Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
The Scream Haunted Adventure (Decatur, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
20 out of 32 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We traveled to this haunted house last year, so it was not hard to find. For new people there is a lighted sign and orange cones out where the parking lot begins.

Wait Entertainment: Out in the parking lot there was a werewolf, he appeared to be doing something strange to a car. Not sure what he was doing but not scary to say none the least. In the line itself there were 2 characters; but nothing to stand out. We were able to buy the Scream Pass which included 3 Haunted House in Central Illinois.

Length of Event: 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: A lot of screaming and "rraahhhrr". Could have done without that. A lot of the characters were talking after the scares. One victim was yelling "Get-Out" just screaming at the top of her lungs, a little annoying. Maybe think about screaming "help me"?

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Second year in a row that this house has had trouble with patron flow. We were a group of 5 and by the time we hit the end of the haunted house we were a group of twelve. The flow needs to be controlled better.

Appropriate Ages: 8 +

Props / Special FX: There was some nice set decorations. One room that stood out for me was the "tin foil" room. The actor could have been up in you face more but the over all effect of the room was great. The last room was a great touch also.

Costumes / Make-up: About half and half. Nothing special. Get rid of the tennis shoes and a little black make up around the eyes would be a nice touch.

Summary: Overall, the house did a good job. There some scares that were just off the mark. The last room in which I said was a great touch lacked a climatic ending though. The "monsters" were ordinary and really did not seem to scare patrons, mostly just stepping out and standing there. 
Seemed like there was a lot of children saying "rrraahhr". I know sometimes children are all you can get to work in the haunted house; but work with them and most of them do fine. Hopefully this house will get their scares on mark, has some potential to live up to.

24 out of 47 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I never drive to Decatur, so I can't really say. I just sit in the backseat and wait until they tell me to get out.

Wait Entertainment: They had some dudes in costume in the parking lot and in line. Good idea, but these guys are in the light. You need to FINISH the costumes. No white tennis shoes on the werewolf and the guy with the black stretchy robe that you can buy at Walmart, that ties in the back of the neck.....my kids wore those for trick or treating. Paint eyes under the masks!!!! Fingernails on the werewolf were good. 

Length of Event: Don't remember, but I wasn't disappointed. Could have done more with empty space.

Actor Performance: Maybe you guys could have like a seminar for this before the HH nights. People yelling GET OUT, just does not scare! As my cohort pointed out. Victims aren't supposed to tell people to get out. And the RAAHHHHH. Nope.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Another group caught up with us AGAIN THIS YEAR!

Appropriate Ages: No small children who are going to be terrified. I HATE THAT!

Props / Special FX: They are getting better at this. They just need to fill the empty spaces. It doesn't always have to have actors, but don't leave us with blank walls to stare at. That's not cool.

Costumes / Make-up: Better than last year, still needs work though.

Summary: I have to say, it was better than last year. Not too great, though. They have potential. Too much dead space. The upstairs could at least be decorated with pictures, props, SOMETHING. So much of this was wasted space. I will visit again next year on the chance they step it up, but it isn't on my list of faves.

8 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: mortician   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The locatin was very easy to find, especially with the little minie-hears with it's lights flashing at the entrance to the parking ares

Wait Entertainment: THe entertainment was good but could use improving with more attractions.

Length of Event: I didn't time it but I think I went through in a little less than 15 minutes andwell worth the ticket price.

Actor Performance: most of the actors were very good and seemed topu their heart into it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: My group went through without being pushed by a following group as I have experienced inother haunted houses. However, I have heard othewrs say their group got pressed in with another group but I think this happens because some people want to take in cerain scenes for a longer period and will cause the best houses to get backed up once in a while.

Appropriate Ages: I saw mnay people lined up with small children

Props / Special FX: Special effects were very good and the actors in scenes whererequired did a very good job.The doublew vortex was awsome. It put a real outstanding finish for the house.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were very good.but it was interesting to see that there was an effort toget away from masks and make up the faces instead, There was more made up faces this year than last.

Summary: All considered I was very happy with the effects and the enthusiasm of the actors. 
 
The Butcher room and the Autopsy room were very gory, especially in the autopsy room when the mad doctor through intestins from the body onto the people. We really felt like we needed to check ourselves for blood stains. And the monkeys that jump out of the cage were certainly unexpected. One of my favorite illusions was the non-reflecting mirror. You look into it and there is no reflection of you. Makes you feel like maybe you are a vampire, since they have no reflection. I am definately recomending it to my friends.

9 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Went last year, knew the location.

Wait Entertainment: A few monsters walking around. Music from a boom box

Length of Event: 13 minutes

Actor Performance: average, a lot of the "kids" were off the mark. a simple lean forward a raaarh does not cut it.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Group behind caught up. Come on Pinhead..hold the traffic flow. He held us back, but let group behind us right through.

Appropriate Ages: 6+

Props / Special FX: Thought the rooms were pretty good. Liked the sheet maze, seemed like it went on forever. A missed opportunity for scares however.

Costumes / Make-up: There were some pretty good masks.once again, lack of make up around the eyes as well as sneakers wrecks the mood.

Summary: I felt the house was better then last year. The first room, a bar scene was very good, as well as the performances. The missed opportunity of the sheet maze and the large room at the end should be looked at. Anti climactic ending.

7 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: movieman   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 9:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Fair
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: Not much to speak of,someone in a ape costume.

Length of Event: About 10 minutes in lengh.

Actor Performance: Rather poor I would say,a couple seemed ok ,the foil room was a little strange.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: They did ok here,we ran into no other patrons.

Appropriate Ages: 10 years and up.

Props / Special FX: The only thing that really caught my attention was the spinning room.

Costumes / Make-up: Average run of the mill store bought costumes,masks ect.

Summary: I went last year and I would have to say this year was just a little bit better,not much,but a little bit,to much dead space,the actors dont seem to be into what they are doing,I might go next year ,have not made my mind up yet.

7 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: a375265   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/14/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: great had a hearst in front with light on really helped find the house

Wait Entertainment: good had a few people scaring you real funny

Length of Event: 20 min

Actor Performance: good I liked the idea of not knowing exactley where someone is.  
Lots of hidden areas

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good group behind us was starting to catch us but that was because they were so scared they were trying to go fast

Appropriate Ages: 7 unless they are real mature I was told outside that the group ahead of us that thier kids were really scared and the monkeys and other characters shook their hands and made it fun for them

Props / Special FX: cool they had a real cool doll and the silver room ws really neat with its specialeffects

Costumes / Make-up: good could use more full costumes more make up than mask and I liked that

Summary: I thought this was a good house it was well worth the money the biggest HH I have been thru I will definitly go back next year I will also tell my friends good monkeys were great and loved the vortex and silver room

5 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: haloweenroks   (Event Visited: 10/12/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/13/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This was my fist year to the Decatur scream and we found it easily. The glowing signs and police cars are visible from blocks away.

Wait Entertainment: There wasnt any wait entertainment while we were there.

Length of Event: about 9 minutes.

Actor Performance: I believe this event would be alot better if the actors in the house werent so young. I am only 5'3 and alot of the scared were even shorter than I am and just didnt have a low tone to there voice.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The group behind us caught up before we were even out of the 3rd room. We were only a group of 2 so maybe they wanted to push groups threw quicker? Even though there wasnt a line at all.

Appropriate Ages: That night it definatly was. My four year old would have been fine.

Props / Special FX: The vortex tunnels were unbelievable. Best I have EVER been threw.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were allright. Alot of sneakers and little makeup if any in some rooms. Tie died and even white costumes or clothes, in really dark parts of the house.

Summary: First year I have been threw the Decatur Scream and I will probobly go back next year. I am hoping that they were just having a really off night. For future references, I would tell your crew not to scare on the stairs. It seemed soooo dangerous. Really enjoyed the time that was put into designing the sets though. The sheets set off by blacklights were amazing. Have never seen that before. Many firsts for me threw this haunted house.

4 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: headbanger   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: very easy to find was in the same location as last year and still had a herse out front of the building.

Wait Entertainment: yes had people with chain saws and apes chasing people in line

Length of Event: approx 25 min, i found it was bigger than last years got turned around in the maze

Actor Performance: mainly very good, they all seamed to play there part with the rooms they where in.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: fine our group did not run in to any other groups when we went threw, and the rooms seemed to try to keep the group moving.

Appropriate Ages: all ages, a couple had some small children that where very scared and they assisted them by walking them thru with flashlights to help them

Props / Special FX: 2 vortexs this year, multiple of diffrent sounds threw out the building,some rooms could be less on the fog. and the lighting was good

Costumes / Make-up: noticed a lot more make-up this year which always looks better and the evil doll room where the girl looked normal then changed to possesed was good

Summary: 2nd year for this haunt and 2nd year our family went, last year was good but liked it better his year,everyone stayed in character and the scenes where better,

3 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: kaptaink   (Event Visited: 10/02/09 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty easy to find, right off of eldorado across from Long John Silvers.

Wait Entertainment: Did not see any, but did not wait long either.

Length of Event: 20minutes

Actor Performance: Very good, all seemed committed to scaring and did not break character. The girls in the doll room did nothing to increase the scariness, but good overall.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Did not run into any other groups

Appropriate Ages: 14+

Props / Special FX: Awesome effects. The "spinning rooms" were confusing and disorienting, and made you feel that way through the rest of the house. Everything looked well put together. The strobe lights and chains with hellraiser was incredibly creepy.

Costumes / Make-up: Run of the mill store bought costumes and masks.

Summary: Was overall fun. There was a lot of room after room, and the actors came and surprised you from almost everywhere. The Chucky in the doll room was staring at us as we walked in which freaked me out. The abandoned warehouse added greatly to the atmosphere.

3 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hessianhorse   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: With the hearse parked just next to the street and the kids helping park cars, the area is easy to spot from the street.

Wait Entertainment: The line is formed inside the warehouse, and therefore there isn't much chasing around. A couple ghouls walk around in creepy costumes and try to surprise or intimidate kids when they're unawares; average line entertainment.

Length of Event: Approximately 30 minutes.

Actor Performance: The actors in the first 3/4 of the event were pretty on-time and spooky, though they could've definitely pushed it more (I'm a tough customer, what can I say?). There was this old man in a wall that got me when I wasn't expecting it, and he actually laughed at me after he surprised me. That made my night! The actors in the hockey mask room were very good with stalking you in the darkness. In the last scene and a half, I was disappointed to find the remainder of the actors just standing around as if they were on a break.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: I was surprised how well they spaced out different groups, because there were no guides in this haunted house, and only near the end did people start to catch up to us. (And that has more to do with me hesitating in the pitch-black hallway than anything else!)

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: I thought the vortex was pretty impressive! I couldn't tell if I was spinning in a circle or not; kudos for getting that right! The hockey mask room was also pretty great; I couldn't tell which one was attached to a person, though I knew the scare was coming. The best prop was a rubber arm that brushed my husband's leg and made him leap up in the air like a leprechan! The car honking at the end was freaking me out before I even got to it; maybe if the actors next to it hadn't been on a break it would've been even scarier!

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes and make-up were average; the event worked well with darkness, and that helped.

Summary: Pretty decent haunted house. They appeared to have some experience, and that leant for some good scares and knew at what point a person begins to feel uncomfortable. When the lights went out in the hallway, I had to be dragged down it because I was imagining the worst-case scenario. They should've had a Michael Myers standing at the end of it! ;)

1 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: muddboss   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This haunt is very easy to find as it is on Eldorado st,main drag.

Wait Entertainment: very good ,chainsaw attack,along with an ape which was very realistic,great job.

Length of Event: about 20 minutes...

Actor Performance: this years haunt had very good make up jobs,they really took time to do a good job,not just your average store bought masks that you see in alot of the haunted houses now days,and the acting jobs were very good,I was impressed.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: had no problems ran smooth without running into other patrons.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up

Props / Special FX: all I can say is WOW!!!!!!!!those vortexs really got to me ,I almost fell down ,I thought the whole thing was moving,great idea as one goes in one direction and the 2nd one in the other,back to back,really freaky, and the foil room was something you will not see at any other haunt,I never seen this before ,it was really awesome,my favorite sceen was the last,as it looked just like a sceen from some kind of spooky swomp movie complete with spooks that really did scare you,and also being chased out by a chainsaw maniac.

Costumes / Make-up: very good make-up jobs not masks like most.

Summary: I gave this an 8 because of the originality they used in making this thing as good as it was ,I think they was much better than last year,I highly recomend this one for the sceens I talked about earlier and the rest is really good too,they did a great job,hats of to the whole crew as I really did enjoy this haunt!!!!!!!!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at