Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Psychosis Haunted House (Palatine, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
13 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: sexydeadguy   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I'm not from the area so I had some issues locating the haunt.

Wait Entertainment: There was wait entertainment?

Length of Event: About 8 minutes. There wasn't a huge crowd on the night I walked through so I was able to take my time.

Actor Performance: "Just say, AHHHHHHHHH!" Most of the actors looked bored or confused rather than scary. They seemed to lack the passion that makes other haunts I've been to great.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Like I said, there wasn't much of a crowd. I didn't even see another group.

Appropriate Ages: 9+

Props / Special FX: Having visited Psychosis last year, I was looking for MORE props in the house this year. I was sadly disappointed. I guess those cars got repoed.

Costumes / Make-up: Pretty uniform throughout the haunt. There were two or three standout characters but for the most part, they all looked the same. I think I even spotted a new pair of Jordans.

Summary: Being relatively strong their rookie season, I expected great improvements for their Sophmore year. Not the case. Weak actors, bare walls and a severe lack of props and scenery made this season a disappointing Psychosis experience for me. Hopefully they will put more effort into next years haunt. I love haunted houses and will visit Psychosis again... but not this year.

43 out of 62 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: joehaunt   (Event Visited: 10/01/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find

Wait Entertainment: not a lot going on outside but there was also no line

Length of Event: 5 min

Actor Performance: Lots of screaming ... not much acting

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: it was a very slow night so i never ran into another group

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Summary: This haunt had a lot of black walls and some lighting going on but not much more there to see. the actors need to work a little harder to be unique and not just screaming. the haunt needs some work all around

24 out of 37 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ilikehaunts   (Event Visited: 10/08/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Located in Palatine, Psychosis is located off of a semi-main road, though if you arent paying attention, you will easily pass by it. It is important to note that it is in a strip mall NEXT TO Sears.

Wait Entertainment: On the night that we attended, there was one older-looking actor wearing a cowboy hat and a duster. Though, he just stood at the entrance and talked to guests, rather than scared them.

Length of Event: 10 min

Actor Performance: Psychosis has a lot to work on in this category. Many of their actors used elementary scare tactics such as yelling "get out of my room" and simply just screaming. In a bedroom scene a younger actor wielding a hockey stick popped out and yelled, "Hey, hows it going!" as his scare, then proceeded to hit items with his hockey stick.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were the only group so we never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: All

Props / Special FX: Many of their props were simply furniture in rooms painted black, gray, or white. Detail was limited in this attraction. Though there were some interesting lighting used in this attraction, it was set amongst less than impressive settings.

Costumes / Make-up: Some actors wore black robes and others were seen in lab coats. In several instances many actors were without makeup, while others were wearing a limited amount of it.

Summary: We attended Psychosis last year and were really excited to see how they would grow and expand this season. For a first year event (in 2008) it was fun, and had a lot of room to grow. This year, much of the attraction remained the same, and the detail within the attraction seemed limited as well. Through out the beginning of Psychosis, guests are show a variety of videos, the 1st of which is in their room immediately after waiting in line. It features a man who comes out and explains that you will be scared throughout the attraction, and then says "the first scare will come from right below this screen, wake up little guy" at that point an actor emerges from the darkness. this scare could have been the most effective in the house, if it hadn't been pointed out by the actor on screen, which completely ruined the scare factor there. The next area is a shack-like house featuring some trees and an actress in a robe that takes your tickets, guests then enter the home. Inside, our group was instructed to watch another video, this time the video explained the rules of the house, and unlike the first one, did not end with a scare.Guests are then told to "Get out" and proceed into the rest of the attraction. Most of this attraction had wide-open, well lit halls, featuring wither black or gray walls. Some of these halls included lighting such as green lasers and colored lights, but over all, nothing really happened. Rooms experienced along the way included a bed room, kitchen, cooler, clown area, alley way, and a prison/hospital area. In this final scene guests were asked to "Sign in" and were given a clip board, crayon to write with and a sticky "hello my name is" name tag. They also had "funny pills" (tic tacs and mentos) that they issued to guests. Throughout this area there were a variety of scenes including a couple of actors writing on the walls with chalk, a bathroom, and a maze featuring a couple of actors. Upon leaving the maze guests entered a gift shop where they could purchase t-shirts or get a psychic reading. In the end, my group felt let-down by psychosis as we were hoping they would change it up, and deliver something more impressive than last year. Instead it felt as if much of their scare factor was lost, and their layout was about the same with the same, if not less, detail than before. At $14 this attraction left much to be desired.

19 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: whitesnake77   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: its next to the sears on hicks. that would have helped if mentioned on their website

Wait Entertainment: there wasnt much of a line when we went. its just very dark with lots of fog.

Length of Event: about 10 to 15 minutes

Actor Performance: lots of the actors were just standing there. the actress in the spider box was at almost a whisper and very hard to hear. the little kid in the front room was creepy!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: as fast as you can walk. there was not a lot of detail to stop and look at. lots of empty hallways

Props / Special FX: none

Costumes / Make-up: original but all in all pretty uniform

Summary: i went to this house last year and i thought it was a good house for their first year. i was expecting better things this year, but i didnt see that. it seems that a lot of the detail was pulled from the house. there were far fewer actors. there was a very scary actress in the brides room that i remember but this year she just stared. and this year that scare was gone. one thing that i thought was not very smart was pointing out scares. i dont want to ruin it, but in the first tv room one of the best scares in the house is pointed out by the guy on the video. it killed what could have been a very scary scare. and 14 dollars seemed a little much for that house. houses with way more detail and actors and higher scare factors fall into the same price bracket. basically, i would not recommend this to any of my friends.

17 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: PosionDart   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you dont know its already there you might miss it because of the location. But it was marked with HAUNTED HOUSE across the front

Wait Entertainment: Dark room of fog.

Length of Event: As fast as you want. Except for the end.

Actor Performance: Poor. I saw a few standing around and starting at the wall, i guess trying to be scary. Some could have used make up. I think one missed their que.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Decent, there wasnt a group ahead of us when we went through anyways.

Appropriate Ages: Due to bad acting and little detail i would say yes.

Props / Special FX: props? what props?

Costumes / Make-up: A few actors didnt even have make up!

Summary: While still a young house it seems like it has a long way to go. Sub-par acting with rooms that had little detail and a story that i forgot half way though the house. Not worth the asking price. Although it did have one room that had potential. I remember One room that was a real good scare that wasnt there this year, i was looking for improvements on it :\ There are other houses just a little further away that are of better value and have better scares.

20 out of 36 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: stonesober   (Event Visited: 10/11/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Somewhat difficult to see from road. Set back in an awkward spot.

Wait Entertainment: There really was none, it was excessively foggy in the waiting section, making it difficult to talk with friends.

Length of Event: 10 - 15 minutes. Seemed short.

Actor Performance: All of the actors pretty much looked the same. Most of the actors seemed to lack enthusiasm or any sort of passion for their role.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good, no-one got broken up, did not bump into any groups in front of us.

Appropriate Ages: It seems to be more appropriate for a younger audience, possibly 16 and under, due to the lack seeming realistic.

Costumes / Make-up: As mentioned before, all of the actors seemed to look the same as far as costumes and make-up went.

Summary: Overall, I was pretty disappointed with this haunted house this year. I went last year and it seemed a lot better, I was hoping it would have improved with age. I also remember being told last year to expect lots of improvements this year.  
I think the layout last year was much better, this year the maze/layout wasn't set up as well for people with disabilities and such--the reason I noticed this is because I have a relative that loves haunted houses but has a physical deformity which causes him to have mobility problems and it would be more difficult for him to get through this haunted house than others I've seen.

11 out of 22 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: MrHaunt   (Event Visited: 10/16/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I found it easily with my GPS. I knew I was there by the big HAUNTED HOUSE written on the side of the building,and the big white lights.

Wait Entertainment: There was absolutly nothing going on outside. No wait, No crowd, No Actors. The indoor waiting area was semi decorated. But very quiet except for whoever was talking around me.

Length of Event: Less than 10 min

Actor Performance: The Actors were there but seemed tired and not very motivated. Seemed as if they didn't have much to work with, but I know this is not the actors fault so therefor they did OK. Actors in the mental ward were the best if I had to pick.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didnt see anyone else. There was no one before us or behind us. Not much of a crowd visiting, I must not have gotten the memo.

Appropriate Ages: Bring the kids!

Props / Special FX: Nothing more than a collection of strobe lights and blacklights. Rooms seemed very empty, no sound even. It was very quiet except for the loud rock music they were playing for the "finale".

Costumes / Make-up: There were a few actors not even wearing makeup! It all seemed less than mediocre.

Summary: The radio ad on Q101 is what drew me to this house. I was excited to hear of a new haunted house in the area. I soon found out that it had been here last year but did not know that. I am a huge haunted house fan so I thought i'd start writing reviews to help the public on which haunted houses are a must or must NOT. This is one everyone should know about. It is by far, the laziest haunt I have ever experienced. I recognize the effort in construction, but there was nothing for detail or atmosphere. The waiting room was a start and the front house facade was good. It seemed after that point the wheels fell off. Plenty of black walls with random scattered props thruout but nothing to complete what a room should be. The Life of a serial killer started in a house and ended in a strobe maze? I dont think I saw anything animated anywhere while inside. The price of $14, even with a $1 off coupon, was by far too high. It just fell very short for me. Better luck next year guys.

10 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Turth927   (Event Visited: 10/01/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: its a very easy place to spot if your driving on hicks.

Wait Entertainment: because i was one of the first to arrive that night there was no wait entertainment.

Length of Event: about 10min

Actor Performance: very poor acting skills but they did stay in thier role even when i passed by them. Some actors just sounded horrible because they were losing thier voice. which was sad because the night was just starting.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: i did not run into any groups but because my group was the only one there at the time.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and over

Props / Special FX: not all thier props worked. there was a couple of leaks tho

Costumes / Make-up: very poor. most had cheap looking make up and you could tell thier make up smeared because of there sweat.

Summary: overall this hunted house was very poor this year. i was sadly not impressed with anything i saw that night. all thier scenes were very poor.the cooler scene was just a limb on a chain. the jail scene not all the lights were working.

6 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: horrorman197   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: easy to find but needed to be better lit signage

Wait Entertainment: indoor waiting with obnoxious actor

Length of Event: 10-12 mins

Actor Performance: actors had a very dry performance in and out of character some over the line rude comments

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: fast no one was attending this haunt

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: no real fancy stuff looked like stuff from a rummage sale or someone threw out very simple scenes

Costumes / Make-up: make up was trick or treat quality lukily dark lighting takes away from it

Summary: this haunt is just ok not realy scary uses darkness toamp up the fright i saw a lot of similarity from other haunts at this on just not done as well and detailing in scenes could have been a little moreadd a few more colored lights and it would have been better

12 out of 33 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: KristyP   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I was there last year so I knew where it was, but I could see it when I turned from Rt 14

Wait Entertainment: There was no line entertainment once inside the building, but at least we were inside the building because it was cold out!

Length of Event: 15-20 mins

Actor Performance: I really liked the bride this year, she was just creepy. Last years bride screamed very well, but looked like a 12 year old boy in a wedding dress. There was also a girl in the hospital that made one of my friends get in the couch, and the crazies in the nut house were sick and twisted.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into another group, except the end, where there was a maze that was very disorientating. It took us a few minutes to find our own way out.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up, but depends on the kid.

Props / Special FX: The intro videos were very cool and well done.

Costumes / Make-up: The guys in the maze looked awesome.

Summary: I loved this place last year, and it was even better this year! Can't wait to see what they do next year. They also let me and my group go again for $5.

6 out of 30 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ChainsawDude   (Event Visited: 10/11/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The website directions and signs made this easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: There was no waiting in line entertainment, unless you count the dead guy outside in the trench coat. Otherwise we were pleased about being able to wait indoors instead of out in the cold.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes

Actor Performance: Without giving too much away the kid in near the pool was very creepy.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Groups were evenly spaced out so we never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: Age 13 & up.

Props / Special FX: Loved the video at the beginning,could have done without the pool.

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone seemed to be pretty made up, bride was very frightening & so was the bum in the alley. Blood on wall in hallway looked real.

Summary: Overall this was a good haunted house for only being the second year. Can't wait to see what they come up with next year. Very pleased that we did not have to wait outside to get in since it was cold.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at