Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Auburn Haunted Theater (Auburn, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
9 out of 20 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Loaction is easy to find, take the Aubirn exit off of 55 south of Springfield. Signs lead the way once your into town.

Wait Entertainment: Small fire to stand around which was nice since it was cold.

Length of Event: 10 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actor performance was great. All characters stayed in haunt mode and even taunted visitors at times.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We did not run into any other groups, we heard some at times, which added to the fear ahead. House had the patron flow down.

Appropriate Ages: 10 +

Props / Special FX: Nice use of special effects. The bathroom scene was awesome and gross. Especially when the crap hit you! Be prepared.

Costumes / Make-up: Masks and make-up; but the masks were really done well. All characters fit their scenes.

Summary: For visiting this house for the second time they have done a great job. All the actors stay in character and they make sure that you get your moneys worth. The house seet in an old theater makes the walk through very scary. Winding through the basement of the theater is great. Lots of surprises await you arounf every corner. Nice Job!!!

18 out of 44 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: cissypissy   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Get off 55 at the Auburn exit, there is a lighted blinking sign of that road to both HH's.

Wait Entertainment: They had a large rules sign to read, a hearse and a fire. There was a pissed off lady who worked for the haunted house who stormed out, took a branch that some kids had put in the fire and threw it on the street. Right in front of me. Um, safety first?

Length of Event: 10-15

Actor Performance: Very good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The other group I was with heard me, but we didn't see each other.

Appropriate Ages: Aren't you all tired of reading that I don't think HH are appropriate for children?

Props / Special FX: Very good, too.

Costumes / Make-up: Very good, also!

Summary: Better than last year. The HH was pretty scary. Last year I liked the movie idea while you waited. The strobe light room was positively freaky. I don't know why the cat girl was in there....or in the HH at all. Good one to visit.

4 out of 12 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: clownsrus   (Event Visited: 10/24/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/27/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Medium | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find; right uptown near the square.

Wait Entertainment: None while we were there.

Length of Event: 15 minutes

Actor Performance: This was good. While I didn't ever "jump" (I am pretty hard to scare), I did enjoy the actors and how they kept in character.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Good. Didn't run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 8 and up

Props / Special FX: They have excellent props and effects. This area needs no improvement.

Costumes / Make-up: Combination of maks and make-up which were both great. Masks were form fitting and had make-up aroung the eyes.

Summary: This is a good haunt. Was only $6 to get in. Nothing about it I didn't like. The set up was great and everyone stayed in character. The costumes were good and the props were great.

4 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/23/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: This is located in the square area of Auburn and within walking of the other Haunted attraction, very nice! Can't miss it, hurst parked next to the attraction.

Wait Entertainment: No outside entertainment, however once inside we watched a projection movie of Van Helsing while we waited, they do this every year with a different movie. This year we waited maybe 15 minutes to get in, much better. Outside they also have a fire burning to keep warm by.

Length of Event: The attraction took about 20 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actors all did a great job here, nobody got out of their character. And yes we did like the Tormented Clown which started us downstairs.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Everything moved along great and no problems.

Appropriate Ages: 8+ No real high impact scares, but the basement location might freak out some younger kids.

Props / Special FX: Lots of nice props and some animatronics - funny I was just telling my group the other day I missed "Chuckles the Clown" - HE's HERE! Lots of good effects here and lots to see.

Costumes / Make-up: The make-up was good and the masks all worked. Everyone we noticed was in costume also.

Summary: This is a great buy for $6.00, I wished more "Haunts" would stay within this price - Nice for everyone to attend. This is a MUST SEE also, lots of detail work and hard work have went into making this attraction - they don't miss nothing here. They have invested back into the attraction every year and it shows. I was sad to see the actual working elevator gone though. A must see if your in Auburn.

4 out of 18 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: livindeadgrl   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Low | Atmosphere: Average
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: signs directing you to the house, easy to find. in an old theater so it has a unique front with an old ticket booth.

Wait Entertainment: hearse out front, vending machine for drinks, and a small fire

Length of Event: about 10 mins

Actor Performance: this is an area that needs some improvement, but there were a couple good ones. granny was entertaining.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we ran into the group ahead of us in 2 of the rooms. not sure if its because we were moving to fast or they were moving to slow.

Appropriate Ages: i found it mild on the scare factor so i'd say it's safe for all ages.

Props / Special FX: very nice props! all the rooms were well decorated and set a nice atmosphere.

Costumes / Make-up: saw a lot of masks. the few that had makeup on looked okay but very plain except the nice wound on the car victim.

Summary: a nice family friendly haunt. not one i would recommend to someone who is looking to get scared, but if you have some younger kids or just like visiting haunts in general then it is not bad for the price ($6/person). there is an area where you have to crawl on all 4's. they have padding down so it's not as rough on your knees.

3 out of 15 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Signs direct you once in town. Both haunts are near each other.

Wait Entertainment: Big fire,hearse..did not see any aactors.

Length of Event: 14 minutes

Actor Performance: Actors did a nice job. The lady in the phone room was very good.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: We could hear screams, which is nice, but did not run into anyone.

Appropriate Ages: 8+

Props / Special FX: Good detail to the rooms, disgusting bathroom!! The strobe room had a great effect!!

Costumes / Make-up: Combination of masks and make up. The costumes fit the rooms.

Summary: The haunt has improved over last year. We did not have to sit in the theater and watch a part of a movie, we did the speed pass which helped move us along!! Speed pass ALWAYS a good idea !!!! 
The strobe room was great, would have been even better had the person in the room been scary looking!!!

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at