Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Haunted Haven (Rock Falls, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
5 out of 6 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: kitten   (Event Visited: 10/31/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/03/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find. Plenty of parking area.

Wait Entertainment: Plenty of popular halloween type songs to dance and sing to. Actors walking around and scaring to get people in the mood. Even had hearse rides.

Length of Event: Typical length. About 15 minutes if you walk straight through. However taking your time and enjoying the scenes and the scenery makes the event last a little longer and much more fun.

Actor Performance: Wonderful! Every actor seemed perfect for their role. Even the actors walking around the waiting line didn't leave character even for a moment.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good. Did not run into other groups at all. When your group walks in it's like you're the only ones there besides the monsters, making it more frightfull.

Appropriate Ages: No. Intended for 10+ depending on maturaty level.

Props / Special FX: Very nice. Props were very realistic. Yet didn't go too far with special FX so it didn't take away from the actors abilities.

Costumes / Make-up: Wonderful!! Very little use of masks. Most actors had make up and that was it. Making them look more realistic and frightful.

Summary: All in all, this was probably the first or second haunted house I've ever been to. Excellent use of space and people. My favorite thing about this one was that the actors didn't just jump out and scream at you, they had entire scenes made up for you to watch and be scared of. It made the whole experience more personal and very very entertaining. I would highly recommend this haunted house to be added to your halloween experience.

5 out of 6 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: camps   (Event Visited: 10/31/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: plenty of parking, easy to find

Wait Entertainment: actors in the crowd, video screen towards entrance

Length of Event: 15-20 min

Actor Performance: there was one guy who reminded me of Precious from Lord of the Rings, he must be double jointed the way he was creeping around, there were alot of really bid guys there that fit their parts to a tee

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: extremely good,they take you thru by your group and I saw no one but those in our group (3)

Appropriate Ages: 10 to ????

Props / Special FX: stobe lights everywhere, a little girl in a rocking chair that look like Regan from the excorcist, guts galore, shredded sheets in doorways and great hiding places for those who jumped out at you

Costumes / Make-up: some had masks, more had make-up that was truley goulish

Summary: at the beginning there was a man with a british accent that told a story about why this house is haunted that was very chilling, when you entered the first room there were twin guys walking around and a girl in a casket and the twins continued the story from the entrance, you then moved from room to room with creatures jumping out at you and some of the actors would say your name (I think they got your name from listening at the wait line), there was a crazy strobe lite maze with nasty clowns, there was an actor that hopped around the room like precious from Lord of the Rings, there was an actor that was clinging to a fence that jumped out at you-I thought he was a stuffed dummy because of the way he was holding on to this rickety fence, you even go into the basement , backyard and garage, once thru the garage you think your all done when a guy that looked like big foot runs out from behind a barrier with a chain saw, a girl in our group ran so hard she ran right out of her shoes, it was very creepy!!!

4 out of 5 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ceecee   (Event Visited: 10/31/09 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find. Parking was available right next door and across the street.

Wait Entertainment: They had characters that wandered the crowd getting you psyched up for what was inside. Also had hearse rides available.

Length of Event: about 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors did a great job staying in character, even when someone in our group tripped and fell on the floor (wasn't hurt). Mad doctor was just that MAD! He was crazy in your face the girls had ear piercing screams. The guy crawling on floor and hanging from door frames was really freaky but awesome.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The british speaking door man did a good job making sure one group was far enough ahead before letting next group in.

Props / Special FX: Not much animated props but had very agile actors that you didn't know where they were going to be hanging from. Just when you thought it was a skeleton it would lift it's head or start crawling down the wall.

Summary: They did a good job keeping you pumped from the time you pay for your tickets they were in costume. They has characters wandering the waiting line. The pastey british door man. My favorite scene was the MAD doctor with his patients that screamed bloody murder. Loved the guy crawling around on the floor and up the door frames. The moss man really freaked me out. Just when you thought you were done outside the house out he popped.

5 out of 7 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: alexcunniff   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: the event was easy to find you could see it parking was right next to it didnt have to walk far.

Wait Entertainment: music,haunted clips movies,actors and creachers coming over when i was in line,ect.

Length of Event: it was long maybe 10- 15 min.

Actor Performance: the clown was tall and his scares were on time,the doctor was the right hieght and was on time,the pet was on time and was small,freak was on time and was tall,ect.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: no groups cought up with me never had to wait for another group to move forward,ect.

Appropriate Ages: was intense and more for teenagers and adults.

Props / Special FX: they were wearing scaring costumes and had blood that looked real.

Costumes / Make-up: they were wearing scary costumes and had torn clothing with bood on them and had laytex with paint on their face with make-up on their faces to make it scary and look like their face was burned.

Summary: it was alwsome you should go to it it was the best one around rockfalls that ive been to. with the scary costumes and the pet and the cook,the baby's mom,the doctor,and the chainsaw guy and all of them. freak was the scariest.

8 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Shannonautop   (Event Visited: 10/31/09 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/03/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: its all decorated easy to find cant miss it big flashing lights and a huge sign that says haunted haven with a big tent cant miss it

Wait Entertainment: there is really good actors in line that keep you entertained and a tv to watch with scary stuff on it and the line moves fast they have bathrooms and food and etc. and there is a herse ride that takes you around town and back to the house

Length of Event: about 10 mins but its well worth it casue you have to think there doing it outta there home and its cheap and they donate can goods to the food shelter thats very good and u get a dollar off

Actor Performance: VERY GOOD VERY PROFESSINAL 
makeup was very good looked real very scary makes you feel like your part of it all like your in a movie

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very easy to go to room to room you know where to go its not hard at all but very fun at the same time

Appropriate Ages: any age that can handle it

Props / Special FX: very good ive been to alot of haunted houses and i think this one has them beat

Costumes / Make-up: very good them clowns were very scary every thing was real guts in the kitchen i mean come on you want gore come here

Summary: THE BEST ONE IN IL by far for a home haunt its the best cant wait for next year they always out do them selves there also very nice people alot of very good actors i cant wait to go again and see what they have done i bought a shirt from there

7 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: rward   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find, off the main road.

Wait Entertainment: There was almost no wait, luckily (it was very chilly) and there was a Tvplaying videos and music for the wait and the ticket booth people were all gored up and nice.

Length of Event: The length of it wasn/t that long altough from what i saw these guys given more space would blow minds. (it is ran in home and yard.) I feel the ticket price is appropriate to the length but low for there spirit and quality.

Actor Performance: They have very talented actors. I dont want to give away too much but they have a doorman who sets up the house and immediately get thrown into intense feeling created by two priests attempting to rid the evil spirit in the house. And the creepy floor guy! these are talented people.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: easy to navigate

Appropriate Ages: I would say base it off the courage level but not for under 12.

Props / Special FX: Oh the eerie nursery with a Super creep granny prop and the tv and bloody walls. 
and that kitchen. one word. gore. I think the swamp and bridge was well done also.

Costumes / Make-up: the makeup detail was great. even the ladies at the booth had realistic burns and scars. some posessed actors had creepy contacts. you can really tell that it took some serious time on the makeup and rooms.

Summary: Overall very good. I cant wait to see what these people come up with next year. Bring your friends and make sure you bring a change of pants. or make them walk home.

5 out of 10 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: dini   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Just over the bridge between Sterling and Rock Falls. Lots of parking.

Wait Entertainment: Lots of scary clowns, and monsters roaming.

Length of Event: 15 min.

Actor Performance: Very good scenes and characters were doing a great job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not too hard to get through ...if stuck it was not for long

Appropriate Ages: we had ages 8- 35 in our group....only one of the 3 kids didnt handle it

Props / Special FX: gory

Costumes / Make-up: very good and scary

Summary: It was the best I went to this year. But I have to say that they were all pretty good. I took 2 first timers with me to this one and it made it a blast. If you like gore then this is where you need to visit.

7 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bboop   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very visible from a main intersection in town.

Wait Entertainment: There is plenty to look at in the yard display and the people being chased out by different characters.

Length of Event: Depends how long you can last!

Actor Performance: Costumes were amazing with excellent make up!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Lines moved quickly

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Summary: My 11 year old son LOVES horror movies, yet he couldn't make it all the way through! It actually did scare him! He couldn't wait to get out of there! The hearse rides add a nice touch too!

5 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: david   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: the location/visibility was very easy to find as there is nothing else around to mistake where it is

Wait Entertainment: very entertaining as there is a tv set up playing videos and some of the actors even came out for a little early scare of those in line

Length of Event: i thought the length of this event was actually pretty decent considering that this is a home hanut

Actor Performance: you can definitly tell the actors really put everything into their characters from the doorman all the to swamp man at the end

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: the flow was pretty fast. you can actually go at your own pace so that you don't miss anything

Appropriate Ages: i would have to say no younger than 8

Props / Special FX: they really took alot of time and effort to come up with some pretty amazing props and scenes

Costumes / Make-up: these people have said screw the the traditional generic masks of other events and came up with their own unique make-up that you really don't see aywhere else

Summary: considering that this a pretty much new attraction and given the limited space this was a really enjoyable event you can tell that these people have spent alot of time money and imagination into putting on a really decent attraction  
p.s. hope you find the ones that stole your stuff

4 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Fhtaghn   (Event Visited: After Oct. 31 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Excellent, right off the main road. Very difficult to miss the sign and yard decor.

Wait Entertainment: Big screen TV showing music video's and actors that couldn't wait for people to get to the house for a few scares.

Length of Event: the most intense 10-15 min walk through h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) I've been on.

Actor Performance: Excellent. The actors all played their roles very well as well as played off of crowd reaction.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No problems what so ever. A little confusing with the nursery but it was a miniscule problem.

Appropriate Ages: 10ish. based more on the courage of the patron than age.

Costumes / Make-up: Not a whole lot masks. amazing make up work

Summary: For what you pay you certainly get far more than your money's worth. Most definatly not for the faint of heart. After walking in my initial reaction was "oh god the evil priest room is first? it can only go down hill from here"

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at