Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2008 Visitor Reviews Submitted by DebChosen1

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Doom & Labyrinth of Doom (Grayslake, Illinois)
Reviewed by: DebChosen1   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 6:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I knew where it was but really they could use a bigger or moer well lit sign at the parking lot entrance since you can not see the haunt from the street

Wait Entertainment: A few characters roaming the lines.

Length of Event: 20ish minutes

Actor Performance: Good effort for the majority of the actors

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Seemed like it was pretty good. We were the first two in a group of 8 and somehow got seperated from our group. You all catch up in the "Lab" as they hold a group of 30 there for a mini "show"

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: I haven't been to D of D in a few years. Alot was the same as I remember. The anamatronics timing seemed to be off in a few rooms. SInce most of the time there were only 2 of us in the room, maybe it was timed for having a bigger group in the room.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes & makeup done well. Every creature appropriate for his area

Summary: Glad we got there before they opened at 6:30 because the line got long fast. The wait was inside for the most part. I liked the addition of the phone booth. THe other Additions, like the Vortex de Spirits was a bit lame...but of course, at least they tried to do something new with a vortex, so points there. The show in the lab was not conducive to a big group. I know they are holding people in there while buried alive works, but we really couldn't see or hear what was going on since we were at the back. I hope the "Dungeon" owners take note that I did NOT like the new way buried alive is run. I know it is done that way to get more people through but going from laying down to jaming 30 people in a room and then "burying them" led to me being jostled around and knocked into other people as others panicked & shoved, being knocked in the head by the "dirt" (I am trying not to give away the effect ) and being kicked by other patrons at the end when we are told to kick the "dirt" out of the room. Maybe that should be added on the haunt as a seperate attraction for a few bucks and go back to lying down or at least run it like the ORIGINAL buried alive from the Asylum haunt in Berwyn(closed since 1999) and only put a group that fits around the perimeter (as I recall) , not jam 30 people in the room.

Event Reviewed: Realm of Terror Haunted House (Round Lake Beach, Illinois)
Reviewed by: DebChosen1   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Signage was OK.

Wait Entertainment: Some creepy clowns and a few other creatures who managed to find the one girl in line who was terrified of everything and they just harrassed her constantly. POINTS for playing some classical music and not ALL heavy metal like every haunt does (although I would have chosen Tocata & Fugue in D Minor-classic Phantom of the Opera music)

Length of Event: 15 mins+

Actor Performance: The actors were all wery commited...or should I say should be commited! Nice job by every actor.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Somehow husband & I got seperated from the people in front of us. Never caught up to anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Props for their Props....they looked good and toatlly fit the theme throughout the house

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone had great makeup...you could tell they took time doing prosthetics etc.

Summary: THe "rules" video at the beginning would be much more effective on a big screen monitor, not the dinky TV they had. Too long of a wait after the rules video before being sent to the first room of the haunt. Husband & I did NOT like the whole gunshot thing on the video or in the first room. It's an insane asylum, not a Resident Evil game. The rest of the haunt carried the theme throughout and the crazy girl in the corner and the "body" on the floor who is alive were very creepy. There was one female actor who held us up before the clown room and was blowing on me. Annoying as it was supposed to be but I just hope that girl doesn't spread too many germs around! I also wasn't too crazy about "crawling" out of the clown room (but of course I am no spring chicken any more either) In the final maze, there should be a way to get out of there quicker if necessary. Is there no emergency exit? I managed to get around the maze and then found myself near the fog machine (I believe) and I swallowed a huge amount of fog that seemed to be just coming out of the fog machine. I asked an actor to get me out of there, and she did but I had to go through most of the maze again to get to an exit. I have worked at haunts before and usually fog doesn't bother me but it was just too concentrated in that maze and I had trouble breathing for awhile after that. Otherwise I found the haunt to be well worth the $10 admission.

Event Reviewed: Nightmares Basement of the Dead (Aurora, Illinois)
Reviewed by: DebChosen1   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Follow their directions on their website & look for the hearse

Wait Entertainment: VERY GOOD. A few creatures were really grossing out my husband! Despite the rain, there were at least 4 creatures roaming the waiting area

Length of Event: about 20 mins

Actor Performance: Extremely good. Everyone was in character & very good at frightening or starteling the groups.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They let 4 of us in. The couple in front of us were chickens and they ended up letting us go ahead. We never ran into anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: Nice use of animatronics & live actors. Many times, the mixed use was very effective as you couldn't tell if a creature was real or fake. Got a good startle a few times. The random use of air cannons was very effective.

Costumes / Make-up: I have to say, this is the 4th haunt I've been to this season & I beleive their makeup was the best. Everyone had top notch makeup.

Summary: The overall feeling and dank smell of being in an actual basement helped lend to the creepy atmosphere. Excellent misdirection, use of pitch black rooms, black dividers between areas to make it even more dark, creepy hanging strings in the hallways, a flash of bright light to disorient you, outstanding makeup and prosthetics, Great props and use of animatronics. It is really hard to scare me because I used to work behind the scenes at a haunt. Several times, the "monsters" actually startled me enough for me to give out a yelp or scream! The best value at $13. DEFINITELY go see it!

Event Reviewed: Eleventh Hour (Elk Grove Village, Illinois)
Reviewed by: DebChosen1   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Fairly Easy to find

Wait Entertainment: A few characters walking around but I personally did not get the chance to interact with them

Length of Event: Approx 25 mins for all 3 attractions

Actor Performance: I thought the actors did a good job. They all stayed in character and a few actually startled me.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Liked the fact you could do other things and you are called by ticket number when it is your turn to get into line. Never bummped into another group and was actually seperated from the rest of my group at one point.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: I have been to 11th hour before and found that they did add some new effects. The exterior looked better then it did the last time I visited (they were in another location a few yrs ago) The inital rooms were nicely lit and detailed. The actor doing the "intro" in the first room did quite well interacting with the group.

Costumes / Make-up: All actors had appropriate makeup. I did not see anyone in a cheesy mask, which is a good thing.

Summary: Overall I think they are doing a great job. I liked that the chain link maze and Intensity are added onto the end of Eleventh Hour and you do not need to get into a seperate line for that part of the attraction. Evil Intentions was a seperate line but when we went, the groups were so well spaced we got straight into Evil Intentions. Two of us got seperated from our group in Intensity when we got on the "elevator". Man, did we laugh as we were whirled around in the elevator. Then it became just the 2 of us females trying to find our way through the pitch black maze. It takes a lot to actaully scare me but I will say I was startled a few times by actors in the maze and had quite a fun time trying to find our way out. If you are looking to be entertained and don't like alot of blood & gore but still like a good old fashioned scare...try Eleventh Hour

Event Reviewed: Dream Reapers Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)
Reviewed by: DebChosen1   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Could use some big signage on North Ave but I knew where it was so it was not difficult to find. There is a parking lot that you pay $3 to use.

Wait Entertainment: Interesting characters roaming the lines. There was one character with a white helmet that, as funny as he was harrassing the teenagers in front of me, did kind of step over the PC line. The group took it in fun but I hope he doesn't try that on any drunk guys later in the evening & find himself with a real bloody nose. Brewster the crazy hillbilly is very entertaining. Sorry we didn't get to see the character Sheldon. We enjoyed him last year!

Length of Event: about 20 mins

Actor Performance: Everyone did a great job staying in character & trying to scare as many people in a group as possible. We were mixed in with another group so there were about 10 of us going through together.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good. Never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Nicely detailed rooms. Good lighting(or lack thereof in some cases) The smell of popcorn in the clown room actually made me hungry. They should sell Popcorn outside at the concessions!

Costumes / Make-up: The two girls in the maze had AMAZING makeup on...although in a way it was so interesting that I did not hear a word of what they were saying because I was so interested in looking at their makeup! Sometimes you go through a haunt so fast or it is so dark you don't really see or appreciate the makeup or costumes. i will say from what I do remember, everyone was "made up" appropriately for their area/room.

Summary: Dream Reapers has been around a while and always puts on an entertaining show. I ranked this a medium scare because I really do not get scared at haunts and only go for the entertainment value, which Dream Reapers has. Sat night they has KISS FM outside giving away stuff. They have outdoor concessions and a gift shop when you get out of the haunt's last room. It was fun to look at people's photo's that they took before going in to the haunt on display for sale in the gift shop. If you stay in the gift shop a short time, you can watch how people reacted to the haunt as they exit. One young girl was in tears but her family seemed like they enjoyed the haunt very much....or maybe they just enjoyed it because it scared her so much!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at