Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Gilson Haunted House (Gilson, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
8 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: sammis   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I have visited here before so it was very easy to find...

Wait Entertainment: Very good... I love watching them scaring younger kids, and some adults too...

Length of Event: Very good.. it wasn't too long that it was boring.. but it wasn't like in and out... I liked it...

Actor Performance: They fit their person very well. .. i felt bad for the kid I hit below the belt... but he still tried to scare us...They had great timing on scaring people

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great... I didn't see anyone else in the area we were in the entire time i was there...

Appropriate Ages: 10+ depends on how well your kids can handle it... me and my family went.

Props / Special FX: Props and Special FX were great... love the 3D room...

Costumes / Make-up: Great costumes... although i did love the gorilla costume last year who had scared a certain little girl... but besides that I loved them...

Summary: The haunted school was great and I loved it. I plan on coming back next year to see what they have planned to scare people. Another good thing they changed from last year was they had a movie playing outside to also entertain the people in line. It was def worth the 1hr drive down...

7 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: capricorn28   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There were many signs so it was easy to locate. It was difficult to find your way out of town though.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was not as scary as prior years. Some actors tried hard to stay their part, but others wandered around.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Some actors were in character and some were not. The ones that were were great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The groups were spaced out nicely. You only ran into one or two other groups inside the maze.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Special FX were good. The glow-in-the-dark paint and moving attractions were very creative. The props were also well put together, but some did go off at the wrong time.

Costumes / Make-up: I personally felt that the costumes and make-up were not as detailed as they were last year.

Summary: Overall I think this is a good haunted house for the area. I felt last year had a greater scare factor and even lasted longer. You can tell a lot of hard work went into the entire process and some parts are entertaining. However I was not as impressed this year compared to last year. The price increase this year may keep certain patrons from visiting.

6 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ktheobald   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was at a good location however I will admit the mazes were pretty confusing. I think there needed to be more room in the entry ways and the hallways.

Wait Entertainment: It was okay but it was really chilly out. It was really neat to see people dressed up walking the crowd outside. They did have a nice area where they sold food and beverages, they may have gone with having a booth outside to where they could hold hot food and beverages. I honestly do not think it was necessary to put a booth inside to sell things before entering the haunted house because people may get hurt inside by getting something hot or cold thrown in their face. I do not think anyone under the age 18 needs to participate in the haunted house due to someone could get hurt because of insurance purposes.

Length of Event: The event was about 45 minutes long.

Actor Performance: The performances outside were very convincing and scary however the ones inside that were young were not very convincing at times.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The inside well there were really too many mazes. The point of having haunted house is to not to try to confuse everyone but to frighten them. I think they might next year try to make rooms with a certain horror movie theme you might get a bigger crowds from all over. If I remember two or three years ago you did that and it was really good.

Appropriate Ages: I would not say for little kids maybe kids over 13 yrs of age.

Props / Special FX: Props were real good, special FX could maybe be a lot better.

Costumes / Make-up: Some were real good but some were not as convincing maybe a little work in this area.

Summary: Overall it was good I would not say #1 but if I had to rate it probably a 8. I honestly think there are some things that may need more work on but it is definetly getting there.

6 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/02/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is great, the old 100 year old school house, this building looks great everyday throughout the year - old large three story school house. They need to continue with what they have and forget the gypsy theme, back to old school stuff - stay with what works best!

Wait Entertainment: Good waiting people who work the crowds.. Not a large waiting line tonight, but creatures waiting inside.

Length of Event: The length of the event is good, the maze this year seemed weak, I thought last years was much longer and harder - maybe getting use to the maze, time to rework the thing!

Actor Performance: Actors all did their jobs good, no problems.. Somewhat weak on number of people working the event, however it was on a Friday night > high school football home games.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No problems here, everything moved along great..

Appropriate Ages: 10+ Fun here for all ages and entertainment good.

Props / Special FX: Props and special effects work here.. The new props were ok but not worth the extra money charged to get in.

Costumes / Make-up: Custumes are average here, nothing really stand out.

Summary: This is one of the better haunted houses around central Illinois and worth a trip to Gilson. However the extra $2.00 now at $8.00 for admission is getting high for repeaters - last year I reviewed this event twice, however at $8.00 one trip here is enough! The extra $2.00 will keep repeaters off, they'll lose ground here with numbers!! The overall Haunted House is great - stick with School theme. Many triggered effects (by man triggered) were off timed and we actually passed by before the display was tripped off.. The new "shifter" room was good this year! Nice event.

3 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: haunted2005   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 11:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We had been there before so it was easy to get there.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was okay but they weren't really scary at all.

Length of Event: Very very short 10-15 min or so.

Actor Performance: BEING THAT WE WERE THE LAST PEOPLE TO GO THOUGH THE ACTORS WERE JOKING AROUND AND NOT DOING THERE JOB AT ALL! The joker guy who took us to the entrance was okay, but as soon as we got inside all the actors were goofing around and not even trying. WE DIDN'T GET THE ENTERTAINMENT THAT WE SHOULD HAVE SIMPLY BECAUSE IT WAS THE END OF THE NIGHT WHICH IS DUMB!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was good, but by this time there wasn't anyone in front of us so of course the flow was good.

Props / Special FX: The school house provides a good platform for a haunted house.

Summary: We had been there a few years ago and it was our favorite so we took our friends back and we were very embarrassed that we did because it was TERRIBLE! We paid what everyone else did yet didn't get the same performance.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at