Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Raven's Grin Inn (Mount Carroll, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
52 out of 83 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: sniper   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 09/26/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: ok. Use the directions on their website. Note that google maps shows them being one block south of where they actually are!

Wait Entertainment: Anticipation of the event is killer. Creepy, creepy! It's tucked back in an alcove of trees on a dead-end street!

Length of Event: About an hour or so.

Actor Performance: They did good. I thought Jim Warfield was the best. He really makes this attraction!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow is good, since it's a guided tour.

Summary: This is one crazy place that is not to be missed! I love the haunted history and Jim's artwork and weird displays are unique to say the least! The wine cellar is so eerie! Be sure to check this one out! $12 is cheap for over an hour of entertainment!!!

5 out of 8 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: willdabeast9   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Was kind of difficult to find at first. Then we found signs that led to the dead end street.

Wait Entertainment: None really. Can get tickets and go back to car or walk around town for a while.

Length of Event: Took us about an hour to get through.

Actor Performance: Our tour guide was excellent! Very funny!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We moved along fairly well.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: The house was amazing! All the rooms were full of interesting props.

Summary: I would say its more of a comedy event then a scare event. It is most defiantly worth the 12 dollars. Only bad thing was that we had about 15 people in our group and me and my friends were stuck in the back so missed some of what the tour guide was saying. One thing to note is that at the first slide don't stand at the bottom of it. My friend didnt slow down and ran into me and took me out. Was actually really funny.

11 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BenFox1545   (Event Visited: 10/11/09 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: For some reason, everything we used to get there said the haunt was four blocks south of where it actually is(maybe Mr. Tuxedo just wants jim to levitate the haunt over those houses there), but since I knew where it was and the fact that you just drive a few more blocks down, you can find it pretty easily.

Wait Entertainment: Who needs line actors when there is tons of crazy stuff strewn about outside the haunt, ranging from Jim's cars to the wierd little creations that he has all about the house and side yards.Thinking about it, the cars are some of jims wierd creations, but that shouldnt surprise anyone who has ever been out there.

Length of Event: Its like a time vortex out there, you can make it through in an hour or you can take three just to get out of the front room. We took about two hours.

Actor Performance: Wait, Jim's not an actor is he? the workers he had out there were cool to talk to, but Jim is just crazy...

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I dont think there was ever a problem inside of this haunt with flow issues, unless there wet spots occurring in places where they shouldn't...

Appropriate Ages: 10+ but the show will become a bit more perverted with an older audience...

Props / Special FX: You could take the props out of most of the major haunts in Chicagoland and still not have enough to compeate with this place, there is just stuff everywhere, and he is always adding...

Costumes / Make-up: Who needs costumes with Jim walking around?

Summary: Seriously, in my honest opinion, this is more of a fun house the a scary haunted house. that being said, I would still prefer going here over any haunt.  
I was asked Saturday why I go into haunted houses alone and not to be scared, its for the entertainment value. No where else I have ever been has matched the entertain ment value Jim provides his customers, as he will go five miles down the raod to keep everyone pleased. Now your probably wondering why I would be writing a reveiw like this for a haunted house that you were expecting to go get scared at, but this isn't that type of haunt. Think of it as the Guys from Shawn of the Dead redoing House of a Thousand Corpses, then having a tornado go through leaving traces of Oz, Beetlejuice, a couple of the european WW2 movies and all of the clasic monster flic creatures in as well...  
 
The only criticsm I have for the haunt is Jim please stop covering over things so fast that you cant catch some of the older add ons... I like being able to find things that have been around for 20 years and not realize it was there the 5 previous times I was there, but then again, your wife has that same problem...

8 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: gmlsc   (Event Visited: 10/11/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located right behind downtown section of Mt Carroll. 
Location is creepy dark dead end street near woods and bluff. 

Wait Entertainment: No wait entertainment.Plenty of cats running around. 
We bought our tickets at a window and were given a time to enter event.You could stand and wait in front of house or go to your car or do something as long as you were there for your given time. Plenty of cats running around.

Length of Event: Long...about an hour. 
Well worth the $12 admission.

Actor Performance: The actors were GREAT. 
They were more creepy than scary. 
Very good at what they did with a touch of comedy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: flow was good. maybe a bit crowded as rooms are small, but good.

Appropriate Ages: 9 and up

Props / Special FX: There was plenty of props. The house is like a museum gone bad.

Costumes / Make-up: Not much makeup.Not much needed. 

Summary: This was not a true haunted house with a lot of actors jumping out at you at every corner. It was more like a tour of The Adams Family home.Not as scary as it was just plain weird and creepy. There were plenty of laughs also. 
Totally entertaining and well done.Well worth seeing.

5 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: lverhulst   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/21/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This "Inn" is a house at the end of a dark street. There are signs, but it is a little hard to find the first time. Luckily, it is near the middle of town, so it isn't that hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: There are interesting things outside the house to look at and a couple of decorated cars in the parking lot. And some cats running around. You get a ticket with a time on it, so you don't have to hang around if you don't want to.

Length of Event: It took us about 45 minutes to go through the house.

Actor Performance: Jim is crazy strange. And very amusing. The other people are amusing as well. I would classify this more as a fun house with a couple of scares here and there than as a haunted house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow is a little slow. The rooms are small and if you are in a big group (which you will be in Oct), then things take longer. Waiting to go down the slide takes a while and then waiting for the rest of your group to go down the slide also takes a while. On the plus side - it's a 4 story slide!

Appropriate Ages: It isn't a really scary attraction, so it is appropriate for most ages. I would not recommend children younger than 7 attending though just because there are so many props around.

Props / Special FX: There are a LOT of props around. More than you can see in one visit. And stuff is always being added or changed around.

Costumes / Make-up: There aren't really any costumes or make-up. Jim wears a funky coat and a clown wig and his other main helper wore a pirate bandana, but that's it.

Summary: This attraction is open year round. I recommend going to it sometime other than Halloween to get a real personal tour of the place. You will also be able to take your time if you are in a smaller group. It is a fun place to visit.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at