Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Chronicles Of The Cursed: Hades Emerges (Chicago, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
22 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nicoli   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Was easy to find and parking was close but cost $10 in addition to ticket price.

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment visible. My group got the VIP tickets, so we didn't wait in line at all, but we didn't notice any wait entertainment.

Length of Event: Was long enough to have been able to do more than was done, because I kept hoping that around the next corner it would be more interesting. That was the only suspense. You could see too much of what was coming at you, so the scare factor was low.

Actor Performance: Most of the actors were dressed up well and looked freaky enough but their suspense factor wasn't high because they were too visible before they could startle.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was ok. Could walk at own pace through house/tent.

Appropriate Ages: They said only 14 yrs +, but it wouldn't have scared me when I was 13.

Props / Special FX: Some of the props didn't seem to be complete or working. A lot of space in walkways and rooms, maybe too much to be startling and the lighting wasn't very dramatic.

Costumes / Make-up: Actors looked cool, but their freakishness was subtler than other haunted houses I've been too.

Summary: I left feeling that the event left a lot to be desired. I screamed a few times, but I think they certainly couldn've been more creative w/ the overall scare and suspense than was advertised.

22 out of 34 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: head_dunce   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's easy to find right off Grand Ave. You'll see the sign for parking where they charge you $10 to park in a gravel lot.

Wait Entertainment: The line wasn't that long, and they did have a couple guys walking around. They also has a spoof of a TV show on a screen, but you couldn't hear it at all.

Length of Event: Maybe 20 minutes?

Actor Performance: These were the worst actors I've ever seen at a haunted house. Part of the problem seemed to be not enough actors. Some scenes didn't have anyone in them. Other scenes took large areas and just didn't have anything going on in them but a lot of wasted space, which seems odd since the whole haunt takes place in a tent. Either you got a BOO or your got an actor who seemed to forget they're suppose to be scary - a guy in a cow outfit leaning against a fence going moo... yeah, not scary - lame. These guys need help.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good for about 3 minutes. Then we bumped into the group that seemed endless in front of us until the end. They had a lot of pitch black areas that slowed people up, but they didn't do anything in them. It was just black. No one attempted to break up the endless group, it was just follow the leader - and we showed up early!

Appropriate Ages: These guys couldn't scare a 3 year old.

Props / Special FX: The fog machine was in over drive I'm assuming because something had to cover up the poor actors and bad scenes.

Summary: This is the only haunted house I've ever been to where I wanted my money back. As we were walking out, everyone around us was saying how it was just BAD. It's as if these guys have never been to a haunted house before.

18 out of 31 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Visibility was good, right off of Grand Avenue, and you can't miss the giant tent.

Wait Entertainment: Waiting to get in to the event, there was a guy riding around on a giant bicycle, and once in line after tickets, there was one scary guy that seemed to scare people, and a guy who had a pet rat that people could pet if they wanted.

Length of Event: Ten minutes, would have been quicker if we didn't keep running in to people in front of us.

Actor Performance: They were comitted to their characters, but I would not describe any of them as scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Within a minut or two, we ran in to the people in front of us. I tried to stop and let them go ahead, but then the people behind us caught up to us.

Props / Special FX: The props were interesting, artistic but not really scary.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up were very well done, but it seemed like they were just random characters, not really a theme fot the house.

Summary: I feel that this house seemed like a theatre group put together a haunted house. Interesting characters, great props, but nothing was scary. Most of the dark maze aspects were lit from the ground, so you could see everything through out most of the dark parts. There were parts that seemed like there were some props in an area, but no one around them, so it was like "That was an interesting piece of scenery" but it was there for no reason. The other problem I had is that they opened twenty minutes late on a Saturday. If it was a weekday, or there was inclement weather, I would understand why, but neither was the case. Overall I was really let down by this house.

16 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: oneflowermom   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find, located under several large white tents. Parking is in an adjacent lot, $10.

Wait Entertainment: We paid to skip the line, so I didn't see any wait entertainment.

Length of Event: 6 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors remained in character, which was good. But their timing was often off and due to the odd construction I saw them long before they jumped out to scare us.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Was pretty good until we got to a completely dark maze portion when we ran into two more groups of people and ended up being in a "train" of about 25 people.

Appropriate Ages: They say no one under 14, but I think grade schoolers might find it scary. There's a gross scene involving a toilet that they might appreciate.

Props / Special FX: There were several props/fx that did not seem to be working yet, including a dragon made of nylon and perhaps five bizarre "cannons" and workout equipment that no one was interacting with. There is a castle scene that you circle several times that was nicely constructed - but the giant WGN logo in the background takes away any real fear factor.

Costumes / Make-up: These seemed very random, almost as if the actors had to make up their own costumes. Most notable of all was a guy who had wrapped a flashing blacklight around himself for a costume.

Summary: I was very disappointed in this haunt. There were long periods of time where we didn't see a single actor, although the curtains they were surely to have emerged from were pulled back slightly so we could see where the actors wandered. The main scene that you keep coming back to and circling around is a haunted band with a few actors roaming around it. The band leader is supposed to be a voodoo priest or something, but none of it was remotely scary. There also seem to be several props made out of nylon, including the aforementioned non-functioning dragon head that was just sitting in an alcove and a few strange creations that looked like giant nylon barrels on roller skates with a claw sticking out. The only remotely scary part is a small series of hallways that are completely dark, but even then, I was disappointed the only people who tried to scare us in there was another group of visitors that had apparently been hanging out in the dark. Following that, there was an odd large open space where a few actors were roaming around with pieces of gym equipment sitting there, and odd cannon shapes wrapped in bandages. It made absolutely no sense. There is also a scene that looks like a workplace shooting has taken place that I just thought was tacky - although not as tacky as the guy pretending to eat the smeared contents of a toilet. I helped construct a haunted house in a gym for fifth graders before, and that's kind of how this feels to me. Maybe it will get better, as I strongly believe that there were several parts of the haunt that were not functioning and that it was severely understaffed, but it would take a lot of improvement.

30 out of 57 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Haunt_Master   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very hard to find and I had a GPS to help me. A light sign or at least a strobe light would have helped point out which destitue building contained the haunted house. Oh and have fun paying TEN BUCKS TO PARK.

Wait Entertainment: I saw a guy with a chainsaw standing around but he didnt use it or really interact with the crowd at all. It was a long boring 90 minute wait with nothing to do but think about the cold.

Length of Event: I timed it on my watch. 7 minutes, not including the 90 minute wait to get in.

Actor Performance: Teens and pre-teens with probably zero haunted house experience operated the haunt. Actors were few and far between. I got "booed" at by a kid. Boo is not scary to anyone over the age of 5.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: HORRIBLE. Immediately ran into the group ahead of me. The group behind me was a bunch of drunk soccer moms who pushed into me making me push into the group ahead. This was not fun. Since there were over a dozen customers making a conga line thru the house it wasn't scary one bit.

Appropriate Ages: Ages 2 and up.

Props / Special FX: Not impressed. I've been to local jaycees haunted houses and other non-profit houses with BETTER props and special effects. This entire house looked thrown together. It was way too light in some areas. I didn't see any animatronics (that worked anyway).

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly cheap Walmart masks. The one actor I did see wearing makeup just painted his face red. He was wearing jeans and a t shirt. It seemed that the house couldn't even invest in some inexpensive robes for actors to wear to cover their jeans and daily attire.

Summary: I will never waste the time driving here or my money parking here or paying to go through this house ever again. Everyone in my group was disappointed. I can't belive how short it was for how much I paid to get in. The bang for the buck was extremely low. With all of the hyped up advertisement I heard on the radio I figured this was going to be one heck of a haunted house. I guess I should have realized that it was just publicity b/c the house was sponsering the radio station. I learned my lesson not to believe everything you hear on the radio!

4 out of 8 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: radsponge   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The only sign I saw was for the $10 parking (which I did not have to do)

Wait Entertainment: they had more than just the rat man. Creepy big guy turned transvetite and errie clown lady, voodoo man was good

Length of Event: 20 min

Actor Performance: Some of the actors' performances were fine, but the problem is the design of the place. Only a few rooms where they had a chance to scare you. Most rooms way way too large. Whoever designed the layout must not have designed haunted house layouts before. You could see the actors way off in the distance at times so they have no opportunity to impress you unless they are assigned dialogue with you.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: this night flow was good. We did not get squished by those behind us (probably because it was not scary at all). We paced ourselves to ensure actors had time to reset for our group, but as I said, many rooms so bid it did not matter, they had no chance to launch a scare on us.

Appropriate Ages: You could take your 6 year old to this one.

Props / Special FX: What special FX? They had a black light room ok. It is clear from looking at the props in the second waiting area that some $$ got spent with a design in mind but they must have run out of time. If anyone else noticed on the right as you enter the room is the WGN logo and a stage that was meant to be a news anchor desk. There is a very complex robotic manequin behind the desk and she has a few subtle movements, but there is no voice, no intro. Somebody had an idea and it did not work.

Costumes / Make-up: Some of the costumes were quite good, but if they don't have a chance to launch the scare with the right timing and inflection because you can see them a mile then what good is the level of detail.

Summary: Well impressions started off wrong with the house opening 15 min late. Having taken my kids to the old Hades year after year in Villa Park, expectations were high, and this reincarnated Hades is the biggest letdown of the decade. How with so much $$ backing from tribune, WGN, and other is it possible to this haunted house design was not scary at all, but some kind of mis-guided circus affair? I was really disappointed. Their trailer was 10 times more scary than the house. I cannot believe with all that backing that they blew it, unless their intent was to attract the kiddies next year like they used to do inside Navy Pier on Halloween. I will not give them a second chance if they survive this year. What happened?

7 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: liverd   (Event Visited: 10/11/09 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good, you could see it from above. It is in white peaked tents.

Wait Entertainment: It was ok,two guys walking the line one with a live, very docile rat.

Length of Event: 15 min.

Actor Performance: One actor surprised me- the Boo Cow. Some had difficulty because their "rooms" did not lend themselves to scaring. They were too visible or just had a bad theme- i.e.-rocking floor room???.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. They were only letting small groups through; spaced apart by a couple of rooms. Very nicely done.

Appropriate Ages: 10-12 & up

Props / Special FX: The pitch dark maze was great- should be longer. What were the props in the last area? They looked like giant feminine products- odd, not weird or creepy. Loved the music piped in and the band- have always loved that aspect of Hades- the live band from h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored)

Costumes / Make-up: Makeup was very good. Looks like it's airbrushed. nicely done- maybe has too many details for some room applications. The black light ones could use a lighter touch for creepiness. The costumes often didn't make any sense for what was going on- the last area was just odd.

Summary: We used to go to Hades out in Villa Park. We loved the forever maze they had there. None here except for the small pitch dark maze which should be longer but marked. The front of the group we were in had trouble discerning if it was the correct way. The live band could work on some more creepy music- the cadence got boring. There didn't seem to be a through-line for the "story". It seemed very disconnected. I also think more of the passageways should be covered. It was kind of disorienting in a few spots when the fog blended into the tent roof but for the most part was reflecting too much light. We were disappointed in our visit and thought it was too costly for what we got.

7 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ebe2023   (Event Visited: 10/11/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to see its a big white tent on Grand. Great location in the city but to bad that is the only time i will use the word for this review.

Wait Entertainment: 20-30 minute wait

Length of Event: took about 15 minutes

Actor Performance: horrible: some would just stare, some would do nothing, some would make a poor attempt to scare you if when completely visible. Overall the place did not really have a theme and had no type of script for actors to follow.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: horrible: within the first 2 minutes we caught up to another group and they just held up everybody else behind us. the house was already bad enough but with them holding up everyone no one was getting a single scare. people were trying to scare other people and they probably did it better than the actors.

Appropriate Ages: i am not sure why this place would even hold an event called half the freight for half the price. It could not scare a 12 year old with the lights on they might as well have the actors pass out candy.

Props / Special FX: props were some of the worst i have seen, i have seen houses on a city block look scarier. besides strobes and colored light not many FX.

Costumes / Make-up: Maybe 2-3 good costumes the rest look like they hired people and told them just try and look scary bring your own costume.

Summary: even though i paid $10 instead of $20 the house was not worth it. I would have been better off renting two horror films. Props were uninspired and the whole house did not seem to follow any theme. Costumes fell way short of scary, acting was very poor, speakers in the haunted house sounded crappy or busted. Overall it was a bad experience for me and the 11 other people i invited. I would not return

8 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jmdono4   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to get to with GPS

Wait Entertainment: Covered waiting with music, television, props and creatures scaring the audience.

Length of Event: 10 mins

Actor Performance: Excellent performances

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good until the end when we ran into the group in front of us.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Unique and out of the ordinary props.

Costumes / Make-up: lots of lighting effects and glow in the dark paint.

Summary: Overall I was satisfied with the haunt. I liked the covered waiting and the actor wandering the crowd with the live rat. $20 per person is on the high side though for the haunt. Luckily I bought tickets through groupon so it was $20 total for me and my G/F instead of $40. I liked how the haunt had an indoor and outdoor effect to it once inside. Actors were great and the props were very different compared to the average haunt which made for a much more enjoyable experince (It was nice to see something new). Only downside is that if you didnt find street parking you would have to pay $10 for attraction parking which is an inconvenience due to the fact that tickets are already $20 a person. All in all good haunt.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at