to go through.

Actor Performance: Boring, young children which really haven't a clue what a haunted house is all about.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Steady, really nothing to slow you down or stop and look at.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and under. Adults and teens will be bored unless their scare factor is really really LOW.

Props / Special FX: If you been to Wally World then you seen it all.

Costumes / Make-up: The only thing different than the costumes at Wally World is that in the Haunting of Chittyville School there are people in them and at Wally World they are hanging on racks.

Summary: Their commercials are more scary than their haunted house. They charge way too much for what they offer. Our group for one will not be back. It is out on the beaten path and gas is too expensive to go there again and pay 12 bucks to go through the kiddie park. Don't let their advertising fool you. I have been to cheaper haunted houses and had a much better time.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at