Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Pesotum House of Horrors (Pesotum, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
15 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ScaryGurl99   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 7:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/05/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was pretty easy to find. Pesotum is a small town. Right off rt. 45.

Wait Entertainment: Good music. Cool to be able to walk around in the upstairs of the church and see into the old sanctuary.

Length of Event: It took over 10 min to walk through.

Actor Performance: The actors were really into it. Makeup was pretty impressive.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It went at a good pace. We weren't rushed at all. It didn't go by too fast either.

Appropriate Ages: I wouldn't take young kids. It's pretty intense.

Props / Special FX: The chainsaw guy was super freaky. Freddy was AWESOME!!  
The Hannibal Lector room was crazy with the chair being thrown.

Summary: The fact that it's in an abandoned church really makes it freaky. There's a lot of different rooms. A lot of different scary movies were represented, Misery, Children of the Corn, Freddy, the Mummy, Silence of the Lambs...think that's most of them. Had several big scares where I really was caught off guard. Freddy was my favorite part with his hands and the sparks. I don't know how they did it but it was awesome. The tunnel was extremely dark and the floor was weird.  
Happy I went. Good way to start out the Halloween season.

7 out of 17 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 10:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/31/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Once you are Pesotum signs will lead you to the house.

Wait Entertainment: A couple of ghouls jumping out to scare people waiting in the ticket line.

Length of Event: 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Some scares were a little off cue, but a majority of the actors stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: You had a guide most of the way, popping in and out to lead you through. Did not run into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up.

Props / Special FX: Nothing stood out except an area with corn stalks. This area was creepy the way the scares came at you from one side but the corn was shaking from the other. House was not dark enough, it seemed really bright in there. Nice bathroom/shower scene, really liked the way it looked and with clowns jumping out it was the only time I almost jumped.

Costumes / Make-up: Mostly masks, but there were some in make up.

Summary: We decided to give this house a try when we saw how close they were to us. The haunted house is set in a nice old abandoned Catholic church- GREAT BUILDING when driving up to it and cemetary located across the street. Price of the house is way too high. If you are going to charge $13.00 each, you had better bring on the scares. Most expensive house we went to this year and left me feeling cheated. I believe it is the houses first year so there is a lot to learn. The flow inside the house was a little strange also, going into room and walking back out. Waiting area was a nice change of pace, showing "The shining" on an old brick wall. The church had a great creep factor, just wish there was more. Some room the haunters just walked behind you and offered no scares. Consider changing your ticket price to a lower price

4 out of 10 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hessianhorse   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location is one of the best traits of this haunted house, as it's located across the street from an actual cemetery and is located in an old church.

Wait Entertainment: There wasn't any wait entertainment when we arrived. There wasn't actually a line at all when we arrived, so I guess there wasn't anyone TO scare; this could've been because it was at the beginning of October.

Length of Event: Approximately twenty minutes.

Actor Performance: The actor playing Hannibal Lectre was decent, but he was locked in a box in the middle of a room and it wasn't very threatening, therefore not scary. Everyone else was pretty average.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We were one of two groups there, so the flow was great. Unfortunately, we had a GUIDE in this empty church... that pretty much made no sense.

Appropriate Ages: 5 and up

Props / Special FX: The sets were very sparse, and that made quite a few moments with potential dull rather than suspenseful. Some hallways were nothing but empty sheets with no one to jump out and scare you when you reached the corner. They definitely needed to work on this area. Darkness would've been better than empty space.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were average. There was a pretty decent Michael Myers, and the Hannibal was done well.

Summary: More than anything, I actually felt sorry for this haunted house. Great location, but it was obvious they had no money and therefore few actors to hire and little props and backgrounds to afford. One room was nothing but a bunch of real tree limbs, no joke, in the middle of the room with nothing else around it with one person to jump out and say "BOO"... kinda pathetic, really. If they knew how to set up backdrops and work with darkness, it could've worked. For the hefty ticket price, I would've expected a lot more effects, more actors, and better backdrops than tree limbs pulled from the yard outside. Practice makes perfect, guys!

2 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 11/02/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: 3rd year, but seems to be easy for 1st timers.

Wait Entertainment: Insane clown running around.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Half the actors were good, half were not. Kids screaming in your ear is a bit annoying. There was some bad breath issues through the house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: mostly guided, so they did their job.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Fear Factory always has good sets and special effects. The flames were a great addition.

Costumes / Make-up: Combo, mostly masks. Everyone looked great.

Summary: Fear Factory is consitent every year we go touring Haunted Houses across Illinois. Not the best value, not the worst. Not the scariest, not the tamest. Not the longest, not the shortest...get it?

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at