Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2008 Visitor Reviews Submitted by mastiff61701

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Haunted Dungeon 2008 (Rantoul, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Mastiff61701   (Event Visited: After Oct. 31 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: right downtown, had no trouble finding.

Wait Entertainment: Did not see anything but screaming kids running for their life.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Outstanding and on time. Went for all in the group.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into a group, and it was not easy to find your way.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Not a lot of effects, but the usual strobes etc.

Costumes / Make-up: Great costumes. The Silent Hill room was a stand out, very well done.

Summary: We have traveled to over 20 Haunted Houses and this was well worth the trip. The actors were full on out to get you and they had you stuck in the middle of the scares. The Nurse in Silent Hill was awesome as well as the clowns. I was on the edge for what seemed like eternity..Great job..can't wait to see next year. This was the best surprise of the year!!

Event Reviewed: Fear Factory (Rantoul, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/31/08 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We knew where to go. Might be difficult for a newbie.

Wait Entertainment: The LARGEST Jason Voorhees I have ever seen...and no platforms or stilts!!!

Length of Event: we timed it, 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: They do a nice job. Most were on cue and remained in character. They want to get the scare..well done.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Part of the house is guided so not an issue.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: This house is very well done. There is a lot to look at, and the design is well executed.

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone looks the part. The energy these guys put out is awesome.

Summary: We used to work an HH and these guys always do a nice job. The Speed pass was a bit slow, but I think we hit break time, so no biggie. My only comment would be not to have the workers saying this is the top 3 haunted house in the state and it is 30 minutes long. This never works, it sets your guests up for dissapointment when it is not accurate. I promise out of the 20 some we went to this year..it's good,and has some good scares, but not that great!!

Event Reviewed: Boo Crew Haunted House (Rochester, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 11:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: in the middle of no where, but our leader took us right to it. Also noticed "Boo" signage.

Wait Entertainment: We did the speed pass, so didn't see any entertainment other than the dvd players

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: This was the weakest part. After the first two rooms which were very well done the house just fell apart. The timing of the actors were after front person in group only, often by the time the last person in our group entered the scare was over.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: never ran into another group

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Very nicely detailed sets. This is what stood out most.

Costumes / Make-up: Good combination of masks and make up.

Summary: Can't say great, can't say poor..this house falls right in the middle. I am not sorry we went, but it doesn't quite stack up to some of the others.It definately has the potential.

Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted Theater - Dark Nightmares (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Can't miss it.

Wait Entertainment: Nothing that I saw.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Everyone stayed in character, over all a nice job. Calling out the names of people in the group is a great touch.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Very nicely done. Of the 20 or so Haunted Houses we explored this year, a lot of us thought this house had a very effective room. The stobelights and white door room completely messed you up. The rest of the detail through the house was very well done.

Costumes / Make-up: combination of masks and make up, appeared well done.

Summary: I am giving this house a length of 10 minutes, that is how long it took to go through the house. I am not counting the amount of time we spent sitting in the theater watching a part of a bad movie. This house also had the SLOWEST Fast Pass ever. All in all go visit.

Event Reviewed: Auburn Haunted House (Auburn, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Can't miss this looming house.

Wait Entertainment: Loud music and a berating little skeleton man. Give that kid an award. I gave him a tip..LOL.

Length of Event: 10 minutes>> I wanted more. I would have given this house a 10 had it been longer.

Actor Performance: Come on..these guys and gals are the best. Every single actor was fantastic and very very scary. Smart.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into a group, the actors control the flow with the shutting of doors. Smart.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Extremely detailed rooms. This house is well done. Notable room is the doll room. Smart.

Costumes / Make-up: The make up and masks are outstanding. No detail is missed.Smart.

Summary: This was our groups favorite house last year, we were very excited to visit. It is going to come in second this year , just too short. With that being said DO NOT MISS THIS HOUSE!! Kudos to the Auburn group once again. From an ex-Haunted houser, I am going to say it one more time.....smart.

Event Reviewed: Spook Hollow (Marquette Heights, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good signage delivers you to the haunt.

Wait Entertainment: a few monsters making the rounds..and lots of food!!

Length of Event: 10 minutes for the house. 40 minutes for the trail

Actor Performance: Fantastic actors on the trail, excellent hiding places. So many good ones, but have to give kudos to the zombies in the house on the trail with the little girl, look out when it goes dark!! The actors in the "Spook House" were talking, and caught one with the mask off walking around his room when we entered.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into groups waiting to get into the houses on the trail, but it works, you are stil out in the spooky woods. Not so much in the "spook house", we ran into groups inside.

Appropriate Ages: 7+

Props / Special FX: Nice job on the trail, so many things to look at.

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone looked great.

Summary: This event has two places. "Spook Hollow" and a "Spook House". "Spook Hollow" is a fantastic must see..took us 40 minutes to get through. We gave the "Spook House" a second chance this year and sorry we did. One note: AN EXTRA $20.00 for the speed pass is ridiculous. I am a fan of the speed pass and never mind the extra, but this is unreasonable considering the house is so weak. Do not miss "Spook Hollow". So far the best of the 15 haunts we have seen so far.

Event Reviewed: Clinton's Terror on Washington Street Haunted House (Clinton, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: small town, easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Monitors showing a room in the house was all I saw.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Seemed like mostly children, did a pretty good job. Timing of scares was a bit fast. Leatherface was by far the best. The rule giver was his typical good self.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: ran into the two in front of us as we entered because they were lost.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: Nothing really stands out, the usually stuff, but it was well done.

Summary: I enjoyed the House this year a bit more than last year, Leatherface was brutal this year, the roaring chainsaw made you not want to enter the room, and he got you out of the house..great finish!!

Event Reviewed: Decatur Jaycees Fear Factory (Decatur, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Follow the signs once you hit the fairgrounds.

Wait Entertainment: Awesome monsters outside. They started at us as we drove up.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: Great job guys!! The level of performance they put out was top notch. The scares were well hidden. The Monster outside followed us in and would disappear, and then nailed our group over and over. We were the last group out, and our car was covered with relentless monsters, I felt like I was living a horror movie. One of the girls in the group wee'd a little.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 7+

Props / Special FX: The rooms were wellm thought out and just plain creepy. Notable was the wooden bridge.

Costumes / Make-up: Seems like mostly masks, but all were scary and well done, make around the eyes adds to the appearance.

Summary: Congratulation guys, you rocked out a great Haunted House. We attended 4 that evening and this was the best.Of the two houses in Decatur, this is the one to attend. We are ex-haunters, and Kudos, you got us good!!

Event Reviewed: Creeps N' Shrieks (Cerro Gordo, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: signs on roads helped a lot.

Wait Entertainment: They had a movie playing.

Length of Event: 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Good performances for the most parts, seemed like adults, rather than kids. The Doctor had a great scare and was timed perfectly.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the first to go in after the break, so we did not run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: Rooms were very well done. I liked the boiler room and the stockade like maze. The sounds in this house were horrific.

Costumes / Make-up: Combination of make up and masks. What we saw were well done. I think we missed out on a few rooms that were not staffed yet after the break.

Summary: I do not think they were ready for us after the break, The actors you could hear talking, and rooms were just empty that looked like there could have been a scare. The ending with the doors had nothing to it, and when we got out we felt like we took a wrong turn, there just needed to be more.

Event Reviewed: The Scream (Decatur, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/17/08 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We got a little lost, but once back on track we found it no problem.

Wait Entertainment: A couple of monsters roaming the lines. Nothing memorable.

Length of Event: 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Horrible. Between all the chatting from the actors and lifting of the masks and poor timing by only scaring the first person in line I was very disappointd.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into many groups front and back, the actors did not stay in character to help control the lines, they would just speak and tell us they were backed up.

Appropriate Ages: 5+

Props / Special FX: The rooms were well done as well as the loud sounds. Upon arrival we thought it might be good due to the loud booming sounds coming from inside.

Costumes / Make-up: Nice combination of masks(when they left them on) and make up.

Summary: Of the four houses we attended this was the worst. Don't bother with the speed pass, not worth it. We attended this house because of all the great reviews, when we left, it was obvious the participants of the house wrote most of them. Get it together Scream.

Event Reviewed: Fright Night (Forest City, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We found it, but had a good leader.

Wait Entertainment: IN YOUR FACE!! High marks for the maniac outside, he would not leave you alone.He semed to always be with us as we went from event to event.

Length of Event: The entire event took us over an hour.

Actor Performance: For the most part outstanding!!! Great characters..Great job!! The crazy guy in the hoodie deserves an award..if he doesn't lose his voice I will be shocked.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into a single group in all four attractions.

Appropriate Ages: Depending on event.8+

Props / Special FX: A lot of work went into this and it showed. The monsters under the floor creeped me out.

Costumes / Make-up: Some definately better than others, combination of make up and masks. Really would suggest make up around eyes under the masks,easy fix.

Summary: This event is worth the trip, no question. However, I would break it down like this. The Haunted church 8,Fairy tale maze 7,the other maze 5, Texas Chainsaw Masacre house 10. Even though the TCM was short it was awesome. We were trapped and felt doomed. They promised next year it would be longer, we will make the trip back just to see. Great job Forest City!!

Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Darkness Haunted Attraction (Pekin, Illinois)
Reviewed by: Mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/11/08 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We stumbled on the warehouse right away.

Wait Entertainment: Michael Myers was relentless.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Everyone stayed in character, thought they did a good job, seemed like quite a few performers packed this house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Perfect, never ran into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Nice job. Enjoyed quite a few of the rooms, notables would be the bloody sheet room with loud music, and the room with all the misleading doors.

Costumes / Make-up: combination of masks and make up, all well done.

Summary: Much better than last year!! Some very good distractions to get the scares. My only complaint was the line moved very slow and the last room did not finish very strong.

Event Reviewed: Spider Hill (Chillicothe, Illinois)
Reviewed by: mastiff61701   (Event Visited: 10/04/08 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: a sign would have been nice on the road so we knew where to turn.

Wait Entertainment: There were a few roaming monsters. Saw two coming out of the public restroom.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: extremely weak. Mostly children. Timing was way off, as soon as a room was entered by the first person they would scream. One notable was a little kid crawling on the trail, he was creepy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: pretty good on the trail. We did catch up to a few groups in the haunted house

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: very typical props, strobes,the pirate set was all right, BUT PIRATE'S ARE NOT SCARY, ARRRRGHH!!!

Costumes / Make-up: Decent coastumes and face make up.

Summary: This was a huge disappointment after last years. Possibly because it was opening weekend and no one had the scares down. Timing was so poor, as well as the last quater of the trail did not have a single scare. I will probably skip this one next year.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at