Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Abyss Haunted House (Minooka, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
18 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: lifeisgreat   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find, there was a big sign out-front

Wait Entertainment: Yes, Chainsaws, scared me and my friends.

Length of Event: about 15-20 minutes of fright

Actor Performance: Great, These kids seem to be in their roles, and I was afraid of everyone of them.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great, never ran into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 15+

Props / Special FX: Excellent, The jungle was well designed, the attic looking room looked great, and the cemetery and other rooms were excellent. Special effect were amazing.

Costumes / Make-up: Well-done, some looked so real, i was scared.

Summary: This haunt is a good haunt if your going to see one this month, I would recommend this to everyone. I was extremely scared, and It was well worth the drive out there. Hope to come back again next year.

15 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bobbynut   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/06/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I used map quest and found my way no problem, big orange sign on the side of the road lead me right there.

Wait Entertainment: there was only one group ahead of me so there was no need for wait entertainment.

Length of Event: 15 mins i would say

Actor Performance: some of the actors did an amazing job. the insane asylum actors were terrific i think those people really were crazy!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Didnt run into any other groups, but it wasnt very busy, i think it was the second night open?

Appropriate Ages: I would say 12 and above.

Props / Special FX: There were some cool props the toxic waste scene was pretty cool to look at, there was a big dinosaur looking thing that came out of nowhere.

Costumes / Make-up: most of them wore masks, there was some make up but nothing that i can remember stands out.

Summary: This was a nice little haunt, i went with a couple friends and was surprised we didnt have to wait in line :). There was some great pop scares that caught me off guard like the insane guy in the cage, and people in the dark hallways, and there was a scare at the end that was nice. overall i liked this haunt it was my first of the year and for being opening weekend i think they did a great job.

9 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hotdogs45   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I used map quest to find it and out side was an bright orange sign by lights so it was pretty easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: There was actors working the line when I went. I say the scariest was the chainsaw.

Length of Event: About 20-25 minutes

Actor Performance: Excellent. I say the Clowns and The insane asylum actors did the best. I think they really are crazy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Didn't run into any groups

Appropriate Ages: I would say 15,16 and up 
 
It does contain gorey and pretty frighting scenes.

Props / Special FX: They had a lot of cool scenes like the jungle, a clown area, insane asylum, a library, and lots more detailed scenes. Every scene was detailed. I liked the spinning tunnel after the creepy attic with the wobbley floor boards. I Still wondered how the clown in this one hallway disappeared in a matter of seconds when the lights turned off then quickly back on. Then has was continued down the hallway the lights turned off and turned back on and in a matter of a second the clown was right behind us. It almost made me wet my pants.

Costumes / Make-up: The make up was well detailed, expecially the clowns

Summary: Overall it was very well worth the 15 bucks and I plan to go to it again with my friends. And I plan to go to it in the future too. I would say the actors did a great job, the place was well detailed and the layout was well planed. Kudos to everyone at Abyss

13 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: msSanitarium   (Event Visited: 10/22/09 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A brightly lit sign helped point the attraction out. It would probably have been fairly easy to find even if you weren't firmiliar with the area.

Wait Entertainment: Seeing as it was a storming Thursday night, there was no line and therfore no wait entertainment, although I'm sure they line some up for busier nights.

Length of Event: A good 15-20 minutes, it depends. We took our time.

Actor Performance: This was fairly enjoyable. Most of the actors seemed like they wanted to be there and were enjoying themselves, which always makes the acting more believeable and fun. Some of them could use a little more creativity, but still great energy! And you guys outside in the freezing rain and mud? Oh my gosh, congratulations, that is DEDICATION.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Again, doesn't really apply, we were the only patrons there.

Appropriate Ages: Depending on your child, a younger one might be able to handle this with perhaps a night or two sleeping in their parents bed. Nothing too inapporiate or brutal for 8+ to survive

Props / Special FX: Some really neat stuff here, I loved how all the scenes were furnished. The spinning portaits in the first room caught my eye, the crib in the Freddy Krugar room is one of the most inventive things ever, kudos to whoever thought of it, the hissing/spitting reptilian type anamotranic was nice, the wobbly floorboards were a fun touch

Costumes / Make-up: I happened upon a young man working as a clown who said he'd done the make-up, and I really wish I'd seen it in better light, but it looked amazing. Being that I do makeup myself it was really nice to see inventive, detailed makeup, and you guys definatly had some. Costumes were apporiate and grimy as well.

Summary: We went to a certain haunted house that cost twice as much as this one before coming to the Abyss, and I loved the Abyss much much more! With lots of imaginative touches and attention to detail, some scenes were just unbeatable. Even though it was a school night the Abyss was furnished with ample actors who gave off excelent energy. Some of my favorite parts were the crib, not to meantion the baby bassanet setup later on, clown who I may have imagined was climbing on the cealing but he was nice either way, this little blonde girl in their insane asylum, (I think her name was Rosie?), and the zombies in the yard at the end. Really enjoyed myself overall and will definatly come back.

9 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hollyhocks   (Event Visited: 10/29/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Lit sign directing you to free parking lot, parking lot was not lit, but actors escorted us to and from our car, telling us they wanted us to get home safely

Wait Entertainment: Wait was not long at all, but actors did follow us from the moment we arrived in the parking lot until we entered the haunted house

Length of Event: 20-25 minutes

Actor Performance: A+, the guys outside did an excellent job considering it was raining, inside everyone did a really good job of being scary and not breaking character, even the kids

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: never ran into another group, if you get turned around, the actors do a good job of helping you find your way while still scaring you

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Really nicely thought out, tons of things in every lit room for you to look at and to scare you

Costumes / Make-up: big variety of characters, for the most part, done up pretty well

Summary: Considering the price ($15), I wasn't expecting much, especially since recent "big name" haunted houses that I've been to charged around $30, but I was very pleasantly surprised. This is one of the best haunted houses that I've been to and beat out the aforementioned ones by a mile. From the minute we pulled into the parking lot, actors were following us, which was cool for safety since the lot is not lit, and also adds to the atmosphere. What I really liked about the Abyss is they didn't overkill it with the anamatronics. They had just the right amount of special effects and tons of actors hiding in corners waiting, which I always find scarier. Unlike other places that have every single room lit up with a scene for you to look at, the Abyss had lots of completely dark winding hallways for you to find your way through which hightens the fear effect because you just know something is going to be around that next corner. Also it wasn't just a plain walk-through, there were places you had to duck down to get into the next room, there was a spinning hallway, and the worst, if your claustrophobic, was the inflated walls that you have to squeeze through. All the actors, even the children, knew exactly when to pop out and seemed really excited about getting us scared. It took my group about 20 minutes to walk through, and that was without having to wait in line outside, or in, and after we had finished, an actor walked us to our car and directed us out of the lot, which was really cool. By far one of the best haunted houses I've been to in years and worth every penny. I'm shocked that they are not charging more for such an awesome scare!

9 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: dollface55   (Event Visited: 10/22/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find - right along Route 6 and it was lit as well.

Wait Entertainment: Pouring down rain and still had half dozen actors, couple in the front and a few in the back. Probally would have closed but as a courtesy to us they stayed open knowing we were coming.

Length of Event: About 15 minutes but of course if you run through it, it will be less time.

Actor Performance: Excellent- tried to get the actor in the front room to speak to me, he never would come out of character. Inside was good as well,all in character to the theme. A few of them inside need to consider a career in acting. You guys were good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: As I said, I believe they stayed open waiting for us so there was no problem with the flow. We had a large group and they split us into several groups and we didn't run into each other at all so it was excellent spacing.

Appropriate Ages: I would say you probally wouldn't want to bring kids under 10.

Props / Special FX: God, where do I start? The moving crib, the bassinet scene, the window with the guy hanging out, the moving wall - I could keep going - let's just say I was impressed and I'm not impressed easily.

Costumes / Make-up: Also good - there were quite a few thruout that were impressive.I have noticed more make up this year so KUDOS for that. Excellent job for staying in character with costumes, make up and acting.

Summary: My name is Deb Punke and I do The Mazon Dungeon of Terror so I am not an easy person to scare or startle. Actually, it's next to impossible. I was able to go to a couple haunts on this evening and I was so impressed with The Abyss that I had to submit a review which I don't normally do. But I believe in giving credit where credit is due. I must say congrats to you guys - you got me a couple times. Your house is awesome. You guys have done a remarkable job. I had a group of 15 and any of them can tell you - for you to have scared me, you have accomplished an amazing feat. When you run a haunt its hard to get scared. So, my hats off to you guys. A job well done and I will definitely recommend your haunt. Thank you very much - I had a blast.

11 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: twetyz1   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good.

Wait Entertainment: None.

Length of Event: 12 +/- minutes.

Actor Performance: I cannot say that I was pleased or spooked.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: So So. We caught up to the group in front of us and the group behind us caught up to us as well....

Appropriate Ages: Any.

Props / Special FX: Loved the bridge that disorients you.

Costumes / Make-up: the Costumes were good. Loved the greeters costume!

Summary: Maybe it was the night that we attended the event, but unfortunately due to my experience at this attraction, I cannot say that I would recommend it to my friends or family.

9 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/22/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's at a farm in the middle of nowhere, thankfully, there is a sign on the side of the road guiding you to the farm.

Wait Entertainment: There was no line, so there was no wait entertainment. Also, it was raining a lot, so that may have contributed to the lack of entertainment.

Length of Event: 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors were great, very committed and very scary. They also had some at a part of the house outside, and I felt sorry for them because they were soaked to the bone.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did end up catching up to the group in front of us, but I believe they were slowing down because they were connected to the group I was in.

Summary: The house overall consists of very narrow twisted and turned passageways, interspersed with a lot of scary rooms. Sometimes you needed the actors to open walls to make sure you can escape the rooms. Also, as I mentioned above, just when you think the house is done, there is an area outside that the actors follow you to your car. A lot of fun!!

8 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: chuckles32   (Event Visited: 10/22/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Was relatively easy to find, but we live in the area so we had a general idea.

Wait Entertainment: There was none

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes...we lingered a bit to see the details in each room.

Actor Performance: I didnt think the actors performance was that good. I will give props to the people outside, it was pouring but yet they were still out there working.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We continuously ran into the group in front of us, when we tried to wait so we wouldnt run into them we got yelled at by the actors.

Appropriate Ages: i think anyone 10 and over could go, it really depends on the kid

Props / Special FX: They had shock walls, strobes, and smoke, regular things haunted houses have. They also had a spinning tunnel which was amazing.

Costumes / Make-up: Most of them were low quality masks/makeup

Summary: This haunted house was one of lower quality. They rooms were unique, but actors werent in their places. When you went through it, you could see right into the back room where people were eating and putting on makeup. i dont think it was really that good. As i said before i give extra props to the zombies and chainsaw guy. It was pouring rain when we went and they still stayyed in character

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at