Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Eleventh Hour Haunted Houses (Elk Grove Village, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
26 out of 36 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: necrodude31   (Event Visited: 10/08/09 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: all i can say is DONT USE MAPQUEST. It took us 4 trips up and down devon ave to finally find it. There are small signs but nothing to major i saw.

Wait Entertainment: Nothing really for ticket sales, but thurs night = no ticket line thus no actors. 
 
the entertainment for the eleventh hour house was nice tho. 2 actors who played a husband/wife role were very funny and scary.

Length of Event: Eleventh Hour Haunted Houses ~ 35 min 
 
Haunted Corn Maze- took us a good 20min (maze is VERY difficult to get through)

Actor Performance: EXCELLENT! All the actors very in character, in your face, and had a scare everytime. Great job here.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Again amazing. They separated groups about 3-4 min apart so we never ran into anyone nor did anyone run into us.

Appropriate Ages: 13+ for sure. Not for children.... at all.

Props / Special FX: Not too many special FX but props, yes. I especially liked the big zombie dragon thing or whatever in one of the middle haunts.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good, a lot of masks. however the ones in make up were decent and the costumes matched the rooms.

Summary: This was my first year going to this haunt and i got to go on my birthday which was cool. Right from the start there was a very eerie atmosphere and it continued through the whole attraction. The corn maze was one of my fav parts because you had no idea what to expect. one of the actors in there was on stilts in a guile suit and you COULD NOT see him in the corn stalks. The actual 11th hr attraction was top notch. The intro scene was really cool. I also liked how some of the exits were hidden, i.e. the staircase, the book case, and the refrigerator. The elevator scene was cool too, very disorienting. And of course, the classic ending. And the actor played it off well, couldnt even see the chainsaw until he counted to 3 to "play with his new toy"... priceless. 
 
Overall i really enjoyed this house and i can now say i am a hooked goer and fan. I will most definitely go again this season and again every other year this house is open. 
 
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!! GO TO THIS HAUNT! YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!

15 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Visibility was very good, right off of a major street. Parking was good, plenty of parking and people to guide you to where to park.

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment was good, not great. There was a climbing wall, as well as a bungee cord jump device, but the wait is outside, and if it's cold or rainy, that could be a deterrent. The ghouls were ok, not really scary at all, but trying to be entertaining.

Length of Event: There are three different houses, as well as a corn maze. If you go through all three houses, it ends up being at least a half hour, if not longer.

Actor Performance: Actor performance was good. They were very convincing, and really got in to their characters.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I feel that it took a long time to start, we never ran in to a group ahead of us. I think they only took one group in the first house at a time, so we never ran in to anyone ahead of us, I feel groups waited too long to go in to the house.

Appropriate Ages: I think it's not too age appropriate, our group had a seven year old in it, and he never really freaked out. 

Props / Special FX: Props and FX weren't spectacular, but they fit in to the theme of an asylum. The entranceway is interesting,don't want to give it away, and enjoyed the fence maze in one of the houses.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up worked out really well. Some of the characters had really good make up. The character that brought our group in to the entrance had a clock on his face that was really well done.

Summary: I enjoyed 11th Hour more this year than last year. One of my favorite aspects of haunted houses lately is the completely dark mazes, which they have here. My group at one point got lost, and one of the demons had to break character to find them. I really enjoyed the ghouls popping out throughout the darkness, you usually couldn't hear them ahead of time, and as a person who enjoys being in front, they scared me a few times. The corn maze, wasn't too scary, but, and I am ashamed to admit it, I got lost in it and one of the creatures had to tell me how to get out. Overall I thought it was very entertaining.

9 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ciszews3   (Event Visited: 10/11/09 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good visibility from street! Located on Devon Ave. just west of Arlington Hts. Rd. It could use some erie lights to highlight the sign out front.

Wait Entertainment: There were a good number of actors for the line entertainment. A kinda married couple were doing an act and flirting with the crowd and rolling around in a wheelchair..Inventive act and spooky/funny! Also a british chica was collecting tickets and making fun of the crowd..good stuff! Each haunt had an actor or two entertaining you while you waited in line. There was also a Catacombs, the next haunt after 11th Hour, actor that creeped the crowd out while taking tickets with another creepy/scary dude with a top-hat coming at people throwing a garbage can and a chain-link fence on the ground while he/it chased you!! Great job!

Length of Event: Each haunt was different. Here's the breakdown: Corn Maze took about 5 min, depending if you are directionally challenged! Ha!, 11th HOUR took about 10 min, Catacombs took about 12 min and Intensity about 12 min! So, total time 39-40 mins! Great for the price!

Actor Performance: It varies from each haunt! 11th Hour was more acting but still creepy! The next 2 haunts were more 'in your face' pop-outs! The catacombs were creepy and our group enjoyed the cool scenes! Intensity was very dark and made everyone uneasy not knowing were the actors were at! There was a live metal/thrash band here last year, I believe they were called, IFORANI since I asked last year, and the box office told me that they are playing INSIDE THE HAUNT INTENSITY THIS FRI AND SAT THE 16TH / 17TH! They did this very cool and I and my group are coming back this weekend to see it!! Super cool to see a band inside a haunted house...so unexpected and creepy!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never an issue here! If our group did slow down a bit, there were actors there to entertain us! Great job!

Appropriate Ages: I would say 10 and up! If you do have a someone that is under 10 yrs, the 11th HOUR HAUNT is more acting that scare tactics and there is food, pumpkins and a rock climbing wall.......

Props / Special FX: The first 2 haunts had great special effects from very detailed in 11th Hour to a more creepy crypt with lots of erie lighting w/skeletons and a big monster guy in the next haunt..Catacombs!

Costumes / Make-up: The actors in make-up were super cool and had a ghoulish look! Some actors did have masks and were just as creeeeeepy! There was some actor what looked like on stilts that was grunting and walking around and chasing people...now that was really creeeeeepy b/c he was all dressed up in corn stalks and a seaweed kinda costume which was crayz!!

Summary: Great all around job! From actors sniffing you to scaring you up close! Well worth the trip!! Actors really gave a good show and the haunt had something for all ages! Entertainment factor is very high and our group enjoyed coming out and will be back this weekend for the live band!!

19 out of 33 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: chainlink   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: same location in previouse years bertholds garden center off of devon ave. visibility is really good me sigs and right off devon

Wait Entertainment: there where a few actors entertaining the line whem there was a line this was there opening weekend so not t many actors

Length of Event: 30 min depending how fast your grup walks

Actor Performance: actor performance was awsome. like i said this was there opening weekend and there actor from 11th hour to intensity were very in your face and ethusiastic,

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: patron flow was awsome till we got to the the last huse its a dark maze threrw the whole house s we expected to run into a group get lost easily

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: there where alot of new props and sfx this year excpeically in there new attraction catacombs very realistic the walls the smeel very awsme

Costumes / Make-up: eleventh hour always does god in this catagory. there makeup and costumes fit there scenes. te make up i really liek was a actor wearing white torn up shirt and jeans great makup scary looking and the guy in the first room very great makup

Summary: overall i think eleventh hour stepped it up this year been going to this house past 4 years and every year this house gets better and better. this year they added a additional attraction catacombs and this attraction is realistic and vortex back i saw but shrt thing was not enoough actors in catacombs but great sfx.in eleventh hour the scene that made me jump was the girl in the bedrom very creepy awsome job. and intensity one of my fav house only thing was not enough actr in there but what actors where in there where amazing and very ethusiastic. u have to crwl this year but tha actors in there popping out with flashlights but very in your face interaction very awsome but only other thing was it seem like the same actor poping out it was a actor with a white bloody torn shirt it seemed he was all over place poping outat the right time scared the crap out of some girl in my group but all the actors and crew of eleventh hour i giv eu two thumbsup deff a top 5 haunt this year good luck rest of year

8 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: helen7   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Big white sign outside directing us to the haunted house.Location is easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Awesome!!!! Kept us very entertained...

Length of Event: There are 4 haunted houses and it took about 15 minutes for each one. Also, got lost in the corn maze.

Actor Performance: Guy in scary hairy mask...sneeking up on people. 
Live Band playing in custom inside haunted house, AWESOME!British girl with face all torn up making fun of people waiting in line.There was a crazy guy in the kitchen that put me and my girlfriend in the freezer.The guy in the graveyard was kept us completey entertained...

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Walked through with an even pace, never ran into any of the other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 10 & above

Props / Special FX: Dentist room, and the graveyard.

Costumes / Make-up: Many different characters, very scary. Makeup looked professionally done.

Summary: Had a blast...will go again, lots of veratility. Outside there was hot cider, hot chocolate and pizza sold. They had heat lamps in the tent to keep you warm while they where waiting to go into the haunt. The actors did a great job!!!

11 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jenabean2   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was pretty easy to find. And parking was nice too.

Wait Entertainment: There was no real wait the night we went. There were a few guys out there scaring people.

Length of Event: About 30 mins for all four of the haunted house. (3 haunted houses and a corn maze).

Actor Performance: Everyone did well. A few guys missed their cue though. In the other two haunted houses, there seemed to be a stortage of actors though.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not hit the another group. But it was not very crowded.

Appropriate Ages: I would say about 10 with parents.

Costumes / Make-up: The woman outside the first haunted house looked very cool. So was the time guy in the first room that gave the history of the haunted house.

Summary: I enjoyed the first house a lot. The place looked cool and the story was fun. I also thought most of the scenes rocked. They were very detailed. The other two were ok. They seemed like they were understaffed though.

7 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Slater   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A great location. I stopped by during the day so I'd know where it was later that night. At night when we went it was dark and the atmosphere was very spooky.

Wait Entertainment: A few actors and a couple other attractions out front. Snack bar. Like I said I was there briefly during the day too, and there was a petting zoo. It was gone later that night though.

Length of Event: 43 minutes total, timed on my watch.

Actor Performance: Pretty good. Speaking role in the library scene was too much. Clock faced actor was great. Cemetary actor was great. Good pop outs. Chainsaw was good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, never ran into anyone.

Props / Special FX: Great detail here. Catacombs looked sweet. Vortex Tunnel, some higher end props, rotting skeletons, lighting, and the chapel stood out. Also liked the elevator. 11th Hour house had plenty of eye candy. Light fog. Dug the weird ending with the bodybag room leading into the old lady's sitting room. Unique.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good. Clock makeup was great. Makeup looked pretty professional.

Summary: I'd say this is one of the best haunted houses around. Lots of time spent in the different houses. Pretty good actor performance, nice sets to look at. I wish it was a little cheaper but it is a better value than many. It made my friend extremely scared, she almost had to leave. In conclusion, 11th Hour is one of the best chicago haunted houses for sure. Recommended.

9 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: lucylab1   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Visibility was OK. there is a haunted house sign with flashing arrow.

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment was pretty good. They had a scary nurse and ghoul in a wheelchair that surprised one of our group .

Length of Event: Half hour for everything.

Actor Performance: Actors, where there were some, had great makeup . The problem was there was hardly any actors after a certain point. I was literally walking for at least 5 minutes without anyone jumping out .

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Too many patrons in a group, 
about 10 at a time .  
It got slowed to a point of a standstill several times.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: The props and special FX are very good here. 11th hour itself has great detail in their rooms and props. The Catacombs as well. Liked the graveyard scene, and the scene with the hanging toys.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make up of the actors there was done well, 
A bald, strange character 
made up well, a girl in the morgue insisting she is not dead, also well.

Summary: My main issue with this haunt was the lack of actors. I myself was not scared once, and one person in my group was only scared by surprise outside. I probably will not be back to this one again.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at