Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
St Charles Jaycees Haunted House (St. Charles, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
15 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: gpk1026   (Event Visited: 10/16/09 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Poor
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Visibility was quite poor. Haunt located in a large warehouse. No signage until you are in front of said warehouse.

Wait Entertainment: Nothing.

Length of Event: 5-7 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors were very lazy and not prepared. They would peek out from every room before we would come in, thus giving away hiding spots. In the maze room where there were a number of doors to choose from(only one of them being correct) the actor in the room spoke to us(not in character) and said "I've been in here three hours, the door is right here." This was said as soon as we walked in, so we were no lost at all.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There was nobody there, so patron flow was great.

Appropriate Ages: 2 and up

Props / Special FX: NOne

Costumes / Make-up: Non-existent. There were barely any actors inside.

Summary: I understand what I'm getting when I go to a Jaycees haunted house. No frills, but still decent scares, and hopefully some ingenuity. I am always quite pleased with the another local Jaycees haunted house. This however, was quite the opposite. THere were barely any actors in the haunt and the ones that were there put little to no effort in. This house is a lot of dark hallways and little to nothing else.

9 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hauntchick   (Event Visited: 10/30/09 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 11/03/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There were no signs leading up to the place, however, I have a GPS so that got me to the address just fine and there were signs leading from Kautz road.

Wait Entertainment: There was not much in this category, however, there really wasn't much of a line so we went in right away.

Length of Event: 7 minutes

Actor Performance: Some of them were on point. Some were expected and some were just awful. I consider the dress up of characters part of their performance. With that being said, I especially liked Freddy, the Department of Corrections clown and the high scream from the girl? near the middle of the house.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Great! We never ran into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Not much in this category, however, it's a Jaycees haunted house. It's not an elaborate haunted house put on by a rich owner who can afford a lot more props and decor.

Costumes / Make-up: They seemed slapped on apart from the ones I had mentioned. A lot of them were robes with semi-appropriate masks.

Summary: The house consisted of several scenes separated by dark hallways. The scenes had railings in it so as to deter patrons from entering the over all scenes. There was one scene you had to walk through and find your way out of. I liked the fact that it was dark most of the way through. The scenes provided ample lighting but in some cases, an emergency light in the warehouse provided too much light in some areas. Overall, actor performance was good and some was delayed and some was missed. Some characters were standing around talking to each other but scrambled away when I arrived at their area. I was expecting a lot more from the St. Charles Jaycees Haunted House this year since it has been better in previous years but maybe this year they were just under budgeted. The price for the ticket was OK, and that is why I plan on coming back next year.

5 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: scareme13   (Event Visited: 10/11/09 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/12/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: They seemed to put there signs after where you were supposed to turn but it was a huge building.

Wait Entertainment: there were a few guys with masks on outside.

Length of Event: 5-10 minutes

Actor Performance: The actors were good, they never broke character and were comitted to doing what they do best!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: There wasn't anyone else there so we ran into nobody!

Appropriate Ages: 12+

Props / Special FX: They didn't use many props, and they didn't have too many special FX

Costumes / Make-up: Their costumes wren't the greatest, most of them wore a Jason(Friday the 13th) mask and a black shirt and black jeans. BUT they proved that you don't need special costumes to prvide a scare!

Summary: We had a great time at the haunted house, and the people that work there are VERY nice. Since we were the only group there, we talked to some of the actors that were working outside and they were nice people. zthey haunted house wasn't anything special, but the thing I noticed about Jaycees is that they never have special costumes, or propos, or special FX, but what they do have is a good group of actors that enjoy what they do, and they do a good job of it too!

3 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hauntmonkey   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There are a few "haunted house" signs along Kautz road that lead you to the location. There is ample parking once you get there and a sign telling you where to enter. Once you enter, you will buy your tickets and go up a large flight of stairs into an upper warehouse area which is where the house takes place.

Wait Entertainment: None. But then again there was no line and we entered right away. It was still very early in the season for them to have much advertising out.

Length of Event: 10 minutes. Not very long.

Actor Performance: Everyone seemed to stay in character and most actors were on cue.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Excellent. I never ran into any other groups.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Hardly any. The rooms were not too decorated. There were some rooms that had fog and flashing strobes to distract and disorient you.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes looked like they were slapped on and a few others were more put together creating a more realistic "dead" effect.

Summary: I did enjoy St. Charles Jaycees Haunted House. It did not have much decoration but the actors is what brought it to life. There were actors in each room and some of them popped out of no where in the hallways. Kudos to the clown in the orange jump suit and Freddy characters. The Michael Meyers character was also sweet. Kudos to the St. Charles Jaycees. THey put on a great show this year. Be sure to check it out if you are in the area.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at