Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2008 Visitor Reviews Submitted by rosehill

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Creatures of the Canal (Lemont, Illinois)
Reviewed by: rosehill   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good. House is tucked back but still in downtown Lemont. Previously the house was in the same location for 10 years or so, so everyone knew where to find it. This is a different building. Instructions on site very accurate.

Wait Entertainment: You purchase tickets at a butcher shop window, which is entertaining to look at, but there were no lobby haunters when I was there. But then again the lobby area is really small.

Length of Event: 10 minutes or so. Not very long. My only real disappointment with this house.

Actor Performance: Average to good. This is a JC house, so actors are volunteers (not paid professionals). I'll give them an A for effort though.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It wasn't busy when we arrived, there were only about 10 people ahead of us. We were spaced apart from other groups, but we caught up quickly once we were inside.

Appropriate Ages: All.

Props / Special FX: The Lemont JCs have always run the most creative JC houses. This one had some exellent ideas, including a moving wall. Very nice!

Costumes / Make-up: Good. Again, it's a JC house so they don't have a big budget.

Summary: In addition to the moving wall I was surprised to see the Lemont JCs had a rotating tunnel. Very common prop these days, but rare for JC houses. If you want to see a good JC house I highly recommend Lemont and Brookfield.

Event Reviewed: Saint Pascal's Haunted House (Chicago, Illinois)
Reviewed by: rosehill   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good. St. Pascal is a large church on a busy road. Well lit with signage and a graveyard on the front lawn of the church!

Wait Entertainment: Treats to purchase and lobby haunters. Indoor waiting (a major plus!!!)

Length of Event: 20 minutes or so.

Actor Performance: Good, especially the lobby haunters.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, but there was some minimal bunching.

Appropriate Ages: All

Props / Special FX: Considering this is a charity haunt I was very impressed. It helps that the house is in the church's creepy basement! Pascal's even had one of those claustrophobic inflatible tunnels. I was very surprised to see that here. It was very well inflated too, making it difficult to get through. Very nice!

Costumes / Make-up: Very good. You could really see the detailed make up on the lobby haunters. A lot of time and effort was put into this.

Summary: Great for a charity haunt. Indoor waiting, good pre-house line flow and entertainment, creepy atmosphere, nice makeup and effects. Probably the best non-profit haunt I've seen this year.

Event Reviewed: Hotel Massacre (West Chicago, Illinois)
Reviewed by: rosehill   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very good. The house is on a main road. Large signs and lights help you find your way.

Wait Entertainment: None. There was an inflatable that entertained me for about 10 seconds, but it got old fast.

Length of Event: 15 minutes+

Actor Performance: Average. Some were better than others. Some seemed really in character while others were just sort of there.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flowed well with a few bunch-ups. However, it's hard to judge as we were amoung the first few patrons to go in.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: I thought they overused those hologram portraits. Other than that, it was pretty well. They stuck to the "hotel" theme.

Costumes / Make-up: Average.

Summary: Many houses can't seem to stick to their theme. Hotel Massacre kept the hotel bit going throughout (which was impressive). I feel this house is a bit over priced. Other than that, I have no complaints. I was entertained.

Event Reviewed: The Fear Haunted House at Navy Pier (Chicago, Illinois)
Reviewed by: rosehill   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 6:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The house is located on Navy Pier, which is good for drawing visitors. However, once we were on the Pier we had a little difficulty finding the house.

Wait Entertainment: Average. Multiple lobby haunters. They seemed to save the best actors for the lobby entertainment.

Length of Event: Technically there were 2 houses. Maybe it took 20 minutes for the first and 5 minutes for the second.

Actor Performance: OK. The best actors were in the lobby area. Inside the house were younger kids, where adults worked outside. Inside there was a lot of screaming and banging. Several actors blew/breathed on me - I hate that.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the 3rd and 4th people in, so there was no bunching up for us.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: I'd bet they spent a lot of money on props, but they skimped on the lighting so it was hard to see them.

Costumes / Make-up: Again - the rooms were too dark to really see anything.

Summary: Overhyped. The rooms were too dark, and the halls were too lit up. The intro is a direct take off from Statesville (run by the same company). They didn't keep with the theme (captured strange creatures on display). The inflatable dragon at the end was a waste of my time.

Event Reviewed: Lombard Jaycees Haunted House (Lombard, Illinois)
Reviewed by: rosehill   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: OK. The House is on a busy street, but is tucked back into the inside corner of a strip mall. Not well lit.

Wait Entertainment: Miniscule. There were two or three lobby haunters, but they really didn't do anything except walk around. The lobby was painted plain black. No interesting images. No video to watch. No food or souviners to purchase. Pretty boring line.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: Sub-par. Some rooms were over populated with actors, some rooms were under populated. Either way, most actors did very little to scare the patrons. Some screamed loudly, that was about it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The JCs spaced each group out at the door. My group contained 2 people and they had us go in alone. However, once we got in we bunched up with the groups ahead and behind us very quickly.

Appropriate Ages: All

Props / Special FX: Poor

Costumes / Make-up: A few good lobby costumes, but the inside actors didn't have anything on that you couldn't buy at Wal-Mart.

Summary: JC houses seem to be falling behind. This isn't their fault, as commercial haunts have bigger budgets. I gave the Lombard JCs the benefit of the doubt, but - once again - I wasn't impressed.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at