Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Owaneco Scare (Owaneco, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
9 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: tlw6   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 6:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Owaneco is a small town south of Taylorville on Rt 29. There are signs for directions and we had no problem finding it. Parking was also not a problem.

Wait Entertainment: We didn't have much of a wait because we were there when they opened!

Length of Event: It took about 20 minutes to go through, but as I said, we were one of the first through so we didn't have to wait for other groups.

Actor Performance: I think the actors did a great job. There are a number of people involved in this, in the various 'rooms' and I was amazed at some of their costumes and make-up.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Since we were among the first in, we didn't have to wait for another group, but after we finished we sat at one of the tables they had set up and watched/listened to other go through and it seemed that they had a good rhythm going. Small groups and it seemed like plenty of space in between groups.

Appropriate Ages: This is not a place for children. I would say, IF your kids are really into the haunted things, 12 - 13 years old is about the youngest I would take.

Props / Special FX: Awesome vortex! Great artwork in the halls! Freaky clown room! Cool effects! Don't want to give away any surprises!

Costumes / Make-up: Impressive. There was some serious thought in some of those get-ups!

Summary: This is a great haunted house. We heard someone peed their pants and I'm pretty sure I stepped in some puke! One of the things that I thought was cool had nothing to do with the inside of the hh, but instead was their entrance fee. If you took a canned good you got a dollar off your ticket! And the money that is raised goes to help support their town fire department! Great ideas! 
Best of luck Owaneco Scare!

6 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: quintypoo   (Event Visited: 10/25/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I didn't notice any signs along the highway directing traffic. The friends that went had been before and knew where to go. But the town is so small that if I had been alone I would have found it with minimal trouble. The building was brightly lit and after turning off the highway I did see one directional sign.

Wait Entertainment: The wait area was very well decorated, very creepy and dimly lit. Combined with the sounds of the haunted house, the decorations created great anticipation and mood. When we arrived there were about 20 people ahead of us (going in 5 at a time) and we waited about 30 minutes for our turn. There were no actors roaming the wait area or movies playing to pass the time.

Length of Event: around 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors were well hidden and wonderfully timed. They did a great job mixing up the scares; sometimes getting those in the front of the group, then waiting next time for those in the rear. They were frightening, but also helpful; guiding us when we weren't sure where to go.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Some areas were dark and took us a little longer to navigate, but overall the path was obvious. Part of our wait in line had to do with the speed of groups going in ahead of us. Another group was allowed inside only after the first one got to a particular point.

Appropriate Ages: a mature 10 and up

Props / Special FX: One of the first props used has left our entire group wondering how it was done and we are all divided on an answer. I won't give it away, but on this prop alone I would recommend this haunt to anyone. It was effective in disorienting us and making us more vulnerable to the scares ahead.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes I saw were hideous, gruesome, and terrifying; just as they should be. There were some that we didn't know what they were supposed to be, but they scared us all the same.

Summary: This was my first experience at this haunt. I wasn't expecting much for the size of the town, but I was very pleased about our spur of the moment decision to go. We all took a canned good to get the $1 off admission. We went to 2 other haunts afterward, but we talked about this one all night. I look forward to next year.

6 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: sircrazy1971   (Event Visited: 10/25/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: A bit tricky to find from Route 29 make sure to look for signage the says "SCARE" and follow the arrows. The building is in what I think is the community center and it is well lit and easy to find. As for overall location it is a great place and has ample parking.

Wait Entertainment: There was no wait entertainment but that does not really detract from the haunt. They do have some nice scenery set up and have done a great job setting the atmosphere. They have picnick tables and chairsa so you don't have to stand of you don't want to. I was impressed with things hangiong from the light fixtures real nice atrwork.

Length of Event: Inline about 10 mins thru the event about 30 mins. The time thru will vary for you. I like to look at the props, scenery, and makeup that is used since being a fellow haunter from a differant town I like to see the work people put into their haunts and they did and excellent job.

Actor Performance: The actors were spot on and stayed in character. I really liked the way they all worked our group going through.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Smooth. Never ran into any other groups and it really gave me time to enjoy the atmosphere they created.

Appropriate Ages: This is a Judgement call as to how much a person can take. In my personal opinion I would say 12 and up, but again it is your choice.

Props / Special FX: They did not have alot of fancy animatronics but they really made up for it with the decorations and again the actors. I really liked what they did.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and makeup was excellent. There was some real time and effort put into the looks of the characters and I think they pulled it off well.

Summary: I am a fellow haunter and I work my own haunt which I have been doing for 10 years so my scores and ratings are coming from a professional observation. I do not know how long this haunt has been going on but I really hope they keep it going. They have some real good ideas and the fact this is a project to help support the Fire Dept makes it even more important. I will visit this haunt again next year and want to say if you want a great scare go to Owaneco and bring a canned good for 1 dollar off admission. I am not affiliated with this Haunt in any way, shape, or form, and my opinion is one from a fellow haunters professional standpoint.

8 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: livindeadgrl   (Event Visited: 10/25/09 @ 6:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: nice location, a little hard to see the signs from the main road in the dark...maybe suggest a light on the sign for folks that aren't familiar with the area. otherwise easy to find once off the main road.

Wait Entertainment: waiting was indoors which was nice since it was raining off & on. no actors for the line, but nicely decorated with tables where you could sit if needed.

Length of Event: about 15-20 mins

Actor Performance: all actors did a great job! there were a couple that caught me off guard, 2 areas in particular...but i don't want to give away any surprises ;)

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we ran into the group ahead of us toward the end, but actors did a nice job of getting control of flow back.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: this house is very dim...which helps add to the atmosphere, but the props looked great and had some great effects!

Costumes / Make-up: costumes looked really good. makeup was well done & those in masks looked good as well.

Summary: This is one to put on your must see list! for a small town they have a very nice haunt. This was my first time through their haunt and I am looking forward to seeing what they do next year!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at