Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Auburn Haunted House (Auburn, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
25 out of 38 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is on the square in downtown Auburn, large old two story house with a basement.

Wait Entertainment: No monsters in the line, however old (staged) woman walking around talking about her cat or bat or whatever? Two nice fires to keep warm which came in very useful in the cold and light rain, also benches nearby to set and talk to others while you wait. Concession stand selling hots, etc. We waited maybe 35 minutes, no bad. Well done here!

Length of Event: The attraction lasted almost 20 mintues.

Actor Performance: Actors all did a great job, the little girl with the gun really got my son good, myself included. Very well staffed and everyone stayed on character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow throughout the house was great, we ran into no other group.

Appropriate Ages: maybe 9+ here, there are somethings (without giving away anything) here that younger kids might not find 
enjoying. This means that this crew has done a good job scaring people!

Props / Special FX: Props and special effects are good and entertaining, the "smashed face" effect might need some fine tuning, the light fade timing was somewhat off. Everything else was great and lots to see.

Costumes / Make-up: Make-up and costumes all worked here, lots of detail.

Summary: This is also a MUST SEE attraction if your in central Illinois. Very well done by people who know about putting on a Haunted House. Every year they seem to come up with a new format and it works great! This year I would say its much better. Looking forward to next year, thanks for doing a good job.

14 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Chelsea   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was easy to find

Wait Entertainment: The big two headed creature outside was very scary and entertaining

Length of Event: 15 mins.

Actor Performance: Everyone from the outside to inside were very scary and awesome

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I got through pretty easy but two of the people in my group kind of rushed me through but we didnt run into anyone

Appropriate Ages: 12 and over

Props / Special FX: The room designs really caught my eye. They were detailed and the room with the meat cutter room with the sparking thing was my favorite.

Costumes / Make-up: The make up was very good and detailed and it looked very professionally done.

Summary: I really liked this haunted house it was worth the price. The location of the haunted house was great and easy to find. i would recomend it to others who havent yet gone. I will probally be going back again soon

13 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location was not hard to find since we have been there for the last two years. Take Auburn exit off of 55 south of Springfield and you can't miss it.

Wait Entertainment: Had Halloween games to play while waiting and bon fire. Could have used a monster or 2 walking the crowd.

Length of Event: 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: This is where Auburn Haunted House really ups the stakes. The actor performance is outstanding. These actors stay in character and feed off of the fears of the patrons.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Auburn has always had this down to a "T". Groups NEVER run into each other.

Appropriate Ages: 10 +, this is a really in your face haunt and scares are really forced at times.

Props / Special FX: The props, building, lighting all add to this haunt. Even though they are not high priced ticket items, it is the layout that gets you.

Costumes / Make-up: I did not see one single mask. The make-up is high rate and even down right disgusting on some of the actors. Girl in the first room with the gun and cook lady are awesome. Kudos to the person that did their make-up.

Summary: This has been one of our groups favorite haunts. They seem to excel year after year. My only comment would be to be a little longer maybe add something at the end to make it longer. Also a more climatic ending would be great. I applaud these guys for bringing it year after year and this year did not lets us down either. Great job!!

8 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: sdiller   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Off of the Auburn square... very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Great! Like the other haunted houses, I've been to this one the past two years. Auburn has bonfires, concessions, music, the 7ft monster was actually here this year. They also had creepy woman wondering around. They give group #'s here, so no waiting in line. You can wonder around and enjoy everything they have to offer and they just call you when your ready.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: AWESOME! The actors where having a great time scareing everyone!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great. I heard other screams, but didnt run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: Great. This haunted house changes every year! You never know what to expect at this one. They change everything from the floors to the ceiling! You can tell that they put alot of work into making their props and coming up with their own effects.

Costumes / Make-up: AWESOME! The costumes here where great... along with the makeup. Everything coordinated very well.

Summary: I think that this is my favorite haunted house!!! I love that you dont have to stand in line (just listen for your #). This is the only haunted house that I have seen do that. I also love that it changes every year, so it never gets old. VERY SCARY too!!!!

13 out of 24 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: househaunter   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located near the square with plenty of signs to get you there

Wait Entertainment: Bon fires to warm by, food and drink stand, roaming monsters that will scare or pose for a photo

Length of Event: 15 minutes give or take

Actor Performance: The actors do a great job, costumes and make up are great!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Moved prety good, didn't run into any other groups or find ourselves stalled inside.

Appropriate Ages: No for the very young

Props / Special FX: They do a great job, some of the props are waesome. The lighted and fanged deer in the waiting area was great!

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty good,they use more good make up and not too many cheesy masks

Summary: This is a good one, I have been to dozens of haunts in several states, this is one of the best.I liked the way they gave numbers to enter so we could walk about and warm by the fire or get food or t-shirts. None of those cheesy trash bag walls in this one.

22 out of 44 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find if you take the Auburn exit off 55. Lighted signs point the way once you are in Auburn.

Wait Entertainment: They had ring toss...onto body part. Putt putt and bball with a skull. Pretty nifty.

Length of Event: 10-15 mins

Actor Performance: Outstanding! These guys do a great job! The girl in the dinner room was awesome. Her boyfriend :-) was too! They must be drama majors. I really liked the TALL butler guy, too.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: No kids.

Props / Special FX: They don't rely on a lot of high dollar, spec fx, but they do an excellent job!

Costumes / Make-up: Outstanding! Someone does an awesome job with these people.

Summary: I love this haunted house. The intensity always very HIGH! This is our third year visiting and we will be back for sure next year. I wish this HH was a bit longer only because it is so much fun. The ending though was lacking this year. We just walked out. Someone may have been missing, because these guys excel at the details and this was a big one missing.

7 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: joey   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. right off the square in a big building with signs.

Wait Entertainment: alot to do with bonfires food.A big bus came with a bunch of people dressed up.The big two headed creature was outside and scared us never broke character and a insane lady with a buggy. we had a great time outside!

Length of Event: probably almost twenty minutes

Actor Performance: this is where they are really good!I cant single out anyone i liked the gun lady and the lady in the fireplace room the actors outside all of them were good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good they call your number so it is spaced out pretty good.

Appropriate Ages: probably not good for children under ten or so.

Props / Special FX: the rooms were decorated very well. not alot of big stuff but they have alot and they are good and some are really gross.

Costumes / Make-up: very good well done guys!

Summary: I like this haunt they are over the top. great job guys! hope you step it up again next year! I like the ticket number so you can wonder around.Staying by the fires is nice they have games outside that were fun and a hearse outsidewe saw later.

8 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: clownsrus   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: On the square and music, lights, and crowd made it easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: None while I was there.

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: This was good in most areas. A few needed some work.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: This area needs definite work. While I don't want to run into the group in front of me, the spacing of groups was ridiculously long.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up due to some of the graphic scenes.

Props / Special FX: They have good props and effects, but nothing outstanding/different that comes to mind.

Costumes / Make-up: Combination of masks and make-up and all were good.

Summary: I enjoyed this haunted house, but not the hour and a half wait to go through. I also thought it was tacky for a little girl to be standing at the exit asking everyone to go back to the front and go online to vote for them on this site. They have a good building but need to work on the flow of traffic.

9 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: right off the square downtown. Signs coming in to town direct you.

Wait Entertainment: couple ghouls, skull basket ball, body limb ring toss, coffin skee ball...

Length of Event: 10 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors are are always great, on cue and very creepy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Auborn does a good job with spacing and actor patrol.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Rooms are very detailed, they tell a nice story.

Costumes / Make-up: No masks, all make up!! Very well done. Notable was the blown out head!

Summary: Auborn does a great job, smart scares, great story through the house. If they want to stay competitive they need to make the house longer and give you a thrill at the end.

4 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Maggie82   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Off the square in Auburn. Had signs that helped.

Wait Entertainment: The thing with 2 heads. Nothing really of relating that with the haunted house. Just some extra fill space I guess.

Length of Event: 10 min

Actor Performance: Some didn't seem like they wanted to be there. Almost like a burden we were there and the "had" to scare us.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Not bad. Never ran into a group, but yet, with as long as it took to finally get in, that is understanding.

Appropriate Ages: all

Props / Special FX: I have seen alot of the props at party outlet stores. Nothing really seemed to catch my attention.

Costumes / Make-up: Nothing over the top.

Summary: I had heard alot of good things about this place, and kind of disappointed at what I was lead on to believe. Nothing over the top, no big scare factor.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at