Site Sponsors
HauntedIllinois.com  Haunted Illinois is your online source for everything Halloween in Illinois: Directory of Haunted Houses, Haunted House Reviews, Haunted House Industry News, Halloween Website Links and more !
  Facebook.com   Twitter.com   Instagram.com   Pinterest.com   YouTube.com
Site Sponsors

Site Sponsors

 

 

All Visitor Reviews
2009 Visitor Reviews of
Spook Hollow (Marquette Heights, Illinois)

Disclaimer: Reviews on this page were supplied by an outside source. The opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the staff of HauntedIllinois.com. Haunted Illinois does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews.
14 out of 27 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ghosthunter   (Event Visited: 10/16/09 @ 8:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location was easy to find. Large lighted sign seen taking the Pekin exit off of 474 onto Illinois Route 29. There is a little bit of a drive up the hill but you will see parking that is available before you get to the haunt.

Wait Entertainment: There were a few monsters roaming here and there. We did not have much of a wait since there was no one in line for MC Manor and we choose the speed pass for Spook Hollow.

Length of Event: MC Manor was around 15 minutes and Spook Hollow was around 45 minutes.

Actor Performance: Actor performance was great. Everyone seemed to stay in character and ready to scare patrons. They had there job cut out for them since the event had a lot of patrons waiting to get in. My only complaint was a zombie walking down the path to get to his place and when he got to us he said a wimpy "boo" then laughed.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: MC Manor, caught up with a group and a group caught up with us. Need more patron flow in these areas. Spook Hollow,it seemed we always had a group of teenage girls that ran through the house and trail that would catch up to us at certain points. Need more stopping points to seperate patrons or tell patrons when they run into other group to wait a bit. Some behind us missed the scares since the actors were not back into their places. Sometimes there was a group of 20 with us.

Appropriate Ages: 10 on up.

Props / Special FX: A lot of static props, building props, fog, and lighting were in both events. Hydraulic floors and elevators- NICE JOB. One area that stood out was a bridge with a screaming girl (who mind you had the best scream I have ever heard in a haunted house after running them and going to them for years) where the water squirted at you from a beast on the other side of the room. The houses and props in the middle of Spook Hollow were nicely placed and really added to the event.

Costumes / Make-up: A mixture of both masks and make-up, but in both cases the costumes matched the event or scene where the monster/victim was placed. Nice job in this category.

Summary: There certain area that just made this event creepy- like walking down a path and coming up on a haunted house in the middle of the woods, when inside well you will have to see for yourself. I love this effect! We were surprised to see that MC Manor was new this year. In the past this house lacked alot- like scares and originality. But this year with a new house they brought their "A" game. We always enjoy the trail and now with both events Marquette Heights has raised the ball!! There are so many scenes inside MC Manor to experience and the monsters are just waiting inside to get you. Kudos to the "Strangers" guy and the evil clowns in both events. Only open for a couple of weekends in October this is a must see. We paid $23.00 for MC Manor and Spook Hollow Speed Pass and to me and other in my group this was a bargain. GREAT JOB GUYS and see you next year!!!!

6 out of 13 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: Nightsticker   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 8:15 pm)
Review Posted: 10/18/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: nice big lighted sign on the main road getting you to the haunt

Wait Entertainment: a few monsters coming and going from the haunt, food, and a grave yard scene. There was what looked like a stage, but nothing was going on when we were there.

Length of Event: 40 minutes on the trail, 20 minutes in th house.

Actor Performance: Very good. Timing was excellent. This monster came down from the ledge..looked like he flew out of a tree..awesome.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: we ran into multiple groupd as well as groups caught up to us. There were times when we were spaced out again, maybe a couple of more "check points" are needed.

Appropriate Ages: 10+

Props / Special FX: Endless amounts of great rooms and scenes.

Costumes / Make-up: Great masks, great make up. So many actors, all looked great.

Summary: This is our 3rd year visiting. Spook Hollow is always a good time. The nice surprise this year was the new and improved haunted house. This really aded value to the haunt. Great scenes in both haunts, great scares, clowns were relentless and coming from all sides, the Zombies in the house..yowsa!! This is a must see for the area!!

7 out of 16 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: haunted2005   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 7:30 pm)
Review Posted: 10/25/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: We put the address in our GPS and it took us right there.

Wait Entertainment: The dancers were kind of dumb! They were definitely no professional.

Length of Event: It was GREAT! It was one of the longest trails I've been through! It kept going on and on! I was very pleased! it wasn't one of those trails that as soon as you enter you are pretty much exiting, very good length.

Actor Performance: The actors were very good! The didn't seem to be getting tired of jumping out and doing their parts like most of the places. Even though a few of the people did touch us on purpose, which is a no no!

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: It had a very good flow, the actors were back in there places and ready to pop out when we went though.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes were ok, but I like more make-up life-like creatures, instead of just masks and clothing.

Summary: My group was very impressed at the entire trail! There were creatures lurking everywhere, not only in the places that were obvious. The trail definitely hits the top for me because it kept going on and kept me entertained the entire time. We thought it was cool how in the trail there were also houses to go through along the way! Even though we really enjoyed the trail, the haunted house was disappointing.

8 out of 19 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: jashuh   (Event Visited: 10/17/09 @ 8:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/19/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: Very High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Location is at Marquette Heights baseball parks, about 1 mile outside Pekin Illinois, Can't miss it! Large lighted sign pointing up the hill. Very well marked, just look for all the cars.

Wait Entertainment: The wait is filled with monsters roaming around the grounds, some popcorn, hot chocolate and hot cider served while in line. Nice on cold nights because the wait can easily be over an hour or more. This year added music dancers dressed as zombies and creatures dance to various haunted sound tracks. (Nice touch)

Length of Event: The trail takes around 40 minutes and the MC Haunted Mannor maybe 20 minutes top. The time here is spent waiting in the large line for the trail, I sugggest the speed pass on the trail. I would suggest getting to the event as early as possible because the bigger crowds (young people) start flowing in around 8:00 and after. The trail line could actually take a couple of hours of waiting alone.

Actor Performance: Actors all did a great job and stayed on track throughtout the scare. Every year I think they get better and better and no lack of help here, they have a good supporting cast of creatures throughout.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: Some problems here on both attractions, with this amount of people going through the events - troubles like this can't be helped. There are Haunted buildings throughout the trail which require set-up and therefore groups do line up from time-to-time. At several times throughout the trail we were a group of 20 or more, problem here is the timing of the scares gets off as the cast can't handle these numbers. The Mannor attraction only had several times when we saw another group; however the people going through the mannor is 1-to-40 than the people on the trail.

Appropriate Ages: Lots of good scares here, but I still think 8+ is fine.

Props / Special FX: Lots of great props throughout both attractions, the trail is the bread-and-butter of this attraction, so the number of effects are far more here! Lots of animatronics on the trail, this is a first class job of scaring people. The mannor has creatures to look at and things that pop out, but not like the trail. Overall lots of first rate stuff here.

Costumes / Make-up: The costumes are good to great, some first class actors with professional face make-up and wardrobe and others with average to about average masks. However throughout the dark and surroundings it works here.

Summary: This is a MUST SEE!! This is one of the best attractions throughout the state of Illinois and located right here in the central Illinois area. This is a first class job of putting on a haunted attraction event, thats why they continue to have the large number of crowds - great bang-for-the-buck! The new shorter trail this year was the only let down, lets get back the extra trail next year. There needs to be a bigger conclusion to the trail, a large guy dressed in a hunting coat just don't work here - how about some chainsaws.? Both events are well worth the $13.00 cost to get in. I was surprised to see how many people attended the "trail" and not the "mannor" attraction - for an extra $3.00 the "mannor" is a great deal to complete the night. Look forward to see this again next year, as I noted before "A MUST SEE".

4 out of 14 people thought this review was helpful.
Reviewed by: ZombieDude   (Event Visited: 10/16/09 @ 7:00 pm)
Review Posted: 10/22/09
Overall Score:
Click here to find out more about this rating scale...

Scare Factor: High | Atmosphere: Very Good
Click here to find out more about these rating scales...

Visibility/Location: Easy to find but have been here many times before. Bright sign at the bottom of the hill at the main entrance to town gets you there.

Wait Entertainment: I got there early and was one of the first to go thru so the wait was short for us. Some monsters walked by the lines to entertain us.

Length of Event: Around 45 minutes for the trail and 20 minutes in the spook house.

Actor Performance: Every spook played there parts and did great jobs with there scares.

Patron Flow Inside Attraction: The flow was steady but it helps to get there early if you can.

Appropriate Ages: Ok for younger kids as long as they don"t minbd getting spooked. Some of this stuff is pretty scary.

Props / Special FX: The first house on the trail was unreal with all the stuff they had in there. Then on down the trail we came to a old looking house that may have came from the adams family. Who even came up with this place should have a round of applauses. It was off the hook with how real everything looked and seemed from the inside and out. Then we wandered on thru more stuff and came across want looked like a real cemetery in the woods which we remembered from last year because of the real brick gate posts but this year they threw in a old church in the middle. We undead was everywhere there with a spooky looking zombie girl waitting around the corner.

Costumes / Make-up: There was alot of great looking costumes and make up monsters. We always enjoy the zombies the best. You can tell that they are not store bought masks there. The make up zombies where even better this year. They know how to put the make up on just right.

Summary: Looking forward to next years event. Hopefully it will keep getting better as the years come. They really stepped the house up this year and was not dissappointed like in the years past. I would think it would be great if the house was loike going thru a real house from room to room but over all it was still a great scare.

 

 

 

 

"The Internet's Most Comprehensive & Up-to-date Directory Of Illinois Haunted Attractions"
Copyright 1999-2017 HauntedIllinois.com - Contact Webmaster - Media / Promotion Inquiries - Join Our Mailing List
 
Find Wisconsin Halloween Events at