Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
X-treme Hauntings Haunted House (Fox Lake, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
27 out of 39 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jamers615   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunt is located off Sayton Road, you can get to it from either Rollins Road or Rt 12. Would like to see a few more signs on these outer roads, but once you find your way to Sayton Road, signage is great.

Wait Entertainment: On the night we were there, there was no wait entertainment. There was also no wait. :)

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: This is one area that Xtreme always excels. Actors were in your face, high energy, true to character. Even the ones I knew didn't break character at all. Awesome job here!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great - never ran into anyone else, not even our friend in front of us. Actors did a great job with crowd control!

Appropriate Ages: 10 +

Props / Special FX: Again, great job here. Seems like every year, things become more detailed. The waiting area was great - always love the 2 story facade - the Hellevator rocked, as usual, awesome job.

Costumes / Make-up: Great makeup, costumes fit the theme.

Summary: As a fellow haunter, I look forward to going to Xtreme every year to see how much they've improved, and once again I was not disapointed this year! The new rocking room was not expected but welcomed - the detail levels just continue to go up. The actors were right on cue (which is impressive since it was opening weekend!). These guys just get better and better every year, WELL worth seeking them out. Great job!

21 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: nolegs   (Event Visited: 10/02/09 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: the location was hard because we didnt know that it was back of the building. there wasnt much room for parking because there was a bunch semi-trucks in the lot. and it was raining so the whole parking lot was filled with mud.

Wait Entertainment: they broke character a lot, but there wasnt much of a wait so there wasnt much wait entertainment

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes?

Actor Performance: only about 4 or 5 actors knew what character that they were supposed to portray, the rest were horrible. some actors were All the actors seemed like they missed their cues. like they didnt hit us at the right timing and in one room, they scared us after the lighting went off. acting like they were working a fun house...um i think its supposed to be a haunted house?

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: not many people. so didnt run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: the special effects were pretty good. there was a moving room which was decent but it seemed like a lot of the rooms were the same as last year which disappointed me. ALTHOUGH, the dinning room was awesome. it was really disturbing, and it really got me. i also liked the hill billy, and kitchen room. "the dot" room was like a fun house room.

Costumes / Make-up: it was decent. the lightings in the room really played out with the make up which was good.

Summary: Overall, i was through it last year and it seems like the same layout and seemed like there was the same rooms except a few. Actor performance was not up to par. AND it was way over priced...not worth 14 dollars.

11 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ilikehaunts   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: X-Treme Hauntings was located off of Sayton Rd., it is easily accessed from either Grand or Rollins depending on where you are coming from. The building itself is the back end of a store front.

Wait Entertainment: On the night that we attended, there were no queue line actors outside, this could be due to us arriving early in both the season and the night.

Length of Event: Approx 12min

Actor Performance: The X-treme crew stepped it up this year and put on a pretty good show! Many of the actors were convincing and seemed very into their roles. The only exception would be that several of the actors seemed a bit out of place (such as a mental patient in an elevator).

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into any other groups until the clown room, where they attempt to misdirect customers by sending them through doors that lead no where. Unfortunately, this got annoying after a while, as the actors in this room did less to scare us than they did to attempt to misdirect us. Eventually, there were almost 3 groups in this one room...

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: This haunted house uses less animations and props than most would, but the ones that they did use were effective. Mostly, their props were scenic (such as dressers, etc). This attraction does use some very effective effects though! Their elevator (though cliche) was fun, and their rocking room was very cool. They also used several scents through out the show, and dropped rice on customers to simulate bugs I believe.

Costumes / Make-up: The actors seemed to have some pretty good makeup, and their costumes (with the exception of a few as previously stated) fit into their rooms nicely.

Summary: This year X-treme put on a pretty good show. Although, their layout seemed to be very similar to past years, they have reworked some of their rooms and created some nice scenes. Their attraction had a high level of detail in many rooms and really set a good mood through out. 
 
Some favorite scenes in the attraction included a nasty kitchen, a rocking room, and a disorienting pitch black maze. Overall, i feel that X-treme hauntings has finally overcome some of their prohibitive factors, and created a really effective show. And at a price of $14, it wasn't too overly expensive, although I felt a dollar or more off would have increased the value of this attraction greatly.

8 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: horrorman197   (Event Visited: 10/16/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: not well lit and needs better signage to find location parkings a bit tight

Wait Entertainment: good wait entertainment some actor encounters

Length of Event: 15-20min

Actor Performance: great performance very in your face

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good flow no bumping into other groups

Appropriate Ages: 13-up kind of intense at moments

Props / Special FX: great effects smells were every where rooms were well designed and lit lots to look at and take in

Costumes / Make-up: great make up realistic good costumes

Summary: this one shocked me came into it thinking it was gonna be bad it was great!!!! great scare value for the money i was startled a few time and was still talking about it on the way home

7 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Vast   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The event was very easy to find : there are lighted signs out on the main road. Parking is a little tight, but there are traffic cops there to guide the way.

Wait Entertainment: I found this haunt to be very entertaining because of the actors outside in line. There were two clowns (One who likes to pick on pretty girls by singing songs way too close) and also a red-neck who relentlessly picked on anyone he could. All three made everyone laugh, as well as surprised a few by sneaking up on them. Once you actually get inside the haunt, there is also a waiting room that provides TV's with horror movie clips playing.

Length of Event: The event length is going to depend on how confused the actors make you. I got stuck in the clown room going through the wrong doors for a good 5 minutes. In total, I would say it took about 15 minutes from start to finish.

Actor Performance: I thought all the actors were convincing. No one dropped out of their role. There is an elevator at the beginning of this one, and the doorman starts out pretty normal (normal for a guy dressed as a ghoul). As the elevator starts to go haywire, so does the actor, dancing, jumping, leaping right at your face. It was shocking. Also, the clowns were scary all by themselves before they started to try and break up our group, forcing us in two different directions. As for the scare factors, all the actors hit their mark, jumping out at the right moment. I screamed a couple of times just because I hadn't seen it coming.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: One of the things I really love about xtreme is they allow enough time in between groups so your not feeling rushed. You could hear the scream from other people, but you can't see them.

Appropriate Ages: I would say 12+ (Might want to have an adult for anyone under 13 as well). I would also go earlier in the night if you are bringing younger kids... the late night crowd is indeed mostly young adults.

Props / Special FX: The elevator is an amazing attribute. Also, the lighting , sound effects, and detail put into each scene is impressive. I loved the scene where the victim is screaming for help from the table she was laying on. The backwoods shack was a great scene , with lots of details and "Pa" who chases you off his property. The chef with the eyes was gross!

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and makeup was well planned and executed. There is one room that is filled with stuffed animals - and out of nowhere, it comes to life after you! The makeup ranged from scary to grotesque. Don't forget to look for Captain Spalding!

Summary: Overall, I would say this haunt is a great value with a high satisfaction rate. It's obviously a labor of love from the actors, crew, and director. The effects are great and very detailed. I really appreciated the dedication to character. All I can say is watch out for the clowns!

11 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BIGGUN   (Event Visited: 10/02/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Fair. Off of Rollins rd. Theres a sign right at Sayton rd, but nothing else leading to it.

Wait Entertainment: Very good. A couple of actors scaring people from the front and back.

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: FANTASTIC and in your face. No missed cues at all!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good! Only ran into people in the mazes and INSANE CLOWN ROOM!

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Very good! Maybe not as good as some of the real big houses but the detail in the rooms was well thought out, and the scents in certain rooms are fantastic.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good for the scenes they did. Everything fit.

Summary: I always find this house to be a dark horse of sorts in the haunt season. You don't hear too much about it, but the house is very good year in and year out. The Hellevator is always great, and the moving floor room and acting was top notch. I must say they have the best clown room I've EVER seen in 8 years of visiting haunts. Which door leads you out!?!?!? 
They cram a lot of stuff into this house. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

26 out of 70 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: chainlink   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 11:30 pm)
Review Posted: 09/28/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: hard to find if u didnt know the area very well

Wait Entertainment: no wait entertainment cause we got there right when it closed exceptable but the entrance to it looked like a house or cabin an du walking threw like a rain shower was awsoem

Length of Event: 25 -30 min

Actor Performance: actor performance was OMG awsome and excellent. actors where awsome ethusiastic and all in your face interactin very very creepy

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: when we went it was dead they sent a group of two in at a time s the whoel group can face the scare not jus tone r tw the whle grou which is awsome

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: props and special efect where awsome the propls and roms and and everythign was looking real even when u get int a rom with a dead body r rtten food it smelled liek rtten food veyr realistic awsome

Costumes / Make-up: costume and make up of charecters very excellent they all fit in well with there sense and theme f the house

Summary: overall excellent excellent house i never have been threw this house befr s i gt a grup of 10 of my friend to g there and what i an say is i dnt et scared easily buit i jumped and got startled alot verall amazing huse actors awsem and what they do roms awsoem design. i like the room with the pitch black actr make nised very creep the girl i was with freaked, and the clown room when they send u to a door when it was dark then lights came on the clwn in yur face that scare dme overall great house i recmnd this hus ebe in top three haunt this year keep up the good wrk guys have a rest or a great year

7 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/02/09 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Fair. Off a main room, and one sign leading the way.

Wait Entertainment: Good. Some actors working the small crowd while we waited.

Length of Event: 20 min.

Actor Performance: Very good and over the top. The acting was much better than last year.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good! Did not run into anybody until the clown room.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Very good props and effects. I liked the stuffed animal room.

Costumes / Make-up: Terrific. All details fit the scene. So did the scents.

Summary: A very underrated haunt IMHO. The opening was the same as the last few years with the hellevator, but it was doene well with the rocking and shaking. The hillbilly scene with the machine gun caught me bit off guard, and I was shot at! Very cool idea with the stuffed animal room. Very original. The clown room was intense and freaked people out. Very good haunt overall

6 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/18/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The place itself is off the road a little bit, but there is plenty of parking, and many cops guiding the way.

Wait Entertainment: Although the actors weren't that scary, there was a clown one that scared the group in front of me. Also, for some reason two of the actors started to play jump rope with a girl behind me. I have no idea why, but it was pretty funny.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes

Actor Performance: Really good, some were scarier than others, and they really enjoyed their jobs. They had a lot of fun playing with the crowds.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I ended up catching up to the group in front me, because I think the actors got to the group in front me.

Summary: This one was my favorite last year, and easily one of my faves again this year. One of the more interesting aspects is, due to the confined areas, they only send people in two at a time. It gives the actors a chance to get up close and really scare the patrons. There was a clown room that ended up confusing everyone because there was a couple of doors that ended up going nowhere. There was also a maze at the end that one of the actors had to guide you through, because it was pitch black and he told you to follow his voice. Very creepy and a lot of fun.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at