Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2008 Visitor Reviews Submitted by spook

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Eleventh Hour (Elk Grove Village, Illinois)
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: After Oct. 31 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: about the same as the other Chicago haunt...be looking

Wait Entertainment: very good, they did a odd character that interacted withthe crowd in a high energy fashion. They had had a guy in a diaper...thats right..thats what I said

Length of Event: 20 minutes plus...good length

Actor Performance: pretty good really..they were dressed in elaberate clothing and they stayed with there parts. The scare factor was almost none but the creep factor and the detail was high.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: no problems at all. I suspect it could be with the maze's they use but we had none with a smaller crowd.

Appropriate Ages: 8 on up depending on YOUR knowledge of your child.

Props / Special FX: they are very detailed in the 11th hour part with eye candy abounding everywhere. The Intense was a black maze that went on forever.

Costumes / Make-up: well done to that aspect. The costumes were scary to humorus with the look matching the set.

Summary: 11th hour breaks into two parts, the first being one st piece after another. This was far more creepy than scary but very well done. The elevator takes the place of the votex tunnel that most other haunts have. It too was well done. They don't use a lot of animated props but thet sprinkle in a few here and there. The grave yard could use a better routine than the one we saw.  
The second half was a dark passage that twisted on an on forever. I am not a fan but other might be.  
This is one of the better haunts and fans of these things need to see it.

Event Reviewed: Evil Intentions (Elk Grove Village, Illinois)
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: After Oct. 31 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you can find eleveth hour then your there. They are attached but not the same ownership.

Wait Entertainment: 11th hours entertainment which was good

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: they don't have lines so they fall into the preformance art category. To that end they were fantastic.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: great

Appropriate Ages: this had a scare factor that would make it 10 or higher. 12 to 13 would be a good start.

Props / Special FX: no not really, this is not that kind of a haunt. What they do have they use to the max.

Costumes / Make-up: thet have perfect costumes for what they want to do...not great just fitting for what they want.

Summary: You come out of the 11th hour black maze with a chainsaw then you walk to this event and start again. As it begins it looks kind of like what you just came from. Then the imagination kicks in. They have a white figure room that is the most effective use of a single stobe that I have ever seen. They have overhead stuff that is different and scary and great. They use a simple plywood maze better than I have ever seen it done. Those haunts use the chain link maze should study what these guys do and rip theirs out. Kudos to imagination and guts.

Event Reviewed: Shady Hollow Insane Asylum (Annawan, Illinois)
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/26/08 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find as it is right along route 78 north of annawan

Wait Entertainment: Short wait and we were there on a Sunday night which would be lighter anyway so no entertainment.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: I thought they were very good and stayed in character no matter what we said to them.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I think under heavy conditions they would be very well organized. For us it wasn't a problem

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up depending on your youngsters

Props / Special FX: I was surprised, they had some very nice props and the sets were actually better than some of the big shows.

Costumes / Make-up: Again pretty good. They matched the sets and added to the mood of the scene

Summary: This is a smaller show so don't expect Dungeon of doom or Dreamreapers. This is also the first year so look to see it get bigger.  
This was not the typical screamfest with overcaffinated kids popping out at ever corner. This was preformance art that is much harder to pull off. They do the scene that you expect from the bigger shows and do them well...Very nice Job guys and Girls

Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Doom & Labyrinth of Doom (Grayslake, Illinois)
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Needs a better sign for those of us not sure of the territory

Wait Entertainment: not bad, creepie guy out front with a couple inside the wait area

Length of Event: 15 to 20 minutes

Actor Performance: not many real chances for preformances. Mostly the screamer shocks but all were good at what they did.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They have a good control of what they want. You start with your group but they build it up for a reason.

Appropriate Ages: because of the closer I would say 12 plus NO SMALL ONES!!!

Props / Special FX: They have some high dollar stuff but they don't always take advantage of what they have. The Exorsist is a great scene but they need to get the better Reagan bust. The hillbilly thing is good eye candy. I am not sure the frankenstien worked completely

Costumes / Make-up: They don't use masks much. they do the makeup thing instead. Good to very good.

Summary: This was my first time here. They use the typical plywood maze pattern with various sets. They could tear out some the dog kennel maze and build a cool set piece instead.They have twin vortex tunnels like Spider hill but theirs are not back to back. Spider Hill and Nightmare on fairgrounds road use the 3-d glasses. I would recommend that for them.  
The sets are not as good as The old Creature Crypt or Asylum of mad dreams but they have a couple.  
I had heard of buried alive but didn't know what to expect. OH MY GOD....the greatest effect I have ever seen. BRILLIANT...I was terrified and on the verge of panic. BE AFRAID and BE WARNED. Worth the trip from anywere. Fantastic.

Event Reviewed: Nightmare on Fairgrounds Road (Princeton, Illinois)
Reviewed by: spook   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/17/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find along an established highway. Well lite

Wait Entertainment: Three stalkers were active the entire time. It was as entertaining watching them as the show.

Length of Event: probably twenty minutes overall. maybe more.

Actor Performance: A mix. Some of the expected screams from corners(not a big fan but everyone does it) to some really creepy stuff. There was a trailer that just freaked me out.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They time it with a camera setup so we were with our group and none else.

Appropriate Ages: I always think kids under ten shouldn't go to these things. They had a lights on hour before the show for them.

Props / Special FX: The first barn and the hatrack ride were nothing special, but after you went in the second barn it stepped to really good. I guess some of the sets came from Creatures Crypt. The pirate set was fantastic. there is a special effect in Draculas castle that was very cool. Kudos!

Costumes / Make-up: Half and half...some ok, some poor, some great. Check out the old trick or treat hag...what a sweetie.

Summary: This event has taken a cosmic leap to another level. It could use some extra talent but for 6 bucks this is the best haunt value in the state. I hope it makes the top ten this year.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at