Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2008 Visitor Reviews Submitted by happyhaunter

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: The Scream (Decatur, Illinois)
Reviewed by: happyhaunter   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Get on Eldorado and go west til you see the signs.

Wait Entertainment: Umm...None that I remember.

Length of Event: 15 min. maybe little more.

Actor Performance: Horrible, out of character everytime we came into a room, talked alot, bad timing on scares. Just not a good bunch of actors.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Just as bad as the actor performance. We ran into people all the time. We would wait to let them go and then we would catch up to them. And we are slow walkers.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up.

Props / Special FX: I did like the crawl in the beginning but I had the hardest time getting up that last slope. I didn't understand the slide room. The loud music was great.

Costumes / Make-up: Lots of masks and talking people.

Summary: They had rave review so we decided to take a trip down there to see what it was all about. They had a great location and a great building. It could have been so much better. I was very disappointed that I paid as much as I did. I have never gone to a Haunted House and been talked at so much. Really need to work on that part and the timing of the scares. You just can't scare the first person in the room and right as they walk in. Overall they charge to much to go through. Not worth the price.

Event Reviewed: Clinton's Terror on Washington Street Haunted House (Clinton, Illinois)
Reviewed by: happyhaunter   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Really no signs to guide you there but I have been there in the past so know exactly where to go.

Wait Entertainment: Screen showing people going through the house.

Length of Event: 10-15 min.

Actor Performance: Lots of kids, not that scary

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Only ran into two people once in the beginning because they were lost.

Appropriate Ages: Do Not Bring anyone under the age of 8.

Props / Special FX: The library stood out the most, but there was no scares in there.

Summary: I have been to this house several times and always come back. The chainsaw at the end was the best for two people in our group. I did scream with a dropping wall. I would recommend not having children work the house, they just are not scary at 4'11. I also know that volunteers are hard to come by. This was a decent scare but I dont recommend combining it with Decatur.

Event Reviewed: Creeps N' Shrieks (Cerro Gordo, Illinois)
Reviewed by: happyhaunter   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Had enough signs to find it in this small town. Great location in a morton building on the outskirts of town.

Wait Entertainment: A movie which no one knew the name.

Length of Event: 10 min.

Actor Performance: So not ready for us. We were sent through before the second half of the house was even back from break. The doctor with the circular saw was pretty good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Didn't see anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up.

Props / Special FX: I did like the elevator, but I always have a fear of one falling with me in it.

Costumes / Make-up: The ones in the beginning of the house did real great. Not much of anyone in the second half.

Summary: For the price of the house, I would recommend. I just hope they put better line entertainment and the people taking tickets should be in costume or something. Just regular Joe's. They have some neat props but needed more people to work in the second half. We got to a room in the end with doors but could see through one and thought there was more to the house, but no that was just a room for the elevator. I recommend closing the window. No good scare at the end either, we walked outside wondering where there was more to the end.

Event Reviewed: Decatur Jaycees Fear Factory (Decatur, Illinois)
Reviewed by: happyhaunter   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good signs once you get close to the fairgrounds. Nothing in town telling you about this house.

Wait Entertainment: Very good, had a guy follow us around making a growling noise.

Length of Event: 10-15 min

Actor Performance: Everyone was in character even at the end when they came out of the house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the only ones there.

Appropriate Ages: 10

Props / Special FX: Great rooms just loved the bridge with the fog. A guy from another room scared me there.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks

Summary: If my husband wouldn't have contacted us about this house we would never have gone. I would say this was my favorite of the night, and we hit 4 that night. We made it just it time to be the last group to go through and they scared us at every turn. They even followed us out of the house and tried to take my sister out of the car. Stayed in character until we left. Great job guys, we will come back next year.

Event Reviewed: Spook Hollow (Marquette Heights, Illinois)
Reviewed by: happyhaunter   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: NOt too many signs on the road telling us where to go unless you were there before.

Wait Entertainment: None that I could see.

Length of Event: 40 min for the woods and 10 for the house.

Actor Performance: The woods were great, loved the zombies and the guy with the flashlight.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Caught up to the people ahead of us at every house. Same goes for the people behind us.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: Didn't much care for the smoke house but did get a good scare when I touched someone that I didn't see.

Costumes / Make-up: Both

Summary: I liked this haunt alot better than last year. I didn't like the house with the striped lines and strobe light, only because I couldn't walk straight and kept bumping the walls. There is lots to see on this trail, even the cops will scare you. Great long walk in the woods with some really good scares. The house was ok, I did scream a few times, and the jungle look was cool. Did have problems with the ticket lady, she was rude and nasty. Both ladies in the ticket booth had no clue what the other was doing. One was charging one price and the other was charging a different. Just need to get on the same page in the ticket booth. But overall the haunted trail was great, just a very long wait to get to the front. So go early.

Event Reviewed: Into the Dark (Litchfield, Illinois)
Reviewed by: happyhaunter   (Event Visited: 10/10/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find since I know the area.

Wait Entertainment: Nothing outside to entertain.

Length of Event: 15 min.

Actor Performance: Great job for these guys. Stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Saw no one else going through.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: Love the whole eary feeling inside. Creepy but need music or something.

Summary: Went to this last year and liked it. This year was longer and better. They could use a little wait entertainment. I did like that they made us wait at the sidewalk instead of the door. Like the doors and going around in circles. Great place to visit.

Event Reviewed: Fright Night (Forest City, Illinois)
Reviewed by: happyhaunter   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Was a passenger so I didn't really look for it.

Wait Entertainment: Had a few girls in the porta potty get the crap scared out of them.

Length of Event: Four events and it all varied from 10-15 min.

Actor Performance: All stayed in character in every event. Some needed more haunts, some were just right.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good, never ran into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: Depend on the event. One house not recommended for anyone under 10.

Props / Special FX: Absolutely love the area with the floor. The Texas Chainsaw house was the greatest, everyone stayed in character there.

Summary: I do recommend both houses, one maze didn't have enough scares and they could have been great. The other maze had a kid who was all over working his butt off just to scare. He did really a really great job. Overall had a blast going. Would go back just to see if they make it bigger and better.

Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Darkness Haunted Attraction (Pekin, Illinois)
Reviewed by: happyhaunter   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Been there before but didn't drive so for me it would have been hard, didn't see the sign til the last minute.

Wait Entertainment: Just one Michael Myers, and he was better at a distance.

Length of Event: 10-15 min.

Actor Performance: Everyone stayed in costume, but going from a large Michael Myers to a tiny Michael was not good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Didn't see anyone else but the wait in line was way too long.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Costumes / Make-up: Great makeup from what I could see past the strobe lights.

Summary: I went to this last year and a vast improvement. The flow could go better. I liked the door room and and the creepy story in the beginning. Overall a fun place if you don't live too far away.

Event Reviewed: Spider Hill (Chillicothe, Illinois)
Reviewed by: happyhaunter   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Since I have never been there I didn't know where to turn or anything. Was kind of hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: Not much of anything but one bouncy werewolf.

Length of Event: Wait was longer than the actual walk through.

Actor Performance: In the begining there was some scares, but the best was the crawling boy. He really was freaky looking.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Caught up to some groups in the mansion couple times.

Summary: I have never been there and was prepared for a really good scare. I heard it was pretty decent but I was real disappointed. I do love a good Haunted House and was not impressed with this one.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at