Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2008 Visitor Reviews Submitted by alwysl887

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: The Hair Razor Maze (Chicago, Illinois)
Reviewed by: alwysl887   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Was visiable on Devon Ave they had a sign but I wasnt quick enough to make the turn. Went a few blocks up and came around. Maybe a few signs a couple of blocks ahead in either direction would help to let you know when to turn. Also AMPLE FREE parking.

Wait Entertainment: Line wasnt that long and the wait factor was kinda long. This is thier first year and a "great hidden gem" Wait factor was worth it since you pratically were able to go through alone. They had some actors outside for the few patrons in line.

Length of Event: The flow control was good. Took about 20 minutes to go through and didnt have to worry about walking into a group ahead

Actor Performance: Spectacular!!!! Each scene we were scared. Things werent as obvious as one might think when entering the scenes.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was fantastic! Like I said earlier thier first year, so no one knows. Seems like you have the haunt practically to yourself. Even if they start to get busy I got the feeling from talking to the workers thier pride in just pulling this off and will continue to make it scary to everyone going through.

Appropriate Ages: 13+ Please no younger kids and watch out for over screaming young girls...lol

Props / Special FX: Absolutely great for a school basement haunt. There may have not been alot of money spent on really expensive props but what they did was great imagination and execusion of scare factor.

Costumes / Make-up: Not bad at all for thier scenes. Just goes to show that a little ingenunity can go a long way.

Summary: I would highly recommend this hidden gem! Well worth the $5 to get in and the wait! (personally I think you could ask for $8/9) It is exactly what they say they are: HAIR RAZOR and I was aMAZEd with what they did. If youve been to St Pascals one to many times (and im not saying to to visit St Pascals they are good)take a chance and come here. Well worth your drive. If this is thier first year I cant wait to see them grow. And a special thanks to the ladies who I talked to before going in and when I came out for the FYI on this place. You know who you are.....:)..Thanks for taking the time to talk to me and my 2 kids and thier friend! KUDDOS for the first in 3 event for tonight.

Event Reviewed: Disturbed III (Chicago, Illinois)
Reviewed by: alwysl887   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Could be better, MAP IT before you go. They dont have parking so its on the street parking.

Wait Entertainment: We got there 15 early and it wasnt bad. Had some very interesting objects to look at and talk about.

Length of Event: maybe 15/20 minutes

Actor Performance: They did good. Stayed in character. Im still wondering where some of those pics came from.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Really none since this was more of a stage prduction.

Appropriate Ages: 17+ but I think you really have to be older to appreciate this.

Props / Special FX: Actually pretty good for nearly a 1 room event. Not too high tech or low tech. Very good for what they were trying to do.

Costumes / Make-up: No bad at all, went well with the story they were telling.

Summary: Now if you are looking for something differnt or are just in the area, this is kinda kool. Again this is a stage production with the audience being "guests" in a mad house. This was my 3rd and last event for this night. Not per-say a haunted house but everyone should be a patron of the arts for at least 15 minutes.

Event Reviewed: Scream Scene (Skokie, Illinois)
Reviewed by: alwysl887   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located at the Skokie water park. Be CAREFUL when driving in!! You have to go slow anyways, but there are curves with vegitation and twice 2 preteens jumped out from the bushes and scared me in thinking I might hit them since they were running all around the parking lot and entrance road way. I think that was my scarest part here.

Wait Entertainment: Spent an hour waiting in line. Was able to watch the 2 entertainers scare preteens which was kinda funny? I know this was a town event and thier 2nd time doing it but maybe they should offer a tent with activities for them.

Length of Event: 5 minutes LITERALLY. The whole time our ESCORT from the back kept yelling/telling us and in my ear since I was last (4 peoplein my group) to keep moving along that we were too slow.

Actor Performance: Unfortunately I couldnt tell an actors performance. Im sure there was some but again I was told to move along and even told to exactly what to watch out for.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The patron flow was great since my group went alone and ESCORTED by one of the staff. Seems I am not old enough to go through it alone or my 2 teenage kids and thier friend.

Appropriate Ages: This would have been good or great if it wasnt for the preteens and younger kids hanging around the parking lot. So if better organized 13+

Props / Special FX: Unfortunately couldnt tell. I thought it was cool they had a spinning vortex.

Costumes / Make-up: Only a few costumes I thought was great. The mad giant clown outside, Micheal Myers end of HH tour, and the actors in the dark room with neon dots that you couldnt see.

Summary: The wait in line was im my opinion not worth the 5 minutes I spent going through this event. I cant even call it a HH(HauntedHouse) since I wasnt scared at all. Improvements: NO ESCORT please! maybe have people strategiclly located INSIDE to help with patron flow like other haunted houses. I was told by someone who works there they were doing this cause the younger kids would freeze up inside. Still maybe a matinee one for them. Like I said earlier I know I spent exactly 5 minutes going through and unfortunately had to look down the whole time since out escort was herding us along and yelling at us that we were too slow. I even had to yell back at her to chill out! I did 3 activites this evening, this being the second I feel bad I cant give it a better review. GL in working the kinks out and I may check you out in 2 years.

Event Reviewed: Haunted Sanitarium (Chicago, Illinois)
Reviewed by: alwysl887   (Event Visited: 10/12/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Unless you are from the city you may not find it easily. It is on Lake Shore Drive's Fullerton's exit. So look for parking and youll have to walk. Its in the building that host Shakespearean plays.

Wait Entertainment: You will have to wait outside before you buy your tickets. But once inside there is ampal space to sit and wait. There is a concession stand along with a TV playing a themed movie.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors stayed in character throughout the haunt.  
Costumes were good. Scared many of times.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good, even though we did run into the group in front of us near the end.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: The scenes were very good. Much more then I expected from a park district hosted event. Just as good if not better then some school/church haunt.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were great! They went very well with the scenes. Its alwys good going with a scary-berry person.

Summary: This is my second year in a row going there. Normally I dont do that since its the same as last year, but they did change it up a bit and so some things were unexpected. Would recommend if you live in the city and dont want to pay to much or go to far. Student ID discount made it very affordable for a family. And being by the lake is alwys a good thing to do at night when your done.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at