Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2008 Visitor Reviews Submitted by thescreamer

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Brookfield Jaycees Haunted House (Brookfield, Illinois)
Reviewed by: thescreamer   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you know where Jaycee park it then you can find it no problem. I had a local in the car so it helped

Wait Entertainment: Very nice. At least 3-4 characters that were very good and it's fun to watch the people coming out as well since the entrance and exit are in front of the line.

Length of Event: 10-15

Actor Performance: FULL FORCE IN YOUR FACE. You can tell how dedicated they are to getting you scared. It was great. Me personally I'm not so much into the yelling at you to RUN and GET OUT OF MY ROOM. I wanted to look at the great room designs and was told to get out!- Sure it was to keep the flow however

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into anyone very good flow!

Appropriate Ages: Not a good house for children unless they have nerves of steel

Props / Special FX: Did not see much in Special FX but rooms were well designed

Costumes / Make-up: Very good you can tell they had spent alot of time on getting their costumes to match rooms and the make up jobs were great!

Summary: As always the Brookfield Jaycees have done a great job. It's a smaller house but they pack it full with the scares. Keep up the great work and I will be sure to be back next year

Event Reviewed: Decatur Jaycees Fear Factory (Decatur, Illinois)
Reviewed by: thescreamer   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Signage was good on 121 and as you came into the fair grounds

Wait Entertainment: Wolf men, demons, Coffin motorcyles, hearing the screams from inside all very good and entertaining

Length of Event: 15-20min depending on how much you run inside

Actor Performance: These guys are out for the maximum scare! Doing a great job knowing how to work their scare and timing was perfect. With at least 2 actors in each room you were never sure who was coming first.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Their timing is great. Never ran into anyone or saw anyone that was not a ghoul

Appropriate Ages: Not for small children-wait for their friendly ghost day

Props / Special FX: Rooms were well designed and decorated, real Coffin was cool, a few animated items but great use of everyday items turned scary

Costumes / Make-up: Awsome masks they really fit well and are totally real- make up was done well on a few actors as well

Summary: I have been to this house every year for the last 3 years and I think this is the best year they have had. You can tell they have worked really hard to get into peoples heads and they always give you the quality scare for your money. Watch out for those ghouls that follow you, never know when they might follow you home!

Event Reviewed: St. Charles Jaycees Haunted House (St. Charles, Illinois)
Reviewed by: thescreamer   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Great lighted sign at the main road with arrow pointing in the right direction. Kind of hard to see in the strip mall however the sign was not lighted

Wait Entertainment: Wandering charaters were good but the best was the porta potty and you will just have to go to see what I mean

Length of Event: 20- VERY DARK

Actor Performance: These actors were totally in their relm. They are dedicated to making their room work and it shows they have taken ownership. They also have LOTS of people in the DARK never know where they are going to come out.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Pretty good but since it's darker than dark you could run into people that had been there for a while

Appropriate Ages: Not good for small children

Props / Special FX: Not a lot of props or special effects just lots of scares

Costumes / Make-up: Very good costumes and great make up

Summary: The Jaycees have pulled it off again. I have never seen a house that is darker than in St Charles. They have a huge house and it took forever in the dark and you never know who might be lerking where you can't see them. Very good overall and again check out the porta potty!

Event Reviewed: The Scream (Decatur, Illinois)
Reviewed by: thescreamer   (Event Visited: 10/19/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A little hard to find where to park but nice building and definatly scary area

Wait Entertainment: There were some wandering around but nothing scary

Length of Event: 15min wait 15 in house

Actor Performance: Not in character, not watching for timing and scarying just one person in the group and giving up on the rest

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: NO FLOW- I don't even know why they are bothering stagered entrance because once you get in you are all grouped up

Appropriate Ages: Not for small children

Props / Special FX: Some good effects and room design was good

Costumes / Make-up: Nice masks and make good

Summary: After reading some of the review we decided to give this a shot and now agree with the rest of the reviews. They design was good and the location great but they need to do some major work with their actors timing and talking issues. If I'm paying $8.00 I better get scared or at least have someone try instead of just saying sorry! Monsters don't TALK.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at