Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com Ė Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Dream Reapers Haunted House (Melrose Park, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
39 out of 49 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ThatGuy   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 09/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: I attend Dream Reapers every season, so Iím probably not the best guy to ask about this. As usual it was very easy to find.

Wait Entertainment: There was quite a bit, and even the Travel Channel was there to get in on the action. The crowd was pretty impressive for September. Show-Me the clown was on hand, riding a mini-moped to rile up the onlookers. A couple insanely cool looking creatures stood guard over the front doorÖ Their costumes were just nuts. Inside was a shady priest- very good and memorable, handing out tootsie-pops and inappropriate suggestions. After a short and pleasant exchange with one of the owners in the freshly pimped-out ticket room, we moved into the que area, which didnít disappoint either. Finally, before going in, the door man was really cool, carrying on conversation while staying strictly in character.

Length of Event: I donít know. It seemed longer this year, but I walked slowly. Iíll say 15 minutes total, more or less.

Actor Performance: Top notch, and a HUGE improvement over last year. Last year there were many open areas filled with actors youíd see coming from a mile away. This year actors were actually lurking in the shadows, aggressive, and waiting to pounce. And it worked. The only minor issue with acting here is that a lot of the attacks were directed at the front of the group, but thatís an easy fix.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Perfect. Like I said, I walked slowly, and no one caught our group. On top of this, last year one of my complaints was that on a slow night they sent us through in a group of about ten-twelve. This time we were allowed in with a nice cozy group of six. They gave us the show we paid for.

Appropriate Ages: Depends on the kid, of course. This year there was more gore and more adult themes. I personally wouldnít bring a kid under 13, based purely on the carved up bodies and "alleged" prostitutes.

Props / Special FX: I believe the best in the state, among what I've seen. Maybe it's not Disney or Universal, but those two have mega millions to play with. Dream Reapers is very professional, very complete. Great lighting, great visuals. Plenty to see.

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone was dressed to impress- with the best looking costumes Iíve ever seen in a haunted house; and Iíve seen several of the top haunted houses in the nation.

Summary: Dream Reapers is my favorite Illinois haunted house. Each and every year D.R. is my first stop, and every year I post an honest review. Last year I lowered my score a bit, giving them a 7. I (and a couple others) wrote in our reviews about how the scare factor was gone, about how even though the place looked great, they had a few too many screaming little girls and not enough scare. Well, they fixed that. Huge thumbs up to the owners for actually listening to the customers. 
 
The new areas were just excellent. After several years where the back end of the house was the star of the show, the front of the haunt is now just as good, if not better. As for memorable scenes, Iíll go with everything new. I normally donít like butcher shop stuff, but they really pulled it off well. The sewer was killer. The hookers -and the area they were patrolling- was great too. Lots of very creative new sets, and I donít give that compliment out very easily. 
 
One major complaint though: The turd on the plate. That was just stupid, and you guys are above that. With all you have going, you simply donít need to resort to putting poo, fake or not, near my face. My other criticisms: It would be good if the ending had a little more Ďbangí to it. Where the @#$ are you hiding Andy the Corpse? Shine a spotlight on that guy. And of course, it would be nice if the house was a little longer, but if youíre out of space, hey, youíre out of space. Other than that I was very impressed. Even the gift shop is 100x better, with tons of masks, costumes, props, and even a guy carrying around a live snake. I even got a free energy drink and tootsie pop. No, I didnít give the priest anything in exchange for the tootsie pop. 
 
So, in conclusion: Nicely done. Last year I honestly had my doubts about the future of Dream Reapers, and only visited once. This year Iíll be back for seconds. Last year I also really didnít think Dream Reapers deserved number one. This yearÖ I canít see how anyone in IL could possibly top Dream Reapers. This is the premier haunted house in the Chicago area, and the one that most other area haunts will be copying for years to come. To all the people interested in seeing a top-of-the-line haunted house, be sure to check Dream Reapers out, and try to do it when the crowds are a bit smaller, so you can move at your own pace. Next stop: Netherworld, Atl. 

24 out of 31 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: HellsNo   (Event Visited: 10/03/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The location of this establishment isn't hard to find at all! Especially if you're coming from the Chicagoland area.

Wait Entertainment: They had various haunt actors outside entertaining us. They all had witty humor and various comments to spit back at the people who questioned them. Their costumes were so detailed as well. Actually, one of my favorites had to be the transvestite hooker. Even though his costume wasn't elaborate at all, he had an amazing act and really made us laugh.

Length of Event: About 15 minutes from the waiting room til reaching the gift shop. If only it could have been longer!!

Actor Performance: The actors in the house were actually very well trained. Most of which had dialogue, which really isn't upheld often in haunted houses. Compiling both Theatrical and Startle scares, the actor performance was outstanding. One room heavy in dialogue was a strobe room with mirrors in it. Another good one was what seemed to be a church, outside of it a preacher professing our own damnation. Very chilling.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow through was perfect. Never bumped into another group once.

Appropriate Ages: I do not recommend anyone under 12 coming to this haunt. These people know what they are doing, and 95% of the creatures in this place are out to get you, they're relentless and will even go after the kids!!

Props / Special FX: The scenery and props were amazing! The swamp scene was so elaborate. As soon as I stepped into that room, I knew where I was. The smell was rancid, and it smelled exactly like a swamp would! The butchered women's bodies in the slaughterhouse part of the house were so realistic. I felt like I was seriously looking at decomposing bodies.

Costumes / Make-up: Makeup was outstanding. The detail was amazing. Considering the fact I mainly go to haunts to look at the aesthetics of the place, less for the true scare, I was highly impressed. The makeup designs were so creative, and flawlessly executed.

Summary: Considering I haven't been to Dream Reapers in two years, there has been some drastic and impressive improvements. This haunt was very impressive and I will definitely be attending again this year. Way to go Dream Reapers, you honestly have outdone yourself this year!

11 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: psycho88   (Event Visited: 10/11/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find and accesible from many routes. Directions on the website were dead on. 290 was backed up but it was very easy to detour.

Wait Entertainment: We arrived at 6:45 for a seven o'clock start. We entered the facility at 7:02 and did not witness any actors outside.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Every year my wife and I enjoy going to a few haunted house attractions and try to not waste our time with low scare factor events. With that being said, I have to say the these were the best actors I have encountered in a haunted house attraction. The timing was just about perfect in each room and they made an effort to work in concert with the automated effects. There were also many rooms with multiple actors who worked very well with each other. All actors remained in character throughout and they were everywhere.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was excellent. Our group did not run into anyone and no one caught us. The staff seemed very attentive to group size and appeared to care about the scare factor that all members of the group would experience.

Appropriate Ages: Teenagers and up. I didn't think anything was too vulgar for younger children, but they will most likely be terrified.

Props / Special FX: They really put a lot of effort into the details here. Their scenes were awesome. I especially enjoyed the graveyard with people coming out of graves. It felt like the outdoors. A lot of places go with a lot of darkness but this house is lighter than many because I think they want people to enjoy the visual details. You can't miss the stink either. Many of their automated stuff is really good too - I found myself ducking at some points. Overall, the best I have seen in an attraction.

Costumes / Make-up: Highly detailed costumes and make-up. Each room had actors that seemed to match the theme of those rooms which definitely adds to the scare factor.

Summary: I hate to sound like a commercial for the place but I would say that this is the best that I have experienced. My wife and I are in our thirties and don't scare that easy. I mean - you know it's coming. But my wife screamed like a teenager in this place. We were with two other younger couples who just plain refused to move after about three minutes in. So my wife pushed forward and took the lead. I have simply never heard her scream so much in one of these places. She had a sore throat when we were done. You might want to bring a cough drop or something if you are a screamer. The timing of the scares was unbelievably good and they would be one after the other in the same room - people flying out of everywhere just when your attention was on something else. Heck, I even jumped a few times and I am a combat vet. After one good scare, one of the actors even quipped in a sinister voice "Why so jumpy big guy?" I'm thinking to myself, because you guys are good at what you do. This attraction has a good understanding of psychology and how to manipulate the senses, alter perceptions, and create fear. The actors enjoy what they do and are well trained. I would have given it a ten, but it just didn't seem long enough to me. Well worth the price and the hour drive each way.

12 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: wckdwendy74   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 8:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find,perfect directions on the website,flashing lights and a sign that read dream reapers.I'm bad with directions and I found it easily.

Wait Entertainment: Loved the wait entertainment. Had scary actors in the line,one guy with black hair and a white face I hid behind my friend. Probably the freakiest guy there. It was cool when they shut off the lights and had a loud noise and strobe lights and a scary actor came out of nowhere. The girl with the doll was freaky,didnt talk with her eyes completly blacked out. Ive waited 4-5 hrs at some places and we came early to avoid that but we expected it anyway,all the good houses have long waits. They had a coffin u could lay in but that was a bit much for me,the guy running it was hot

Length of Event: dont remember-maybe 20-25 min

Actor Performance: everyone was on que,the girl hanging from the ceiling really scared my group,the trannie hookers,I talked to em and they nvr stayed out of character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Only ran into one group-a group of scared teenage girls who were hiding n the corner.

Costumes / Make-up: Costumes were phenomenal,make up was great-looked like someone from hollywood came in to do the make up. every costume was appropriate for the scene.

Summary: My group-the 4 of us loved it and we will definitely go back next year. I brought someone who hasnt been and he couldnt believe how detailed the scenes were and how the smells matched them. The swamp was my favorite and the devil at the enterance scared the h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) outta my friends. He didnt look real but someone told me he was. I screamed my head off when I walked outside and the bush had a mind of its own. I was there awhile ago when u were at a strip mall and some lady was covered in rats...you had the nurse,wheelchair guy...... I told one of the nice but scary monsters I would write a review and I have a few pictures which he said I could e-mail to u. I recommend u to all my friends and if u ever need a promoter lmk-lol. Loved the gift shop,saw a lil girl actor who wldnt break character and let me take her pic. Bought some stuff for our halloween costumes in the gift shop-good prices and nice staff. Overall we had a great time and it was worth the $. Ill pay good money for a good scare. U will see me and my 4 friends there nxt year and now more wanna go. Oh,and the maze with the mirrors was great..hard to get out of. Keep up the good work guys and we are glad we went! Thank you!

26 out of 40 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: 6demo6gorgon   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 09/28/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Extremely easy to find. The outside is very visible from North Ave and there was a large inflatable tube man on top of the building.

Wait Entertainment: Since it was opening night the wait wasn't very long, but they had a few actors interacting with the crowd. Also it's always fun to admire the great artwork all over the walls in the waiting room.

Length of Event: 12 minutes

Actor Performance: Very impressive. All the actors were very enthusiastic and looked as though they were really into their roles and enjoyed what they were doing. Though one actor didn't seem to develop a character appropriate for his costume and spoke casually.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Pretty good throughout most of the attraction until the end where I ran into groups in front of me.

Appropriate Ages: It really depends on how brave the child is. Being a haunted house actor myself I've seen kids as young as 7 not scared at all, but then 16 year old teenagers in tears. It's really up to the discretion of the parents.

Props / Special FX: Fantastic. Dream Reapers has always been able to pull off the most detailed scenes I've ever seen. The swamp and graveyard areas are a real treat for the eyes and make you feel like you're actually outside. Props are very high end and I can tell they put a lot of work into the decorations.

Costumes / Make-up: Appropriate for the rooms they were in. I always find it disappointing to go through a haunt and see actors not wearing the correct costume for the room they are in, but Dream Reapers never had this problem. The makeup was also very professional.

Summary: All in all Dream Reapers put on an outstanding show this year. The elevator ride in the beginning is always a favorite scene of mine and produces a great effect. The scenes were all greatly detailed and included such themes as a butcher shop, a swamp, graveyard, toxic waste dump, and clowns. I was slightly disappointed there was no medical area and they got rid of the hillbilly shack, but out with the old, in with the new, making the show fresh every year. Being in haunted houses for 9 years, it's hard to really scare me but there were a lot of well placed actors that actually got a jump out of me. Good job everyone at Dream Reapers, your hard work and dedication to what you do really shows.

9 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Rudy69   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/11/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: we had no trouble finding,we used a navgation system. we drove 3 hours. they had loud music and inflatbles outside which really caught peolpes atteniton as well as it was loacted on the same street as a nightclub and gym.

Wait Entertainment: they had a clown and a devil. the clown said obsence things and the devil looked realestic.

Length of Event: 15 min

Actor Performance: good,but they needed to spread out throw the haunt.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: great never ran into other groups;.

Appropriate Ages: 12

Summary: I thought this haunt was worth the 3 hour drive. we've all heared all this fuss about being the number one hauntedhouse in illinois,so we went. they had many animatornics they actors were alright-VORTEX TUNNEL! and the famous hellevator. the night we went it was 10 dollars. =] i was dispointed tho no chainsaws :/

10 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: sexydeadguy   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 10:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. Visible from North Ave. Bright lights and two "wacky wild flailing arm inflatable tube men" make it a sinch to stop.

Wait Entertainment: There were several actors lurking outside working the line. The leaping stilted demon was absolutely SICK! Awesome costumes. There was a creepy dude with his face wrapped in barb wire and the bloody wheelchair guy was back from previous years. He's going to get run over one of these days... I hope I'm there to see it.

Length of Event: 14 min

Actor Performance: A definate improvement from last year. Kudos to whomever is responsible for that. Actors were enthusiastic, submursed in their rolls and worked thier rooms well. Great Job!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good. I never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: There are some pretty graphic scenes, i.e. the butcher shop and the alley, but I think 15+ would be appropriate.

Props / Special FX: Outstanding! This is, in my opinion, one of the best haunts I've been to and I've been to haunts all over the country. Rank these guys right up there with Netherworld and The Darkness. Every scene was stuffed with eyecandy... lots to see. Plenty of animated and still props alike.

Costumes / Make-up: Again, outstanding! Every costume and makeup job was scene appropriate and executed with perfection! You can tell that their costume/makeup people love what they do.

Summary: Once again, Dream Reapers has left me reeling for more. This is their best house in years. Although I did miss the hilbilly house, their new scenes deliver the goods. No skimping on effort or talent here, these guys have earned their vanity. Great Haunt!

7 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: missy13   (Event Visited: 10/10/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/15/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: used gps..so very easy to find...easily seen before we turned corner..

Wait Entertainment: we were the only ones in line at that time and still there were people entertaining the line.....great job!

Length of Event: about 16 min.

Actor Performance: great!! lots of distractions to hide the other actors

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: very good but we were first in line

Appropriate Ages: 12 amd up

Costumes / Make-up: all actors costumes fit the room they were in..i liked that!!!!

Summary: i havent been to dream reapers for 3 years.....alot of changes have been made to the house since my last visit....i enjoyed the scare this year...actors used a lot of distractions so you wouldnt expect the scare.. 
lines are always so long at dream reapers so we went 1 hour before opening to insure we wouldnt have to wait..i suggest doing that..it helps!!!!

8 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cenandor   (Event Visited: 10/25/09 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/26/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Coming from Springfield, IL it wasn't really difficult to find. Basically a straight shot on I55.

Wait Entertainment: Waiting in line was an adventure itself. New and creepier people kept poping out of everywhere.

Length of Event: Line was descent. just like any other house, but this one flew by from actors screwing with people.

Actor Performance: Actors where crazy as h--e--double-hockey-sticks (censored) Coming out of everywhere and kept roll the whole time. props to wheel-chair guy and troll man, 2 of the coolest guys in there. gave us the best experiance of a haunted house we have ever been to.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The staff did a great job keeping everyone spaced apart and under controll. well at least for my group. we went through with no delays of other groups. completely organized to a T.

Appropriate Ages: Bring the Family.

Props / Special FX: Pros and special effects were so well up together. every room had its own smell that matched the scenery. and unique props. crazy stuff!

Costumes / Make-up: Costums and make-up were incredible. Artists!

Summary: All-in-all best house in IL, everyone should take a trip to see it. Three Hours for us, and it was totally worth it. definatelly going back next year. price was reasonable, gift shop was sweet(literally everything was for sale), and actors couldn't of been better. just don't get drunk because big bubba will put you in your place.

9 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: babyripken   (Event Visited: 10/16/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find, lots of signage to point you towards where you need to go.

Wait Entertainment: Although there was only an actor or two to entertain in line, there was a video that showed all the past ghouls that I enjoyed.

Length of Event: 15-20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Really good, you feel that they are really enjoying scaring the heck out of people.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow was good, never had a problem hitting the people in front of us.

Summary: Dream Reapers is back!! I thought last year wasn't as good, but they took people's reviews to heart, and put more in to it. The rooms looked very authentic, the actors were really scary, and the maze parts were very dark. I had a lot of fun.

15 out of 29 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: head_dunce   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 09/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find right off North Ave with a flashing sign out front.

Wait Entertainment: We were there really early. There wasn't a line outside at all, yet there were still characters dressed up outside waiting to greet us. The crazy clown on the mini-bike and the 15 foot tall monster were great.

Length of Event: I didn't pay attention to the time all that much, but it was a pretty long attraction - maybe 20 minutes?

Actor Performance: Some actors were better than others, but keep in mind we were there on their second day of opening - you could almost tell the new actors vs. the ones who've done this before.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Since we came early, it was just my girlfriend and myself for about the whole attraction. I'd highly suggest going right when they open and see the show without the crowds so you're alone in the house.

Appropriate Ages: This is not for kids.

Props / Special FX: I really likes the butcher shop area, great props and actors, I won't eat bacon the same way again.

Costumes / Make-up: Some of the actors had those colored contact lenses which really look freaky.

Summary: A very cool haunt and a great way to kick off my traditional running around to every haunted house I can find until Halloween. The only disappointing part was the ending, you go through this great haunted house, walk into what looks like a really creepy hallway... and you end up in a gift store - the end - the irony.

7 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: dreamer1107   (Event Visited: 10/28/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/30/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Still in the same location, so we found it easily. Good signage and large windsock type creatures outside the building. If you get there early enough, you can get street parking.

Wait Entertainment: (for the most part this was n/a as we didn't really have to wait long) However, they have a great indoor atmosphere with creepy artistic graffiti on the walls and the alien like creature that led the groups into the house. They also had a film showing other people being scared over the past years.

Length of Event: 20 minutes--one of the longest over the past few years at this house.

Actor Performance: Great--one of their best years yet! I'm not the easiest to startle since I'm a seasoned patron, but they actually had actors coming down from the ceiling to scare you. Very impressive!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Seemed okay, as we were in a small group. We started to run into a group ahead of us, but we were able to slow ourselves down.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: This is where they are always superb with the amount of detail in their rooms and they even use scents to make the experience hightened. My friend was so impressed by their foliage in a couple rooms, saying it was very realistic and detailed. I was so happy that they really stepped it up this year. I've been disappointed a few times the past few years and was debating coming back. I'm so glad I returned as this has so far been my favorite of all the houses around! I can't believe I could've missed it! I won't ruin it for you, but they even have a scare outside the house--got my friend pretty good!

Costumes / Make-up: Always amazing==very professional. The detail in the makeup is unreal. You can see their "creatures" in full light and still be creeped out by them. I can't imagine what kind of time and money goes into their makeup/costumes.

Summary: I feel that this year is quite possibly their best year yet. They really changed it around this year for the better, with new rooms and scares. You won't be disappointed! Highly recommend!

6 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: multiplesean   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 9:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find. Well lit, and vendors on the street.

Wait Entertainment: The wait entertainment was great, and did a really good job. The line was huge, all the way to the main street. The entertainers worked the whole line. However, there were some plain clothes security gaurds in a golf cart that used extremely foul, and abusive language. That really ruined the expierince for me. Also I felt they had the best costumes, and best actors outside working the line. I really think the management should look into the "security" behavour as it was extremely offensive.

Length of Event: 10 to 15 minutes. It seemed a little longer than past visits.

Actor Performance: Inside the haunt the performance seemed better than in the past, but was still a little non enthusiastic. We arrived late to this, and the line was huge, and I think the actors might have been tired. The overall effect was better than the past visits.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. Did not run into another group. I was at the end of the group, and found it slightly annoying that two workers dressed in Dream Reapers hoodies followed the group through most of the haunt.

Appropriate Ages: 12+..HOWEVER 18+ if the security gaurds dialog is a regular part of the routine.. I'm 39, and I found it really bizzare that these men would be using that sort of language in front of a large group of younger adults and children

Props / Special FX: The details inside the haunt are really worth the visit. s from the past got cut. to see some of the scenes from the past got cut. I dont know if the air bag was malfunctioning, but the people in the hoodies were complaining about something with it, and it smelled terrible. Something got on my clothes, and they smelled the whole hour drive home.

Costumes / Make-up: The outside actors were amazing..inside, not so much. Esp. the two in the hoodies.

Summary: I feel DR really improved with the acting this year, but it still lacks that in your face impact. Also I wish it lasted a little longer. It's a great time for the price though. I also hope that what happened with the security was a one time fluke, because that was a real drawback.

5 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: horrorman197   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: good visibilty but tickets dont include parking fee

Wait Entertainment: lots of actor encounters and coffin ride was cool

Length of Event: 15-20 mins

Actor Performance: actors were just ok to much screaming need more interaction with guests screaming doesnt add to much to the scare need more storyline

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good flow not running into other guests

Appropriate Ages: 12-up

Props / Special FX: good effects loved the different scents scenes were well done very detailed

Costumes / Make-up: good make up and costumes very detailed and professional

Summary: overall a good show but needs to keep the scare going with storylines in the rooms to much to take in with constant screaming of actors hard to enjoy with a headache from that guests are suppose to scream in fright actors should be the reason not the substitute

12 out of 28 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: scolberg   (Event Visited: Before Oct. 1st @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/09/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Visibility and location were good. It was in a pretty conspicuous location with signs and lights to draw your attention. Parking was ample, but of we were also there the first day they opened, so it wasn't too busy.

Wait Entertainment: They only had a couple of people walking around the line, but the fact that it was the first day of haunted house season has to be considered. My frined and I admired the elaborate paintings on the wall and the posters of some of the characters they had up. The music was good but not too loud, so conversing was still easy. A dead hockey player harassed my friend and I for a little bit when we bought our tickets and followed us into the line, but overall the characters weren't as quick-witted as other places I've been to. They resorted to using bedroom humor a lot with us (two 20-something girls), which isn't as scary as it is sleazy. They seemed a little underenthused.

Length of Event: 10-15 minutes.

Actor Performance: They did an ok job. For the first day of working they were pretty enthusiastic, but it seemed like they still had some "warming up" to do before they could really have fun with the patrons. They weren't as over-the-top as other places I'd been.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: As far as I know it was good. I don't think we ran into the group ahead of us, but I was in the back of the group, so I couldn't tell.

Appropriate Ages: 10 and up.

Props / Special FX: Some of the rooms they had were really cool. At one point, there was an entire hallway lined with human sculls from top-to-bottom. Also, there was a really cool mirror/strobe maze that was somewhat disorienting but not to the point of being nauseating.

Costumes / Make-up: Excellent. I really loved the makeup jobs. The blood/wounds were realistic, and the detail was good, even down to the scuffs and tears in the hockey player's clothing.

Summary: My friend and I were in the back of the group, so we didn't get much attention as far as things popping out at us. We figured we'd be followed by some ghouls cause that's usually what happenes to the people in the back of the line, but the creatures only followed us to the end of their room/area, if they followed us at all, which was disappointing. Also, there were a couple of times we stumbled upon characters who were chit-chatting with one another, which kind of ruined the scare factor. There was one point when we stumbled upon someone standing in a corner talking on their cell phone. I'm 5'8, and quite of few of the actors were shorter than me, which made them not quite as scary. During our wait in line beforehand, my friend and I admired the posters of the "main characters" on the wall, and we were especially psyched about the crazy-looking rodeo clown, because we love scary clowns. As it turned out, we didn't see him at all until we came out of the haunted house and saw him and some other freaky-looking characters mingling with security guards, which was disappointing. Basically, all the scariest-looking people weren't even in the haunted house when we went through. I'd hate to be too hard on this place, since it was their first day being open this season. At the same time, it is one of the top-rated haunted houses in the area, and I watched youtube videos from previous years where the actors were a lot more enthusiastic, so I think it's fair to say I expected quite a lot more than we got as far as actors being over-the-top, in your face, and relentless.

3 out of 7 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: shorty   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: the location wasnt bad at all and its easy to spot

Wait Entertainment: the wait entertainment was awsome i have to give it up for the weelchair guy

Length of Event: it wasnt vary long but also not vary short eather i was satisfied

Actor Performance: the actors performence was great they did an awsome job

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: everything on the inside was great

Appropriate Ages: i thank if you scare easly dont go

Props / Special FX: props wear used alot and vary well done special fx

Costumes / Make-up: id say its movie quality

Summary: all in all its the best haunted house iv ever been to i was nervice at first but i made friends with the actors in line they were pretty cool but once agin i have to give it up to the weelchair guy

5 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Alison62190   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 10:45 pm)
Review Posted: 10/28/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: There were big signs and lights flashing. Also, many security guards who were visible. Plus, scary guys walking about outside of the factory.

Wait Entertainment: I did not have to wait so I would not know.

Length of Event: The haunted house was about a half an hour to complete.

Actor Performance: Actors were very professional and definitely knew how to scare.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patrons kept the line moving and groups did not bump into each other. I was very impressed with how organized it was.

Appropriate Ages: Not young children. More teens to adults.

Costumes / Make-up: Everyone had awesome makeup. Not to mention everyone's contacts were so cool to look at.

Summary: I loved being greated with troll like creatures as we walked up to the front door. Right at the begining of the haunted house a man jumped out of the bushes from know where. Also, I loved the room that felt like you were spinning. I think it could use more "scares" before you go into the house. Overall it was a well put together haunted house. Before we went to another local haunted house and wasted $45 all together and it was horrible!! I was so excited that dream reapers did not let me and my friends down. You know something is scary when you can freighten my boyfriend (: Thanks for all the scares dream reaper!!! I have told all my friends about it.

5 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: haunted2005   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 9:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: The place was very easy to find. We used the GPS and it took us right there.

Wait Entertainment: Their costumes were the best, they looked the most life-like.

Length of Event: I thought it was a short 10 min or so.

Actor Performance: The actor performances were great but the fact that they send big groups ruins it all. The actors were getting back in position to scare the back of the group where we were and it gave away the positions of all them. They should let the group size be determined by who came together.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was good.

Summary: We drove 2.5 hrs to see what the hype was about since the Travel Channel had been there. It would have been the best haunted house I have been to but because of the big groups it falls short. I wouldn't come back unless I knew they would allow the group that came together to go through alone.

8 out of 21 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: HauntChaser   (Event Visited: 10/16/09 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/20/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Dream Reapers is Alaways easily seen from North Ave they do a great job of pinpointing thier location.

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainmentwas better than usual. I like the bomb scare that takes place and the characters that walk through the lines.

Length of Event: We were told that they added new rooms, well from what I can tell they made a good attempt at creating 2 mazes, but took away from a themed room or 2.

Actor Performance: One of my greatest criticisms is that Dream Reapers does a decent job at creating GREAT scenes in the rooms that they have, but then they fail you and place some kids in costumes in there and their timing of trying to frighten anyone is rhythmic. Tip to the actors is to make it random I know itís tough but there is plenty of room to hide.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Patron flow within the haunt is great. They do a really good job at moving people through without making them feel rushed. I enjoy looking takin my time in the rooms to notice the finer details.

Appropriate Ages: No I would say 14+

Props / Special FX: Props are great, but again this is thier business when the house is closed.

Costumes / Make-up: Costume and makeup are well done. No complaints here.

Summary: Overall if you want a detail oriented haunt this is it but donít really expect to get frightened they are way too many kids and they are very routine and inexperience in thier scare tactics. It is a fair haunt but better haunts are out there that will actually boast a scare or two.

6 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: hb0143   (Event Visited: 10/25/09 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Very easy to find, you can see it from the adjacent street.

Wait Entertainment: Wait entertainment was good, the actors was really cool and the environment was creepy.

Length of Event: 15 minutes.

Actor Performance: Awesome!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: good

Appropriate Ages: I'd say 10 and up

Props / Special FX: The use of props and everything was amazing!

Costumes / Make-up: Very cool makeup and affects! Professionally done!

Summary: It was a great haunted house all together and I recommend everyone in chicago should go at least once! Just the effort put into it was spectacular and that is what made it an amazing haunted house!

7 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: schlesingerr   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 10:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/24/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: good it had flashing lights on top and a huge sign if you miss it you have to be blind.

Wait Entertainment: the wait was reasonable being this close to Halloween

Length of Event: ten min

Actor Performance: Very good, I got scared when i thought the person was fake. The actors were very well hidden and it was an over all good time.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It flowed very well. The people kept the flow going quickly, the large groups made it less scary but it was a busy night so its understandable.

Appropriate Ages: I thought it was a little too scary for younger kids but if it were a movie i would rate it pg 13

Props / Special FX: Amazing. The special effects were very well put together. I was shocked to see how well everything was put together, very well detailed, the people working even had red colored eyes. It was a very well put together and thought out haunted house.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were awesome all the people were different i never saw the same costume twice people were spread out very well i never knew when there would be some one jumping out at us. make up was also very good got down even to the eyes!

Summary: The people were very scary not rude but scary. Some haunted houses have the very rude people but this one just had scary people that jumped out and snuck up on you.

4 out of 11 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cgines   (Event Visited: 10/09/09 @ 11:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/10/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We have visited this haunt many times before, so we know exactly where it is; but for first timers there is a flashing sign on North ave so u'll know where to turn.

Wait Entertainment: We did get there right before close but there was still a couple of people inline. There was a monster outside on stilts that was cool, but not really scaring anyone and another monster with a chainsaw, but he looked like he also called it quits for the night. There were two really good monsters inside with awesome make-up who we're having fun with the patrons and also a cool effect inside scared me.

Length of Event: About 10-15 mins

Actor Performance: All of the actors stayed in character. Some where definately better than others. Unfortunately alot of actors thought that scaring you meant just screaming.... i didn't get that.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good we never ran into another group.

Appropriate Ages: 13 and up

Props / Special FX: The scenes were awesome. There was one that was like a tropical mayan ruin and it felt like it too.

Costumes / Make-up: The make-up on the characters was very nicely detailed.

Summary: Overall this haunted house has so much potential but fell short. They did a good job of setting up the enivornment for the haunted house from the inside waiting area to the hell-a-vator. I would have to say the first half of the haunted house was really good. They scared me a good couple of times. I loved the butcher shop scene that pig really got me!!!! That actually had alot of good creative well designed scenes throughut. But, after that they just fell short. I could see monsters before they would come out and scare me. They only targeted the front of the group and did not leave much "jump" for us in the back. If the second half of the monsters could really put a little added effort this would definately be one of the best. But, because after half the haunted house I was pretty much just walking through it with no real scares it was just ok for me. But, it was the end of the night so that might have had something to do with it!

9 out of 26 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: bigstick4u   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Pretty good. Off a main road with two GIANT balloon people out front.

Wait Entertainment: A couple of actors getting the crowd going.

Length of Event: About 15 minutes

Actor Performance: Good acting, everybody stayed in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: AWFUL! Ran into 2 groups in front of us and ruined the scare factor!

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: There werent tons of fx, mostly detailed rooms with good acting

Costumes / Make-up: Top Notch and very detailed!

Summary: This seems to be a good haunt, but the flow was absolutely TERRIBLE! It started off strong enough from the opening coffin scene to the hellevator to the flashing lights and mirrors. Well done! The acting was good, however, I saw many actors in the hallways running back to their hiding place after they saw me coming, and then try to scare my group after we knew they would pop out at us. I must say I loved the dude in the pig head mask! The spinning vortex was probably the most disorienting vortex I've seen in a haunt We caught up to 2 other groups ahead of us that just killed the scare factor for us. I thought the house was pretty good....not great but good. Had the patron flow been better the haunt probably would have been more enjoyable for me, and I would have probably given it higher marks.

2 out of 6 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: fearlover   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: It was very easy to find. The was a giant line of people standing outside and actors running around with them that helped up spot it. They also had two huge blow-up "ghosts" in front of the building. Their website also had very helpful directions to get us there.

Wait Entertainment: The wait was not that bad. 2.5 hours didn't see like anything with pretty close to 10 actors running around scaring people. It really was a blast watching people run and interact with them.

Length of Event: It took us around 10 minutes to go through, but there were a lot of twists and turns.

Actor Performance: The actors were great and right on cue. It was spooky how in your face they were, but when you entered a room they didn't even attempt to keep you there and scare you. They really didn't even have lines to help the atmophere of the room, they just jumped out which was a bit disapointing.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We never ran into another group but before we entered they paired us up with two other groups to go through. It was way to many people and lowered how scary it really could have been.

Appropriate Ages: 13+

Props / Special FX: The props/effects they used were great. They had a spectacular spinning vortex that left us very disoriented along with the mirror maze that was great. They also seemed to use some temperature changes in some rooms and even some things for your sense of smell. If they intensified this it would be even better! It was cool.

Costumes / Make-up: Their make-up really stood out to me. They succesfully made it look very realistic.

Summary: This was a good haunt but if they had a storyline and people holding you in a room andscaring you it would have been much better. I didn't see any clowns which was disapointing. Many people are terrified of them and I'm surprised they wouldn't utilize that. They twisty turny nature of the hole thing was interesting and left me very confused though which I loved. Good job.

4 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: rickm362   (Event Visited: 10/11/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/16/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Good visibility off North Avenue easy

Wait Entertainment: As the night went on the outside entertainment kept the line involved and entertained

Length of Event: around 25 minutes

Actor Performance: Actor performance was good, lots of new actors along with those that have been around for many of the years at this haunt

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Flow in house was very good we where in a medium size group and never felt rushed or saw another group.

Appropriate Ages: 12 and older

Props / Special FX: Very good and the house is pleasing to look at. Had opportunity to attend early after opening and was able to take time and actually spend time looking at the props and FX

Costumes / Make-up: strong as always

Summary: Dream Reapers has improved on the house and the experience mirror mazes and old style street as well as confined room added to the experience. I would recomend attending early if you want to view the house and the FX view late if you want the actors at their best but be ready for longer wait times.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright © 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at