Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Evil Intentions Haunted House (Elgin, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
52 out of 65 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: sniper   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunted house was hard to see. The street was extremely dark and so was the parking lot. I found it by using google maps, that gave me turn-by-turn directions.

Wait Entertainment: A couple of actors were outside near the cue line and one of them had a chainsaw.

Length of Event: Not counting the time you spent in the final part of the cue where they showed you a video, it took about 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: They were really active inside. There were a lot of actors that jumped out from around corners and hidden places. There were also some that started up chainsaws.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Pretty good. My group did run into a group in front of us briefly and a group caught up from behind.

Appropriate Ages: Probably 13+

Summary: I thought the part at the beginning where they put you inside the coffins was cool.  
 
Their scenes really weren't that elaborate and most had little or no detail. There was a room of hanging bodies, a locker room and a dark bathroom. To get to some scenes, there were hidden exits that you had to find. That was pretty interesting. There were some really cool lighting effects, though. In several areas, they had colored lighting and colored strobe lights.  
 
It was fun to go through. Everyone in my group seemed to enjoy it.

29 out of 47 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BenFox1545   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I drove past the haunt due to the low visibility of the signs. If I didnt know it was on that street, I would have just kept on going.

Wait Entertainment: There were no actors out side the haunt, but inside the cue line there were a few people reaching out from the broken drywall very lazily. One actor was also using a chain saw inside the cue.

Length of Event: The group I was with took about 45 minutes to make it through the event.

Actor Performance: Very low. It just seemd like if you didnt have a cahinsaw inside the haunt, there was no energy inside the haunt, mainly a lot of blank stares and standing in one spot.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not see another group inside the haunt, so the flow was steady enough to keep everyone sperated.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Several air cannon, and a few gas chains.

Costumes / Make-up: For a haunt that went pro because they didn't like the makeup at the other pro haunts, this was one huge complaint for me. Outside of the main actors(obviously told by their entrance video) everyone's makeup was completely horrible, and what made it worse was the blank stares the actors were giving the customers, showing off the bad makeup.

Summary: Overall, the quality of this haunt had me really depressed. I was expecting so much more, but sadly it just wasn't there. There was dead space galore, unmotivated actors, and not much to keep me looking for the next scare because it just wasnt there. In fact the only thing I really found scary about the haunt was the parking lot/outside entrance, but that's just because of the area, not something they did to make it that way.  
 
I realize I am not easily scared since I have been in the business so long and I am not covering over who I am for that reason. I really did not like the fact that there were multiple gas chainsaws running inside an enclosed building. This is the first haunt that has really depressed me in a long time, and it was mainly because of the massively poor quauality of the actors. The group I was fallowing only got scared at points were a chainsaw was going off next to them. The whole haunt was driven by chainsaws. Poor show, and I really mean POOR SHOW.

24 out of 39 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ilikehaunts   (Event Visited: 10/08/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Evil Intentions struggled in this category. They are located in a very small alley way, that could be very easily missed. Their attraction is in a very nice location though, right near the Casino and in a very creepy-looking industrial building.

Wait Entertainment: Though there were actors roaming around, they all seemed to be rather inactive considering how long we were waiting. There were only 6 people ahead of us, but still we waited almost 15 minutes to get in. In that time, there was a video about 2-3 min in length that played on repeat and in that time about 3 actors walked in, then walked out with no attempt to scare customers.

Length of Event: About 15 min

Actor Performance: Many of the actors had unmotivated attacks, and many of them were wielding chainsaws.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into another group

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Evil Intentions seemed to rely a lot on darkness and chainsaws, aside from that - most of their rooms seemed rather empty and void of props.

Costumes / Make-up: Most of the actors seemed to be wearing "Goth" type bondage clothing. Make up was average, and featured mostly white faces with black make up under their eyes.

Summary: Despite a long wait in a short line, I had mixed feelings about this attraction. 
 
The waiting area, though small, did lend a very creepy atmosphere with its deep bass sound track and destroyed walls - coupled with the industrial feeling of the building it made for a very creepy waiting atmosphere. Once moving out of he waiting area, groups of six were ushered into a holding area where they waited to enter the next room. After a brief scare, guests continue into a room that contained 6 toe-pincher style coffins. As the coffins are opened a man wielding a chainsaw comes out of the darkness to scare groups, then guest are ushered into the coffins one by one and locked inside. This was a great idea, but had no scare factor. While inside said coffins, a video played, but aside from that nothing happened. It would have been much more effective to have some form of scare, as it was almost a let down for nothing to happen aside from watching the video. Guest were then let out one by one by an actor in a mask wielding a power tool. After this there was a brief out door area where a couple actors roamed with yet more chainsaws. Once back inside guests entered an area that seemingly had 3 ways to go, this was very confusing and our group had to ask for directing from a near by actor, as we proceeded the proper way (up the stairs in the room) and actor emerged from a hall way wielding another chainsaw. Once up the stairs we traversed amongst several areas, including a maze made of pallets that featured some decent actors crawling amongst walls, a bathroom, and several areas of complete darkness. In many of these areas, actors wielding gas powered chainsaws were seen. Due to this much of the house smelled of gas fumes. One creative section was an area where our group had to crawl through a tiny area decorated as if it was an air vent.  
 
Overall, this attraction was DEFINITELY different than many of the attractions available in Illinois, although throughout much of the attraction I felt very unsafe, considering the amount of chainsaws used indoors, I would almost compare it to running a car in your garage with the door shut. Additionally, in many of the dark areas there were floor changes that could have resulted in a tripping hazard if I weren't paying much attention. In the end, our group had fun at this attraction, despite one of our group members claiming to be lightheaded from the fumes. 
 
I would give this attraction a try, but note, as a newer attraction I felt that the $15 price tag left a little to be desired.

8 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: 6demo6gorgon   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There could have been some improvement here, as there were not many lights and/or signs to point in the right direction for parking. There was a banner on the side of the building and that was about it.

Wait Entertainment: There was really no need for wait entertainment, since I attended on opening night, but there was a clown with a chainsaw outside to entertain guests.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Pretty good, most of the actors stayed in character the entire time, but some of their attempts at pop out scares had timing issues or you could see them before they attacked.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. I never ran into another group. But this was opening day so I don't know what it's like on a busy day.

Appropriate Ages: It depends on the bravery of the child and the discretion of the parents, but nothing inside was really gory or inappropriate for children.

Props / Special FX: There was little to no props or special FX. Most of the entire haunt had just plain black walls with only a few distinct scenes. Maybe 2 or 3 at the most, everything else was a black walled maze.

Costumes / Make-up: Since there were no real distinct rooms or scenes, most of the costumes seemed to consist of black clothing and some actors wore masks while others wore makeup. The makeup was somewhat decent, from what I could see since the haunt was very dark.

Summary: The tour starts off with a short video on the history of the location(which by the way kudos for having it in an old casket company, which adds a very spooky atmosphere), and a fictional story about a killer who apparently haunts the halls of the building. Then you are led to 6 stand up coffins where each person in the group is separated and locked into each coffin to view another shorter version of the video you just saw. In my opinion they should just show the one main video in the coffin because the second video seemed slightly unnecessary. Either way I thought this part of the haunt was very creative and after the video is done the back of the coffin is unlocked to allow you to continue the tour. 
 
Throughout the rest of the house, as stated previously, was mainly just a long twisting path of black walls with actors here and there trying to get a scare. They were all very enthusiastic but some were off time and one bumped into me hard when he popped out. One aspect I did like very much was how they used some of the original spooky architecture of the warehouse to their advantage. It's nicer than always seeing plywood walls in a haunted house. The erie atmosphere of the warehouse, coupled with some appropriate soundtracks really worked out well. 
 
The only few decorated rooms I did see was the hanging bodies, the dirty bathroom, the locker room, and the morgue. The bathroom and locker room have secret hidden exits that I wont reveal, and to exit the morgue you have to get down on your hands and kness and crawl through a tunnel. These were interesting scenes but they could have had more decoration. Actually the whole house could use ALOT more decoration and props. The bathroom didn't even have toliets in the stalls. There was also a few areas where it looks like there was supposed to be a room there, but it was just a big open space with black walls. 
 
All in all I'd have to say it's a decent haunt, but I am slightly disappointed. With the lack of detail and sub par acting of some of the monsters, this haunt's quality fell short of its price tag. Though this is their first year in that location so maybe they aren't quite "settled in" yet. With such a creepy location this haunt has a lot of potential to be great, but the inside needs a creative touch that it's lacking at the moment.

7 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: lora   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: it is kind of hard to find if you're not from around there.but the building is creepy and big.

Wait Entertainment: we waited for about 30 minutes but i was scared the whole time.they played a video and loud scary music.it was dark and there were some red strobe lights and an actor in a black cape walking around.

Length of Event: it took my group about 35 minutes.

Actor Performance: the actors were amazing!they never broke character and almost every single actor made me scream.the guy on stilts was SO scary!i loved the chainsaw guy with the hat, he made my friend pee her ants and when we thought he was gone he came back like a minute later and my group was falling all over the place trying to hide from him.the actors did a really good job and they helped us through the house the whole time so we would never get lost or run into another group.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 14+

Props / Special FX: there weren't many but there were some air cannons, chainsaws, and a lot of strobe lights.

Costumes / Make-up: the costumes were pretty good.their masks were really creepy and the makeup looked realistic. a lot of them had contacts and the costumes really matched the themes of the rooms.

Summary: i loved everything about Evil Intentions from the beginning to the end. when you walk in the first room they put you inside stand up coftens to watch a video, i was so scared to be by myself in there!but i loved that part.some of the actors were jumping around on the walls and the ceilings in the maze part with the srtobe lights.i loved the room when we had to crawl through the air vent!after that room an actor purposely separated half of my group and we were freaking out and i didn't see my sister and her friend through the rest of the house,i was so scared!and i was still with two other people but they didn't want to walk in the front so i did.Overall Evil Intentions was the best haunted house i have ever been to and they did a great job!it was also only their first year in that building so next year they are definitley gonna get even better and i can't wait to go agin next year!

4 out of 9 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: dupontluvr   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: In an old casket company in elgin. It is kinda hard to find if you dont have directions. Make sure you mapquest or use gps if not from around the area.

Wait Entertainment: The waiting entertainment was alright, it got old after the first couple times. Its kind of cold in the waiting area for getting into the house so make sure you bundle up.=)

Length of Event: 15- 20 mintues at the most

Actor Performance: The preformance of the actors was oh k. I made them angry and got singled out from the group i was in. Not once did they break character. I was talking to them and they did not respond and if they did it was something meant to scare you more.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We bumped into the group ahead of us, but they were lagging alot. Once we did catch up to them they held us in a spot and we waited for the other group to start going again.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: There is alot of chainsaws used in this haunted house which adds to the scare factor. The strobe lights were a little much at times the factory itself was a bit creepy. The morgue scene with the detailed bodys was also creepy.

Costumes / Make-up: By far the clowns in this haunted house were creepy to me, but i dont like clowns. The undertaker in the morgue room was the scariest, he was on stilts and chasing the group through the hallway. He was extremely skinny and was able to contort his body. The others make-up in this house was done pretty well.

Summary: Overall, this haunted house was marginally scary. It was a little bit more scarier for me then my group, because i got singled out and had to walk it alone. The begining before you go into the house with the coffins was a unique way to start the journey into the house.

17 out of 40 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: scareme13   (Event Visited: 10/11/09 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We used a GPS to get there so it wasn't that hard to find

Wait Entertainment: There were a couple of guys with chainsaws walking around scaring people.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors all stayed in character and some of them were really funny. When we were waiting for some of our group to come out one of the actors chased a girl in my group around the parking lot, and a few girls in my group hid inside the car, so we unlocked the car and the actors surrounded the car and even almost went inside it! They truley enjoyed what they were doing!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: they only allow up to 5 people in a t a time so we didn't run into anyone!

Appropriate Ages: 12+ (It really depends on the kid)

Props / Special FX: they didn't use a variety of props, they were mostly pipes, chainsaws and chains. they also used fog machines and strobe lights like any other haunted house.

Costumes / Make-up: Some of te costumes were pretty cool and some were just o.k. It's hard to get a good look at a person sometimes when people in your group are pushing you along because they are so scared!

Summary: I enjoyed it very much and had a good scare. the scenary for the house wasn't really anything special or unique, but they had some things in there I haven't ever seen in a haunted house before, which always makes the experiance more enjoyable. the actors really enjoyed what they were doing which is always a good sign of a good haunted house. Evil Intentions was a unique haunted house that had surprises at every turn!

11 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jenabean2   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was a little hard to find it because it was in an old factory. But the clown with the chainsaw helped out with finding the place. Parking was great! It was right across the street.

Wait Entertainment: There was a video to watch, but it was short and they played it over and over. There were a couple of actors hiding in the wall, which was scary.

Length of Event: It was about 15 mins maybe.

Actor Performance: I enjoyed all the actors. They never broke character, and they were all scary. No one missed their cue, which was nice.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We hit the group ahead of us. I think it might be because the girls in the front group were super scared.

Appropriate Ages: I would guess about 16.

Props / Special FX: The movie at the beginning in the coffin was amazing. I was so scared!

Summary: I loved this haunted house. It was like a maze at some parts and I had no clue where to go. But the actor were nice and helped you out to keep things flowing.

9 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/21/09 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Plenty of signage, very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Very good, had a clown scare me and I laughed afterwards, and the others did not like that and made me a target.

Length of Event: 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Very good, they stayed in character and followed you throughout different parts of the house

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I was the only one there.

Summary: From the beginning, they are trying to scare the pants off of you. You start inside a coffin, and throughout it is a very dark maze. Because this one was built in a dirty warehouse, it adds to the ambience throughout the house. It's dark, dirty, and very scary. Many times, I had a hard time finding my way out of rooms, and away from the actors, who would follow you through the pathways. I am definitely going back at some point before it closes, because I want to go with others. Easily one of the top houses in the state.

21 out of 74 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: gnrlwezl   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 09/30/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I'm familiar with the area so it wasn't very hard for me to find this location. Wouldn't hurt if it had a few more lights and signs though.

Wait Entertainment: AMAZING! There were quite a few characters patrolling the front of the building and the inside waiting line, most with chainsaws. The one with the black hood and white mask was pretty creepy. There was also a video to watch before entering.

Length of Event: 25-30 mins, depending on how lost you get. There are a few rooms that have many dead ends and one room that is a maze.

Actor Performance: These actors are very creepy, never breaking character, and always getting their scares. The clown with the rainbow hair had the craziest laugh i've ever heard and he had a chainsaw, a deadly combination. The actor on the stilts was my favorite though, chasing my group around some morgue tables and then down a hall.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Speed was good, never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: Not for the younger crowd, I'd say 13 and up.

Props / Special FX: Not very many props, the actors relied on each other for their scares.

Costumes / Make-up: Great costumes, very original. Make-up was great on the stilt guy.

Summary: Overall i thought Evil Intentions was a great haunt. One of the first rooms they make you get into a coffin to watch a video. Their building was just a creepy place to be in, creepy atmosphere, great characters, amazing detail. I will be returning again, GREAT JOB GUYS!!!

13 out of 64 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Calbin   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 09/28/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Awesome building, really creepy

Wait Entertainment: Scary clown with a chain saw, I almost peed my pants

Length of Event: About 30 minutes

Actor Performance: Everyone did a really good job with good scares, didn't see anyone break character

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Didn't bump into any other groups while in the haunted house

Summary: Really awesome haunted house, the building itself is even really creepy. Did a good job, lots of scares. The tall guy who must have been on stilts did a good job. Thinking about going again.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at