Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com – Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Dungeon of Darkness (Pekin, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
17 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/02/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/03/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Have traveled to the Dungeon of Darkness for the last couple of years. Did not know that the Haunted House had moved this year so we thought it was not open. We happend to see a sign for it on the west side of town and found it.

Wait Entertainment: We waited for about 1.5 hours. I believe there was an actor break in there to add to the wait time. There was actors in the line scaring the guest. Honorable mention was the guy that looked and talked like someone from "The Hills have Eyes" dressed for his wedding. He was both scary and funny. Well, and clowns? They are always freaky. Queue lines was an added improvment this year, have seen this before at haunted attractions, use them guys, it can add to the creepiness of the venue.

Length of Event: 12-15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors all seemed to stay in character and were always on cue. Actors not only scared the front people but also got the middle and back. Nice way to use the crowd.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was very good. Did not see another group inside the house. These guys have the flow down to an artform. Nice job!!

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up, some areas might be too creepy for little ones.

Props / Special FX: Every room had a great theme with actoras to match. Static props used with the rooms were great. Highlights: Was amazed with the size of the cemetery area, use it to your advantage! The house scene was another great area. Props and scenes used was a great way to creep up the new building. Nice use of strobe lights and other lighting used in the house.

Costumes / Make-up: Great use of make up and masks. Only area that I would focus on is actors that have their skin and hands showing. Orange hair clown was great but with gloves and neck make-up would have added to your freakishness. Living statue was amazing. Like something you would have scene in New Orleans and Chicago.

Summary: Honorable mention has to go to the story teller in the first room. She did an amazing job getting patrons ready for their experience. Rooms and props were all done with a thought process of what to do in the house. Dinner time room- watch the screaming directly in peoples ears- good job but not scary after trying to get you hearing back. Overall, I love the new building, and the scares have grown over the last few years. The guys here are on mark for having moving up the ladder in the top haunted houses. Keep up the good work and will be back next year to see what's next.

10 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We stumbled upon the house after going to the old location. We were actually going to get a bite to eat and saw the building.

Wait Entertainment: Awesome!!!! The "bat guy" was excellent. Entertaining!! A clown and cletus were walking around.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Very well done. All were in character and waited for the group to enter room.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: perfect. We did not run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Nice attention to detail.

Costumes / Make-up: MOstly masks and some make-up. Very well done. As always my suggestion would be eye make up under masks and NO Sneakers!!

Summary: The house has improved with it's new location. Much better to wait inside with lines in "shoots". We waited a long time due the the fact the house was on break. It weasn't bad thanks to the line entertainment. Put gloves on the clown and make up around Cletus' eyes!!!!!!! Nice job over all. I will recommend the stop in Pekin this year.

6 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: spook_walker   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/04/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location was a vast improvement from last year. It is in a well known location near Walmart with ample parking.

Wait Entertainment: The actors up front were great! Very entertaining. The freaky piggish guys was both scary and funny. Did I mention clowns? Yep, freaky clowns. Added touch of a video projected on the wall was different. Appeared to have a story line behind it. Might have been better had there been sound for it. There was plenty going on up front to keep visitors entertained while they waited.

Length of Event: 15 minutes or so. Depends on the maze at the end.

Actor Performance: Everyone did a great job with staying in character! Seems like they all had thought out their performance before hand and knew exactly what to do. Cues seemed to be spot on and actors used them well. Most actors seemed very animated. Those that needed to be still or act dead did a great job. There wasn't any movement that I saw come from them.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Never ran into any other group. Great job with spacing everyone out.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Amazing sound, lighting, strobe and props. Details for Static props were considered just as much as the actors and lighting. All the details made the whole environment complete.

Costumes / Make-up: Makeup was great this year! A lot more makeup than masks. Looked very professional and detailed for most. The few masks that were used, were fitting for the room/location. Great Job!

Summary: Overall this was a great haunted house and I recommend it to all. Although there is a wait upfront, which is expected, there was great entertainment to keep everyone preoccupied. A few call outs to the actors... Lady in first room did a great job setting up the rest of the haunt. Props to the TV girl and Bathroom guy. CREEPY!! Body part room... we had no idea how to get out of the room. Both actors stayed in character until we finally figured out the exit (with chain girl's help; all while in character) seemed like an eternity to me since I was scared to death. Great improvement from last year. They seem to keep outdoing themselves from year to year. All in all, if you are looking to be entertained and want your socks scared off this is the place to go!

7 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: The_Shadow   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/23/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This location rivals where it has been held in the past. Easy to find with being across from the Pekin on Veterans Drive Wal-mart.

Wait Entertainment: The actors did a great time staying in character which made the wait seem shorter then it ended up being. They used several entrances so you never knew when they would be standing right behind you. They also rotated around so you get a different mix of actors and not the same scenario every time…..but can someone take that dang horn away from the one clown (you know what I mean :)……

Length of Event: Went through twice and first time made it in 8 min because we caught up to a group that was 3 groups in front of us…. They were really lost so we knew not to go that way… Second time we got caught up in the maze and it took us about 13 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors knew their marks pretty well….I don’t want to give away the scares but…. I think it was an actor in the shower but may have been a prop. If it is an actor they did a bang up job there.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We went through as a group of two so it was hard to tell but we only saw the group ahead of us on the first time through. They were really lost because there were two other groups between them and us. I think the ideal grouping is 4 but not more than 6….so if you have a larger group plan on splitting up you will get more scare unless you are to afraid of that.

Appropriate Ages: Ok….I have been to many haunts all over the state and if your child is scared and crying…..don’t make them go through….my 8 year old my handle more then yours or vise versa. You know your kids best don’t traumatize them from future haunts. If I had an age group it would be 10 and older….

Props / Special FX: They had great placement of props this year. Nothing really seamed out of place or did not fit with the scene. AMAZING attention to detail with makes this years haunt rival the other years. What I liked is that they tried to transplant you into the scene which is a very hard aspect when you have several rooms that you walk through. They put thought into the customer aspect from entrance to exit which I think helps set the mood.

Costumes / Make-up: This is one area that I feel they have changed and that is that they are getting away from mask and going with more make-up. The few that had mask did a good job in bringing the mask to life so to speak with good body movement and drawing attention away from the mask and towards a monster about to attack you. We must give the credit to the ones applying the make-up each night since it is not an easy task to do it right and they are doing it right if you ask me. Also I don’t recall a costume out of place in a scene when going through the haunt.

Summary: These guys did an amazing job this year and my most memorable item would be when we were in line waiting a lady literally sprinted from the exit to the outside doors. This was no jog but flat out running…. That is when you know that they are doing a great job on the inside. I look forward to next year and the 10 years after that since they seem like they like to put on a great haunt.

8 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: JASHUH   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good location in old (Steve & Barry's) building,much better than later years location. Location next to super walmart store, so easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Wait lines average time is around 1 hour or less, several "haunted" clowns working the crowd. The "Don Rickles" want-a-be clown with green hair does a good job keeping everyone entertained.

Length of Event: 20 minutes, maybe more if you have trouble finding your way through the maze - however the maze is simple.

Actor Performance: Actors did a great job here, everyone was on time and no problems. The grave yard guy did a standup job selling "his yard" and everything worked.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow throughout the house was excellent, only the maze (last scare) we saw another group.

Appropriate Ages: 8+ No high impact jump out scares, enjoyable for 8+ ages.

Props / Special FX: Props were good, lots of scenes to look at and everything was well done. Much better this year.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes and make-up worked good, no cheap masks! Everyone was done up and no problems.

Summary: This is a very good haunted attraction and well worth the $8.00 admission price. Our group enjoyed every part of attraction and wasn't let down by any part. Good people working the event and inside waiting line helps in the cold rainy night we attended. Looking forward to next year.

5 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cankersore   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was terrifying and goulish! Actually it was across from the Walmart which is a big landmark.

Wait Entertainment: Things sneaking up and breathing in a menacing manner. Wait entertainment is always a scream. Kudos, to the grotesque man who greeting me as I filled out their review form he was shall we say silent but deadly.

Length of Event: 10 minutes or so

Actor Performance: This place loves the crazy clowns! Go crazy clowns go! I dearly miss the gruff clown on the microphone of days past.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Maybe a few snags between groups but mean monsters cleared that up nicely.

Appropriate Ages: I was with a 8year old and he was hugging his dad.

Summary: I was amused by the wait entertainment and demented doll film. This foreboding feeling followed into the haunt where it flourished. Dig the clown theme. The maze is distinct but a little too confusing. In the end, a sadisticly satisfying scare!

4 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mark   (Event Visited: 10/25/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you are a local, you should know where it is in pekin. It used to be the old steve and barrys. There is a flashing light on top of the building thats it. It doesn't look like a haunted house attraction at all from the outside.  
 
If you aren't a local, I couldn't really explain how to get there since I stink at directions! haha but there are no signs notifying you of the haunted house anywhere on the roads.

Wait Entertainment: A clown and mike meyers weaving in and out of lines. Clown was funny and talked to people. Meyers just walked around and didnt say anything. I didn't see any other characters.

Length of Event: extremely short for me. It was about 10 minutes long..maybe even shorter it felt like. I'm used to longer haunted houses so I may be exaggerating a tad.

Actor Performance: I thought the actors were good. Some of them were very creative and creepy. Others were just little kids that didn't scare anyone.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good. They were good with timing. We didn't run into any groups and they limited only 6 people to a group which was good. We did run into others in a maze since they were lost but thats normal.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: No extra neat special effects. Just the usual strobe lights, but those were used creatively. I thought the scenery and props were very good.

Costumes / Make-up: Didn't really pay much attention. I didn't see too much detailed makeup. Costumes were okay nothing out of the ordinary.

Summary: I think this is a good haunted house to go to for a local. I wouldn't drive all the way out here for a 10 minute attraction. The cost was $8. It's a huge improvement from last years dungeon of darkness hosted elsewhere. I think it had a lot of potential to be better, but it was decent. Would I go again? Probably not because I really thought it was so short.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at