Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2008 Visitor Reviews Submitted by ghosthunter

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Haunted Dungeon 2008 (Rantoul, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/31/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not too hard to find. They had a sign off of Illinois 57 pointed to the downtown area where it was located.

Wait Entertainment: None that we saw. But the house is located in the basement of a pet store and could play with the puppies they had for sale.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: All the actors were great and for the most part stayed in character. Did see and hear 2 in a room after the scare talking to each other.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into any other groups. You could hear other patrons scream though as you were walking through the house which added to the excitement.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: Nothing special in the way of special effects, dark, dank basement was a nice effect. It added to the creepiness of the tour.

Costumes / Make-up: Great masks and make-up. @ people that stood out was the Silent Hill Nurse and killer. The nurse ranks up there with the tops actors that I saw on our haunted house excusions this month. A++ for her.

Summary: We have been traveling down to Rantoul for a couple of years and have missed this one everytime. I am glad we stopped. With the heavy metal music playing in the background and the in you face scares it was great. The house features long dark hallways into each room and then another long hallways. In some places the hallways were pitch black. The house you are given a rope to stay together but there is no guide and yes as ex-haunters ourselves we prefer the no guide houses. It just adds to the suspense. The cost was $7.00 and well worth the money. We are definetly putting this one our list of haunts to visit next year. Keep up the good work guys!

Event Reviewed: Fear Factory (Rantoul, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/31/08 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/01/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find since we have been there the last couple of years.

Wait Entertainment: A 7 foot tall Jason would appear evey once in a while. He was a really scary character.

Length of Event: 15 minutes. We had heard while waiting in line that it was 30 minutes by staff and patrons that used to work there. Becareful of spreading the hype!

Actor Performance: All the actors remained in character and were really on cue scarying equally the front, middle and back of our group. No safe place in the group.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The tour is a guide tour with a rope and guide,; but the guide moved at a good pace. It was not rushed.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: For the last couple of years the guys who run the house have really stepped up their game. Each year this house gets better. The scenes that stood out were the bridge and the different halls and walks ways that had hidden haunters jumping out and coming from the ceiling.

Costumes / Make-up: Great job on this area, they had masks to go with the scenes and make-up.

Summary: As I mentioned this house has really stepped it up becoming better and better with each year. We opted for a speed pass when we were told that the regular line was 3 hours long. The speed pass was just $5.00 more making it $15.00 to go through the house. The wait in the speedpass line was 47 minutes. One worker said that they stopped selling tickets at midnight to make sure they got people through. My only suggestions would be is watch the hype about the house. We had workers saying that they were ranked 3rd in the state, what site? Hype causes my group of haunters to be skeptical about what we are walking into. Great job guys and we will see you next year!

Event Reviewed: Boo Crew Haunted House (Rochester, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find since we have been there before. This is ouir second year going to the Boo Crew!

Wait Entertainment: Did not wait, used the speed pass so could not tell if there was entertainment or not. There was a viseo screen in there showing patrons inside the HH being scared as we walked in the Speed Pass waiting area.

Length of Event: 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Nice performance by all. One hint- if you are a child don't come up and scream in people ears. That is not scary just annoying!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into any group within the house. Nice job!

Appropriate Ages: As we have seen in the past going to HH this year- don't take young kids! 10 on up.

Props / Special FX: Nice use of special effects and props. First three rooms earned you a 10 then went down slightly to an 8. Nice use of the bungee guy.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly make-up in this house. a couple of mask that were really freaky!!! Loved the opening scene- that was a showstopper!

Summary: This house has been consistant but could step up there game a little. So many possibilities. For the price it cannot be beat. Love that you took a story and used it all throughout the house with the exception of a couple of areas that did not flow with the storyline. Nice job overall guys!!

Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted Theater - Dark Nightmares (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, located down the dtreet from the Auburn Haunted House.

Wait Entertainment: Every once in a while we would see a clown or a werewolf walk through. Also had a small fire in the waiting line to warm up a bit.

Length of Event: Movie 30 minutes(you are still waiting while watching the movie, like a second line to wait in.) 15 minutes for the actual haunt.

Actor Performance: Actors stayed in character. A couple of the haunters were really great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: One group ran into my group.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up. I would not recommend anyone younger.

Props / Special FX: Nice use of props and special effects. White room with the strobe lights really good and it was nice to see props from Creatures Crypt. Loved the use of the jungle and draw bridge.

Costumes / Make-up: Nice use of masks and make-up.

Summary: For their first year this group did a decent job. My only complaint would be the use of the Fast Pass. There was nothing fast about it. Not sure I could judge the couple of extra dollars we paid since there were still a couple of groups that went in before us and we waited a total of 45 minutes for the haunt. If they are going to show a movie for people waiting, a better choice would do. Another recommendation would be to have the ticket takers dress us. The whole experience needs to be more creepier as you walk in the building. Will be back next year guys! Keep up the good work. A great haunt for the drive to Auburn!

Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted House (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located right down the street from the haunted Theater. Signs from the main highway lead the way.

Wait Entertainment: Food, drinks,fire pit helped alleviate the wait. One little ghoul ran around with a machette. Please try to keep him from putting it in people's faces.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Great, they all stay in character and really have their scares on. Scares do not always come to the first person in the group, so whatever place you are in your group does not matter, they are going to get you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The guys really doa good job in this area. Never saw another a group in the house.

Appropriate Ages: 10 on up.

Props / Special FX: Love the effects that we saw in this house. Auburn always does a great job in creating special effects that you normally do not see in other haunted houses.

Costumes / Make-up: Good use of make-up and masks.

Summary: We are a group of ex-haunters and Aburn has been the favorite for the last 2 years. They have the creep factor down. From the first room to the last it was a jump and scare fest. The scariest clowns that I have ever seen! A+ on this one guys! Then you travel through more scenes that stand out, the jilted lover's room, the cremetorium, and the bridge is all really great effects. Love the way that everything was changed this year. Auburn is about an hour and a half from where we live and it is definetly worth the drive. Great job guys, see you next year!

Event Reviewed: Spook Hollow (Marquette Heights, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, right off main highway with a large lighted sign pointing the way.

Wait Entertainment: Did not see any. Course we opted for the speed pass.

Length of Event: Trail- 40 min. and House 12-15 min.

Actor Performance: Great on the trail, everyone stayed in character. In the house we heard talking and even walked into a room where the actors were standing there without masks on and talking.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: On the trail you did see a few groups every once in a while; but there were checkpoints in the haunt that they seperated groups. In the house we ran into a few groups.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Trail: Loved the house this year- really added alot. Nice sounds. House lacked a lot this year as well as in the past. Animatronics in both house and on the trails.

Costumes / Make-up: Great job in this area a mixute of both! Nice job guys!

Summary: In all, I love the trail, it gets better each year! There are tons of scares jumping out of everywhere! It winds you around the woods and gives you that lost feeling. This is an event that guys seem to get better with each year.  
The house lacks actors and there is nothing scary about walking through tons of black plastic. I would add more actors in the house. Its just rather annoying. These guys always do a great job with the scares. My biggest concern was the ticket sellers. We could not hear them and they could not hear us. Plus they were selling tickets out of each window at a different price. After we pointed it out one seem to get mad at us and shove the ticket at us out the window. But overall- Great Job! This is a favorite of our group that travels around of ex-haunters.

Event Reviewed: Clinton's Terror on Washington Street Haunted House (Clinton, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find on Washington Street in Clinton. This one has been on our list of haunts for the last five years so not hard for us to find at all.

Wait Entertainment: Did not see any; but we were there early in the night. Had a gift shop and treats to buy.

Length of Event: 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Godd; but had a lot of children- alot of "rraahhh" coming from behind masks.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was pretty good. Did not see any other group.

Appropriate Ages: 6 +

Props / Special FX: This house does a nice job with props. Special FX were good also with lights and fog and causing patrons to "get lost" a little in the house.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly mask in this house.

Summary: Overall Clinton usually does a good job. Last half of the house was great. Always enjoy seeing what they have done new each year. Only item that I would add is of course more adult scares but being a retired haunt person myself I understand how hard it is to find willing aduts to help.

Event Reviewed: Creeps N' Shrieks (Cerro Gordo, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Signs led the way once you got into Cerro Gordo. Not too hard to find since it is a small town.

Wait Entertainment: None. But actors were on a break outside in front of the house when we arrived.

Length of Event: 15-15 minutes

Actor Performance: First part of the house was great. Actors were all in character. Second half of the house there was a lot of actor talking behind the scenes which had a less scary effect on the house. Memorable was leatherface inside the house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into any other patrons but the flow of the house was confusing. See summary below.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: Great elevator effect and vibrating hall

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks.

Summary: The house had a really confusing path that you entered the first half then ended up behind the ticket booth and my group did not know where to go. Ended up that the second half of the house was not ready for patrons. Some good scares but the actors as I said before were talking and left this house a little less desired. $6.00 for the price was a deal. The ending of the house was lackluster, no scare to leave you running or talking- just- "is that it?"

Event Reviewed: Decatur Jaycees Fear Factory (Decatur, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located at the old Fair Grounds in Decatur, not too hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: We were the last group to get there with no lines but we were met as we got out of the car by something you would see in your nightmares. This demon was great!

Length of Event: 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors did really good in this category. Stayed in character the entire time.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the last group to go through so could not really judge patron flow.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Some really cool scenes. Walking across the bridge was the best. Lots of dark turning hallways.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks, but a nice job on matching masks with the scenes in the house.

Summary: This house really surprised us. Out of the 4 houses that we visited that night this was the best. Cost is $6.00 per person and well worth it. As we entered the house the first thing that was yelled was "Fresh Meat!". That set the tone for the house. The actors really kept in character, which is something that we did not experience in the previous haunts that night. The actors even gave one of our members a terrifying show of relentless horror afterwards when they followed us to our car. If your down in the Decatur area, make sure to check this one out. You will not be sorry! Good job Jaycees!

Event Reviewed: The Scream (Decatur, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not too hard to find, just on Elderado in Decatur.

Wait Entertainment: One skinny chainsaw guy with a mask. We bought a "Fright" pass in Clinton but opted for an upgrade to a speedpass when we saw the line.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: This is an area where the house fell short. The actors did not remain in character through the house. From the time we enetered to the time we walked out the actors were talking. It was a let down.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This was the second area that bothered my group about the house. Patrons were too spaced close together. We ran into several groups and at one point there was 20 us together. We tried to let the group go in front of us and then then behind them appeared 2 other groups. More patron flow is needed in this house.

Appropriate Ages: 7+

Props / Special FX: Some of the scenes were great. Scenes that stood out was the laboratory and the area with Micheal Myers. Lightening and thunder sound effect was great! Shook the entire place. Recorded chainsaw with in the house was a let down with a small leatherface. Not good! Nice tunnel but another bad area that led to patron flow.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good job in this area, about half masks and half make-up. Clown room was nice and crowded.

Summary: We choose to go down to Decatur after The Scream and Clinton went together on the Fright pass. Also the reviews led a little bit of interest to attend this attraction. What was said in the reviews about the scares we did just not see that night. Overall it was a let down. With actors not staying in character and bad patron flow. A group of 20 people together cannot be scared. Actors need to be trained to stop and hold groups where the bottlenecks are occurring. 5 rooms into the haunted house is where we were trying to brake up our large group. Hopefully better next year, just dont know if this will be added to our list of haunts.

Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Darkness Haunted Attraction (Pekin, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not too hard to find since my group has been there before.

Wait Entertainment: Just one killer. Needed more wait entertainment, with thirty people in line waiting, we waited forever, not sure if the actors were on a break or what; but wait was very long.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: Actor performance was good. Props to the the Grudge girl, she was pretty freaky. Storyteller in the beginning was good also. Other performers seemed to stay in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was good in the attraction, we never saw another group.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: The room with many doors, the heavy metal pycho room were two areas that the props and special FX stood out. Really nice.

Costumes / Make-up: Grudge Girl=A+. Nice use of costumes and make-up. One suggestions if you are going to use a Michael Myers don't use an adult and then later in the house a 6 year old version.

Summary: Overall this house did way better than last year. My biggest issue was the wait. For some reason the wait was way too long. At one point we waited for almost a half hour with no patrons entering the house.

Event Reviewed: Fright Night (Forest City, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Was not hard to find since Forest City is a small town, just off the main highway 136.

Wait Entertainment: Couple of macabre actors. The machete guy was creepy. He was always in character.

Length of Event: We opted for all 4 events which took us about an hour or so to go through. We had just small waits in between each event.

Actor Performance: Overall actors were good. One time my group was asked if there was a lot of people outside in the line right after he jumped out and scared us. Majority of the actors did a great job. Really good was the man that belongs in an institution. The actors in the Massacre Mansion were just down right crazy and wrong. I loved it. Alice in wonderland scene: actors need to stay in character when standing outside the house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was nice. we did run into one group during the haunted church attraction, not sure how we passed them but my group did. Otherwise we did not run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 3 of the attractions were good for 8 and up. Massacre Mansion maybe 13 on up.

Props / Special FX: The crew really did a good job in this area. Some of the props led people to get confused on where they were going which was nice.

Costumes / Make-up: All the costumes and make-up were ghoulish. Wait entertainment guy was great as well as the crazy guy.

Summary: I visited Forest City about 10 years ago and this haunt has come a long way. My group got discouraged a bit in the Massacre Mansion with 8 people; but after going through the haunt I understood why a large group is needed. You guys get kudoos for that house. Unlike anything I have ever seen before. All the events were $7.00 each or all 4 for $20.00. I would definitely do all 4 for $20.00. I am part of a large group that travels around the state each weekend in October and we will be putting this haunt on our list for next year. Keep up the good work guys!!!

Event Reviewed: Into the Dark (Litchfield, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Was easy to find since we have traveled down there before.

Wait Entertainment: We did not have a wait but had two ghouls working the outside area.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Great actor performance. This is one house where the children are also really good. Seem like they had the same actor that would pop up in different places and always seem to scare our group.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great. Even with all the winding and the use of dead ends we did not run into any other group.

Appropriate Ages: 8 on up

Props / Special FX: This house is amazing on the props and special FX. You actually think that you are below the basement into the earth in some places.

Costumes / Make-up: Great masks and make-up.

Summary: Overall, this house's scenery is amazing. The house could have used some music. The scenery really sets the mood. The ending is good but could have used more of a larger scare. Something is needed to send patrons running out the door.

Event Reviewed: Spider Hill (Chillicothe, Illinois)
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A little hard to find unless you know where it is. No signs out on Route 29. Would have made it a lot easier for people.

Wait Entertainment: A 12 year old is not scary for the trail line wait entertainment. Saw a guy with a real chainsaw which was a nice change of pace in the Haunted Mansion. Otherwise wait was non-eventful.

Length of Event: 15 minutes for the trail and about 15 minutes for the Haunted Mansion.

Actor Performance: Child actors are as good as you can expect. One area on the trail ,there was a small child that was crawling on the ground which was a good effect. Haunted Mansion lasked in this area also. Heard actors talking to each other at one point.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good. When we got to the front of the line for the trail the girl said we are sending 10 people at a time. Too large of a group. Our group had 9 so we went together, but sending 10 people through is way too large. In the haunted Mansion there was one area that we had to wait for other people to go through. The group behind us did not wait and continued with our group making it about 12 people or so.

Appropriate Ages: 6 on up.

Props / Special FX: Tunnel was good and the air bags. Use of chainsaw sound recording and electric chainsaws not good. Lots of strobe lights which helped.

Costumes / Make-up: About half and half. Nothing really stood out.

Summary: Spider Hill was really good last year, this year things seem to have changed. There was not alot of scares and the trail this year was extremely disapointing. The last half there were no scares at all. The ending of the trail was very disapointing. It lacked everything. There is nothing scary about a 12 year old dressed as a pirate, slamming his fist on the table and ordering a bottle of rum. The mansion I gave a 6 and the trail a 5. $8.00 per attraction is way too steep for the amount of scares and walking through the attraction with little kids standing there saying "rahhr".

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at