Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2008 Visitor Reviews Submitted by cissypissy

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Fear Factory (Rantoul, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/31/08 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 11/14/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Quite easy to find. Big trucks and flashing lights at the corner.

Wait Entertainment: I didn't see any. Speed pass, of course. And we got there at break time so it was a bit longer wait than normal. But once the actors got back to working...the line moved very fast.

Length of Event: 15 mins. Not the 30 mins we were told by outside workers.

Actor Performance: Excellent. All stayed in character and the woman coming out of the wall almost scared me down to the ground.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Guided tour. Generally I don't like guides, but she moved VERY slowly and didn't bother me a bit. I think I probably annoyed her, though. So sorry:-)

Appropriate Ages: Don't take kids to haunted houses. It's mean. And to hear little kids cry, unlike hearing adults cry, is not fun at all.

Props / Special FX: Outstanding again. They really did a bang up job this year. I was a bit leary because of all the talk-up from the workers outside.

Costumes / Make-up: Yes! All were good and appropriate. Nothing bad here.

Summary: Ok, so we liked this HH last year and we saved it until one of the last. I was really glad to see it was better than last year. The line system outside was great (even though we did the speed pass). The trees, the ropes, the tv's. Loved it!! 
I really enjoyed myself here. The only problem was the salesman pitch the outside people had going. These people started to sound like used car salesman. Let the haunt stand on it's own laurels. It's good enough. Outside people should just work their part. Even the security guards were selling us the house and we had our tickets and were already in line!!! I was actually starting to prepare myself for a disappointing show because of all the hype. This is not needed at all and quite annoying.  
Another major problem. GET THAT PORT-A-POTTY EMPTIED DURING THE MONTH. It was disgusting!!

Event Reviewed: Haunted Dungeon 2008 (Rantoul, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/31/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/14/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not so much. It's in the basement of a pet shop. Other than the OPEN sign, not much else. They should work on this. This place is worth it to find.

Wait Entertainment: Nothing (unless you count petting the cutest puppies EVER), but there was no one else in line either so no need.

Length of Event: 20 mins or a bit longer. This one was longer than expected. Kept thinking it was over and it wasn't. That's a good thing!

Actor Performance: They all did a great job. Timing was great!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Didn't see another group although we heard some screams.

Appropriate Ages: Haunted houses are meant for fun. It seriously kills the fun to see a scared and crying child. Just say NO!!

Props / Special FX: It wasn't the flashiest place we've been to but there were enough unique ideas that I was impressed. Clown props I hadn't seen before.

Costumes / Make-up: All appropriate. Good mix. Good job!

Summary: This was a long tour. It ran the whole length of the building. It was so dark and confusing in spots that I started to wonder at one point if we had gotten off the trail and were in a place we were supposed to be. Then someone scared the crap out of me and I knew we were right on. 
I liked the dark hallways and narrow corners. Some of the corners were painful with the group I was with, but whatever. One thing I was quite surprised with were all the places that you could stumble or trip on. Raised door jambs, helter skelter boards on the floor. It didn't bother me a bit, but I would imagine some patrons would be blathering about safety concerns. Yeah, yeah.  
Anyway, I really enjoyed this one and will definitely be back next year!! I was very surpised to find out they have been there for 12 years. They definitely need more advertising. Totally worth a run through.

Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted House (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Signs point the way from the main road. You can't miss the house.

Wait Entertainment: They have a number calling system (which I love) so not much entertainment is needed. We went to the bar. And there was a purple skeleton kid that is going to be a serial killer or something when he grows up. Little kid with BIG ATTITUDE.

Length of Event: 15 mins

Actor Performance: Some of the best I have seen. The jilted lover woman and the man in the body parts rooms and the clowns all stand out in my memory. Every single one stayed in character and timing was perfect.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Perfect. Didn't see anyone else.

Appropriate Ages: After working in a haunted house I can say from experience, don't try to take your kids into one. If they have ANY qualms, don't make them go. No matter the age.

Props / Special FX: All were appropriate for all the rooms. I liked the fact that the doors out of the rooms were not obvious. Smashed my sister into a wall a few times thinking the door would be there. She lived.

Costumes / Make-up: Some of the best I have seen.

Summary: This was my favorite haunted house last year and I am so happy to say it is among the top two of my faves for this year. It's actually a tie with Spook Hollow Trail. I would definitely go back if it weren't so far away.

Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted Theater - Dark Nightmares (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Quite easy to find. Very lit up and signs on the road pointing the way.

Wait Entertainment: I saw a werewolf and a clown. Neither were trying to scare anyone though. They just sort of walked around. The werewolf stood by the curtain to inside and just took off his mask, then went back inside.

Length of Event: Probably spent 20-25 mins watching a made for tv movie and 15 for the hh.

Actor Performance: Pretty good. There weren't a lot of actors, lots of animatronics.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Quite good, but they spaced us out very far apart and that made for a very long wait, even with a Fast Pass.

Appropriate Ages: As an unemployed haunter, please don't force crying children into a haunted house, no matter the age. If you want to punish them, just ground them.

Props / Special FX: Like I said quite a few animatronics. Some I really liked and some left me questioning. But I liked the overall layout and rooms. It wasn't a plywood and cardboard house. Lots of real walls and bricks. 
The white room was by far the best and possibly one of my favorite rooms I have seen in any hh.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good here too except for the wait people (meaning the one who took off his mask in full view of everyone). Oh and the people taking your tickets and calling you out of the movie room. Just regular clothes.

Summary: Ok, let's start with the movie waiting area. This wasn't bad, but frankly if I want to sit quietly and see a movie, I would go see a movie. I went with a group of 14 people(usually there are 4 of us who go to hh's every weekend in October)and we wanted to have fun and I think, well I know, we annoyed others in the theater by talking during the movie. The movie was Stephen King's, It. Not the best movie ever made and if you've never seen this movie, then what are you doing in a haunted attaction anyway?? I would like to see them try a few scares in this room. They could be quite effective. It was like going into church.....at least until the 14 of us got in there.  
 
We did the Fast Pass, but this was the slowest speed pass we've ever done. Worth the money though or you could be waiting a much longer time. Use the $2 off coupon. It's a good deal. 
 
Overall I liked this one. They had some good jump scares .My sisters and I had a good time going through. 
 
We got our tickets for the Auburn Haunted House and then went right down the block to the this place, did the Fast Pass and still got back to the other with ample time before we had to go in.

Event Reviewed: Boo Crew Haunted House (Rochester, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/26/08 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They have good signs as you go out of Rochester. This HH isn't actually in Rochester, it's in Berry.

Wait Entertainment: Speed Pass and they take you to a different room and nothing is there.

Length of Event: 15-20 mins

Actor Performance: First three rooms were great. After that, not so much.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't see anyone else and no one caught up to us.

Appropriate Ages: Parenting tip for the day: If your child wouldn't be comfortable working in a hh, then don't try to take them through.

Props / Special FX: Excellent props and FX. I loved the rooms and sets. Very detailed and lots too look at. Really liked the dude on the bungee cord.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks. Nothing spectacular in the mask or makeup department. There were kids in the plexiglas prison without either a mask or makeup. I wasn't sure what was happening with that.

Summary: I wasn't scared at all in here after the first room. I kept waiting! The rooms were great and I loved the attention to detail. Not a lot of action going on though. Maybe it was because it was so late. A long night of scaring can be very exhausting. I wouldn't pay for the speed pass again. It wasn't worth it unless it is as cold as it was last night. No way I could have waited in that line.

Event Reviewed: Creeps N' Shrieks (Cerro Gordo, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We found it by the signs without a problem.

Wait Entertainment: We got there while the actors were on a break. There was a movie showing, although no one could tell us the name of it.

Length of Event: 15 mins

Actor Performance: Some were good. The butcher/doctor guy was really good. Others....well I don't even remember any others.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We got backed up on ourselves when we couldn't figure out which way to go. Thought we were lost as we came up behind the ticket booth. Nope, you were supposed to be there. Bit of a strange layout.

Appropriate Ages: I will say again, HH are not appropriate for small children. Ever.

Props / Special FX: They had decent props. A couple I really liked.

Costumes / Make-up: Only remember 1 actor. And he was done up well.

Summary: I think we were let in before the actors were off their break so we hit some empty rooms. At least I am assuming there was supposed to be someone there. Other than that, it was a bit disjointed. The ending seriously needs some work. We had no idea what was going on, if we were done or what. I could also see right through a glass door to what I assume were actors in a room that looked like part of the HH but we hadn't gone through it. I just don't know. I know I sound negative in this review but it wasn't all bad. I think we missed a bit due to being sent in early. For the price though, you can't beat it.

Event Reviewed: Spook Hollow (Marquette Heights, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find by the large, lit up sign.  
 
THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE TRAIL. NOT THE HAUNTED HOUSE. Read the summary for more.

Wait Entertainment: No scary people that I saw. Tons of people were there. So I entertained myself by staring at other people.

Length of Event: Trail - 40 mins or so. It was long!

Actor Performance: Terrific!! They had some great hiding places. Can't tell you how many scares got me and they were standing right in front of me and I never saw them. Actors did a really great job. Namely, the zombies. Tough job, but it worked!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Backed up at the houses. Didn't bother me a bit. Gave me time to catch my breath. I liked having time to look around the woods.

Appropriate Ages: Small children are a no-no in any haunted attraction that isn't specifically for small children.

Props / Special FX: Lots o props! Masterful set decoration and really authentic woods setting. I really believed I was walking through the woods! A very simple prop was the best in my opinion. I couldn't figure out how a cat could move that fast!

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent, wonderful, great!

Summary: The Haunted House portion was disappointing. The guy yelling about the cookie. Just stupid and annoying. Not scary or even funny. The trail is amazing! Go there. Ok, so now I am going to tell you a bit about the ticketing. There were four of us. We wanted speed passes for both events. We were charged three different prices. I still have no idea what the real charge should have been, but if it was $33 for both events, that is just too much. However, I do have a suggestion. Get the speed pass for the trail for $20 (because that line was LONG)and skip the haunted house portion. I think the ticket people could agree on that amount. The ticket people need to get their act together. 2 windows, 2 ticket people, 3 prices. What? And one was an angry ticket lady. Not my fault they can't figure it out.

Event Reviewed: The Scream (Decatur, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It would be easy to find if you knew the area. We didn't and drove around for a bit, but that was our navigators fault.

Wait Entertainment: Speed Pass. They take you in the back way, which I liked, but then it was just like any other place in America where you were being shown the way. People walking around and talking.

Length of Event: 20 mins

Actor Performance: TOO MUCH TALKING!!!! OMG I have never been to a HH where the actors talked so much. They talked to us and to each other. And when they were talking to us, it wasn't to scare us. It was to give us information. If we asked a question (even a rhetorical one), we got an answer. As soon as we left a room, they would get together and talk. I would look back and I could see them getting together for a chat. I saw at least 3 actors without masks and quite a few others getting into place when we came through. I've worked a HH and these were the worst things you could do, in my opinion.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Terrible. We caught up to people. One group caught up to us repeatedly, we let them go around us and then another group caught up to us. At the top of the crawl we were held up (by yet another actor out of costume and talking to us and the other actors) with about 4 other groups. I could see no reason for this at all. I just didn't get it.

Appropriate Ages: HH are bad for the very young.

Props / Special FX: This is where the HH was the strongest. I loved the loud music and sounds. Sadly, even these weren't enough to cover the sounds of actors discussions when we left a room.

Costumes / Make-up: Also very good. The clowns were unique.

Summary: Very unprofessional atmosphere. In a HH, you need to dread going in and be scared OUT of the place. Neither happened. We were talked in and just pretty much walked out at the end. There was nothing there. That was disappointing. I cannot stress enough how much they need to tell their actors to stay in character and costume!!

Event Reviewed: Decatur Jaycees Fear Factory (Decatur, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Our navigator got us here quite easily.

Wait Entertainment: Since we were the only ones here, we had their full attention. The guy waiting when you pulled up was spectacular. Great costume and growling noises.

Length of Event: 15 mins or so.

Actor Performance: I can't say enough about this. These guys were out for the scare and worked it hard!! The guy from outside was ALL OVER in the house! I especially liked the noises the actors made. They were different. I also liked the way they stood in dark places and you stumbled or ran into them.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the last ones there and the only ones so we had the place to ourselves. Couldn't have been better!

Appropriate Ages: HH are bad for very young children.

Props / Special FX: Not a lot of spec fx but I did like the rooms. Props were good. Could have done with the dinosaur. ??

Costumes / Make-up: Very good! Everything was appropriate. Sometimes you can get a sense of a person beneath a costume, but not here. I liked the costumes alot.

Summary: We had the full attention of the place, so it was intense. Get this, the "chicken" of our group led us through (with another of us so close behind, she looked like a backpack) and he danced out the door at the end because he made it all the way through first. He was so proud and BAM! A little girl jumped out from behind the door and scared him good!! Ok, so then since it was closing time, every actor came out the door after us. Now, you would think after a long night of scaring they wanted to go home. Noooo. They ALL followed us to the car, opened my door(and got help from others in the car who repeatedly rolled down my window and unlocked my door) and came at me through the windows...both sides. At one point two of them even started ROCKING the car. Amazing. The actors were outstanding at this haunt! And all for $6! Do not miss this one.

Event Reviewed: Spider Hill (Chillicothe, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Visited last year, so I knew the general location. Still, a few signs would help.

Wait Entertainment: There was a fire twirler around the big fire. Other than that, not much except for small children.

Length of Event: Didn't seem as long this year as last year.

Actor Performance: Too many children. And too many scares just standing in the path. Not very scary at all. As mentioned earlier, the crawling kid was good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I don't know. They sent us through in a group of 9. Way too many in one group! How are you going to scare a group of 9?

Appropriate Ages: Any.

Props / Special FX: Nothing special that I remember.

Costumes / Make-up: Again, nothing memorable.

Summary: We went to through the trail and haunted house. The trail I would not pay for again. The house was ok. I would tell anyone I know not to do the trail, but go ahead in the haunted house. Should have done the hot air balloon ride instead of the trail. Had to be better.

Event Reviewed: Into the Dark (Litchfield, Illinois)
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We knew where it was, but it shouldn't be hard to find if you have directions.

Wait Entertainment: Couple actors walking around. Very annoying children from the neighborhood. Totally not the HH fault.

Length of Event: 15-20 mins

Actor Performance: I liked it! They had some unique ideas and areas for the actors to hide.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Dead ends and circular routes and still didn't catch up to our other friends in front of us. Very nice.

Appropriate Ages: It's dark and creepy in this one. I would think kids under 11 would be scared by the darkness, if nothing else.

Props / Special FX: I love the location of this HH. It is in the basement of a building. It smells like a basement. It's dirty and pretty authentically creepy in spots.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good. I liked the girl who gave us the rules. She wasn't scary, but she was sweet.

Summary: I liked this one last year and I liked it better this year. Still, I think this place could be over the top with more work. It has the perfect location, the basement! And we couldn't find another HH within 45 mins of this place. I really hope they do it up and make it even better next year. I do recommend this HH.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at