Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Ashmore Estates - Circus Sanitorium (Ashmore, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
8 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: darkmoon   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The building isnt the easiest to see from a distance but when you get right up on it and see the signs its easy it used to be an old county home or poor farm i think

Wait Entertainment: Very good they had several different characters in the line area at about all times so i felt entertained properly

Length of Event: maybe about 35 min

Actor Performance: good a couple of clowns could have done better but the two girls in the room with a big needle were awesome and the trapeeze girl was on and the doll girl was the most freaky.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good flow you will see other groups in the maze but thats deliberate as it is like a staging area where they keep you lost until they are ready to let you see the rest of the rooms

Appropriate Ages: all

Props / Special FX: top notch props moving rooms and hallways even and they designed a decontamination chamber with a guy spraying you with air or something in the fog.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes deserve a good mention because in a lot of haunts you will see the female performers wearing dresses over their jeans but here they were all braving the weather and wearing the gowns and dresses without jeans

Summary: this is a really great haunt and it is in a real haunted building which also adds to the atmosphere they do take breaks for the performers but still have good line entertainment but the actors always do a really good job

5 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: crystal   (Event Visited: 10/16/09 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very easy to find the location. And the surrounding area made the haunted house. I am from the area and know the story's behind the building so to me Ashmore Estates is a legiond.

Wait Entertainment: There were many things to do while you waited. There was a concession stand, which had many things to snack on. Also a bond fire was going so that you could sit out side and wait on the rest of your group. There was a facility for the restroom which made it very accessible and practicable to enjoy your time. It didn't seem like you were waiting but more like you were in enjoying all the things going on. Also there was a little ghoul scurrying around on the ground and many people in charter to welcome you and give you a taste of what was to come.

Length of Event: WOW. It must have been about 30-45 min.. There were three floors of things to do.

Actor Performance: The actors were great and never brook charter. There was one guy who keep smelling me. I don't get scared to easily, but that guy made sure I got a few screams in!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good and there were many actors who would help you find your way. There is an awesome maze that we spent forever in and it was never to crowed.

Appropriate Ages: I think that that depends on the parents. But if it was up to me I would say it really is a judgment call from child to child. I would let my 6 year old go thru but I am not a parent and do not feel comfortable with this.

Props / Special FX: Ahh Great there are so many things to see that you could go through three times and never see the same thing twice.

Costumes / Make-up: Indescribably..... It was like something out of a movie.. Deff some talent to transform some of the people!

Summary: It is a fun experience and a great event to go to with a group of people or just as a couple! Something that we talked about for over a week! I look froward to visiting next year to see the new creativity.

9 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: scaremaster1   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Building is easily visable on the ashmore road as its the only abandoned hospital in the area with a haunted event in it.

Wait Entertainment: was great they had a girl in a opera dress a clown a ring master and Kurlz who is a very creepy doll with a baby doll that sneaks up on you and chuckles loudly!

Length of Event: about 35 min

Actor Performance: most were on a few were off there were these siamese girls that were very effective

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: flow is good till you get in the maze but they use a hidden exit door so they can keep you stuck in the maze for as long as they need or want

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: highly detailed homeade props ranging from a spinning tent to a moving hallway

Costumes / Make-up: costumes were good no storebought cloaks the make-up was great on most but a little thin in a couple of clowns

Summary: over all this is a great haunt and the building it is in is actually haunted so you never know what or who you may or may not see. And the creepiness of the building itself adds to the overall creepyness of the event!

7 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jjh1967   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 11:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/03/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good. It was right off the highway with a large lit sign.

Wait Entertainment: Very good. It wasn't very busy when I was there and I only had a 4 or 5 minute waite but had an entertaining ringmaster, a wild & crazy doctor and a freeky little ghoul with a whoopie cushion running around to entertain me.

Length of Event: At least half an hour, maybe a little more.

Actor Performance: Very good and lots of veriety. In some haunted hauses all of the actors have the same routine over and over again. The Circus Sanitorium actors had lots of veriaty in their performances.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It was great when I was there but it was slow at the late time I arived (45 minutes before closeing).

Appropriate Ages: Use your own judgement. It a spookey place, a long haunt with good and aggressive actors.

Props / Special FX: Very good. I loved the sliding hallway, spinning curtin room & vortex. The Mad Scientist lady with the brains to show you and then the chain saw dude jumping out was really good.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent make-up and costumes. A really professional job on the make up. It looked outstanding.

Summary: As you can tell I was pretty impressed. I loved how agressive and in your face the actors were. A better location couldn't be found - a suposedly real-life haunted insane asylum in the middle of the corn-fields. Great! I liked going downstairs, outside and upstairs. The actors used lots of distractions to really get you with a big scare. Also lots of walking aroung the creepy atmosphere looking for the next scary thing. I was very creeped out when I went to bed that night.

6 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Eldean   (Event Visited: 10/16/09 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Not hard as I had been their in previous years!

Wait Entertainment: Awsome!! The clown in the stright jacket was great!!

Length of Event: almost and hour as we were lost in the black maze forever!!

Actor Performance: Most were great a few clowns in the clown maze could use a little work and energy and personality

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: did not run into anyone except in black maze, but they did well at spliting us up as we exited the maze!!

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: the moving hallway freaked us out!! and the spinning room was great!!

Costumes / Make-up: Not bad, the clowns could use a little work!! The maze chicks make-up rocked and and the two girls in the room with fire place!!

Summary: This was an awsome haunt and the building is suppose to be really haunted which really added to the fear!! We really enjoyed the black maze what fun totaly black, the only thing is having actor swinging a bat in a black maze did not seem real safe!! you might want to change that!! But we had a great time and will be back halloween weekend

3 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: EvilPenny   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Cannot miss this attraction. There is a big boom in the air with a very well lit sign that can be seen from the highway.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was very good from the butler out front to the clown in the straight jacket.

Length of Event: 15 minutes, maybe.

Actor Performance: I was disappointed in a few places. There were three actors on the third floor arguing about something, and it really through me and the group I was in off.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good flow, steady pace, well lit.

Appropriate Ages: all

Props / Special FX: I was disappointed, there weren't many props, and the props that I saw were not put together that well. I chalked it up to early season "bugs" and I'm sure they are worked out by now.

Costumes / Make-up: The night we went through, there were a few kids inside the haunt, and only one was dressed up. The clowns needed some make-up work for sure, and a few of the costumes were lacking zest.

Summary: I thought all in all it wasn't too bad, but I did think that it was a little pricey for not getting "scared." I had heard about the maze, and got excited. We blitzed through extremely fast and actually passed two groups that were several minutes ahead of us when we rolled up. Another thing is the lighting, I was disappointed in how well lit the whole haunt was, but these are just my opinions. 
 
I do want to point out though that there were three of us in our group, and all three of us had "experiences." For that shear reason alone, I will come back.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at