Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Decatur Jaycees Haunted House (Forsyth, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
16 out of 25 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: New location in the mall in Forsythe. A little hard to find the front entrance. Signs right in front of the doors but it is not a normal mall entrance. We saw a sign above one of the doors and actors outside the door on break.

Wait Entertainment: Old Frankenstein movie was playing on the big screen. One monster would peek his head out the door. Other than that the only entertainment was the 2 teens behind us making out.

Length of Event: It took our group of 5 15 minutes to go through.

Actor Performance: Majority of the actors did very well. One girl said "Boo" which caused the entire group to laugh and repeat "did she just say Boo?". Girls in Prom dresses? What were they doing?

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This house for the past 2 years seems to have this down. We did not run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 10 +

Props / Special FX: Unlike last year this house added a lot of props, with a buy out from another area haunted house. Their attenion to detail was great. Monsters matched the scenes. Loved the dark halls and dark open rooms. Made you realy loose your way in them. A couple of the rooms there was way too much fog. You could not see anything but I know there were props in the room cause you could see an outline of what was supposed to be a house I believe.

Costumes / Make-up: Some masks and a lot of make up.

Summary: This house did a nice job. The queue line was a little tight but it was inside which has been nice for this season with it being cold and rainy. A big peeve of mine is letting unmasked characters walk through the patron line with their outfits on. There were several that did, kind of ruins the effect. The last room- graveyard scene needs more scares. It was anti- climatic. Nice job guys, we will be back next year.

31 out of 60 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: In the Hickory Point Mall. Doesn't get much easier than that.

Wait Entertainment: They had a movie running. It's a good idea.

Length of Event: It was long enough. No complaints.

Actor Performance: Not much to speak of.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Ok.

Appropriate Ages: Small kids are never appropriate for HH if they are terrified.

Props / Special FX: They had quite a few excellent sets. Loved the living room/porch. That was a big space. Good job.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good. All seemed appropriate

Summary: This is for the Jaycees so you really can't go wrong. It's only $6 and $5 if you bring a canned good. Seriously, go support them. It's fun. Take your time and look around. They did put some detail into some scenes. This is the 2nd year I have gone and these people are very nice.  
Couple suggestions though. People who take the money and run the movie really should be in costume. And turn off some lights in the rooms by where you pay and go in. Maybe you could put a lamp in the makeshift daycare and close the door more??

8 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Eldean   (Event Visited: 10/18/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find as their was a flashing light and sign

Wait Entertainment: an old movie playing, but none other, but we were the only ones in line

Length of Event: 20 minutes

Actor Performance: not bad they did a good job

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we never ran into anyone else

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: the rooms were very well done and awsome to look at!!

Costumes / Make-up: very well

Summary: They did a wonderfull job!! The only thing i would suggest is we are not teenagers and the crawling part really hurts the knees!! so they need to let customers know in advanced that they will have to be crawling at one point!!

7 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in the Steve and Berry's building within the mall, outside entance works better. Needs much better signs!

Wait Entertainment: "Night of the Living Dead" playing on large screen, guy with monster mask behind large wooden fence - hitting it and small holes to crab people waiting in line - not bad! Waiting lines needed better order and management, some people tried cutting lines.

Length of Event: 15 minutes...

Actor Performance: Actors all did a good job, most stayed in character and everyone was ready. Only noticed problem was too many small children working the attraction - kids are not scary.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good even throughout the dark tunnels throughout the house.. Enjoyed the fireplace small tunnel, maybe a little longer next year.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: The props were all good, however in an event this size I would like to see some special effects and automatic creatures popping around me, there wasn't nothing here that really stood out.

Costumes / Make-up: The outfits and make-up was good and the masks fair.

Summary: After last years bad job at the fair grounds, this year was a pick up and needed badly. Everything was much better this year and the event length was good. As I said we needed more automatic creatures and special effects, maybe next year they will come. I think the Decatur Jaycee's are on the right track here, but there is still work to be done. The price at $6.00 was fair and the "can" goods discount and "military" discount was nice also. Keep working - we'll try to make it again next year.

6 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: muddboss   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunt is very easy to find ,located at the mall in Forsyth,IL on interstate 51.

Wait Entertainment: About 15 minutes,they had a old scary movie playing on a big screen tv ,good idea,it made it an easy wait,very entertaining.

Length of Event: I would say about 20 minutes or more because it is a very big building.

Actor Performance: The actors did a very good job,they seemed to know just the right time to GET-CHA.....

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow was very good,we never ran into the other guests.

Appropriate Ages: 12 years old and up because there are some bloody messes here,LOL.

Props / Special FX: Good props and good ideas,my favorites were the egyptian room and the movie monster gallery,oh and the library and living room sceens were great as well. The cemetery was awsome,very big.

Costumes / Make-up: They used more make-up jobs than most haunts I have seen,good job.

Summary: My son and myself went to this haunt for the last few years now and it gets better each year,we {my son and myself}dont agree to much on alot of things but we both have decided to make this one of our yearly haunts to visit,thanks guys !!!!!!!!

5 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very hard to find. It is in the mall..keep looking!! Not at a main entrance.

Wait Entertainment: Frankenstein was shown on a screen.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Hit and Miss.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 7+

Props / Special FX: Rooms had some really nice detail. The kitchen scene was excellent. (other then the scent of BO filling the room) The Library was another great looking room.

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone looked pretty good. The guy in the library was very intimidating.

Summary: Not a bad haunt..not outstanding, but worth a look see. bring canned goods gives a dollar discount to an already very fair priced house. The crawl has a good scare, but the prom queens looked more like mud wrestlers. Would be a more effective house if the actors were a bit more in your face rather then being so passive. Nice job over all.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at