Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
All 2008 Visitor Reviews Submitted by mistress

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
Event Reviewed: Nightmare on Elizabeth Street (Lombard, Illinois)
Reviewed by: mistress   (Event Visited: 10/31/08 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find if you use Mapquest. Once in the area, there are a few signs to point the way

Wait Entertainment: This is a home haunt, so there is no wait

Length of Event: about 10-15 minutes to take everything in

Actor Performance: Awesome! I love taking the kids here for some scares on Halloween. High energy actors with chainsaws, pumpkin head and Michael Meyers were all out chasing the kids around.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This really does not apply...no lines

Appropriate Ages: over 10

Props / Special FX: This home haunt is nicely done. Frankenstein is very cool - complete with gadgets to bring him to life. A working Guillotine and a graveyard.

Costumes / Make-up: Very nicely done. Pumpkinhead was an original costume and looked realistic the crazy chainsaw guys looked great as well.

Summary: I love this place, it is always on my list to check out over the season. Always high energy people working who break out of nowhere to chase the kids down the street. The yard display has a lot of goodies to take in..working gullitine, graveyard and frankenstein. This is a must see/do for your family - just beware your kids are in for a scare. My son was so scared he ran down the block to my car and we had to look for him. 
You can always tell you're on the right block by the kids running down the street. 
Their display changes every year and there is great attention to detail.  
The only complaint I had is that an actor/owner of the house tried scaring us by actually stabbing/jabbing us in the belly with a spatula (or something) - it took me by surprise, and although I did not get mad I can see many people getting mad or upset about someone walking up and jabbing them hard in the belly with something. You don't have to actually jab someone to scare them - would have had a much better effect without the stabbing. 
Other then that...this place is great and we can't wait to return next year. Definately a must see every season!

Event Reviewed: Mayhem on Mansfield (Burbank, Illinois)
Reviewed by: mistress   (Event Visited: 10/25/08 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. We used mapquest which took us right to the house.

Wait Entertainment: There is no wait...it is a yard haunt.

Length of Event: allow yourself about 20 minutes or more to take every thing in.

Actor Performance: Awesome. High energy actors who love what they are doing and it shows.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This doesn't apply here...you can go as quick or fast as you would like inside of the haunt.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and over

Props / Special FX: This is the Ultimate Yard Haunt..and I'm really going to miss these guys. The display is killer - from the celeb pumpkins to their massive graveyard to the fishing skeletons - there is a lot of detail here.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make up are always nicely done.

Summary: This is one location I always make time to check out during the season, and I'm really going to miss it. 
This haunt was the ultimate in yard displays. So much detail went into this display. And I loved their lazer show complete with the Thriller dance...this haunt was better then some of the paid events I've been through over the years.  
I'm really sad to see that this is the last year it will be around...but thank you for entertaining us the last few years!!

Event Reviewed: Hotel Massacre (West Chicago, Illinois)
Reviewed by: mistress   (Event Visited: 10/24/08 @ 11:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find. Located in the back of Boogie Nights parking lot - huge lighted sign out in front.

Wait Entertainment: We were with the last group to go in for the night...there was no wait. There was one actor working our small crowd as we bought our tickets. The tent that we would have waited in did not have any scenery built in - which would have made a boring wait if we had to.

Length of Event: about 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Very Good! This haunt included actors who role played and who scared...both sets of actors did a good job. 

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I was a little disappointed. We were the last crowd of the night, and instead of splitting the 2 groups up, we were instead brought inside as one large group of 10.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: Basic. But worked very well for what they were doing in this haunt. All the rooms were very detailed. The fountain at the entrance was spectacular and I loved the bathroom - complete with working shower (of blood), which was unique and the bedroom with the victim.

Costumes / Make-up: Possibly too basic. The actor who "greeted" you was only wearing green makeup and a cape..not enough to set the mood for being scared.  
The role playing actors were made up enough to be believable, but the actors who scared needed more. Most actors only wore a minimum of face paint, which should be improved so you get the full effect of the haunt.

Summary: I think for a first year haunt they did an excellent job and I am looking forward to what they have in store next year...with a little more building on the good ideas they have already, I think this could be made into something great. 
 
I loved the story of the hotel and how they set the tone for you once you walked into the lobby.  
There is a lot of great detail that went into many of these rooms. The bathroom was a great touch and so was the fountain at the main entrance.  
There are 16 rooms in all, and they are all separated nicely by using a small tunnel or inflatable walkway or some small twists and turns. They do not rely on heavy dark corridors like some of the other haunts I've been to this year...which was great to see. 
 
This haunt had 2 types of actors that worked...one role playing, which told you the story of the room you walked into and another set that scared the crowd. Both sets of actors did very well, but I loved how the actors were well hidden and popped out from nowhere. Very unpredictable. The only improvement that they needed was some extra detailing to costumes and makeup as to make the actors more convincing. 
 
Although we got there late, I did wish that we were broken up into 2 smaller groups..our group was put with another who were loud and obnoxious and we did not get the full effect of the rooms we went into.  
I would suggest making smaller groups so that each group can go through and experience the same scare that the front of the crowd was able to. 
 
I would recommend checking out this haunt - the are many good ideas and the room setups are excellent.  
I do think the price tag of $20.00 was a little hard to swallow, but they did throw in admission to boogie nights and some free games of bowling, which helped..  

Event Reviewed: Dungeon of Doom & Labyrinth of Doom (Grayslake, Illinois)
Reviewed by: mistress   (Event Visited: 10/18/08 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/08
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Can be hard to find if you've never been here before - no large signs posted on the street. We have been coming here for about 4 years now and knew where to go.

Wait Entertainment: As always excellent. One of the reasons we keep coming back is the actors. High energy, always keeping people on their toes...made a 4 hour wait not so bad - unfortunately I had a better time during the wait then the actual house. 
The main barn where the haunt is located has some eye candy - large screen playing clips of old horror films and a few props. The new ticket window was an awesome touch, but I was disappointed not to see any detail to the graveyard like they have had in the past.

Length of Event: approx. 20-25 minutes...

Actor Performance: Excellent. We waited 4 hours - by time we actually got in the haunt it was about 2:30 and the actors that didn't leave were still energetic and fun. Still in your face and ready to scare. Thank You!!  
Would like to mention one thing, We were rushed through the phone booth scene (opening scene) - even after they pushed one our friends into the booth and then told him to nevermind. I thought pushing was not allowed (?) luckily we thought it was funny...but they may wish to watch that other people may not have thought so... 
Some of the actors had left, or they didn't have as many as usual, some scenes did not have anyone working and did not have the scare factor that they would have otherwise.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Surprisingly not so bad - I thought we were going to be rushed...but we only ran into the group behind us at the stopping points.

Appropriate Ages: this year 10 and up...not so scary.

Props / Special FX: Excellent - in the rooms that had any.  
This year was very, very disappointing, the rooms were far and few between very dark tunnels and a few ramps.  
Usually this haunt has a jam packed haunt - lots of visuals and eye candy and lots of detail..but this year I don't know what happened.  
The rooms that were done were great - especially the hospital, which was again way too short. 
This could have been fun, for example a few years ago they had an exit under a fireplace that you had to crawl through...fun...but when it's complete darkness for the majority of the house - I could have went to a local haunt to experience the same and paid less...instead I drove an 1 1/2 and waited 4 - very disappointing guys...what happened?!

Costumes / Make-up: Were very good. Loved the clowns and the tall guy - who was probably the best ghoul of the night...funny and entertained us even did dances for us - awesome job!

Summary: Unfortunately I was VERY disappointed in DOD this year. This has been my favorite haunt for several years and the first haunt I visited this year. So anxious to go, we got a good group of 12. 
The people in our group who have never been to this haunt really loved it - loved the intensity of the actors that were there and the detailed scenes of the haunt (that were there). 
But the members of our group who have been there before (including myself) were highly disappointed. 
Why? 
The detailed scenes were very far and few between pitch black hallways. The dark hallways and twists can be fun, but when they are the majority of the house...they get pretty stale very quick. Most of the time spent at the haunt was in a dark hallway or in the maze. 
In the center of the haunt was the labyrinth - which in my opinion should have been at the end of the haunt. It took away from the experience and got stale very quick. It seemed like it was tossed in to make the event longer. 
 
The rooms that were detailed were outstanding and the guys did an excellent job with this. As always I loved Mercy General Hospital - very detailed...awesome! I hate vortexes, but the tunnel with the ghosts was way cool. 
The pharaohs curse room could have been an awesome room - very detailed and well done...but the actors must have left for the night so we didn't get the full effect. 
 
If it wasn't for the actors that worked at this haunt, I would have been more upset...but they were very high energy and in your face which made it fun, even at 2 in the morning! I loved the fact that they scared more then just the person in the front or back - but actually worked everyone in our group which was awesome. 
 
I was disappointed that the point of the haunt this year seemed to be "vote for us". I know it's an election year and all..but come on! ;P  
Yesterday on myspace there was a bulletin about voting for dod even if you had not visited the haunt this year..and at the end of the haunt again with mentioning to vote for them here.  
I love checking out haunts, and I can understand getting the message across to vote for your favorite...but that bulletin was really disappointing to see...especially after going. I'm not sure if I can really vote for them this year as so far I'm mixed about the experience. 
 
I love haunts that can re-vamp things and transform into something completely different..but this did not work for dod this year. What I would recommend is keeping some of the same elements that made your haunt #1 for the last several years and build on that.  
 
I'm not wanting my review to come across as completely negative..it's not - if you've never been - please go check it out! You won't be disappointed and will have a blast! 
But for others who have visited over the last few years, like myself...i think dod has lost some of it's "wow" factor this year and was a little disappointing.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at