Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Clinton's Terror on Washington Street (Clinton, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
13 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: kaptaink   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's pretty easy to find. The building itself has a sign on it and part of washington street is blocked off. Parking will probably be your only problem.

Wait Entertainment: There is a lady selling glow sticks, and TV's showing the inside of the house where a car horn goes off and scares people. For a small donation you can scare people with the horn.

Length of Event: 20-25 minutes

Actor Performance: Excellent, everyone stayed in character. The executioner is a great character, slightly cartoony, but oddly scary. I did run into two workers walking around the house, and they said hi, but everyone else was in character and did not break it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: In the maze we could hear the group in front of us, but they did a good job of keeping us from running into anyone. The pace seemed to get more frantic at some points, and made you want to walk faster or slower.

Appropriate Ages: 14+

Props / Special FX: A mix of store-bought and home-made. Lots of interesting effects, and the blood coming from the sink in the messy apartement scene was excellent. The Tv's in the introduction were awesome, and the elevator was the first one I had been on in a haunted house that felt like it was actually riding on one, and the scene changed when the doors open. The air in the walls was odd, but worked incredibly well.

Costumes / Make-up: A lot of store-bought masks, but all well done. The actors looked their parts well though.

Summary: Well worth the $8. They could easily have charged more and I would have still felt like I got my moneys worth. The flow through the house from silent and dark, to a lot of stimulation was excellent. I would gladly go again in a heartbeat. Very confusing layout, and you have no idea where you are in the building. The ending comes without notice and is great at making you run in terror from the chainsaw guy, made my pregnant wife run incredibly fast even.

7 out of 10 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: carverten31   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I have been to clinton before, but had no idea where exactly the haunt was. I saw NO signs and it was a bit hard to find.

Wait Entertainment: We waited only about 5 minutes. It was Sprinkling out so i think that kept the line short. They dont have indoor or covered waiting, not a big deal.

Length of Event: About 5-10 minutes

Actor Performance: Most were very good. The girl in the electric chair, Amazing. There were 3 actors that thought that we were staff or something and didnt even try to scare us, but everyone else made up for that.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: there was no guide and we caught up to the group in frount of us a couple of times. the group of 2 behind us cauht up me our group of 2 and we just formed a group of 4. This was no big deal but they really should spred the groups out more.

Appropriate Ages: i am not the person to ask this to. I think that the parents of children know what their kids can handle. but i would guess 6 and up would be a good guess.

Props / Special FX: There were a few rooms that were well decorated with props, the kitchen was good with the sink with running blood and the "stove trauma" was nice. I also was impressed with the elevator. Not alot of animatronics, but i like that. Actors are beter then machines anyday.

Costumes / Make-up: The makeup was average do it yourself stuff and there were a few masks too.

Summary: This haunt is a good one. It kinda feels like a Huge garage haunt or Home haunt. I was very intertained at this Haunt. Being a Haunt owner myself i dont get scared, but i was surprised that they made me jump a couple times they are very good at misdirection. I will definetly go back next year. and would recomend this to others.

13 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ChosenOne27   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 7:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good, easy to find and parking was easy.

Wait Entertainment: Good, there were live cameras and tv's with trivia. Could have used more monsters to walk around and scare.

Length of Event: 20-25 min- better than average

Actor Performance: Very realistic, the actors were very creepy and used a lot of unspoken gestures.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very fast and well organized.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up.

Props / Special FX: Good, well planned out and creative.

Costumes / Make-up: Very realistic and well done.

Summary: This haunted house used the space very well. There was alot of detail in each room, which always had a new scare.The actors seemed to enjoy working the house and put alot into making sure they scared the victims.

6 out of 9 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: illusionist   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: been there before. knew exactly where it was at.

Wait Entertainment: there really wasnt any wait entertainment except for the chainsaw guys sneaking up on the crowd every once in awhile. there were t.v.s outside where you could watch what was going on inside

Length of Event: 15-20 mins

Actor Performance: awesome. out of all the haunted houses we go to, clinton is always the most creative with there scares. the actors are always on

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we ran into another group at the very end waiting to get into the hell-avator

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: they really seemed to have alot more animated props this year than before. the sounds and strobe lights in the electric chair was unbelievable

Costumes / Make-up: most of the actors inside the house had awesome face paintings. even the houses staff members had there faces painted. the skeletons were very detailed. we even saw a joker outside

Summary: clintons terror on washington street seems to grow creatively every year. there sets become more detailed and scary every time we go. lighting is always perfect and there scares are always right on. all of the performers costumes and makeup really fit in with the themes of there rooms. the t.v.s in the begining where the coolest entrance i have ever seen. u go in and out of this house with a bang.. couldnt expect anything more. curious to see how they can top there house next year. they always seem to do it.

9 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: FrankenBaird   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This is the 3rd time we've been to Clinton HH, so we knew how to find it.

Wait Entertainment: Good job overall.. they had a few gouls working the line and their staff was very friendly towards our group.

Length of Event: Approx. 10-12 min.

Actor Performance: They had a comb. of small teen actors and adults, but overall they did a great job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Very good! We never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Very Nice!! We've always been impressed by the new things Clinton adds every year to make their haunt different from the previous year! The first room was a great way to set the tone for a great experience overall!

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masked charactars, but a few good make-up ones!

Summary: We've been to this Haunt in 2 previous years, and have never been disappointed! There is a lot of energy in the effort put forth by the actors in this place, and it really makes a difference! Well worth the money, and we will keep coming back!

19 out of 30 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you have never been there might be a little hard to find. Just stay on Washington Street and you will run into it eventually.

Wait Entertainment: There was a tv screen that you could watch people get scared by a car horn and lights. A nice touch was that you could press the button to scare them yourself for a monetary donation to a charity. The ending is there at the wait line so you could see "leatherface" chase the patrons out of the house. There was also a witch selling glow necklaces; she had an irish accent, and was a little annoying selling her wares.

Length of Event: 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Good Job! Out of the 3 houses we visited this night Clinton was the most on cue for scares. All characters seemed to stay in character and there was little talking to be heard. I do not get scared in the houses often but a big monster guy got all 5 of us. Pretty intimidating!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 10 +

Props / Special FX: Nice scene designs. The elevator was a nice touch.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly half and half. My only comment on masks was don't have 2 Leatheface masks in the same room. They were like the twins of the house.

Summary: Overall Clinton always does a great house every year. The scenes and scares were great to see and the scares were on the mark.. I always love going to clinton because their ending is great. Great space for patrons to run out screaming. Great job Clinton.

7 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: BGJones17   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I've been there before, so it wasn't all that hard to find. There were signs, but the screaming people and chainsaws really tipped me off.

Wait Entertainment: The first time I went, there was a masked figure in a jumpsuit terrifying some girls in line. The second time around, there wasn't really any, and there wasn't a need, since we got in pretty fast.

Length of Event: Around 10 or 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: They did a spectactular job, in my opinion, especially the chainsaw guys at the end.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We ran into another group a few times, but that was only because they got lost in the dark maze at the beginning.

Appropriate Ages: Depends on how easily scared the child gets, but I would say ten and up.

Props / Special FX: I really liked the strobe light hallway. Plus, the hallway with the airjets scared me both times, even though I was expecting it the second time.

Costumes / Make-up: They did great here, especially with the person covered with leaves in the funeral parlor scene. I really thought it was a bush at first.

Summary: All I can personally say is wow. The first time I went, it was okay. The second time I visited they changed some things around, like the oven in the kitchen scene did something that made even me scream. And the second time I went, one of the chainsaw men separated me from the rest of the group and chased only me out of the house.  
I had a great time both times I went down. I'm not one to scare that easily, but the Clinton crew got me good. Definitely worth the sixteen dollars for two trips. I am definitely going down next year, it was that good. In my opinion.

11 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Just take a trip on Washington street. Town is small enough, it easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: The monitors were fun watching the scare inside. Ugh, the Irish purple witch.

Length of Event: 12 minutes

Actor Performance: Clinton does a nice job. Kudos to the boys in the crypt. They flew out at the same time..got all of us! Well done!!!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: 2 girls caught up to us.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Clinton always does a god job with the attention to detail. I liked the changing monitors for the rules as well as the elevator.

Costumes / Make-up: Combination masks and make up. Maybe would go with a little more wicked face on elevator girl. Seemed kinda Disney.

Summary: Always enjoy this house. Consistent every year, nothing amazing, nothing weak. Give the guys in the crypt room and extra pat on the back. See you next year.

8 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: goillini37   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ After Midnight)
Review Posted: 10/23/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It's not that hard to find, but could be confusing if it was after dark and you weren't familiar. Since Clinton is such a small town if you were lost, you could ask just about anyone for directions and they would get you there easily, though.

Wait Entertainment: There were two guys dressed up in jump suits and masks walking around and going through the lines. They caught me off guard and my first scared was outside waiting in line!

Length of Event: about 15-20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Everyone stayed in character and the house looked great

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We didn't run into any other groups. The spacing was perfect.

Appropriate Ages: depends on maturity of child but I would say 10/11+

Props / Special FX: I loved the blood in the sink. It looked realistic! The rules part from the TVs was VERY cool. It was a great way to start off the house. The elevator was also a very nice touch.

Costumes / Make-up: I am always impressed with the costumes and make up. Even though most are store bought the Terror on Washington crew does a great job making each character look authentic.

Summary: I am a Clinton resident and have worked in Terror on Washington street before. Even after being behind the scenes before I was still scared. The Terror Staff does a great job making the house look new every year and always has created an exciting and new atmosphere

33 out of 65 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: If you can find Washington St, just follow it til you get to the barricades and you have arrived!

Wait Entertainment: Not so much. The tv's where you could watch others being scared is always a fun thing. The purple hatted witchy woman hawking her wares was a bit preachy and annoying. I am all for free enterprise, but 4x through the line in under 15 mins trying to get us to buy glow stick things is a bit much.

Length of Event: I wish it were longer, but only because I enjoy Clinton.

Actor Performance: Not too shabby. All stayed in character and were dressed appropriately.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good, good. Our group grew no larger throughout the trip through the house. Unless you count the leatherfaces who ran out with/after us!

Appropriate Ages: Small children NO-NO.

Props / Special FX: All good. They always are.

Costumes / Make-up: All good!

Summary: I always enjoy going to Clinton. It wasn't very busy when we were there and even though that is great for the wait time, I always enjoy the crowds and the anticipation. I'd definitely go back to this house if I had time. They are worth it and I am close enough.

9 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is the same every year, can be hard to find if it's your first trip here. Needs more signs!

Wait Entertainment: Tv displays reactions from people inside the event. Concessions available.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors all did a great job.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: No bottle up this year and everything went off ok.

Appropriate Ages: 8+. Some high impact scares here so this might not work for small kids.

Props / Special FX: Lots of good props with little automation effects here and there, I would like to see more with an event of this size and crowd draw.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes are all good and the mix of masks and make-up was good.

Summary: I try to attend this attraction every year, it seems to keep the same format every year, but it works here. This years elevator was enjoyable with a great conculsion. Overall, this is one great haunted attraction which could use some more punch, but we all enjoyed it and will return next year. The "Speed Pass" is the best way to get through this attraction, the normal line tonight was almost 2 hours, we used the "pass" and was moving on within 15 minutes.

11 out of 23 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: haloweenroks   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Clintons Terror on Washington Street was easy to find once you found Washington Street. I didnt see any signs on the way into town but the roads blocked off and scary blowups in the middle of the street were very visible.

Wait Entertainment: While waiting outside of the haunted house there were chainsaw welding maniacs and many creatures and ghouls outside acting with the crowd. My person favorite was a couple of t.v.s that allowed you to watch others in the house and actually scare them by remote control from outside.

Length of Event: 15 minutes of thrill

Actor Performance: All actors inside of the house seemed to be right on que. Perfect timing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Our group ran into another group inside the attraction. You were able to purchase glow in the dark necklaces outside that really helped you navigate your way threw a dark maze.

Props / Special FX: My favorite Special Effect in Terror on Washington Street was a very scary elevator that takes you to another floor and has a huge suprise at the end of the ride. Dont want to ruin it for everyone. There were also many foggy settings and animated props inside of this attraction. I really enjoyed a kitchen scene with refridgerator, cabinets, bloody water running into the sink, and a stove that flys open with a prop lunging out at you.

Costumes / Make-up: All actors inside of the house really fit into there settings. While walking threw a tomb in egypt, there were many mummys flying out from secret panels in the walls.

Summary: Terror on Washington Street is having another great year. They always keep me and my family coming back. I enjoy seeing all of the new settings and animations that they have every year. They really seemed to step up there scares from the previous years I have gone. All of there monsters inside the house really seemed alot more matured than previous years. I dont know if its only me, but when someone twice as tall as me jumps out from a secret passage its alot more intimidating than a elementary school sized monster. Another great year for Washington Street. Cant wait for the next.

2 out of 7 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: scream101   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/29/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Went there last year so knew where it was located.

Wait Entertainment: There was a Tv that had a slide show and a tv where you could see people walking through.

Length of Event: 15-25 min.

Actor Performance: The actors were very in character and jumped out right on time and were very scary

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I went through with no problems

Appropriate Ages: 12 and up

Props / Special FX: I enjoyed the scarecrow, the oven where something looked like it flying out, and i like the long hallway where it seemed like i was getting shot at.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and maked where set up just right for the room.

Summary: Overall well worth the money. I have been going for a number of years and it seems that every year it just keeps getting better and better i cant wait to go back next year becuase this year was one of the best. I think i might go back next week just to enjoy it some more.

1 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jbowling   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Followed the directions that were given on the house's website and found it very easy.

Wait Entertainment: They did not have any characters going through the line. However, I did find the trivia on one of the television's interesting. Also, the live action camera they were showing from one of the rooms entertaining.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes depending on how long it takes to get through the black maze.

Actor Performance: Some of the actors did a better job with the surprise/scare factor than others. There were some characters that I could see as I entered the room peeking out form his/her hiding place. Also, after the initial scare, they did help in pointing us in the right direction.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Pretty good. . . we did meet another group in the black maze at the start of the attraction.

Appropriate Ages: Not for little kids. I would say 10 and up at least.

Props / Special FX: The car horn and car light room made me jump even though I knew it was in there. Some more strobe lights especially in the clown room.

Costumes / Make-up: Store bought costumes/masks along with make-up.

Summary: A person needs to get there early. We got there shortly after opening (7p.m.) and were in line for an hour and a half. It was well worth the wait and the price. It may have been a little underpriced. I also thought that as the busier it got the person at the entry point could have done better alternating those who purchased General Admission passes with those who bought the R.I.P (Rush-In Pass).

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at